View Full Version : Shels VS Limerick

Shelsred
20/06/2009, 1:24 AM
Just in the Door and I really am delighted, but I'd just like to point out the crap that went on afterwards.

We were kept in afterwards, and then stuff started getting thrown over the wall at us. Then when we left, a load of little scumbags (I'm not even sure if they were at the game) were waiting at the entrance to the bus and train station, which is right outside the ground. They started throwing bottles and other stuff at us and then a Shels fan got a smack of a hurley to the back of the head.

It was my first trip to Jackman Park, and I must say that has to be the worst ground in the league.

Anyway, I'd just like to ask have any other fans ever gotten this treatment outside Jackman?

trueblue09
20/06/2009, 2:19 AM
First off...

We had St.Pats down here last week & there was not one bit of trouble... Wonder Why

2nd

Limerick do not own the ground they are renting so they cannot do what they want to the ground, also we are not from Dublin so we do not have the backing of the FAI....

3rd

Since you were with the shels fans i presume you were not for the fans signing about Stab City ??????

4th

When limerick got the Pen..Did or didnt you shels fans not catch a bin & turn it upside down & start trowing bottles at Dave Ryan in the Limerick Goal,

5th

When the sewerts asked you to stay in you area until the Limerick fans were gone. you dicided to push the barriers & have a go at a stewart & jump onto the field to get around him ?????

If you want any sympyhty your not goinig to get it. because as i said to a decient shels fan who can down just to watch the match . people who look for it ??????

Black and White
20/06/2009, 9:21 AM
Just in the Door and I really am delighted, but I'd just like to point out the crap that went on afterwards.

We were kept in afterwards, and then stuff started getting thrown over the wall at us. Then when we left, a load of little scumbags (I'm not even sure if they were at the game) were waiting at the entrance to the bus and train station, which is right outside the ground. They started throwing bottles and other stuff at us and then a Shels fan got a smack of a hurley to the back of the head.

It was my first trip to Jackman Park, and I must say that has to be the worst ground in the league.

Anyway, I'd just like to ask have any other fans ever gotten this treatment outside Jackman?

Same c@!p goes on at Tolka, mate of mine got a box outside the ground 2 years ago for no bloody reason as a little scumbag ran across the road and hit him. Your goign to get that anywhere you go its not just in Limerick but I must say though with all the trouble with our fans at the start of the season, things have really quietend down lately for the good of the club.

Dundalkjames
20/06/2009, 12:13 PM
Anytime Dundalk fans have gone to jackman pk nothing has happend outside.

Enruoblehs
20/06/2009, 12:32 PM
The game was hyped up by a senior member of the Limerick club in the local paper during the week as being an expected 'explosive match' and referring to imagined 'bad mouthing' of him by the Shelbourne manager, Dermot Keely.

This story was rehashed in the Herald later.

Can't have helped.

Hairy Bowsie
20/06/2009, 12:46 PM
The game was hyped up by a senior member of the Limerick club in the local paper during the week as being an expected 'explosive match' and referring to imagined 'bad mouthing' of him by the Shelbourne manager, Dermot Keely.

This story was rehashed in the Herald later.

Can't have helped.

Exactly. That interview was a joke and shows poor judgement on his part.

Shelsred
20/06/2009, 3:30 PM
[quote=trueblue09;1180827]
also we are not from Dublin so we do not have the backing of the FAI....
quote]

Em I really hope your not trying to say that Shels have the backing of the F.A.I, because if you are you really are clueless. :rolleyes:

20/06/2009, 3:35 PM
Happens everywhere, our bus got pelted with stones coming out of Dalymount yesterday. Happens, unfortunately in The Showgrounds too, little *****s threw stones at the Bohs supporters earlier in the season.

Shelsred
20/06/2009, 4:38 PM
Yea Scully truely is a c*nt. That stuff he said about Dermot Keely was complete tripe, he just wanted to get a bit of publicity. Also Tony Sheridan doesn't like him so I don't see how anyone can? :D

GalwayRed
20/06/2009, 4:47 PM
First off...

We had St.Pats down here last week & there was not one bit of trouble... Wonder Why
What has the Pats match got to do with any of this?

2nd

Limerick do not own the ground they are renting so they cannot do what they want to the ground, also we are not from Dublin so we do not have the backing of the FAI....
Can limerick afford to do anything with the ground anyway? How do Dublin clubs get the backing of the FAI anymore then anywhere else? Please explain.

3rd

Since you were with the shels fans i presume you were not for the fans signing about Stab City ??????
And I presume you didnt agree with the Limerick fans singing about Shels fans being junkies? Personally I dont see the problem there its just fans singing its meant to annoy the opposing fans but it dosent give fans the right to fight about it.

4th

When limerick got the Pen..Did or didnt you shels fans not catch a bin & turn it upside down & start trowing bottles at Dave Ryan in the Limerick Goal,
That did happen and theres no defence for it. The Shels fans who did that were rightly kicked out of the ground and it was unacceptable.

5th

When the sewerts asked you to stay in you area until the Limerick fans were gone. you dicided to push the barriers & have a go at a stewart & jump onto the field to get around him ?????
You seem to be suggesting all Shels fans did this. A couple of Shels fans pushed the barriers alright but I didnt see anybody threatening the stewards. The person who ran onto the pitch to get out only did that when the stewards were about to let us out anyway so it could have been worse.

If you want any sympyhty your not goinig to get it. because as i said to a decient shels fan who can down just to watch the match . people who look for it ??????
Nobodys looking for sympathy, the point is to highlight there was trouble at the match and try and determine why this happened.
You have completely ignored the fact that Limerick fans were throwing bottles over the wall at our crowd and the fact that Limerick fans waited at the station where our bus was parked. If thats not looking to cause trouble I dont know what is.
Personally I thought the stewards were very good and handled things well. Theres no point trying to justify what Limerick fans were doing by saying Shels fans were looking for trouble. It dosent make it alright.

LK37oldskool
20/06/2009, 5:23 PM
Jeez lads in comparison to the treatment we've got from your little knackers in Tolka it was handbags! Like a lot of trouble thats caused at LOI games it involves scumbags who were never at the game in the first place.

PartySaint
20/06/2009, 5:36 PM

Down there last week for the cup, no problems

20/06/2009, 5:50 PM

I watched what happened at the front of the station and it was unpleasant enough to be fair. The smoke bombs had pretty much cleared by the time the Shels fans arrived too... I do appreciate you acknowledging that the group of local scrotes involved weren't at the game. In the last couple of weeks the club has really gotten it's act together regarding stewarding in the ground. The majority of those involved aren't allowed into the ground.

I don't think it's fair to blame the club for what happens outside the ground tbh. For me there's plenty of scope for the cops to do more. Those in the ground had taken off long before the end of the game when that's one of the few times their presence might actually be beneficial and it took them ages to respond given the whole thing happened in front of one of their cameras. Their response (one car, 2 women cops and one rotund guy) was fairly insubstantial too.

I sympathise for any innocent party caught up in the whole thing and it's something that should be looked at in future (perhaps support with a reputation for trouble in Limerick could get a police escort to their transport home or some such) but I genuinely don't think that Limerick FC can be held accountable for something that happens away from the ground. Stuff being thrown over the wall on the other hand should be stamped out fairly sharpish.

Hairy Bowsie
20/06/2009, 5:51 PM
Jeez lads in comparison to the treatment we've got from your little knackers in Tolka it was handbags! Like a lot of trouble thats caused at LOI games it involves scumbags who were never at the game in the first place.

This isn't a game of oneupsmanship, as i said it happens everywhere not just Limerick, but don't dare try make light of it either :mad:

Try tell the young lad who got a bang of a hurl in the head it was handbags and i'm sure he'll disagree or try tell it to the middle aged women who got hit with a brick, and for whom an ambulance was called and i'll sure she'll disagree (i must point out that she didn' need too much assistance from the ambulance men)

20/06/2009, 5:52 PM
Down there last week for the cup, no problems

Have to say that Pats were excellent visitors too.

Maynard
20/06/2009, 6:12 PM
Unfortunately this thread simply illustrates the futility of posting anything remotely serious on foot.ie

You won't get any serious or interested debate. Just numpties saying "Well, you're from Dublin so stick it up yer h*le!"

If it's true that it was Doc's ma who had the ambulance called for her injury then I sincerely hope she's okay, and that this incident won't put herself and the husband off traveling to watch the Reds and their son play.

Shelsred
20/06/2009, 7:41 PM
Just so you know sadloserkid, I was trying to do the exact opposite of blame the club for it.

And can someone actually explain to me what happened when ya's were down here, and was it this season or last season??

Enruoblehs
20/06/2009, 10:29 PM

http://foot.ie/forums/images/buttons/viewpost.gif

That did happen and theres no defence for it. The Shels fans who did that were rightly kicked out of the ground and it was unacceptable.

The culprit was pointed out by a Shelbourne supporter and two members of the Shels Board of Management escorted himself and his two friends to the gates and instructed the stewards there that they were not to be readmitted.

jafrazer
21/06/2009, 1:03 AM
Here's a video of the match to enjoy! (Or not if you're a Limerick fan) ;)

http://vimeo.com/5251656

LK37oldskool
21/06/2009, 11:11 AM
I'm sorry to hear that people got hurt and i in no way condone what those knackers did but in the 3 seasons we've been in jackman Park the only games we've had trouble at is the Shels match's.I dont know if its an element you bring down or if its knackers that come out of the woodwork down here for those games but that is a sad fact. i really think that the gardai are not doing a good enough job if they could'nt escort ye back to the station safetly.This is the only fixture i wont bring my wife and kid to.

northsiderkid
21/06/2009, 1:57 PM
I was at Mervue game earlier in the season and little scum bags threw stones at the little kids playing at half time (I believe half time games are not on anymore) ive not been back since and do not intend on doing so anytime soon. Unfortunatly all clubs have a bad element like every country in the world but what happened outside is a disgrace 300 yards is all the fans had to walk and it couldnt be policed. Surely somewhere like the train station has cctv and this should be used to catch these thugs.

21/06/2009, 4:11 PM
First off...

???

I happened to be in the Shels end for the penalty as I was bringing my daughter to the toilet.

One bottle was thrown and in fairness the Shels fans turned on the guy. I didn't see any bin being upturned.

CSFShels
21/06/2009, 7:29 PM
The proper Shels fans on here don't have any time for the idiotic Shels fans that throw stuff etc. in the same way that I'm sure the proper Limerick fans on here are the exact same about this kinda scum, so theres really no argument to be had here. The only thing that can be said for definite, is that the guards at the game were a disgrace, and I think fans of both red and blue persuasion can agree on that.

21/06/2009, 10:19 PM
The proper Shels fans on here don't have any time for the idiotic Shels fans that throw stuff etc. in the same way that I'm sure the proper Limerick fans on here are the exact same about this kinda scum, so theres really no argument to be had here. The only thing that can be said for definite, is that the guards at the game were a disgrace, and I think fans of both red and blue persuasion can agree on that.

I wasn't at the game but thats pretty much spot on as the gardai are always useless, in every situation when it comes to doing their job

Darkglasses
21/06/2009, 10:32 PM
Unfortunatly all clubs have a bad element .

Lots of people have been posting this, and I needed to point out no, not all clubs have problems like these. I would have said it was mainly dublin clubs, but kudos have to go to UCD ;).

22/06/2009, 2:02 PM
Just so you know sadloserkid, I was trying to do the exact opposite of blame the club for it.

And can someone actually explain to me what happened when ya's were down here, and was it this season or last season??

I appreciated that. Genuinely.

And our unpleasantness at Tolka Park was at the end of last season.

Surely somewhere like the train station has cctv and this should be used to catch these thugs.

There's a camera just outside the station that would have the whole thing.

The only thing that can be said for definite, is that the guards at the game were a disgrace, and I think fans of both red and blue persuasion can agree on that.

100% in agreement. As far as I could tell they were gone before the game ended.

peadar1987
22/06/2009, 2:20 PM
There's no place for any of that kind of carry-on in football, from any club. In a way I'm glad we don't attract 10 000 to our league games, because the gardaí seem incapable of policing attendances of just 1500, and it would only be a matter of time before something really serious happened.

bluepowers
24/06/2009, 9:28 PM
must say the guards in tolka are very good but shels bring trouble on themselves

GalwayRed
24/06/2009, 10:37 PM
must say the guards in tolka are very good but shels bring trouble on themselves
Im getting sick of hearing this line. What did our fans do to deserve bottles being thrown at us and have people waiting for us outside the train station where our bus was parked. One of our fans got hit in the back of the head with a hurley ffs. Did he bring that on himself?

MikeBassett
24/06/2009, 11:19 PM
Im getting sick of hearing this line. What did our fans do to deserve bottles being thrown at us and have people waiting for us outside the train station where our bus was parked. One of our fans got hit in the back of the head with a hurley ffs. Did he bring that on himself?

Not one bit surprised to hear that a section of the Limerick 'supporters' were at that the other night. The lad with the hurley was probably just there to get a 'warm-up' for the Waterford lads in Thurles the following day.

All Limerick FC is at the moment is glorified junior soccer club, in my opinion they'd be better off folding because they are going nowhere fast.

24/06/2009, 11:28 PM
All Limerick FC is at the moment is glorified junior soccer club, in my opinion they'd be better off folding because they are going nowhere fast.
You'd prefer no senior club in Limerick to a struggling club?

pól-dcfc
25/06/2009, 8:33 AM
You'd prefer no senior club in Limerick to a struggling club?

His username would suggest he couldn't care less.

Monkfish
25/06/2009, 9:51 AM
. What did our fans do to deserve bottles being thrown at us
Nothing excuses it and even your average football hooligan or casual type would be ashamed to see a woman get hurt but having to chase Shelbourne kiddies away from the bus stops around Tolka every time we go up there so they dont stone our bus winds some people up. Also you boys were being kept back in the ground after the game for your own safety and you tried to break down the barrier and abused stewards holding ye back, so ye were let out into the waiting gang of youths.

Now why is it theres only trouble on this scale when Shels come to town? fair enough its the 1st Div but we've had Pats, Cork, Dundalk down here over the last year or so and theres never as much trouble.

Monkfish
25/06/2009, 9:55 AM
All Limerick FC is at the moment is glorified junior soccer club,

4-1
5-0
4-0

Now go away.

GalwayRed
25/06/2009, 10:58 AM
Nothing excuses it and even your average football hooligan or casual type would be ashamed to see a woman get hurt but having to chase Shelbourne kiddies away from the bus stops around Tolka every time we go up there so they dont stone our bus winds some people up. Also you boys were being kept back in the ground after the game for your own safety and you tried to break down the barrier and abused stewards holding ye back, so ye were let out into the waiting gang of youths.
Youre right you shouldnt have to deal with that when you go to Tolka and I wouldnt try to excuse it either. Just like what happened on Friday shouldnt be excused. I seriously doubt any of those kids were in Limerick last Friday just as I seriously doubt the lads waiting for us at the train station have been to Tolka. So I dont see why those lads would be wound up about something that happened in Tolka.
Those lads probably would have waited at the train station no matter how long we were kept back but youre right the stewards shouldnt have had to deal with a small minority of Shels fans trying to push back the barriers.

Now why is it theres only trouble on this scale when Shels come to town? fair enough its the 1st Div but we've had Pats, Cork, Dundalk down here over the last year or so and theres never as much trouble.
Its a good question and one I cant really answer. However I would be fairly certain that there were no Shels fans that made the trip to Limerick looking for trouble. On the same note only yorselves and Dundalk fans have claimed to have had trouble at Tolka in the first division and thats the only two sets of fans who bring a decent away support to Tolka in this division.

Monkfish
25/06/2009, 11:38 AM
I seriously doubt the lads waiting for us at the train station have been to Tolka.

There was the usual group of scummy types on the train staion wall all through the game. (used to jump down the wall before stewards and barriers were placed there) so im guessing that was the crowd who caused trouble? you'd be right in saying they've never been to Tolka but there was others who were in the ground who got caught up/joined in I beleive.

25/06/2009, 11:41 AM

Why were we kept back after the game even though both sets of fans were able to freely mix throughout the game? Clueless stewarding.

Monkfish
25/06/2009, 1:01 PM
Why were we kept back after the game even though both sets of fans were able to freely mix throughout the game? Clueless stewarding.

Vast majority were "segregated" during the game

bluepowers
25/06/2009, 1:19 PM
we will be in tolka in september i bet the treatment we get will not be nice stewards try there best there only voluntary any way there not getting paid

does the shels stewards get paid ?

25/06/2009, 2:33 PM
Vast majority were "segregated" during the game

It was still a pointless and ridiculous exercise.

does the shels stewards get paid ?

Some are volunteers, some are paid.

28/06/2009, 5:45 PM
Was told today that the son of a woman who works with my brother was saved by some Shels supporters from a hiding after the game by some of the Limerick scummers

The son was walking away on his own after the game up near the station when three lads decided they'd start a thoroughly fair fight with him and show the world how big their balls are but four Shels supporters stepped in and told them to do one.

Thumb up for those Shels fans