View Full Version : Sean Scannell F Grimsby Town b.1990
01/06/2009, 12:58 PM
Scannell's been included in the U-19 qualifiers starting on friday - http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=4323 - and he won the Apprentice of the Year at the Football League Awards - http://www.cpfc.co.uk/page/News/0,,10323~1606479,00.html
This was awarded at the end of March but I didn't see it posted here
02/06/2009, 8:34 AM
Sean Scannell is in danger of risking injury according to Crystal Palace boss Neil Warnock and the Eagles have asked Ireland to withdraw him from the UEFA U-19 Championships.
Scannell is still recovering from a recent hernia operation that saw him miss the last two games of the Championship season, but manager Sean McCaffrey included the London-born 18-year-old in the squad for the Belgium, Switzerland and Sweden games which run from Friday to next Wednesday.
Warnock said: "Sean has not done any football – condition-wise or game-wise – since February and while his hernia is mended our physio department think there is a risk he could injure something else.
"You wouldn’t put a footballer without any football into this situation and we’ve asked them to send him home.
"We’re big allies of the Republic but it is ridiculous if they think about playing him at the moment. They have three matches in the space of a week and we’ve made our views clear so we’ll now have to see what happens."
This story appeared in the printed version of the Irish Examiner Tuesday, June 02, 2009
http://www.examiner.ie/sport/soccer/trap-calls-up-doyle-and-henderson-for-sofia-93187.html#ixzz0HGASoWRs&A
Sean Scannell scored for Palace today against Watford - assist from Irish possible Darren Ambrose.
Assist on the goal came from Darren Ambrose.
50:27 GOAL - Sean Scannell:
Watford 0 - 2 Crystal Palace Sean Scannell grabs a goal from inside the six-yard box low into the middle of the goal. Watford 0-2 Crystal Palace.
theworm2345
23/10/2010, 10:24 PM
Scannell has resumed training after a knee injury in preseason.
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/teams/crystal-palace/8079661/Duo-missing-for-Palace.html
24/10/2010, 6:07 PM
I see that Scannell qualifies for us because his Dad is from Armagh.
However, I'm sure he's glad that he takes his looks (and locks) after his mother.
http://dynimg.rte.ie/00017eaf10dr.jpg
04/12/2010, 5:27 PM
Scannell played 45 minutes for the reserves on the 23rd VS Fulham: http://www.yourlocalguardian.co.uk/sport/football/8683298.Eagles__captain_out_for_two_weeks/
Sean Scannell continued his recovery from a long-term knee injury by playing 45 minutes of the reserves' 4-0 defeat to Fulham today, while Darren Ambrose should be fit for Saturday and Anthony Gardner is struggling with a back problem.
Still not considered fit enough for a first team appearance though
I see that Scannell qualifies for us because his Dad is from Armagh.
However, I'm sure he's glad that he takes his looks (and locks) after his mother.
http://dynimg.rte.ie/00017eaf10dr.jpg
i see this remark got the 6 week silence it deserved... ;) ;)
11/12/2010, 4:29 PM
Scannell on the bench this evening for Palace VS Hull
tommy_c12000
11/12/2010, 4:37 PM
Scannell on the bench this evening for Palace VS Hull
Ya saw that. Great to see it. Garvan back as well after a couple of games out
11/12/2010, 5:34 PM
He's after coming on for Vaughan around the 50th minute.
theworm2345
11/12/2010, 5:40 PM
He's after coming on for Vaughan around the 50th minute.
Its impossible to tell him and Neil Danns apart from the TV angle.
16/04/2011, 12:52 PM
Saw Scannell's goal from the midweek fixture against Leicester on Football Focus, came of the left wing and scored from well outside the area.
tommy_c12000
16/04/2011, 1:10 PM
Good goal alright. Really hope he starts fulfilling the promise he showed a couple of years ago. His injury seems to have set him back a bit but hopefully he'll be firing on all cylinders again soon.
theworm2345
16/04/2011, 2:20 PM
Saw Scannell's goal from the midweek fixture against Leicester on Football Focus, came of the left wing and scored from well outside the area.
Good goal alright. Really hope he starts fulfilling the promise he showed a couple of years ago. His injury seems to have set him back a bit but hopefully he'll be firing on all cylinders again soon.
It was a decent enough strike, but the keeper easily should've done better
liamoo11
16/04/2011, 3:33 PM
Scored again on a roll
16/04/2011, 3:54 PM
eventful afternoon for Scannell, just got a straight red
liamoo11
16/04/2011, 3:54 PM
Sent off!!
16/04/2011, 4:58 PM
We're a fighty bunch today.
16/04/2011, 11:38 PM
he deserved the straight red too, two footed tackle, studs showing, ref had no choice but to send him off
26/10/2011, 8:11 AM
Following discussion on Scannell on the shane Long thread, here is the article I was referring to about Palace's academy (http://www.thisislondon.co.uk/standard-sport/football/article-24002075-whats-the-secret-to-palaces-amazing-academy.do). I emboldened the parts that interested me most. This is also interesting in the context of our own academy discussions.Crafty Toe Poke told me about an interesting article on Uruguay's youth system and ethos in the current 442 magazine - worth reading alongside the following.
What's the secret to Crystal Palace's amazing academy?
David Smith
25 Oct 2011
Crystal Palace chairman Steve Parish has never forgotten the advice proffered by former owner Ron Noades.
Parish, a member of the consortium that saved the Eagles from extinction in the summer of 2010, recalled: "When we took the club over, Ron stressed to me, 'Play the kids'."
Heeding Noades was hardly a gamble. For more than a decade few clubs at any level of the domestic game have been able to boast a talent factory as successful as Palace's academy.
Notable names to have rolled off this player production line include former England Under-21 internationals Ben Watson, Wayne Routledge, Tom Soares and Victor Moses, the Republic of Ireland's Clinton Morrison and Lewis Grabban.
Now, encouraged by Parish and first-team manager Dougie Freedman, the academy is polishing a new set of rough diamonds.
Nathaniel Clyne, Palace's Player of the Year last season, Sean Scannell, Wilfried Zaha and Jonathan Williams all played a part in Saturday's win over Ipswich which confirmed the club as genuine play-off contenders.
Tonight, another clutch of academy scholars and graduates are set to line up at Selhurst Park when Palace seek to reach the Carling Cup quarter-finals at the expense of Championship leaders Southampton.
"Our academy is absolutely essential to us," said Parish. "For one thing, it helps us establish real deep roots in the community in which we play."
Palace have a tradition of promoting local heroes. Gary Issott, the academy chief, said: "London is hugely populated so we can draw on a good pool of players. And the demographics of our area works in our favour."
Moses went to school in South Norwood after arriving in this country from Nigeria and Zaha settled in the area having moved from the Ivory Coast.
Issott added: "A lot of African lads end up here, you just wait for them to walk through Heathrow or Gatwick.
"That's been one reason for our success but there's also been a lot of good people involved in the academy going back to our former player, John Cartwright, who also coached at England youth level.
"Having had people of that quality involved with the academy means we've been able to put a big emphasis on recruitment which is the biggest part of our set-up.
"Getting the right players to go through to the first team is crucial. The fans expect it and are always waiting for the next one."
Parish estimates it costs upwards of £1million to run Palace's academy for a season. Considering the consistent quality of the players who have emerged from the initiative, that must be regarded as a wise investment for a club that have twice gone into administration in the past 12 years.
"Necessity is the mother of invention, that's what I believe," said Parish. "Just look at Leicester, who have just sacked their manager, Sven-Goran Eriksson. The guys who came in there were sold a story of instant success by somebody. It's easy, so the story goes. Just go out and buy a load of good players, stick them on the pitch and they will beat everyone. Except that it isn't that easy, certainly not in our division."
The vastly-experienced Lennie Lawrence, Palace's assistant first-team manager, said: "If you look at many of the great teams over the past 10-15 years, they've included a nucleus of players who have come through their academy systems.
"A good recipe for success is a mixture of youth and experience, a mixture of homegrown players and players transferred in from outside. That's what we've got in our team."
Inevitably, others have sought to cash in on the potential stars being honed by Palace. Agents seeking to tap up parents are the bane of Issott's life. He moaned: "They can wrongly advise players and their relatives, telling them, 'I can get you this, I can get you there'."
Life, in that respect, is set to become more testing with the controversial new Elite Player Performance Plan (EPPP) accepted last week by the Football League even though it is regarded by many as a sop to the most powerful Premier League clubs.
They are no longer restricted to recruiting young players from their immediate localities and compensation for players signed from other academies has been slashed.
What that means for Palace is illustrated by the example of John Bostock, who joined their academy at the age of eight and who was bought by Tottenham as a 16-year-old for an initial £750,000 as decided by a tribunal.
Under to the EPPP, the most Palace can expect for such a player in the future is £350,000. According to Issott, such derisory fees will encourage rich Premier League clubs to sign up swathes of the most promising talent nationwide in the hope of panning a rare nugget of footballing gold.
The consequences for players like Bostock, who has yet to make the grade at Spurs and who has since endured largely unsuccessful loans at Brentford and Hull City, are potentially heartbreaking as their dreams of regular football are cruelly dashed.
Parish said: "If Bostock had stayed with us, I reckon that he would have played 100 first-team games by now." Greg Clarke, chairman of the Football League, warned that as many as 40 lower League clubs could close their academies as a result of the EPPP.
Parish insisted that Palace will not be one of them and to help keep the club tradition alive Issott, inspired by visits to continental clubs, has launched a unique new scheme in conjunction with the Oasis Academy Shirley Park, just five minutes from Selhurst Park.
Palace's young players will study for their exams exclusively at the Oasis school where a bespoke curriculum will enable them to train for football both in the mornings and in the evenings. "We've gone from six hours contact time a week with these players to 18 hours," said Issott.
"We're now able to offer our players proper injury prevention work and the right recovery from matches in the swimming pool.
"We'll have time for psychology sessions and video analysis and we can ensure the players get the right food at the right time.
"We've always worked hard to attract lads to our club and we know we'll have to work even harder in the future thanks to the EPPP. However, we've always been able to keep players because of the established pathway from the academy to the first team and I don't see why that cannot continue.
"Lads here do feel they're part of something special, an academy with lots of history. And I firmly believe they will to want to play their part in adding to that history."
26/10/2011, 9:27 PM
That was from the Frev-ning Standard right? Ya he came across well in that. Nice down to earth fella, that would obviously be his Irish influence.
It also had this black boxer(with blue eyes)who is in Rhiannas new video with the surname O'Shaugnassey.
Jaysus
30/10/2011, 5:49 PM
Read in the Sunday World that Trap was at Selhurst Park yesterday to watch him. I've been critical of this (lack of) aspect of Trap's reign so fair play to him.
30/10/2011, 6:34 PM
Read in the Sunday World that Trap was at Selhurst Park yesterday to watch him. I've been critical of this (lack of) aspect of Trap's reign so fair play to him.He was there to run the rule over Alex Pearce as well
20/03/2012, 10:07 PM
Scored a 90th minute winner over Barnsley today to keep Palace within 6 points of the playoffs. Would be a huge achievement if they could make it that far.
AlaskaFox
22/06/2012, 9:53 PM
Joined Huddersfield Town:
http://greenscene.me/2012/06/sean-scannell-signs-for-huddersfield-town/
23/06/2012, 12:32 AM
Nice for him to pin a team on the up.
23/06/2012, 9:09 AM
I was just posting yesterday in of of the "aftermath" threads that we need a big season from Scannell to prevent him from being becoming an unfulfilled talent. Disappointing that a much vaunted product of the CP academy is on the move to anyone outside the PL.
23/06/2012, 9:31 AM
Mate of mine is a Palace fan, said Scannell has been poor for a while now. When he first broke through, he was linked with Man City and Villa, now it's Huddersfield. No offence to the terriers, but it's some drop in terms of competitiveness
23/06/2012, 3:58 PM
Huddersfield were a big club in before the war.
They are on the up, maybe the glory days are coming back?
Yard of Pace
23/06/2012, 10:04 PM
Huddersfield were a big club in before the war.
They are on the up, maybe the glory days are coming back?
We'd be happy with consolidation in the Championship right now! We do have a superb chairman though, and we're the epitome of a sleeping giant. In the 20s we were possibly the best in England and Herbert Chapman was manager.
From reading the forums it seems that Palace fans are gutted to see Sean go, that he's a really really nice lad, but also that he needs to leave Palace to fulfill his potential. A case of needing to get out of London or something. A personal thing it seems. He'll be a huge asset to Town and is a serious bargain at 400k. They say he started last season well up front but was shunted out to the wing, where although he's fast, he doesn't possess the footballing brain to really play there. I suspect we might use him in a front three with Rhodes in the middle or as Rhodes' partner up front as Rhodes is not the quickest. Interesting season ahead for Scannell anyway and let's hope he does well, he's only 21 or so remember.
CraftyToePoke
23/06/2012, 10:18 PM
Palace fans are gutted to see Sean go, that he's a really really nice lad, but also that he needs to leave Palace to fulfill his potential. A case of needing to get out of London or something. A personal thing it seems.
Lifestyle choices? Or do we not know.
Yard of Pace
24/06/2012, 4:55 AM
Lifestyle choices? Or do we not know.
Not entirely sure, but some personal thing. He seems a stand-up guy so I don't care to delve any deeper.
Carrigaline
24/06/2012, 12:01 PM
A bit surprised that Scannell has essentially taken a step down.
24/06/2012, 2:32 PM
Palace have been crap for ages thou, sometimes you need a fresh start, and well, if hes being played out of position at Palace, why not take the chance to be the main man somewhere else and show what he can do.
24/06/2012, 2:35 PM
Well he won't be the main man because Rhodes is, so it's likely he will still be playing wide, just in a more fluid formation you'd think.
24/06/2012, 2:49 PM
Well Rhodes isn't proven at that level at all, so its tough to know how he will adapt, there going to rely on the pair of them a lot thou ofc.
24/06/2012, 2:51 PM
They're also after Ross McCormack, though there is apparently Premier League clubs interested in him.
Yard of Pace
10/08/2012, 2:57 PM
Town played Barcelona B last night. Scannell has been good, by all accounts, in pre-season so far. Very good in fact. Some reaction on DATM forum:
Early doors I know, but this guy had me off my seat applauding more times than I can remember.
Pace, Power, Skill, Flair, Desire.
Good work!
Welcome to HTAFC!!!
Looked like a world beater, so glad we've signed him, and playing him in more of an attacking winger role rather that striker http://images.proboards.com/smiley.gif looks pure quality
Scannelldo!
I bet Barca will be keeping an eye on him! http://images.proboards.com/grin.gif
Took the weewee out of thier lads on a number of occasions.
Looks very good.
Watching him last night i thought "this lad can run defences ragged this seson" great signing.
Carrigaline
22/12/2012, 11:23 PM
Won a pen for Huddersfield today.
12/02/2013, 8:06 PM
Just put Huddersfield 2-1 up at the doc's Leicester in the FA Cup. And what a goal by the sounds of it...
Shades of Ricky Villa as Huddersfield lead! A Leicester corner is cleared toSean Scannell who picks it up on the halfway line and sets off down the left. He manages to wriggle in between Paul Konchesky and Matt James before dinking the ball in. Wigan, get yourselves ready for a trip to Huddersfield...
12/02/2013, 11:28 PM
goals from the game online here: http://www.101greatgoals.com/gvideos/leicester-1-huddersfield-2/
Scannell's goal is on 1:35.
13/02/2013, 8:01 AM
Some skill on the aul fella at the end. Claps his scarf and catches his hat on the follow through. Great tenacity by Scannell. Schmeichal is garbage.
Yard of Pace
14/04/2013, 9:15 AM
Scored another absolute cracker yesterday before setting up Huddersfield's 3rd.
Some fan reaction:
Thing is though, as much as his contribution this season hasn't been enough, you can see blatant talent in there. Very rarely do you get players at this level with strength, good control and decent acceleration. If he had the fitness and the vision to go with it, he would be that £5m player Grayson described. That's a big 'if' though, but hopefully the through ball was a sign he does have other facets to his game.
Read more: http://downatthemac.proboards.com/thread/83064/sean-scannell?page=3##ixzz2QQZ7KiqD
Yard of Pace
14/04/2013, 1:12 PM
0:20 in
http://youtu.be/JOgEoHtKs6M
14/04/2013, 5:04 PM
Super goal alright.
ArdeeBhoy
14/04/2013, 8:56 PM
Has he not signed up in full for the North?
Good luck to him regardless, Palace mates said he was a decent lad.
14/04/2013, 10:13 PM
Has he not signed up in full for the North?
Good luck to him regardless, Palace mates said he was a decent lad.
nope, was insistent in an article posted earlier in the thread that there was no way he was playing for the North
Came off the bench to score Huddersfields fifth goal. Still only 23.
Huddersfield rounded off an emphatic win with a fifth late on as substitute Scannell smashed an unstoppable drive into the bottom corner.
30/08/2014, 11:33 AM
Scannell could be on his way to Millwall to join the Irish contingent there.
Yard of Pace
30/08/2014, 4:06 PM
Scannell could be on his way to Millwall to join the Irish contingent there.
He was absolutely superb last week for Town last week and started again today.
Speculation here: http://downatthemac.proboards.com/thread/93049/sean-scannell-leaving