View Full Version : Irish Times says club to be wound up Monday

Pages : 1 [2] 3

22/06/2009, 1:46 PM
Isn't there just a danger that people, as in the general Limerick public, will not be all that bothered if the club is wound up since the likelihood is that a new one will be formed in much the same vein as Limerick 37 was and the way Limerick Utd, Limerick City etc have come and gone?. The FAI will always want a Limerick club of some description given the population and the potential if things came together. €70k in a week is a big ask. No trying to have a go here by the way, hopefully ye can sort it out.

22/06/2009, 2:10 PM
They'd have to resurface in the "A" Championship this time, which would simplify some things but complicate as many. It's also of a weak standard, so attracting a decent team from the Junior pool would be tough.

Goals4fun
23/06/2009, 11:21 AM
how many of the players are getting ****ed off with this year on year. For what they earn and the travel then do, the work time they get off, seriously while i support Limerick, i think they would be better plying their trade back at junior level, some would probably make the same money if they went looking....

it does not look good for limerick, and i hope they turn it around but i expect even if they do, how long before being back in the mire again....?

Monkfish
23/06/2009, 11:32 AM
how many of the players are getting ****ed off with this year on year.

Seeing as the best ones have stuck with the club through thin and thinner over the years it doesnt seem like many.
They want to play at a higher level and thats what they care about at the end of the day.

23/06/2009, 1:23 PM
Any word on how the fundraising is going? We were very close to going wallop
so I know what its like

23/06/2009, 6:00 PM
On spin fm that limerick have been saved. Money from business' and a very generous contribution from pat o Sullivan. Anyone know who he is?

Battery Rover
23/06/2009, 6:40 PM
and a very generous contribution from pat o Sullivan. Anyone know who he is?

Is he the guy that ran for City Council

LK37oldskool
23/06/2009, 6:49 PM
not sure if hes the guy your thinkin of but we seem to be safe for the rest of the season anyway.

23/06/2009, 7:09 PM
Great news if true

23/06/2009, 7:48 PM
Lovely, won't be losing six points now.

23/06/2009, 9:22 PM
Pat O Sullivan (http://www.masterchefs.ie/master/publisher/index.jsp?&1nID=93&2nID=94&3nID=144&nID=145&aID=136) Heard from a friend of mine that this is probably the guy. He said if it is him he's a nice fella. Very nice if he's helped bail Limerick out.

Monkfish
23/06/2009, 10:33 PM
Pat O Sullivan (http://www.masterchefs.ie/master/publisher/index.jsp?&1nID=93&2nID=94&3nID=144&nID=145&aID=136) Heard from a friend of mine that this is probably the guy. He said if it is him he's a nice fella. Very nice if he's helped bail Limerick out.

No thats not the guy, this fella was at the meeting the other night asking a pile of questions. Nice guy by all account.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/0623/limerickfc.html

23/06/2009, 11:19 PM
Wonderful news if true.

That said, it seems to be only a short term thing. Good enough for now though, obviously.

L37Ultra
24/06/2009, 12:02 AM
Fantastic news. Well done Pat. Last Sunday certainly showed the passion there is out there for soccer in Limerick. He certainly showed some interest on sunday and knew what he was talking about.

inmoscow
24/06/2009, 12:26 AM
Number of people in leos lotto,according to the board,approx 25.The number of people on here professing there love of limerick fc,far outweigh that,time to step up to the plate gentlemen/ladies!

24/06/2009, 6:30 AM
Great news lads. Time to put the work in now

gaidin
24/06/2009, 7:42 AM
Is he the guy that ran for City Council

Ya I think it is that Pat O Sullivan..He has a few businesses around limerick and munster.

declan hide
24/06/2009, 7:55 AM
Number of people in leos lotto,according to the board,approx 25.The number of people on here professing there love of limerick fc,far outweigh that,time to step up to the plate gentlemen/ladies!

whats the details on leos lotto?

24/06/2009, 8:29 AM
whats the details on leos lotto?

http://www.limerickfc.ie/fundraising/leoslottery.html

or pm me ur name and address and ill post you out a form. need lots to join this lads so ask for loads of forms to share the love between you and ur family, business or mates

Monkfish
24/06/2009, 8:38 AM

Couldnt agree more. if we get out of this hole (we still need the whole 70k) then we need at least 200 members.

lfc at heart
24/06/2009, 8:53 AM
how come ye all want a handout, Limerick fc is getting bailed out for the last 3 season and probally longer, whats wrong with this club thats it keeps going into the red

Monkfish
24/06/2009, 9:08 AM
whats wrong with this club thats it keeps going into the red

People like you not joining the lotto, please save us!

blueblood
24/06/2009, 9:16 AM
how come ye all want a handout, Limerick fc is getting bailed out for the last 3 season and probally longer, whats wrong with this club thats it keeps going into the red
Because we're in a vicious circle and can't get out of the First Division so less money, support comming in. It seems we are safe for now and would like to progress further which can only be done with more money and support and getting back to the Premier Division and staying there, Fair play to everyone involved in raising the cash so far :)

Ciarán R
24/06/2009, 10:22 AM
Question re Leo's Lottery: is it a direct debit indefinitely or for a 12-month period?

Cheers

redron
24/06/2009, 10:53 AM
Question re Leo's Lottery: is it a direct debit indefinitely or for a 12-month period?

Cheers

Leo's Lottery (Limerick FC Development Fund) is a fund primarily for capital projects and youth development initiatives, so it is ongoing.
A direct debit is an ongoing arrangement, which can be cancelled at any time by you instructing your bank to stop making the payments.

See http://www.limerickfc.ie/fundraising

Fr Damo
24/06/2009, 11:43 AM
I just coped on to this storey over the weekend. What another joke this all is. How can it be that a Club/Business/Entity be allowed to over spend in this manner and depend on dig outs season after season? 70k is a massive amount of money and considering the life of L37 is how old , means losses have been accruing pretty much since you came into existance. Why would JP throw 70k at L37? What have they ever done for Limerick and I am looking for examples of worthwile endevours here.

L37 should be wound up and they should compete in what ever league their finances allow. As should every other club who are strugging. I understand ATFC are also in trouble at the moment as there only have 1 home game in 4 weeks with the way fixtures fell and the shut down, wages are going to be an issue. After everything last winter.

I don't know how we can sustain two tiers of paid football players in this country, and therefore I suggest we shouldn't. i.e It should be strictly Amatur (legit exp only) and the only motivation that should exist it the prospect of some players moving up to a better paid Premier Div.

Signed

A long time ( Financial ) supporter of the Div 1! I'm sick of it.

Monkfish
24/06/2009, 12:14 PM
What have they ever done for Limerick and I am looking for examples of worthwile endevours here.

Provided a club for football players to showcase their talents on a broader scale rather than tucked away with a junior club on a Sunday morning.

You seem very bitter for some reason? you want a hug?

KevB76
24/06/2009, 12:16 PM

There was a public meeting on Sunday where all such questions were asked and answered.

The club hasnt gone into the red, but due to the Thomond Park friendly not going head, the club will be short €70k by the end of the season. The club needs one major fundraiser every year to make ends meet (last years was the Trappatoni gig). Jack McCarthy wanted to wind up the club now, before going into debt, rather than write a cheque for €70k at the end of the season.

Lev Yashin
24/06/2009, 12:22 PM
Provided a club for football players to showcase their talents on a broader scale rather than tucked away with a junior club on a Sunday morning.

You seem very bitter for some reason? you want a hug?

Firstly I am a Limerick fan to an extent, have sen them play a few times this year and last. And i play junior Soccer.

But as for your comment about allowing talents to be showcased on a broader scale, well personally i think that a run in the F.A.I Junior cup or even, and to a lesser extent, a run in the Munster Junior is reported on and followed more than a mid table game or games in the first divison in Ireland saying players are "tucked away" really isn't fair, the games i have been to see limerick the support has been shocking, dont get me wrong the ones that are there are passionate but the numbers are appalling.

I want and i think Limerick needs a good solid financially viable soccer team, but the question has to be asked after another problem.....Can it happen?:ball:

Fr Damo
24/06/2009, 12:25 PM
Do I want a hug? er No, Do you want 70 grand?

It appears to me there isn't the desire in Limerick for League football, yet your junior leagues always do well on a national scale. Why do you think that is?

I'm not bitter, it's a fact if your costs are 5 k a week and you earn 3 k you are losig money at a rate of 2 k per week. Why then are you paying Pat scully x amount per week + exp up and down from Dublin?
And that is why JP won't come accross and I for one would agree with him. If I won the Euro millions I would't give a cent to any badly run charity, or most of the first Div & Premier teams.

Fr Damo
24/06/2009, 12:33 PM
[

quote=KevB76;1182752]There was a public meeting on Sunday where all such questions were asked and answered.

The club hasnt gone into the red, but due to the Thomond Park friendly not going head, the club will be short €70k by the end of the season. The club needs one major fundraiser every year to make ends meet (last years was the Trappatoni gig).

So some of your cash flow staement was dependant on an aspiration to have a glamour preseason friendly, not healthy and obviously hasn't worked for the last few seasons.

As for winding up, writing of a debt and reforming, what about the creditors who are owed some of this money? This debt has already been accrued (ie deferred) in my books, If this guy McCarthy is saying you aren't in debt now but will be by season's end he's bulls*hitting you. If you are breaking even now with no fundraiser - why can't you break even by seasons end??

L37Ultra
24/06/2009, 12:36 PM

It appears to me there isn't the desire in Limerick for League football, yet your junior leagues always do well on a national scale. Why do you think that is?

I'm not bitter, it's a fact if your costs are 5 k a week and you earn 3 k you are losig money at a rate of 2 k per week. Why then are you paying Pat scully x amount per week + exp up and down from Dublin?
And that is why JP won't come accross and I for one would agree with him. If I won the Euro millions I would't give a cent to any badly run charity, or most of the first Div & Premier teams.

First of all, if you were at the Public Meeting last Sunday you would know that the club isn't badly run.

The club isn't in any debt so your facts are wrong. The club and its current managment commitee (Mostly volunteers) are paying the cost of debts run up from previous owners.

At the meeting it was said that, since Jack McCarthy took over he has paid out over 300K and he couldn't afford to pay out anymore at the end of the season.

Once this seasons fundrasier (friendly in Thomond Park) couldn't go ahead the club and Jack McCarthy realised that they would be short 70K at the end of the season.

Understandably, McCarthy looked to wind up the club because he didn't want to be writing a cheque for 70k come November.

KevB76
24/06/2009, 12:38 PM

You are assuming, like most people, that its badly run. Like I said before, there were a lot of questions raised at the public meeting and Pat O'Sullivan for one was obviously satisfied that the plans in place are viable, but the €70k is needed short term to see out this season due to the thomond Park friendly falling through.

Monkfish
24/06/2009, 12:39 PM
, yet your junior leagues always do well on a national scale. .

Your a few years behind with your 'info' pal:rolleyes:

LK37oldskool
24/06/2009, 12:39 PM
If we get the numbers for the lottery it will go a long way to keeping the club above stormy waters,especially as there will be a regular stream of income in the off season. can i also suggest that maybe a group of friends pool together and pay into one of the patron scheme's either 500/250 euro.Just an idea as its a lot for one person in these tough financial times but if you love the club we have make sacrifices too.

Monkfish
24/06/2009, 12:45 PM
a run in the F.A.I Junior cup

When was the last time this happend though, didnt Pike and Fairview get beat by some crowd from Mayo this year?

You'll get more exposure playing for Limerick when your going up to Dublin every few weeks playing in the league of Ireland, just look at the International caps our younger players are getting the last year.

I know lads who are happy just to play ball around the town and good luck to them but what about lads who have the talent and desire to take it further.

KevB76
24/06/2009, 12:49 PM
[As for winding up, writing of a debt and reforming, what about the creditors who are owed some of this money? This debt has already been accrued (ie deferred) in my books

Reforming? That was never going to happen.

Lev Yashin
24/06/2009, 12:54 PM
When was the last time this happend though, didnt Pike and Fairview get beat by some crowd from Mayo this year?

You'll get more exposure playing for Limerick when your going up to Dublin every few weeks playing in the league of Ireland, just look at the International caps our younger players are getting the last year.

I know lads who are happy just to play ball around the town and good luck to them but what about lads who have the talent and desire to take it further.

I dont think in some positions Limerick have players who are anymore talented than players playing junior football around town.

L37Ultra
24/06/2009, 12:59 PM
I dont think in some positions Limerick have players who are anymore talented than players playing junior football around town.

Don't let this turn into another pathetic junior football argument.

Thats whats wrong with football in this city. If there is better players in certain positions playing junior football in Limerick, i'm sure theres many reasons why they are still playing Junior football and not playing at a higher standard.

What has that got to do with Limerick's current financial state?

If people who say they love soccer in this county, got up off there arses and supported Limerick, then we wouldn't be in this mess in the first place. :ball:

24/06/2009, 2:13 PM
As for winding up, writing of a debt and reforming, what about the creditors who are owed some of this money? This debt has already been accrued (ie deferred) in my books, If this guy McCarthy is saying you aren't in debt now but will be by season's end he's bulls*hitting you. If you are breaking even now with no fundraiser - why can't you break even by seasons end??
Income tends to be somewhat front loaded in football - season tickets, jersey sales, perhaps even some of the bigger fund-raising events coming at the start of the season. These things mean that a club might be in no debt mid season, but expect to make a loss over all.

It's not ideal that the club seems to be so dependent on gimmicky fundraisers, but it's not the most unreasonable budgeting decision ever made in the league. It will be interesting now to see if they learn from this or struggle again next season.

24/06/2009, 2:28 PM
If we get the numbers for the lottery it will go a long way to keeping the club above stormy waters

If we got the numbers for the lottery we wouldn't have any financial worries either ;) .

Monkfish
24/06/2009, 2:43 PM

Agree 100%

Fr Damo
24/06/2009, 3:01 PM
Income tends to be somewhat front loaded in football - season tickets, jersey sales, perhaps even some of the bigger fund-raising events coming at the start of the season. These things mean that a club might be in no debt mid season, but expect to make a loss over all.

It's not ideal that the club seems to be so dependent on gimmicky fundraisers, but it's not the most unreasonable budgeting decision ever made in the league. It will be interesting now to see if they learn from this or struggle again next season.

[/QUOTE]

Thats a fair and valid point John.

Thats whats wrong with football in this city. If there is better players in certain positions playing junior football in Limerick, i'm sure theres many reasons why they are still playing Junior football and not playing at a higher standard.

What has that got to do with Limerick's current financial state?

If people who say they love soccer in this county, got up off there arses and supported Limerick, then we wouldn't be in this mess in the first place. :ball:

In relation to the crowds not showing up for games, it's the old cheasnut that has been around for ages but I will say this, you have GAA clubs in every county getting bigger home attendances for championship games than 90% of Div 1 teams, they pay zero in wages, a few Bob in expences and treat their players better when it comes to diet and training, physio, Jobs, loss of earnings etc. There is bloody good model staring us in the face and I cannot see why Div one teams cannot tap into this local goodwill. I admit I can't solve the problem though - yet.

Bonovox
24/06/2009, 3:09 PM
before they are wound up.....

Battery Rover
24/06/2009, 3:11 PM
you have GAA clubs in every county getting bigger home attendances for championship games than 90% of Div 1 teams, they pay zero in wages, a few Bob in expences and treat their players better when it comes to diet and training, physio, Jobs, loss of earnings etc. There is bloody good model staring us in the face and I cannot see why Div one teams cannot tap into this local goodwill. I admit I can't solve the problem though - yet.Just on the few bob bit. It might seem that way but it is far from it. I know we approached a GAA player and what he considered the minimum few bob was at least three times what would be our maximum without loss of earnings.

L37Ultra
24/06/2009, 3:11 PM
before they are wound up.....

Can you read no?

http://limerickfc.ie/Home/news/090623.html ;)

Fr Damo
24/06/2009, 3:14 PM

The first Div isn't the place for that. I know lots of lads who have played LOI and who went junior when they hit thirty.... they all say playing junior means so much more than Div 1 becasue as one guy said, they first thing he used to do was check the envelope after the game to see all the wages were there with a named LOI team. This same fellow now pays to play junior football and got to the FAI J Cup Final this year. I would say it cost him about 2000 quid to play, petrol to games, lost time at work, physio etc. And that's the differnace. People play lower level LOI to further their own end, not the clubs, and when you get paid for playing at a standard that frankly doesn't deserve anything more than recompense it is all taken for granted.

Monkfish
24/06/2009, 4:17 PM
The first Div isn't the place for that.

Certainly is for young players wanting to make a breakthrough into the senior game and lads playing junior who want to make the step up, we all supposed to go on what 1 fella told you?

Fr Damo
24/06/2009, 5:20 PM
Go on what ever you like but imo, the 1st Div should be scrapped and the A championship brought on to act as a feeder for say 14-16 proper premier clubs. There should be a team in that premier from limerick, of that I have no doubt, I bet you would then get those players from the Junior clubs to play for you and other struggling LOI teams as they would be playing in a better league by and large, earing a few more quid perhaps and certainly more prestige. Then they would be brought on.

I don't want to bring this board down to another discussion but I just think, Sligo, Athlone Limerick, Kilkenny, Cobh, Shamrock Rovers and Shelbourne (bohs Next maybe) are cases in point. Thankfully some of the above have come through it but setting up a poxy lotto or needing dig outs every 24 months means we aree going around in circles.

As I said, I am sick of it and Div 1. We Are Going Nowhere!!!

blueblood
24/06/2009, 5:59 PM
Go on what ever you like but imo, the 1st Div should be scrapped and the A championship brought on to act as a feeder for say 14-16 proper premier clubs. There should be a team in that premier from limerick, of that I have no doubt, I bet you would then get those players from the Junior clubs to play for you and other struggling LOI teams as they would be playing in a better league by and large, earing a few more quid perhaps and certainly more prestige. Then they would be brought on.

As I said, I am sick of it and Div 1. We Are Going Nowhere!!!

Ok so you just wait around for the 14/16 team premier to happen, why bother trying to attract the best junior players, why bother with fundraisers, why bother with a poxy lotto, why bother trying to get promoted, why oh why oh why bother :rolleyes:,