View Full Version : 2009 League Tables

FlapjackJoe
21/06/2009, 8:20 PM
The season is now at its halfway point - except for 3 postponed fixtures.

The standings are:

Group 1
1. Salthill Devon 8 6 1 1 18 8 +10 19
2. Derry City 'A' 8 4 1 3 17 9 +8 13
3. Drogheda United 'A' 8 4 1 3 13 11 +2 13
4. Castlebar Celtic 7 4 0 3 13 11 +2 12
5. Sligo Rovers 'A' 8 3 2 3 6 7 −1 11
6. Tullamore Town 8 3 1 4 6 11 −5 10
7. Finn Harps 'A' 7 2 2 3 10 8 +2 8
8. Dundalk 'A' 7 2 1 4 9 13 −4 7
9. Galway United 'A' 7 0 3 4 3 17 −14 3

Group 2
1. Bray Wanderers 'A' 8 5 1 2 18 6 +12 16
2. Cork City 'A' 8 5 1 2 14 9 +5 16
3. Bohemians 'A' 8 5 0 3 14 11 +3 15
4. Shamrock Rovers 'A' 7 4 2 1 9 4 +5 14
5. Tralee Dynamos 7 4 0 3 8 5 +3 12
6. Sporting Fingal 'A' 8 3 1 4 9 13 −4 10
7. St Patrick's Athletic 'A' 8 2 2 4 7 8 −1 8
8. Cobh Ramblers 8 1 2 5 5 11 −6 5
9. FC Carlow 8 0 3 5 6 23 −17 3

harps1954
22/06/2009, 11:21 AM
I know there's a long way to go, but if the tables stay as they are, Salthill Devon will play Kildare County for a place in next season's First Division. Imagine, three teams from Galway in senior football (and all could be in the First Division). Madness. Is this what the A-League set out to achieve?

22/06/2009, 11:25 AM
Is this what the A-League set out to achieve?
I think it's better than the idea of pick a club from a random area and hope they do well.

gufc2000
22/06/2009, 12:46 PM
I know there's a long way to go, but if the tables stay as they are, Salthill Devon will play Kildare County for a place in next season's First Division. Imagine, three teams from Galway in senior football (and all could be in the First Division). Madness. Is this what the A-League set out to achieve?
Well perhaps if more regional teams entered that would solve the problem. At the moment, Laois, Clare, Leitrim, Cavan, Kilkenny, Roscommon, Meath and Tipperary are not represented.

22/06/2009, 3:24 PM
I think with 3 Galway clubs in the league it wouldn't be long before one bombed out again.

No guarantee that Salthill would want to make the step up in any case.

Also- if Tralee win the game in hand they'd be playing Salthill for the right to play the bottom D1 team (if the table stayed the same obviously, and if the rules are the way I remember them).

gufc2000
22/06/2009, 5:26 PM
I think with 3 Galway clubs in the league it wouldn't be long before one bombed out again.

Also- if Tralee win the game in hand they'd be playing Salthill for the right to play the bottom D1 team (if the table stayed the same obviously, and if the rules are the way I remember them).
Correct. They may just be happy to remian where they are for now. They would also probably need to play in Terryland, as their ground, Drom, is a training complex, and would require alot of work to make a proper stadium in it

KidA
23/06/2009, 6:10 PM

I am confused by rules also, can anyone clarify or send like to rules?
Would there still be a playoff with D1 if the non 'A' teams (tralee, cbar, salthill) finished in the bottom half of their leagues?
Anyway, I wont go into any more what ifs.

Note entirely convinced the A Champs is a great idea.
I would be more in favour of having seperate leagues
1. for all the loi 'A' teams and
2. for all the non loi clubs, this league would offer one play off spot for the winners.

I can only guess that there would be a high % change in the starting 11's for the loi A teams and this wouldnt lend itself to getting a true reflection off the non loi teams that could be either playing a very strong or weak A team depending on how the loi first team is fixed

Any positive/negative comments from people the non loi team countys on how it has/will affect your own county leagues etc?

First post on foot ie, nice and short I know

culloty82
23/06/2009, 8:01 PM
Wikipedia is hardly known for accuracy, but their page on the 2009 season and section on the A Championship says that the highest first team goes into the First Division playoff, so if, as looks likely, Salthill win the Northern Section, Dynamos would have the stiff task of winning the Southern Section to force a preliminary playoff, the winners playing the bottom D1 team. Strangely, they're only the second best team in Kerry, Lisselton having completed the League and Cup double.

KidA
24/06/2009, 10:04 AM
Wikipedia is hardly known for accuracy, but their page on the 2009 season and section on the A Championship says that the highest first team goes into the First Division playoff, so if, as looks likely, Salthill win the Northern Section, Dynamos would have the stiff task of winning the Southern Section to force a preliminary playoff, the winners playing the bottom D1 team. Strangely, they're only the second best team in Kerry, Lisselton having completed the League and Cup double.

Thanks culloty, my reading of wikipedia would lead me to believe that there could be two playoffs at end of season.
If 2 'A' teams win their group, they would play off to see the overall winner and if say, Salthill and Tralee were to both finish second, they would play off to see who would play the b.......Kildare

Think I got it now!

Anyone got any comments on how it how it is affecting/will affect the likes of county leagues as a result of Tralee, Carlow etc entering?

In relation to Lisselton point, and I might get a bit of stick from Castlebar Celtic fans, but I would have to say that Westport, have been and still are a better team than them. The worry I would have for them and the Mayo League is that they are more or less left in a one horse race now and I can see them and their players losing interest in it very fast without the serious competition Celtic offered.
For the record, Castlebar would be a far more progressive club and have the underage structure to make this move work out for them in the long run over westport.

hoop4life
24/06/2009, 11:17 AM
i think its very early to be talking about promotion. there is a lot of football to be played yet and seeing as a lot of the teams are of a similar enough standard, there will be a lot of twists and turns before the season finishes.
as i have said in the next post, i think our strongest 11 now would be stronger than westports strongest 11 as our a league team is a lot better than last years super league team

KidA
24/06/2009, 2:13 PM
agree Hoops, way too early and I wasn't intending to speculate, i just wanted to clarify the rules so I would know what the situation was as the season progresses.
Well done anyway for doing you're bit for the mayo league, hope it goes well for ye!

tralee_dynamo
24/06/2009, 4:50 PM
Strangely, they're only the second best team in Kerry, Lisselton having completed the League and Cup double.
Even though Lisselton completed the double, with all due respect the Kerry League has really taken a back seat in our club since joining the A Championship and our current run in the FAI cup. Key players were missing for both final games, and none of the new players that have joined us since are eligible to play for us in the Kerry League games.

Fair play to Lisselton for winning the double, they deserved it - however I still believe that our first Kerry team is better, and with newly registered A Championship players, even better again.

Also, with Lisselton having no underage structure/facilities in place - it is virtually impossible for them to join the A Championship

hoop4life
24/06/2009, 5:11 PM
Even though Lisselton completed the double, with all due respect the Kerry League has really taken a back seat in our club since joining the A Championship and our current run in the FAI cup. Key players were missing for both final games, and none of the new players that have joined us since are eligible to play for us in the Kerry League games.

Fair play to Lisselton for winning the double, they deserved it - however I still believe that our first Kerry team is better, and with newly registered A Championship players, even better again.

Also, with Lisselton having no underage structure/facilities in place - it is virtually impossible for them to join the A Championship

virtually the same as here except westport have a youth structure just no where near the standard of ours.
i feel our a league team would beat their first team with all of our new players

swinfordfc
24/06/2009, 10:25 PM
virtually the same as here except westport have a youth structure just no where near the standard of ours.
i feel our a league team would beat their first team with all of our new players

interesting comment - tough game there and you a small bit bias :D

hoop4life
24/06/2009, 10:37 PM
interesting comment - tough game there and you a small bit bias :D

bit bias alright ya!!;)
would be a very good game though.
i still think we would just pip it!!:D we'll never know though

KidA
25/06/2009, 10:02 AM
I'm up in dublin for a while now and so a bit out of touch, have Westport expressed any interest in going into A league?

25/06/2009, 10:37 AM
If 2 'A' teams win their group, they would play off to see the overall winnerThis is correct. That happened last year with UCD beating Bohs in the final.

and if say, Salthill and Tralee were to both finish second, they would play off to see who would play the b.......Kildare.
This is also correct but I thought (could be wrong) that if, say, Salthill won their section and Tralee came second in theirs, behind a reserve team, they'd have to play off in that situation too. If one section had a very strong reserve team, it would be more difficult for a non-reserve team to have a chance of promotion.

25/06/2009, 11:04 AM
That's my understanding too. I think a non-reserve team has to be first of the non-reserve in their group and be in the top four- once they do that they have a chance of promotion.

25/06/2009, 11:19 AM
That's my understanding too. I think a non-reserve team has to be first of the non-reserve in their group and be in the top four- once they do that they have a chance of promotion.

It's top-three this year I think.

hoop4life
25/06/2009, 2:28 PM
It's top-three this year I think.

ya thats what i heard around the club aswell

hoop4life
25/06/2009, 2:29 PM
I'm up in dublin for a while now and so a bit out of touch, have Westport expressed any interest in going into A league?

no nor will they

KidA
25/06/2009, 2:50 PM
no nor will they

can see their standard dropping so as a result of not having your first team around in ML.

culloty82
26/06/2009, 5:10 PM
Well perhaps if more regional teams entered that would solve the problem. At the moment, Laois, Clare, Leitrim, Cavan, Kilkenny, Roscommon, Meath and Tipperary are not represented.

Ten senior clubs (adding in Clonmel, Portlaoise, Fanad, Mullingar?) would probably be the magic number to send the A teams back to the Reserve Leagues and getting a Second Division that would be a full part of the League. Surprising that a big town like Navan doesn't have a strong team. Any dates for the postponed matches yet?

hoop4life
26/06/2009, 6:17 PM
Ten senior clubs (adding in Clonmel, Portlaoise, Fanad, Mullingar?) would probably be the magic number to send the A teams back to the Reserve Leagues and getting a Second Division that would be a full part of the League. Surprising that a big town like Navan doesn't have a strong team. Any dates for the postponed matches yet?

agree with that 99.9% but i dont think another senior club in donegal would be sustainable when you have finn harps, derry a few miles away and sligo not to far away on the other side.
the likes of kilkenny should be back in the league along with mullingar, clonmel, portlaoise and maybe a team from ennis and a team from navan

KidA
26/06/2009, 6:20 PM

Bring D1 down from 12 to 10 teams and your half way to getting the extra four clubs currently required for a D2. Agree reserve league should be brought back. Too much potential for variances in current format.

Then introduce a D2/Reserve league cup to give the D2 teams chances to get experince plauing the bigger clubs, albeit their second teams.

culloty82
30/06/2009, 6:05 PM
True, but the aim should be to have a team from each county, so relegating two teams from the First Division isn't necessary as you only need six extra clubs over the coming seasons for this. If areas aren't strong enough, create clubs like Kildare and Fingal did. The cup idea sounds interesting though, have 32 teams from the lower divisions and Intermediate/Junior cup sides.

30/06/2009, 6:43 PM
A minor point, but I'd have a D1N/D1S instead of a D2 if we get the numbers. There's a few players who've retired after relegation into D1 because of the travel involved for the little pay involved. Reducing travel could help that a bit.

FlapjackJoe
01/09/2009, 3:19 PM
(Most likely) Correct as at 1/9/2009:

Group 1
1 Salthill Devon 12 8 2 2 28 15 +13 26
2 Drogheda United 'A' 13 8 1 4 22 16 +6 25
3 Castlebar Celtic 13 7 1 5 27 23 +4 22
4 Derry City 'A' 12 6 2 4 28 13 +15 20
5 Finn Harps 'A' 11 5 2 4 20 12 +8 17
6 Sligo Rovers 'A' 13 4 3 6 14 22 −8 15
7 Tullamore Town 12 4 2 6 10 14 −4 14
8 Dundalk 'A' 12 4 1 7 17 26 −9 13
9 Galway United 'A' 12 0 4 8 7 32 −25 4

Group 2
1 Bohemians 'A' 14 9 1 4 22 17 +5 28
2 Shamrock Rovers 'A' 12 7 3 2 16 8 +8 24
3 Tralee Dynamos 12 7 1 4 16 12 +4 22
4 Bray Wanderers 'A' 12 6 3 3 26 13 +13 21
5 Cork City 'A' 11 6 1 4 16 11 +5 19
6 St Patrick's Ath 'A' 13 3 4 6 15 15 0 13
7 FC Carlow 13 3 3 7 13 28 −15 12
8 Sporting Fingal 'A' 11 3 2 6 11 17 −6 11
9 Cobh Ramblers 12 1 2 9 8 22 −14 5

These tables are now the same on Wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FAI_League_of_Ireland_2009_season) and OneFootballForum (http://www.onefootballforum.com/aleaguetables.php).

There are 3 discrepancies on the official site (http://www.loi.ie/index.php/matchzone/newstalk-a-championship/league-tables):
* Drogheda United A v Dundalk A - originally reported 1-2, but 1-3 on the official site.
* Sligo Rovers A v Galway United A - originally reported 3-1, but 2-1 on the official site. Galway United's official site (http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/menu-items/a-championship.html) also has 3-1.
* Shamrock Rovers A v St Patrick's Athletic A - orignally reported 1-0, but 2-0 on the official site. Shamrock Rovers' official site (http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/teams/a-championship-section/a-championship-fixtures) also has 1-0.

I would assume the official site is incorrect with those 3 results. If it is, the league tables above should now be correct and up to date.

FlapjackJoe
07/09/2009, 7:25 AM
Correct as at 6/9/2009:

Group 1
1 Salthill Devon 12 8 2 2 28 15 +13 26
3 Derry City 'A' 13 7 2 4 31 14 +17 23
4 Castlebar Celtic 13 7 1 5 27 23 +4 22
5 Finn Harps 'A' 11 5 2 4 20 12 +8 17
7 Tullamore Town 12 4 2 6 10 14 −4 14
8 Dundalk 'A' 13 4 1 8 18 29 −11 13
9 Galway United 'A' 12 0 4 8 7 32 −25 4

Group 2
2 Shamrock Rovers 'A' 13 8 3 2 21 8 +13 27
3 Bray Wanderers 'A' 13 6 4 3 26 13 +13 22
4 Tralee Dynamos 13 7 1 5 16 17 -1 22
5 Cork City 'A' 12 6 2 4 16 11 +5 20
6 Sporting Fingal 'A' 12 4 2 6 15 18 −3 14
7 St Patrick's Ath 'A' 13 3 4 6 15 15 0 13
8 FC Carlow 13 3 3 7 13 28 −15 12
9 Cobh Ramblers 13 1 2 10 9 26 −17 5

luka
10/09/2009, 8:04 AM
The OneFootballforum (http://www.onefooballforum.com) and Wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FAI_League_of_Ireland_2009_season)are identical but the Official (http://loi.ie/index.php/matchzone/newstalk-a-championship/league-tables)site is behind again.

GreenStar
10/09/2009, 1:25 PM
All looking very interesting in both sections. In Group 1, any of the top 3 could realistically have a chance. Group 2, there are probably 3 or 4 teams who will feel they can top that section.

Should be an interesting few weeks (months) ahead.

luka
10/09/2009, 2:02 PM
Ramblers to pip Bohs on the last day of the season..........:D

FlapjackJoe
10/09/2009, 4:07 PM
Official site now up to date. The 3 discrepancies mentioned in the opening post still appear.

10/09/2009, 9:47 PM
All looking very interesting in both sections. In Group 1, any of the top 3 could realistically have a chance. Group 2, there are probably 3 or 4 teams who will feel they can top that section.

Should be an interesting few weeks (months) ahead.

You could almost add in Harps there too. They win their 2 games in hand and they are level on points with Derry. I wouldn't rule Castlebar out completely either.
Salthill are in a strong position in the group so my money is on them to win it. I doubt if they will beat Kildare though in the play off, County have strengthened and are a much better side than they were earlier in the season.

gufc2000
10/09/2009, 10:32 PM
You could almost add in Harps there too. They win their 2 games in hand and they are level on points with Derry. I wouldn't rule Castlebar out completely either.
Salthill are in a strong position in the group so my money is on them to win it. I doubt if they will beat Kildare though in the play off, County have strengthened and are a much better side than they were earlier in the season.
A third team from Galway would be a disaster

gufc2000
10/09/2009, 11:09 PM
Tullamore lost 1-0 to us last night, our first A League win of the season

GreenStar
11/09/2009, 10:03 AM
Tullamore lost 1-0 to us last night, our first A League win of the season

With your full first-team out??

11/09/2009, 10:47 AM
A third team from Galway would be a disaster

Agreed but from seeing them in Finn Park, they will not beat Kildare in a two legged play-off. Our reserves should have whipped them by much more than 3-1.

gufc2000
16/09/2009, 11:02 PM
With your full first-team out??
Most of them yes, we had no game that week so nothing wrong sending out our first teamers

GreenStar
17/09/2009, 8:55 AM
Most of them yes, we had no game that week so nothing wrong sending out our first teamers

I'm not suggesting there's anything wrong with it. The A-Championship is essentially a reserve league for LOI teams.

17/09/2009, 9:42 AM
nothing wrong sending out our first teamers
I think his point was more that 1-0 against Tullamore with your first team is a fairly poor result.

Dalymountrower
17/09/2009, 9:46 AM
Bohs V Rovers as the last and potentially deciding game should be interesting. Crowd segregation for an A game?

GreenStar
17/09/2009, 3:25 PM
Bohs V Rovers as the last and potentially deciding game should be interesting. Crowd segregation for an A game?

Can you segregate crowds in the AUL? I'd assume this will be moved to Dalymount?

FlapjackJoe
17/09/2009, 5:07 PM
Correct as at 17/9/2009:

Group 1
1 Salthill Devon 13 9 2 2 30 15 +15 26
3 Derry City 'A' 14 7 2 5 31 16 +15 23
4 Castlebar Celtic 14 7 1 6 28 28 0 22
5 Finn Harps 'A' 12 6 2 4 25 13 +12 20
7 Tullamore Town 13 4 2 7 10 15 −5 14
8 Dundalk 'A' 13 4 1 8 18 29 −11 13
9 Galway United 'A' 13 1 4 8 8 32 −24 7

Group 2
2 Shamrock Rovers 'A' 13 8 3 2 21 8 +13 27
3 Bray Wanderers 'A' 13 6 4 3 26 13 +13 22
4 Tralee Dynamos 13 7 1 5 16 17 -1 22
5 Cork City 'A' 12 6 2 4 16 11 +5 20
6 Sporting Fingal 'A' 12 4 2 6 15 18 −3 14
7 St Patrick's Ath 'A' 13 3 4 6 15 15 0 13
8 FC Carlow 13 3 3 7 13 28 −15 12
9 Cobh Ramblers 13 1 2 10 9 26 −17 5

gufc2000
17/09/2009, 7:11 PM
I'm not suggesting there's anything wrong with it. The A-Championship is essentially a reserve league for LOI teams.
Well our problem is, is that the squad is so threadbare, alot of the first team squad are our reserve squad aswell

17/09/2009, 9:44 PM
Well our problem is, is that the squad is so threadbare, alot of the first team squad are our reserve squad aswell

I know the feeling, our first team this season started out as our A side from last season plus a few Junior players added in.
With injuries and players leaving we had to bring through more A players with Under 20's making the step up (before playing a game for the 20's), some of these made the step up into the first team pretty quick leaving our A and 20's threadbare again. We currently have about 10 sole U 20's, 10 A players and 6 playing for both. Some of these have had to come in of late into the first team squad due to a large injury list which, thankfully, is getting smaller.
Im not sure the well of players in Donegal can hold up for much longer.

17/09/2009, 10:09 PM
When is the season over lads? How many rounds do they play like?

17/09/2009, 10:46 PM
i know the league table generally dosent lie lads but i was just wondering which sides play the best football and any players to look out for??

FlapjackJoe
17/09/2009, 11:58 PM
When is the season over lads? How many rounds do they play like?

16 games, so 3 more rounds and a few rescheduled games to go.

FlapjackJoe
23/09/2009, 10:59 PM
Result from tonight:
Dundalk 3-3 Finn Harps

Standings:

Group 1
1 Salthill Devon 14 10 2 2 32 15 +17 32
2 Drogheda United A 14 9 1 4 32 16 +16 28
3 Derry City A 14 7 2 5 31 16 +15 23
4 Castlebar Celtic 14 7 1 6 28 28 0 22
5 Finn Harps A 13 6 3 4 28 16 +12 21
6 Dundalk A 15 5 2 8 23 33 −10 17