View Full Version : Limerick FC set to be wound up

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5

22/06/2009, 12:23 PM
Sounds like it was Real Madrid laughing at the thought of playing Limerick, coupled with the club's Chairman wanting out.

Hardly unknown unknowns....
Yet again, you are completely wrong.

But don't let that stop your self-determined infallibility.

Monkfish
22/06/2009, 12:27 PM
Use your heads lads, besides Elton John and Rod Steward who else is playing in Thomond park this summer.......

22/06/2009, 1:33 PM
You were playing Ireland?

Pious37
22/06/2009, 1:47 PM
Monkfish, people are not coping onto you. Il spell it out. Basically the FAI would not grant Limerick a friendly at Thomond Park as they thought it would upstage the upcoming international friendlies planned. This is the general rumour being put out. The clubs representatives denied this last night but everyone with a brain knows this is the case. Sad state of affairs really, the FAI is a joke full stop.

22/06/2009, 1:54 PM
That doesn't sound very plausible to be honest.

a) Why would the FAI do that? Limerick upstage the national team? With all due respect, I don't think so!
b) Even if they did it's still not their fault LFC are in the crap they're in.

22/06/2009, 1:56 PM
The clubs representatives denied this last night but everyone with a brain knows this is the case. Sad state of affairs really, the FAI is a joke full stop.

The club representatives neither denied or confirmed that story last night as the FAI instructed them to not pass public comment on the FAI and their dealings with the club. I won't be going to the international games now anyway.

22/06/2009, 2:01 PM
Why does everyone always look for huge reasons when we find out Limerick/Cork/Bohs/whoever have hit money problems?

Take a look around the two leagues and the lack of interest in them and you'll see where the problems start and finish

Pious37
22/06/2009, 2:02 PM

a) Why would the FAI do that? Limerick upstage the national team? With all due respect, I don't think so!

It would have if a premier league team had come or if rumours of a possible Real Madrid match taken place. Real Madrid galacticos or a second string Ireland team hmmm

22/06/2009, 2:04 PM
Even if they upstaged the Ireland matches, they'd still sell out.

22/06/2009, 2:06 PM
Even if they upstaged the Ireland matches, they'd still sell out.

Maybe you're all still very prosperous in Ballyboffey but down in Limerick there's definitely a good chance that watching Ireland or Ipswich would be an either/or scenario for a lot of people. :)

Monkfish
22/06/2009, 2:21 PM

Would you rather see a Premiership team for say E15? or see an Ireland reserve team for (cheapest ticket) E55?

Maybe you and I may choose Ireland but what about the rest? Word has it both internationals are selling slowly as it is.

22/06/2009, 2:32 PM
Fair point. Hadn't considered the possibility of your friendly being so cheap and the Ireland games so dear to be honest.

Still think there'll be decent interest in the Ireland games right enough.

22/06/2009, 3:41 PM
According to Gleesons sports tickets for the Ireland game are starting at 25euro not 55euro so they can be got cheaper.

Still in all they aren't selling well and won't until people have some idea what players will be playing. If it is a second string team then not many people will bother going. If it was Real Madrid everyone would go to say they have seen real Madrid play and hope that one or two first teamers show up.

I saw Limericks two plans as how to raise the money in the Limerick Leader today. I wasn't able to make the meeting last night but i was wondering had anyone put this question forward. If i was to follow plan B and give 250euro to the club will i get my money back if they don't raise the 70,000 or where will my money go?

22/06/2009, 3:45 PM
If i was to follow plan B and give 250euro to the club will i get my money back if they don't raise the 70,000 or where will my money go?

It will be held in an FAI 'trust' for the next club to stagger to the edge of the abyss.

Monkfish
22/06/2009, 4:20 PM
According to Gleesons sports tickets for the Ireland game are starting at 25euro not 55euro so they can be got cheaper.

If you wanna stand in a wet terrace behind the goals :)
My mistake, I know the stand is E55 though, so are they putting temp seating on the terrace or what?

22/06/2009, 4:22 PM
My mistake, I know the stand is E55 though, so are they putting temp seating on the terrace or what?
Do you need seats even for friendlies? I am not sure.

22/06/2009, 4:36 PM
Never had for Lansdowne. Don't know if that was a temporary derogation or if it was just allowed. Thought it was just allowed.

LK37oldskool
22/06/2009, 4:42 PM
only 1000 tickets at 25euro been released and even there not selling.FAI did'nt want to be upstaged with a full Thomand for a club friendly and a half empty stadium for an international. That shower in dublin have ridden us raw!

22/06/2009, 4:47 PM
If there's a shower worse than the black and tans it's that shower above in Dublin..ridden rock solid.

LK37oldskool
22/06/2009, 4:53 PM
close call between the tans and the FAI!

22/06/2009, 5:06 PM
Never had for Lansdowne. Don't know if that was a temporary derogation or if it was just allowed. Thought it was just allowed.

It's allowed, there's terracing in use in Thomond for the friendlies.

pearse4t3
22/06/2009, 5:41 PM
Tickets for this the eagerly-awaited clash will be available for €25 (South terrace), €35 (East and West terrace) and €55 (East and West stands) - 2,000 €7 tickets will also be distributed through schoolboy and schoolgirl clubs throughout the country in July.
Mere weeks ago Republic of Ireland manager Giovanni Trapattoni visited Gleeson Sports Scene, along with FAI CEO John Delaney, to launch 1,000 pre-release tickets for the match against the Socceroos on Wednesday, August 12 (kick-off 7.30pm).

blueblood
22/06/2009, 6:36 PM
Would you rather see a Premiership team for say E15? or see an Ireland reserve team for (cheapest ticket) E55?

Maybe you and I may choose Ireland but what about the rest? Word has it both internationals are selling slowly as it is.

Also i think F.A.I didn't want to be upstaged by PlatinumOne so brought in a new rule banning games being played in a ground 30 days before an international match, amazingly Limerick had organised matches for Thomond PK 28 days before an international so FAI couldn't (wouldn't) sanction these :mad:. That was probably the final straw for Jack McCarthy after the FAI promised him the sun the moon and the stars etc when he first took over Lims. FAI probably wouldn't have sanctioned Shamrock Rovers either but for all the publicity before hand

22/06/2009, 6:47 PM
Fair point. Hadn't considered the possibility of your friendly being so cheap and the Ireland games so dear to be honest.

Still think there'll be decent interest in the Ireland games right enough.

Honestly there is zero buzz around town for the Ireland games, I can see them being spectacular flops attendence wise

22/06/2009, 6:58 PM
Honestly there is zero buzz around town for the Ireland games, I can see them being spectacular flops attendence wise
Le cúnamh Dé. :cool:

Monkfish
23/06/2009, 9:33 AM
eagerly-awaited clash

23/06/2009, 6:04 PM
according to spin fm limerick fc have been saved by local business' and a generous contribution from pat o Sullivan.

pól-dcfc
23/06/2009, 6:15 PM
according to spin fm limerick fc have been saved by local business' and a generous contribution from pat o Sullivan.

Great to hear if true. Fair play to all involved.

LK37oldskool
23/06/2009, 6:47 PM
made some calls and this seems to be true.Good for the rest of the season anyway.

23/06/2009, 7:02 PM
Incredible achievement to find that sort of money in a week.

So Limerick are safe for now but the same guy still owns the club right?

Is there any indication of what the plan is? A new owner or a supporter run entity?

Buller
23/06/2009, 7:21 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/0623/limerickfc.html

Limerick FC's efforts to maintain their League of Ireland status received a boost this week with news that Co Limerick businessman Pat O'Sullivan has made a 'significant and generous' contribution to the club's funds.

In a statement issued by the club today, the management committee and board said that O'Sullivan 'stepped up to provide substantial financial support' while chairman, Jack McCarthy, said that 'several individuals and businesses donated €250/€500 to the club' and many people signed up to 'Leo's Lotto' to bolster the club's finances.

At a public meeting in the Strand Hotel on Sunday night, club PRO Joe Sweeney revealed that it needed €70,000 'within a week' and appealed to ordinary supporters and business people to 'ensure the future of Limerick FC'.

A club statement said that at the positive meeting it 'demonstrated how far it has come in 18 months under the stewardship of Jack McCarthy and showed its plans for the future, but stressed the importance of further funding to reach their goal of self sufficiency and their return to the Premier Division.'

Sweeney revealed: 'Pat is a local successful business man with a genuine interest in soccer and he has the future of Limerick FC at heart. He brings us considerable business acumen and is a very welcome addition to the Limerick FC board.'

McCarthy also expressed his appreciation to O'Sullivan, saying that 'the team is fortunate to have a man of his calibre and standing join us'.

Originally from Ballylanders, O'Sullivan has two businesses - Galtee Fuels and Green Heat - and has an interest in all sports.

'Soccer being the most played sport in the city, county and indeed the entire mid-west can help to keep young people out of mischief and help them become the best they can be,' he said.

McCarthy praised the management committee for its 'unwavering dedication' and added that 'despite the challenges I have grown to love this club, and I am thrilled that local investors are getting behind us'.

Great news. Just find it disconcerting how they are nearly going bust with minimum outgoings and not the worst attendences. Worry for other clubs...

LK37oldskool
23/06/2009, 8:02 PM
The reason we nearly went to the wall was Jack is pulling out and we needed 70k to see out the season,he's ploughed over 300k of his money in and could'nt put any more in.He was promised help from the FAI but they renaged and this is where we are.

Tipp Top
23/06/2009, 11:43 PM
Fair play to Pat O Sullivian for investing the money it asnt easy to put money into something that will have no Financial reward for you especially in the current climate. Its a pity their isnt more business people like him around the country.

24/06/2009, 8:37 AM
I saw Limericks two plans as how to raise the money in the Limerick Leader today. I wasn't able to make the meeting last night but i was wondering had anyone put this question forward. If i was to follow plan B and give 250euro to the club will i get my money back if they don't raise the 70,000 or where will my money go?

back to the ppl who contributed. we aint in need of money for anything but to progress. now u and ur mates join leos lotto

http://www.limerickfc.ie/fundraising/leoslottery.html

KevB76
24/06/2009, 12:26 PM
Incredible achievement to find that sort of money in a week.

So Limerick are safe for now but the same guy still owns the club right?

Is there any indication of what the plan is? A new owner or a supporter run entity?

I dont know the details but I would assume we are a long way off the €70k mark yet.
But it sounds like the contribution from Pat O'Sullivan was large enough to convince Jack not to give up on us.
This would be the first time he's had any financial support from local business people (apart from the sponsors of course, of which there arent many), which is what he's been looking for all along.

CuanaD
24/06/2009, 12:43 PM
Hope so too - would serve them right IMO

LK37oldskool
24/06/2009, 12:48 PM
i for one will not be going.i was planning to take myself ,wife and daughter to the game - 3 x 55 euro. i think now i'll donate it instead to the club patron scheme and i would hope that any true Limerick fan will not go to the game and give the money to the club instead. That shower of wasters in the FAI can swing for it.i hope they lose a packet.

L37Ultra
24/06/2009, 1:03 PM
i for one will not be going.i was planning to take myself ,wife and daughter to the game - 3 x 55 euro. i think now i'll donate it instead to the club patron scheme and i would hope that any true Limerick fan will not go to the game and give the money to the club instead. That shower of wasters in the FAI can swing for it.i hope they lose a packet.

To be fair, there is no real evidence that the FAI screwed Limerick as suggested at the meeting on Sunday.

I know for a fact, there would be no club in Limerick if it wasn't for the FAI introducing Jack McCarthy to Limerick when he was interested in buying an Irish club.

Its them shower of greedy wasters over Thomond Park that we should be having a go at.

24/06/2009, 1:07 PM
Its them shower of greedy wasters over Thomond Park that we should be having a go at.

Exactly, i think anger is misdirected in this case. I'm not saying take it out on Munster or anything but dont jump to conclusions. The FAI aren't all bad.

L37Ultra
24/06/2009, 1:12 PM
Exactly, i think anger is misdirected in this case. I'm not saying take it out on Munster or anything but dont jump to conclusions. The FAI aren't all bad.

Ya agreed. In all fairness, there is no way the FAI would try and screw over Limerick on purpose.

Its the third largest city in the country (sorry Galway fans :p) and it would be a PR disaster for the FAI if Limerick had no club when they came down for two International friendlies.

I know for a fact that John Delaney did great work in working with people down here when Limerick 37 was set up a few seasons ago. Not all the FAI's fault lads, although agreed they could have done more but I don't agree with the FAI helping out clubs.

blueblood
24/06/2009, 8:19 PM
Ya agreed. In all fairness, there is no way the FAI would try and screw over Limerick on purpose.

Its the third largest city in the country (sorry Galway fans :p) and it would be a PR disaster for the FAI if Limerick had no club when they came down for two International friendlies.

I know for a fact that John Delaney did great work in working with people down here when Limerick 37 was set up a few seasons ago. Not all the FAI's fault lads, although agreed they could have done more but I don't agree with the FAI helping out clubs.

The FAI obviously wouldn't try screw Limerick over on purpose for no reason but they would have had no problem screwing PlatinumOne over for obvious reasons, its a bit of a coincidence that the FAI just happened to bring in their new rule (no games to be played on pitch 30 days before an international match) when Limerick had a game(s) planned 28 days before an international. I'm not an FAI basher usually but surely they could have changed something to facilitate Limerick

24/06/2009, 10:31 PM
Yet again, you are completely wrong.

At least 50% of what I wrote has now been proven to be true, and there is apparently an enforced 'omerta' which prevents the other 50% being confirmed or denied officially.

So dry yer eyes..... :o

24/06/2009, 10:38 PM
The reason we nearly went to the wall was Jack is pulling out and we needed 70k to see out the season,he's ploughed over 300k of his money in and could'nt put any more in.He was promised help from the FAI but they renaged and this is where we are.

We still haven't got to the bottom of why a club with such low wages and a fortnightly attendance of c. 500 was so short of money ?

For as long as Limerick (or any other club, for that matter) is dependent upon the good will of one or more individuals, this sort of problem will always have the potential to arise. That's the real reason why Limerick nearly went to the wall - Jack pulling out was only the symptom of this problem.

One way or another benefactors always disappear at some point - and if a club is heavily reliant on them then they'll end up in trouble.

It's back to the sustainability solution again.

LK37oldskool
25/06/2009, 12:49 PM
We still haven't got to the bottom of why a club with such low wages and a fortnightly attendance of c. 500 was so short of money ?

For as long as Limerick (or any other club, for that matter) is dependent upon the good will of one or more individuals, this sort of problem will always have the potential to arise. That's the real reason why Limerick nearly went to the wall - Jack pulling out was only the symptom of this problem.

One way or another benefactors always disappear at some point - and if a club is heavily reliant on them then they'll end up in trouble.

It's back to the sustainability solution again.

Does'nt this seem to be a problem with nearly all the clubs in this country. There's just not enough money around so sustain 2 leagues. One larger premier league and an A championship should be seriously looked at now.

25/06/2009, 12:52 PM
I always wonder why people sign up to forums with a current player in their username. Surely he will, in time, leave for another club and then where will you be? I'm just guessing but I'd say a couple of posters on here had red faces on the days Harpo Joyce, (Super) Frank, and Pineapple Stu left their clubs. :rolleyes:

25/06/2009, 12:53 PM
Does'nt this seem to be a problem with nearly all the clubs in this country. There's just not enough money around so sustain 2 leagues. One larger premier league and an A championship should be seriously looked at now.

The structures don't matter a jot. A league teams could have the same expenditure but with less income.

To answer steve's question; Regardless of outgoings, Limerick simply weren't bringing in enough. Its that simple. They were lucky to have a backer, and lucky that they didn't gamble and attempt to pay high wages.

LK37oldskool
25/06/2009, 12:59 PM
are'nt most of the clubs relying on 1 or 2 main backers,its not ideal but its that or bust.There's not enough money to be got from the general public to sustain any club.

passerrby
25/06/2009, 12:59 PM
What's the latest on Limerick FC? Is it their future looking bleaker by the day now?

If it is then good riddance!

I know there is a rule about attacking the post and not the poster but you my friend are a tosser

Monkfish
25/06/2009, 1:06 PM
I know there is a rule about attacking the post and not the poster but you my friend are a tosser

Wouldnt give him any attention, just an example of the small minded bitterness some (not all) people in juniorland have against Limerick FC.

27/06/2009, 10:39 AM

Nonsense, tell it to Kilkenny (how they must have longed for a Jack McCarthy of their own). :rolleyes:

It wouldn't matter a jot to the FAI if there was no club in this city. I don't they'd be overly pushed if there was no senior league in this country to be utterly honest.

John Delaney couldn't shaft Danny Drew fast enough and left us with our most shambolic chairman ever whose massive debts, amassed in just one year, led us to the precipice that Jack McCarthy dragged us back from. Of course the FAI shouldn't literally finance clubs but they should do their very best to work with them and help them to grow at the same time.