View Full Version : Bulgaria V Republic of Ireland - Friday, 6th June 2009 - World Cup 2010 Q
Crosby87
06/06/2009, 6:12 PM
agree 100% tricky
Better team so far but a goal like that could really wake the Bulgarians up because they hadn't got going at all.
agreed maroon - that could be a problem.
Crosby, what game are you watching? Folan is doing very well with little support.
Maroon 7
06/06/2009, 6:14 PM
Need to get to half-time. Bulgarians fancy it now.
Crosby87
06/06/2009, 6:14 PM
I respectfully disagree. dont think he is doing well at all.
Kilbane showed in the home game against Bulgaria that he's crap under diagonal balls from the opposite side ... nothing's changed since then I see
Crosby87
06/06/2009, 6:16 PM
If they play for a draw they will lose 2-1 i hope they come out better second half. So far its a disaster in the making IMO.
theyre well on top now. Lets get to hte half and regroup...
cavan_fan
06/06/2009, 6:18 PM
Kilbane showed in the home game against Bulgaria that he's crap under diagonal balls from the opposite side ... nothing's changed since then I see
Sadly his lack of quality/experience as a defender is coming through. Wonder would Trap bring on Kelly and put JOS at LB?
Crosby87
06/06/2009, 6:19 PM
Have we had the ball in tha last 25 minutes? jeez.
Folan worked very hard up until they scored, since then he seems to have run out of gas a bit ... we need him to put more pressure on them at the back because the ball is coming back too quickly
Crosby87
06/06/2009, 6:20 PM
Duff looked like he was limping a little heading off there.
will ye relax.
Its halftime, we are holding them to a draw in a very hostile environment. If we can regroup at half-time and start doing things the right way again we will be fine. There is no need for the hysteria just yet.
conlonn
06/06/2009, 6:21 PM
For me game of two halves so far in the first half
St Ledger doing brilliant, sign of a good centre half is when is name is not mentioned and that is the case there
folan doing very well too
trap needs a good team talk and get htem believing again
first 25 mins is the best i have seen ireland in about 6/7 years
MeathDrog
06/06/2009, 6:23 PM
HT, well what can I say. Started well and deserved our lead. Then it's all undone by schoolboy defending by Kilbane. Bulgaria have been all over us since.
I think Kilbane has been a great servent to Ireland and was a good player, but that was about 6 years ago. Nowadays you just cringe when the ball goes near him.
5 minutes prior to the goal, I said to my Aul lad "Jaysus do we not have anything better than Kilbane, he's past it. Wouldn't get on any other International team".
conlonn
06/06/2009, 6:23 PM
Kilbane is a clown
everything coming down the left against us
he needs to be subbed
he has nearly a 100 caps
jesus
Colbert Report
06/06/2009, 6:24 PM
Get off Kilbane's back, he's not a left back. Do we have any other left backs available? No. So shut up.
06/06/2009, 6:25 PM
Have we had the ball in tha last 25 minutes? jeez.
Was thinking the same, so different from the first 25, after that it has been all Bulgaria, a real big change of fortune, have we ran out of gas? Hope not.
Maroon 7
06/06/2009, 6:26 PM
Christ that was woeful from Kilbane. He seemed to get there in plenty of time but just hesitated to make a decision and next thing the ball is past him.
MeathDrog
06/06/2009, 6:27 PM
Get off Kilbane's back, he's not a left back. Do we have any other left backs available? No. So shut up.
What a ridiculous comment. Not being a left back has nothing to do with not being able to make your mind up when a nothing ball is played forward.
exactly. beggars cant be choosers... this is what we get with our set-up, occasional mistakes from an out-of-position player.
Supreme feet
06/06/2009, 6:28 PM
The fact that Berbatov is dropping into midfield is causing us problems. Dunne has been unbelievable, 10 out of 10 considering his fitness doubts. St. Ledger has been solid. Two bad goals, bad last 15 mins for Ireland. We need the midfielders to get on the ball more, there are too many long balls. Folan did well initially, but he's been isolated in the last while. Hope we can settle things down after half time.Thinking that McGeady could make a difference if he comes on.
In other news, I'm excreting a brick.
Awful. Please get Folan out of there he does nothing. Hunt panics everytime he gets the ball.
Are you on drugs?
He's done very well. Keep it up kid:ball:
Let's get Killer off and put Nolan on. He's played at left back plenty of times for Preston...and beside St.Ledger as well!
Crosby87
06/06/2009, 6:28 PM
will ye relax.
Its halftime, we are holding them to a draw in a very hostile environment. If we can regroup at half-time and start doing things the right way again we will be fine. There is no need for the hysteria just yet
Will take your word for it:) Just frustrated.
But personally I dont think it looks good.
McGeady doesnt start but..I find it really hard to believe that he shouldnt be out there.
In other news, I'm excreting a brick.
same here. :o
Lot of ye guys know **** all about football!
Sorry
MeathDrog
06/06/2009, 6:30 PM
same here. :o
I hope it's through your arse and not your front end. That would be painful. :p
DeLorean
06/06/2009, 6:30 PM
For me game of two halves so far in the first half
Hello Mr Beglin. Tell me about your Liverpool days please:D
Crosby87
06/06/2009, 6:31 PM
Are you on drugs?
He's done very well. Keep it up kid:ball:
Let's get Killer off and put Nolan on. He's played at left back plenty of times for Preston...and beside St.Ledger as well!
Sometimes I think you need to differentiate between what you see, (someone running around banging his head and sweating) and what the player is actually producing. I am not questioning if he is trying, dude, I dont care. He has def not been as solid as you think.
And no drugs, its only 230.:o
stiffler
06/06/2009, 6:31 PM
Duff and Folan have been excellent so far.
Dunne has been a rock, and O'Shea has been assured.
Need to put the bulgar defence on the back front from the start of this half.
Who do we have of note to bring on for a different attacking option? Best? Long? Keogh? any others???
Lot of ye guys know **** all about football!
Sorry
Haha, sorry. Went out to the toilet!
One of the lads posted that!
Still true though:p:o
Sometimes I think you need to differentiate between what you see, (someone running around banging his head and sweating) and what the player is actually producing. I am not questioning if he is trying, dude, I dont care. He has def not been as solid as you think.
And no drugs, its only 230.:o
"Dude", he's doing very well.
Holding the ball up, and finding a man in a green shirt. Its not easy playing with your back to goal!
Come on Ireland:ball:
would like to see McGeady and Long on at some stage. Dont think we'll see Nolan. Hardly inspiring last week and would be way out of his depth in a game like this.
stiffler
06/06/2009, 6:34 PM
Come on Ireland:ball:
+1!!!!!
would like to see McGeady and Long on at some stage. Dont think we'll see Nolan. Hardly inspiring last week and would be way out of his depth in a game like this.
I think he'd be well able!:ball: Def better than Kilbane - not only did he misjudge the header, but he's failing to get close to his man. Nolan is a natural defender and would def do a better job here
DeLorean
06/06/2009, 6:35 PM
McGeady will only come on if we need a goal to level I'd imagine
SunnySweeney
Duff looked like he was limping a little heading off there.
I hope Duff is alright. He is having a half decent game. Their left back intentionally tried to take him out imo.
Crosby87
George Hamilton is in the booth? The guy that always has a tan?
Crosby87
06/06/2009, 6:38 PM
Fires in the stands, sorry would never happen here. Not saying good or bad but....people would go to jail.
SunnySweeney
06/06/2009, 6:39 PM
Come on lads!!!!!!
Yeah, get in there Ireland !!!!
MeathDrog
06/06/2009, 6:41 PM
Fires in the stands, sorry would never happen here. Not saying good or bad but....people would go to jail.
Amazing. :)
conlonn
06/06/2009, 6:42 PM
Martin Petrov having a stinker.
Duff and O Shea are doing well that side.
our best side is right, theirs is left...
Keane has been very quiet but working hard.
Crosby87
06/06/2009, 6:46 PM
Amazing. :)
Ha sorry. Its just I kind of admire it, if you say **** in Fenway park you will be on the street in under 2 minutes. No fun...
conlonn
06/06/2009, 6:47 PM
crowd very hostile jesus they sound loud on tv
bulgaria have all hte possession now
MeathDrog
06/06/2009, 6:47 PM
I think George Hamilton ejaculated when Berbatov missed that chance.
06/06/2009, 6:48 PM
That was their throw :D
MeathDrog
06/06/2009, 6:49 PM
Jim Beglin is just so boring. I'm sick of hearing him state the obvious all the time.
we need to start pressing them more in midfield and from defence...
Crosby87
06/06/2009, 6:50 PM
why not bring someone on here? its not working this way.