View Full Version : FAI Cup third round
08/06/2009, 4:54 PM
Any of the non-league teams value here? Bluebell away to Bray maybe? 15-2 at the moment.
08/06/2009, 5:16 PM
http://www.oddschecker.com/football/european-leagues/other-leagues/ireland/fai-cup
Might back Crumlin if Shels put out a weakened team. 10/1 is too high but whether or not they win is an entirely different matter.
08/06/2009, 6:20 PM
We have a tiny squad, I'm pretty certain it will be full strength.
JC_GUFC
08/06/2009, 9:39 PM
Any of the non-league teams value here? Bluebell away to Bray maybe? 15-2 at the moment.
Most of the non-league teams are out of season so I'd be surprised if any of them win.
As for the Crumlin game don't forget it's been switched to Tolka Park.
09/06/2009, 12:33 AM
I might have a dabble on Mon U, they have a poor record in the cup v non league sides but they have being doing well in recent weeks. Hopefully the price goes up a bit though. 8/11 is ok with PP but I'd like bigger to really get involved.
09/06/2009, 12:49 PM
Think I'll have a go at Half-Time/Full-Time Shelbourne / Shelbourne @ 4/5 with powers tonight at Tolka. We were drawn away but this is a home game for us. I'm 100% certain we'll have a strong side out. We played Waterford off the park on Friday in what was our best performance to date. If we play like that again we will see off this junior side. I'm not going in too heavy on this as we have been slow starters so far this season and we still have to reach 3rd gear. Crumlin United are coming off the end of a long and successful season, we're hoping they have one eye on their holiers. Also, a couple of their lads got called up to the Irish Amateur side so maybe these will want to go easy as to avoid injury. Strangley this price with the same firm was 8/15 yesterday.
Backing Shels hf/ht @ 4/5 - (Powers) 1.5 pts.
Legendary Bear
09/06/2009, 8:54 PM
Mon U were knocked out at this stage by Skerries Town a few years ago, it could happen again. Cherry Orch ended the season well, winning a cup and getting a few lads back from injury. If this is played down at The Lawns it will be another advantage.
10/06/2009, 10:32 AM
Think I'll have a go at Half-Time/Full-Time Shelbourne / Shelbourne @ 4/5 with powers tonight at Tolka. We were drawn away but this is a home game for us. I'm 100% certain we'll have a strong side out. We played Waterford off the park on Friday in what was our best performance to date. If we play like that again we will see off this junior side. I'm not going in too heavy on this as we have been slow starters so far this season and we still have to reach 3rd gear. Crumlin United are coming off the end of a long and successful season, we're hoping they have one eye on their holiers. Also, a couple of their lads got called up to the Irish Amateur side so maybe these will want to go easy as to avoid injury. Strangley this price with the same firm was 8/15 yesterday.
Backing Shels hf/ht @ 4/5 - (Powers) 1.5 pts.
Last night was the worst performance I've seen from a Shels side in a long, long time. Never a chance of getting that bet up. Their keeper was wasting time from the first minute but that's to be expected. Thankfully it was only a small bet, though it was tempting to go all in @ 4/5. For the replay Shels shouldn't be shorter than 2/5 - Crumlin are a decent outfit..
brianw82
10/06/2009, 9:30 PM
Anyone know if Ballymun are decent? Derry -2 goals is 6/5 with Paddy, and I'm thinking about it.
10/06/2009, 11:04 PM
Anyone know if Ballymun are decent? Derry -2 goals is 6/5 with Paddy, and I'm thinking about it.
Me too, Ballymun are a good junior side but they have played a serious amount of games. They've easily played 50+ games. Over the past 6-8 weeks they have suffered a back log of fixtures resulting in them playing 2-3 games a week. Derry proved last season that they can be ruthless, defeating Both Kildare and Wexford 6-0.
brianw82
10/06/2009, 11:28 PM
Me too, Ballymun are a good junior side but they have played a serious amount of games. They've easily played 50+ games. Over the past 6-8 weeks they have suffered a back log of fixtures resulting in them playing 2-3 games a week. Derry proved last season that they can be ruthless, defeating Both Kildare and Wexford 6-0.
From where are you getting that info? I can't find anything like that online. Also, is their season not over at this stage?
Derry are in a bit of form, alright.
11/06/2009, 10:24 AM
From where are you getting that info? I can't find anything like that online. Also, is their season not over at this stage?
Derry are in a bit of form, alright.
Off the top of my head, sorry have nothing online :). I'll try find a definite figure. They have played a load of games due to their great cup runs. They got to at least 2 cup finals afaik. 50+ games may be a bit ott on my part so don't put down your hard earned just yet. You're better off asking in the junior football forum to find out how many games they've played exactly.
11/06/2009, 10:34 AM
Arklow are missing their keeper through suspension, and they weren't great at the back when they beat our LSL side. Tempted (despite never betting on us ever again) by UCD -2 at 7/5, or maybe even by over 3.5 goals at 13/8.
Kildare are missing all their recent signings, so 8/13 for Athlone to win looks overpriced, even if they have lost yer man Emeka.
11/06/2009, 5:11 PM
Its being played at Bluebells ground afaik, across the road from the red cow hotel.
11/06/2009, 7:26 PM
Limerick -V- St Pats
Whatever I say about Irish football betting these days you've got to take it with a pinch of salt ;). Got a text, according to him "there are going to be five lads starting tomorrow night who wouldn't get near the first team. Captain out, playmaker out, striker out.....he says they've no chance". 4/5 with boyles - that's not going to last imo judging by the order firm's prices. Oh and don't shoot the messenger :)
Backing St. Pats @ 4/5 (Boyles) - 5pts.
brianw82
11/06/2009, 8:00 PM
Limerick -V- St Pats
Whatever I say about Irish football betting these days you've got to take it with a pinch of salt ;). St. Pats 4/5 with boyles - that's not going to last imo judging by the order firm's prices. Oh and don't shoot the messenger :)
Good enough for me. Going for the same bet, 5pts. Still at 4/5 with Boyle for the moment, will probably drop down to 1/2 at least tomorrow.
SeniorBlue
11/06/2009, 8:05 PM
Yeah its true we are short proably 5 of out top 7 players, Pats at 4/5 is a very decent bet but just to caution a few of ye, the pitch is very bobbly and cetainly wont suit a premier team that just want to keep the ball on the ground. Scully is also very defence minded and will play 4-5-1 but all in all with the injury situation Pats has to be the bet
BoyleSports are the best for the FAI cup prices, the yhave dundalk chalked up at 8/13, they are much shorter elsewhere and go 1/3 Fingal wheres they are 2/9 and 1/5 elsewhere
brianw82
11/06/2009, 8:06 PM
Fingal -1 is 9/10 on Bet365, as a matter of interest. Quite daycent!
11/06/2009, 8:21 PM
how could they play on the lawn? its just a park, it has no proper pitch at all, i'm pretty sure its only the orchards schoolboy teams that play there
Its being played at Bluebells ground afaik, across the road from the red cow hotel.
That's where we played Cherry Orchard a few years ago so it sounds right.
12/06/2009, 9:00 AM
Shams at 8/13
Jesus Athlone at 8/13...............surely:)
and Cherry orchard at 10/3 looks very very tempting
(pp)
Sligo look worth a punt to me at 11/2 on PP. I know their squad is thin but you'd have to wonder how the continued uncertainty over their future will affect Cork.
12/06/2009, 10:13 AM
This is Sligo who have to cough up E55k on foot of a Revenue Audit, yeah?
12/06/2009, 10:17 AM
This is Sligo who have to cough up E55k on foot of a Revenue Audit, yeah?That was already known and planned for...
Anyway, I wouldn't back us to win. Boco has returned from international duty so it'll help. We might get a draw but can't see us winning. Cork 1-0 @ 7-2 or 0-0 at 6-1 look decent.
12/06/2009, 10:25 AM
Also, Bohs (-1) and Derry (-1) with hacketts @ 1.96 looks interesting.
12/06/2009, 10:38 AM
That was already known and planned for...
If there's one thing that can come from the last ten years in the league, it's that LoI clubs are singularly incapable of seeing and planning for the future. Sure the E100k last year was supposedly known about, yet it nearly killed you off.
FFS Stu, this is the gambling forum, not the LOI club budgeting forum.
Oh, hold on... as you were.
12/06/2009, 11:49 AM
UCD v Arklow
4/6
UCD (-1)
Waterford U. v Carrigaline United
11/20
Waterford U. (-1)
Bohemians v Mayfield
2/5
Bohemians (-1)
Derry v Ballymun
4/7
Derry (-1)
It's cup weekend and there's plenty of David and Goliath action to look forward to. The four home teams above would be a 'banker accum' but you'd want to be going in big to get a decent return. It's league -v- no-league here, with all four league sides doing very well in their respective divisions. I've gone with them all at -1 with SportingBet at a very nice price of 5.68.
Arklow defeated UCD's intermediate 3-2 but their senior side should be too much for them. Arklow are also missing their first choice keeper through suspension. Carrigaline United finished second last in their division, WUFC are a big physical side and should see this through, however, this one could be the 'accum buster'. Bohs -v- Mayfield is a formality ;). Ballymun have played a load of games so far this season and will be exhausted coming towards the end of it now.
Bohs (-1) and Derry (-1) with the same firm is 2.2 and the -1 on Derry @ 4/7 is massive imo.
Backing:
Pats @ 4/5 (Spoils) - 5pts
Accum above @ 5.68 (SportingBet) - 2pts
Sligo look worth a punt to me at 11/2 on PP. I know their squad is thin but you'd have to wonder how the continued uncertainty over their future will affect Cork.
Joe Gamble and Stephen O Donnell suspended for us so dunno what our midfield will look like
12/06/2009, 3:16 PM
went for a Pats Dundalk and Cork :o treble €8 returns €28
12/06/2009, 4:22 PM
Right, I haven't learned my lesson yet and have gone for UCD -2, Waterford -2, Pats and Athlone just to win. 5 euro returns 60 or so.
12/06/2009, 5:44 PM
Have a small bet on Sligo @ 9.8 - a tad too big imo considering Cork are missing two of their best players.
brianw82
12/06/2009, 8:43 PM
Good enough for me. Going for the same bet, 5pts. Still at 4/5 with Boyle for the moment, will probably drop down to 1/2 at least tomorrow.
Sweet. Didn't seem to be nearly as easy for Pats as I thought, but they got through it. Right back in the game now.
Oh, good luck on that accy, RR. Only WUFC to come through for you now.
12/06/2009, 9:06 PM
Bah, I knew UCD -2 was too risky. I would've preferred -1 but Paddy Power weren't offering it. Oh well a fiver won't kill me.
SeniorBlue
12/06/2009, 9:26 PM
Lads Pats were blooming lucky to win, fancied them but by god were they made to work for it, Limerick could have won by a couple at least. Pitch didn't help either side but anyone who backed Pat's won't realise how lucky thety actually were, they certainly used their get out of jail card
Bah, I knew UCD -2 was too risky. I would've preferred -1 but Paddy Power weren't offering it. Oh well a fiver won't kill me.
Yeah, got caught the same way. Derry and Bohs at -2 and -3 came in though, plus the Pats win so decent night overall.
Pity Sligo didn't grab a late winner.
brianw82
12/06/2009, 10:18 PM
Lads Pats were blooming lucky to win, fancied them but by god were they made to work for it, Limerick could have won by a couple at least. Pitch didn't help either side but anyone who backed Pat's won't realise how lucky thety actually were, they certainly used their get out of jail card
I know well, was listening to the Pats commentary during the first half and they said they were fortunate to not be 2 or 3 down at the break. Didn't listen for the 2nd half as they were brutal. :)
14/06/2009, 2:42 PM
UCD v Arklow
4/6
UCD (-1)
Waterford U. v Carrigaline United
11/20
Waterford U. (-1)
Bohemians v Mayfield
2/5
Bohemians (-1)
Derry v Ballymun
4/7
Derry (-1)
Bohs (-1) and Derry (-1) with the same firm is 2.2 and the -1 on Derry @ 4/7 is massive imo.
Accum above @ 5.68 (SportingBet) - 2pts
Have a small bet on Sligo @ 9.8 - a tad too big imo considering Cork are missing two of their best players.
Great weekend, the Sligo bet would have been a nice bonus but can't have any complaints.
14/06/2009, 3:34 PM
Bah, I knew UCD -2 was too risky.
It really wasn't; Arklow had no keeper. We just weren't great till the last ten minutes, when we were already through.
Paddy Power were offering -1 when I checked.
14/06/2009, 10:58 PM
It was the one I was least sure about and sure enough it was the one that didn't come in!. I knew ye'd win but had a nagging doubt that it wouldn't be by the required three. I went looking for - 1 and didn't see it anyway. The only handicap they seemed to be offering was -2. That was Friday I think. Not to worry.
15/06/2009, 10:09 PM
I'm on Limerick already for their game against us this Friday. 0.5 pts on the 5/2 and 1.5 pts on the draw no bet @ 8/5. These prices won't last, Shels were mule tonight being beaten by a Leinster Senior League side and we are poor. Shels have been getting away with it all season. Also, small chance that we could be managerless for the game. Bets with Hills btw.
brianw82
16/06/2009, 6:38 AM
Mons -1 tonight is evens with PP. What do people think? 2 games in 4 days is a lot for an out-of-season team like Cherry Orchard.
16/06/2009, 11:19 AM
That's a tricky one considering the Mon U players are no machines themselves. I won't be going near the game myself, good luck.
Anyone read the betfair forum last night? Shels were layed @ 1.18 for 20k apparently, sounds fishy to me alright.
16/06/2009, 12:04 PM
Anyone read the betfair forum last night? Shels were layed @ 1.18 for 20k apparently, sounds fishy to me alright.
Not the first time Shels have lost in fishy circumstances at prices like that. (Wexford a couple of years ago springs to mind). Hopefully its just a shrewd punter.
Can't touch any of the games tonight.
Oh and for the record if Limerick could finish they'd have beaten Pats handily.
redobit
16/06/2009, 4:22 PM
That's a tricky one considering the Mon U players are no machines themselves. I won't be going near the game myself, good luck.
How was that bet matched?
Rear to see so much money on a LOI game on betfair.
eL Bettor
16/06/2009, 4:25 PM
The very low odds (1,18) on shels may also have been because they were the home team whereas Crumlin were at "home" in the first game. Eastern European punters very often dont know about situations like this in Irish football.
As for the 20k, its only a 4k liability. I know an Asian guy who regularly places bets of several thousand euro on irish footy. If it really was a fix, there would have been a severe market move before kick off.
eL Bettor
16/06/2009, 4:26 PM
How was that bet matched?
Rear to see so much money on a LOI game on betfair.
Mondays are always a quite day for soccer, so whatever games are on will have more money matched than if the same game was a weekend. I've seen over a million matched on greek second divisoin games on Mondays
brianw82
17/06/2009, 6:39 AM
Mons -1 tonight is evens with PP. What do people think? 2 games in 4 days is a lot for an out-of-season team like Cherry Orchard.
Pity I wasn't in on this. :(
If it really was a fix, there would have been a severe market move before kick off.
You're assuming it was a high level fix. The Wexford game I mentioned above, actually had Shels shorten coming up to kick off