View Full Version : If Drogs beat Dundalk

SeanDrog
04/06/2009, 12:51 PM
do people think that will be the end of O'Connor with Dundalk?

The back of the Drogheda Indo this week had Matthews pinning his future to drogs as rumours suggested he may be approached to replace O'Connor. The Drogs board also said that there are 18months left on Alans contract and they will not allow any approaches - to be fair it did sound like he was more than happy to stay and enjoying the challenge of developing this team against all the odds.

The real bit that caught my eye was the Duns chairman giving his vote of confidence to O'Connor (never a good sign).

04/06/2009, 12:52 PM
Going back to work in the bank soon so Drogs would suit him fine for the next while.

shep
04/06/2009, 12:55 PM
It would surely be the last straw,with fans alredy staying away from oriel due to unhappiness with the current regime.

04/06/2009, 1:10 PM

The back of the Drogheda Indo this week had Matthews pinning his future to drogs as rumours suggested he may be approached to replace O'Connor. The Drogs board also said that there are 18months left on Alans contract and they will not allow any approaches - to be fair it did sound like he was more than happy to stay and enjoying the challenge of developing this team against all the odds.

The real bit that caught my eye was the Duns chairman giving his vote of confidence to O'Connor (never a good sign).

What has Dunne's chairman got to do with us? Learn to spell will you..;)

Who are Drogs anyway? The last straw should be the game tomorrow night then that should be that if we lose, give Joe Miller the reigns. God knows how much it would cost to get rid of him though.

04/06/2009, 1:10 PM
The game is another month and half away isnt it? They have Bray (H), Cork (A) and Derry (H) in their next 3 games. Three difficult fixtures. Connor could be gone by the time the Drogheda game comes around. On the other hand, is'nt Connor just there to keep Dundalk in the Premier at the end of the day, along with a few other managers in the LoI Premier, trying to keep their own teams up?

04/06/2009, 1:14 PM
The game is another month and half away isnt it? They have Bray (H), Cork (A) and Derry (H) in their next 3 games. Three difficult fixtures. Connor could be gone by the time the Drogheda game comes around. On the other hand, is'nt Connor just there to keep Dundalk in the Premier at the end of the day, along with a few other managers in the LoI Premier, trying to keep their own teams up?

Spot on. His job is to keep us up and believe me 7th would be fantastic. I believe it's just all the hype and talk before the season with the players signed expectations were high.

CarrickFan
04/06/2009, 1:50 PM
Would u honestly be happy with 7th?...after ye got promoted last season ye got rid of your Manager(a good one imo) and more or less all the squad and replaced them with more expensive and experienced players some with league and cup medals from the last few seasons and you think just avoiding relegation is success?!....oh if only Cookie and Rovers had some of ur cash/players....i believe myself and others warned what a spoofer Connor was a while ago ang got grief for it!!...3 league defeats on the bounce since..maybe we had a point.

Black and White
04/06/2009, 2:03 PM

The mans name is Connor not O'Connor ya clown ya!

jinxy lilywhite
04/06/2009, 3:00 PM
Would u honestly be happy with 7th?...after ye got promoted last season ye got rid of your Manager(a good one imo) and more or less all the squad and replaced them with more expensive and experienced players some with league and cup medals from the last few seasons and you think just avoiding relegation is success?!....oh if only Cookie and Rovers had some of ur cash/players....i believe myself and others warned what a spoofer Connor was a while ago ang got grief for it!!...3 league defeats on the bounce since..maybe we had a point.

yeah of course we'd be happy. why would we not be happy. we spent 7 seasons in the graveyard and never ever want to go back down. after 7 seasons in that division anything is a success.

as dunny said if we lose tomorrow night then connor is a goner imo. at the mo there is about 70% of supporters want him gone and 29% don't know and like myself are sitting on the fence and the 1% love Connor. There should be a 1% margin of error

7th place was always the target because even though we brought in quality we don't have the quantity of players to compete for 1st team places. few people did mouth off that europe was the objective but they where clearly deluded.

i am pretty sure that sligo operate on a similar budget to us.

at the end of the day the league table doesn't lie and we haven't been good enough especially at home and until that is rectified we will still be in trouble. Over seeing how bad sligo, pats, rovers (in oriel), drogheda & galway actually are I can't believe we threw away all those silly points but hindsight is a wonderful thing.

on another point if we beat bray and other results go our way we'll be out of the relgation zone and someone else will be back in there. form 6th down to 10th are going to be in a scrap all season and the placings are going to change so much.

I'd say that not even 15pts will be the difference between 6th and 10th

04/06/2009, 3:02 PM
i am pretty sure that sligo operate on a similar budget to us.

I'd be fairly sure yer budget is alot bigger than ours.

jinxy lilywhite
04/06/2009, 3:04 PM
sligo rovers are operating off a player budget of less than 12.5K a week.

come on

Shelsred
04/06/2009, 3:25 PM
In my opinion Connor should be shown the door if Dundalk lose tomorrow night. The budget he was given at the start of the season was that of a team capable of qualifying for europe. So going by the resources he was given. . . . . .I'd say he's underachieving

Forza Reds

04/06/2009, 3:29 PM
sligo rovers are operating off a player budget of less than 12.5K a week.

come on

:).....

Celdrog
04/06/2009, 4:22 PM
Who are Drogs anyway? The only Louth team to win the league this century.

mcgonigle
04/06/2009, 4:25 PM
I wouldn't be too disappointed losing to the Drogs if we won our next 3 :)

There's two things in that statment that I'm pretty sure won't happen :D

gufc2000
04/06/2009, 4:50 PM
Whats Dundalk's wage bill anyway? 17k a week is it?

04/06/2009, 5:09 PM

And you just pulled 17k out of the air is it? Or did someone on the Galway forum hear it......

gufc2000
04/06/2009, 5:19 PM
And you just pulled 17k out of the air is it? Or did someone on the Galway forum hear it......
No I didn't actually. No need to get so touchy, I only asked a question. I seen 17k on this forum

04/06/2009, 5:59 PM
If craptown lose to bray tomorrow, connor will be gone i reckon!!

A craptown fan that defended connor at the start of the season to me, now wants him out straight away and reckons it'll be worth the pay off!! Ah, how opinions change in a few weeks :D

04/06/2009, 6:27 PM
The only Louth team to win the league this century.

Surely that should be bought the league title...

SeanDrog
04/06/2009, 6:52 PM
Surprised to see some think he will be gone after the next game (if he loses), I would have thought the board would give him a bit longer, but who knows!!!

Reason I took the Drogs game is that if (and its an if) he lost that game he would have no excuses given the difference in resources.

I do fear that if Connor goes then Matthews might be tempted (despite his words in the press), he is hoping he stays with us.

Another question , on an assumption that he is fired, who are the candidates to replace him?

gufc2000
04/06/2009, 6:55 PM
Another question , on an assumption that he is fired, who are the candidates to replace him?
John Gill :D

Damien Richardson would have to be out in front. Johnny McDonnell may be tempted.

Ezeikial
04/06/2009, 8:50 PM

Weekly player wage bill was €12,500 - that has reduced somewhat with the departures of Rogers, O'Callaghan & Singh. Obviously Collins plus whatever other July signings will add back to that. Owner & CEO Gerry Matthews is on record as saying that there is money available form this budget for July window, and has not ruled out increasing this.

Surprised to see some think he will be gone after the next game (if he loses), I would have thought the board would give him a bit longer, but who knows!!!

Reason I took the Drogs game is that if (and its an if) he lost that game he would have no excuses given the difference in resources.

I do fear that if Connor goes then Matthews might be tempted (despite his words in the press), he is hoping he stays with us.

Obviously the board are between a rock and a hard place here. A defeat (or even a draw) at home to Bray would leave the team with a pitiful 4 or 5 points haul over the last 6 games

Prior expectations from games Galway (H), Drogheda (A), Pats (H), Sligo (H), Shamrocks (A) Bray (H) were probably in the 10 - 15 points range. Particularly with Drogheda hitting form and Bray also picking up points the picture is bleak for a Dundalk team low on confidence.

If the board are to bite the bullet and replace Connor, now is obviously the time with the July window gaping, to allow a new man the opportunity to take in his choice of players. But, are they prepared to take the financial hit in the current environment?

My belief is that if Sean Connor is still in place next Monday evening, he will remain to the end of the season. In this scenario he would need to preform miracles of Europa League qualification or cup win to be in charge next season.

04/06/2009, 8:54 PM
Weekly player wage bill was €12,500 - that has reduced somewhat with the departures of Rogers, O'Callaghan & Singh. Obviously Collins plus whatever other July signings will add back to that. Owner & CEO Gerry Matthews is on record as saying that there is money available form this budget for July window, and has not ruled out increasing this.

Since when is Singh gone...:confused:

04/06/2009, 8:59 PM
Harpal Singh departed at the weekend due to his upcoming wedding.Ah. I knew he was away to get married but thought it was in July. Good Luck to him.

EDIT:Feck sake sligoman...:p

gufc2000
04/06/2009, 9:38 PM

Ours is about E6,000 AFAIK. (Not trying to be boastful there just comparing). What are other clubs operating off?

Ezeikial
04/06/2009, 10:03 PM

John Gill :D

Damien Richardson would have to be out in front. Johnny McDonnell may be tempted.

John Gill a non-runner - came in for a lot of fan flak last season in particular as Dundalk threaten to implode again on the title run in (edit - did implode but rescued by Colin Scanlon 94th minute goal for Limerick in Tolka). Board would leave themselves hugely exposed to critism to admit they made an error in not re-appointing him.

Damien Richardson - possibly

Johnny McDonnell - very obvious candidate

Gareth Cronin - apparently interviewed well last time?

Roddy Collins - Out of the frying pan, into the fire

Pete Mahon - ?

Joe Miller - Most obvious of all

04/06/2009, 10:04 PM
What are other clubs operating off?

£17.20, give or take.

El-Pietro
04/06/2009, 11:52 PM

if Alan goes to another club do we get compensation? I mean seeing as were paying his wages after all it would only be fair

CarrickFan
05/06/2009, 12:39 AM
i would wager my mortgage that had John Gill had been given the budget that SPOOFER has Dundalk would be in a lot better position...he is the biggest joke in the Eircom League and with Roddy Collins thats saying alot!!!!!!!!!!!!!....

stamullendrog
05/06/2009, 7:29 AM
if roles were reversed and alan matthews had been given the players and budget at drogs that the spoofer got at dundalk id expect us to be up around 5th/6th not scrapping it out with the two lowest spending teams in the league.in fact i hope connor stays at dundalk he's doing a great job from a drog point of view

seand
05/06/2009, 8:36 AM
£17.20, give or take.

That's what you're telling Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs anyway ;)

mcgonigle
05/06/2009, 9:15 AM
i would wager my mortgage that had John Gill had been given the budget that SPOOFER has Dundalk would be in a lot better position...he is the biggest joke in the Eircom League and with Roddy Collins thats saying alot!!!!!!!!!!!!!....

I would have that wager with you, we are only working off €2.5k more a week than we were last year!

Ezeikial
05/06/2009, 9:53 AM
if roles were reversed and alan matthews had been given the players and budget at drogs that the spoofer got at dundalk id expect us to be up around 5th/6th not scrapping it out with the two lowest spending teams in the league.in fact i hope connor stays at dundalk he's doing a great job from a drog point of view

That is an expectation shared by most Dundalk fans.

But they are only 3 points off 6th and 4 points off 5th. A run of results can alter things significantly for any of the bottom 6.

SeanDrog
05/06/2009, 11:45 AM
That is an expectation shared by most Dundalk fans.

But they are only 3 points off 6th and 4 points off 5th. A run of results can alter things significantly for any of the bottom 6.

thats why I would be surprised if he went after the Bray game (if you lose) but feel that by the time the Drogs game comes around and if you are still struggling, then it might be at this point that he gets the bullet.

Ezeikial
24/07/2009, 10:10 PM
If Drogs beat Dundalk

I know its kinda juvenile of me, but I really couldn't resist having another look at this thread in the light of tonights result, and Dundalk winning five out of the last six league games since the original post!

Black and White
24/07/2009, 11:45 PM
Alan WHO??

25/07/2009, 12:26 AM
Dundalk. Totally the best run club in the country. In your face.

IN YOUR FACE!!!!!!

whinnie01
26/07/2009, 1:07 AM
I know its kinda juvenile of me, but I really couldn't resist having another look at this thread in the light of tonights result, and Dundalk winning five out of the last six league games since the original post!
Just to note since the league started how many changes has there been to the Dundalk panel, Rogers, O'Callaghan, Singh, Fabio, and afew others all replaced by mostly scottish players so who is calling the shots Sean Connor or Joe Millar so who gets credit for the transformation in the teams performances

Ezeikial
26/07/2009, 2:05 PM
Just to note since the league started how many changes has there been to the Dundalk panel, Rogers, O'Callaghan, Singh, Fabio, and afew others all replaced by mostly scottish players so who is calling the shots Sean Connor or Joe Millar so who gets credit for the transformation in the teams performances

Sean Connor took plenty of justifiable flak from Dundalk fans for the poor early season results, and deserves the lions share of credit for the remarkable turnaround since (6 wins out of last 7 games since 5th June).

The two key signings have been Alex Williams and Mickey Collins (who have played in the last 4 games). Joe Miller clearly played an important role with the Williams signing, as well as the other more recent Scottish squad additions (McGowan, Cherrie and McKinlay) who all made their debuts last week in Galway.

Perhaps the single most important positive influence is the changed attitude created by the boards action in dismissing Dave Rogers. While Rogers was actually playing well, this decisive intervention seems to have had the required impact on many (Sean Connor included) within the club.

Black and White
26/07/2009, 2:18 PM
There was alot of problems going on with training etc with Connor getting fed up. Back at the start of the season after the defeat in Galway both George and Fabio refused to do the warm down. Rogers was app bitching about alot of the training methods along with Fabio behind the scenes. Fabio did have a public fall out with Connor as was stated in the papers etc. So yes it was worth it getting rid of the half of these!

John gill got rid of Niall Hudson for drinking, Philly Hughes showed up drunk to training twice and was dropped and let go. Hynes was out celebrting with Rovers players when they won the first division and Flood had a falling out with Gill also adnd people are saying he did things better than Connor. It happens anywhere you go, ask Alex Ferguson!

whinnie01
26/07/2009, 2:58 PM
There was alot of problems going on with training etc with Connor getting fed up. Back at the start of the season after the defeat in Galway both George and Fabio refused to do the warm down. Rogers was app bitching about alot of the training methods along with Fabio behind the scenes. Fabio did have a public fall out with Connor as was stated in the papers etc. So yes it was worth it getting rid of the half of these!

John gill got rid of Niall Hudson for drinking, Philly Hughes showed up drunk to training twice and was dropped and let go. Hynes was out celebrting with Rovers players when they won the first division and Flood had a falling out with Gill also adnd people are saying he did things better than Connor. It happens anywhere you go, ask Alex Ferguson!

Yes agree,sounds like there were plenty of problems early on in the season and most clubs will have these problems at various times, the point i make was is Dundalks change in performance and attitude down to Sean Conor or someone else the board sacking Rogers and letting other players know that their attitudes wo'nt be accepted and Joe Millar bringing in better players with better attitudes to training, resting, recuperating etc

26/07/2009, 7:19 PM

If Connor takes the flak when things are going badly, it's only fair he gets the plaudits for turning things around now. Anything else is just sour grapes.

CSFShels
26/07/2009, 9:17 PM
Yeah fair play to Dundalk, really have made the step up to Premier Division football excellently. If they're balancing the books, or even close to it, job well done. Forget the drama thats gone on behind the scenes, the league table and the balance sheet are the only 2 important things.

whinnie01
01/08/2009, 10:07 PM
If Connor takes the flak when things are going badly, it's only fair he gets the plaudits for turning things around now. Anything else is just sour grapes.

Seems Mr Connor has been relived of his duties with the A championship team after their failure to field a team against Galway and struggled to travel to play Castlebar.

Black and White
02/08/2009, 9:43 AM
Seems Mr Connor has been relived of his duties with the A championship team after their failure to field a team against Galway and struggled to travel to play Castlebar.

They hired Gareth Gorman(ex Finn Harps) to take charge of that team long before those incidents man so less of the sour grapes/sh!t stirring!

brianw82
02/08/2009, 12:31 PM

There seems to be a lot of that kinda crap in the A-Championship. We've had it as well. Players struggling to travel on short notice, etc. Not at all a Dundalk-specific problem.

Black and White
02/08/2009, 1:02 PM
There seems to be a lot of that kinda crap in the A-Championship. We've had it as well. Players struggling to travel on short notice, etc. Not at all a Dundalk-specific problem.

Exactly, problem with us is that the majority of the A team are the youths team and their season ended a few weeks back and alot went on holidays etc and that left the A team short so under 20's where drafted in too and you are only allowed use so many first team players!

04/08/2009, 10:57 AM
I don't think there's a limit on the use of first team players.

While before the start of July there may have been an excuse to have shortages of players for the A league there is none since.

Also- Gareth Gorman- why do people keep employing this tosser?

whinnie01
04/08/2009, 1:01 PM
They hired Gareth Gorman(ex Finn Harps) to take charge of that team long before those incidents man so less of the sour grapes/sh!t stirring!

So Sean Connor hasn't been relived of his duties with DFC A championship team, just the coach who hasn't had a training session with his team, just turn up to play games or not sometimes.