View Full Version : Bray on Tuesday
03/06/2009, 2:00 PM
just because some of us who go dont get involved in singing is no way a need for criticising.
I dont think he's criticising people who dont sing at games 1TP. It was a bit frustrating the 4 or 5 of us singing out of 100. I dont really understand people who just sit at games. Fair enough if you're a neutral, but there's nothing like getting behind your team vocally. I respect people who don't want to sing, but i've hear a few stupid reasons like 'I'd feel stupid, everyone would be looking at me'. We've been looking stupid for years now... join us, it's great :) And at the end of the say, chanting and singing at a game is only a bit of craic, and it definetly makes a difference to the team! :ball:
rovers100%
03/06/2009, 2:27 PM
in fairness this threat not really about support. as far as our support goes we all know the forza do a wonderful job but the normal joe soaps who go along but dont sing make up 90% of home attendance so not fair to criticise them. this thread is about the shambles last nite of being beat 3-1 by an inferior team in bray(no disrespect but we are top four club now) and turning up with one outfield sub !!! this may open a can of worms and im sure somone will dissagree but this is the first time since king rat seanie connors took over that i feel as a team we are not progressing. we are stagnant or even going backwards a little. only my opinion but i feel it is a harsh truth from being at every league game bar first 2. now i must get ready for the onslaught of people telling me im mad and not a real supporter lol:eek:
Not that i think Sligo were terrible last night, they played some nice stuff at times. But that is the worst Sligo preformance against Bray in some time.
Only to bring 2 subs was just shocking. Not only does it make Sligo look like a schoolboy club but it also makes the league look bad. There is not ba hope in hell that Sligo only had 13 fit and available players in the whole club. What is the point in having an A or U20s team if Cook is not willing to at least put them on the bench for match day experience?
O'Connor, Massey, Webster; Coughlan, Shields; Jake Kelly, all started for us last night and have worked their way up the ranks at our club. Mulroy and Kane were on the bench and have also worked their way through the ranks. Flood, Tresson and Knight are other injured who did not make the sqaud last night.
Does Cook really expect Sligo fans to believe that his entire combined U20s and A teams were unavailable last night ? I'd be fuming if Gormley ever put a team out with 2 subs on the bench.
Well said. The more I think of it the more it doesn't make sense. I think the fans who were at the game and paid their hard earned money deserve to know why this happened.
I think sometimes fans are a bit scared to question Cook after he spat the dummy out of the pram before the season started and they're afraid he'll bolt again. That's all good and well but we needed to make more changes than we did. Things were obviously not working, Feeney and Morrisson were about as useful as a chocolate teapot on a Summer's day and we had only one option on the bench???
Hard to explain.
Rovers fan
03/06/2009, 2:34 PM
That really was depressing. Don't think we deserved anything from the game tbh. Bray were getting in behind our defense much too easily. Really, their first goal was the killer. You could visibly see the lads heads' drop when the equaliser went in. We just aren't showing enough fight (obviously players like peers, o'grady, raf etc are giving their all, but all 11 players should be goving 100% and that's simply not the case).
No talking at all on the pitch.
I really couldn't believe, that at 2-1 down, there was nobody doing a bit of encouraging. I hardly heard one word from any player during the game. No urgency whatsoever.
I suppose we are missing a few players, and have a small squad as it is. Let's hope we can pick it up for derry. Often our good performances come after a stinker, hopefully that's the case on Friday.
03/06/2009, 2:35 PM
Not really much Cook could do with the players he had. With Rommy and Parkhouse out, what else could he do? Feeney was'nt great but, Cook is hardly gonna play Feeney/Ryan/O' Grady on the left and put Morrison up front. Ya, Keohane was there but when experience (Feeney) is there, Paul was'nt going to start Danny.
rovers100%
03/06/2009, 2:45 PM
does anyone know or will we be told where was noctor, mcloughlin, thorpey. why release mc tiernan ? even if he rarely turned up for training surely he can still be a squad member. many semi pro teams do this anyways. is our A team and u-20's that poor that they cant even make the bench ? if so is there any point continuing with the teams as they wasting more money the club has not got. why was curran released ? on how many occasions could we have used him this year. surely there are at least 1 or 2 sligo/leitrim players who could make the step up if only to warm the bench !!!
benbulben
03/06/2009, 7:51 PM
It was really hard to watch the game just slip away -one sub on the bench has to effect the players .What do they think when we can only have a single sub-never mind competition for places -it just sends the wrong message.
Love the Rovers all you want - I still worry we are back to the bad old days just waiting for the crash.I do not doubt there are lads there who play their socks off but when confidence goes we will be in trouble.
Reading the stuff about Europe from the Chairman -I hope I am wrong but I do not need see 2700 tickets being sold for a game against an unknown bunch fro Estonia.The mad fans like us will be there and some more but those are serious numbers to get in the gate.
Last point to get of my chest-Cookie has done a great job -last year was top class to get what he did from the squad .But when he said he was going we should have respected it and moved on.Why? Because like it or not he is a professional anbdwhen the gping gets rough there is a read made excuse --funds low /start of season etc.Sorry if it seems unfair but it will always be in the background if we hit a crisis.
showgies
03/06/2009, 8:17 PM
Going with a depleted bench requires an explaination from the Manager. I don't understand it, but without an explaination I will be drawing my conclusions, right or wrong.
03/06/2009, 9:03 PM
Going with a depleted bench requires an explaination from the Manager. I don't understand it, but without an explaination I will be drawing my conclusions, right or wrong.
Your conclusions will be right, Showgies, and thank God the legend that is Sean Connor will be shortly out of work and able to come home and save us from extinction,
red arrow
03/06/2009, 9:22 PM
after reading all the above posts my heart has sank. i do agree that an explanation should be given regarding the bench. maybe there is a perfectly good one but to stop all the speculation i feel the supporters should be informed. i am also a bit concerned about the situation regarding mauro almedia. for the last two games we have being informed that a late fitness test was being carried out on him obviously when he did'nt appear on the team sheet he was unable to play. however we are not being told what exactly the problem is. my question is mauro training with the team or is he able to train at all and then on the eve before a match a late fitness test is carried out in the hope that he may start and last 90 mins. we all know how great a player he is and how invaluable he would be to the squod and god knows peersy needs help but i feel as supporters we are not being fully informed. for instance there is no mention of his progress in the champion , sligo post or weekender this week. is he ever going to play for rovers again. if he is carrying a serious injury at least wwe should be told. i pray to god that he makes it back and i am not doubting paul in any way but there needs to be better communication. the one comment paul cook always made about his team is that they will always give 120% and i have to say he has always carried out on his promise. from some of the above posts you would be left thinking that there has being a change in his mindset. i am trying at all times to view everything as an outsider (removing the emotion) we have a small but talented squod who give 120 percent. there have being a few mistakes made this season but now that our backs are to the wall over the next few weeks lets all (due to players either away or suspended) think positive and support the team 100% and if we could get a result in cork well what would that do for our season. before the last two games (both away) if we said we could get 3 points everybody would have being happy. and what did we get. we all know the answer. thats history now lets focus on the derry game (our backs are to the wall) and be positive
Rovers Maniac
03/06/2009, 10:13 PM
I heard that Cookie did not want to risk Mauro Almeida on the ground in Bray, as it was too hard from all the good weather. I think cookie knows he needs good to soft going or softer to be seen at his best, will jump a hurdle some day. Maybe a a rain dance should be held 30 minutes before kick off in Mooneys on Friday night?
03/06/2009, 10:24 PM
. Maybe a a rain dance should be held 30 minutes before kick off in Mooneys on Friday night?
:D I'm sure we could organise something!!
03/06/2009, 11:07 PM
I heard that Cookie did not want to risk Mauro Almeida on the ground in Bray, as it was too hard from all the good weather.I heard Mauro isn't really injured...either one of us could be true in fairness. Besides, did you see the amount of water on the Bray pitch? It was obviously watered down pre-match.
There's lots of questions here...perhaps time for a long over-due Q&A with Cookie:confused:.
Rovers Maniac
03/06/2009, 11:20 PM
I heard Mauro isn't really injured...either one of us could be true in fairness. Besides, did you see the amount of water on the Bray pitch? It was obviously watered down pre-match.
There's lots of questions here...perhaps time for a long over-due Q&A with Cookie:confused:.
But they never said he was injured, just said he did not want to risk him. (So you could be right for a change SM:))
03/06/2009, 11:22 PM
(So you could be right for a change SM:))For a change?:eek: Are you new to this site?;)
Inside Man
04/06/2009, 9:27 AM
I was awfully disappointed with that show the other night for many different reasons. But tbh it really didn't shock me.
When you think there were over 100 of us fans at the game, probably @70ish travelled from sligo and Cookie has the cheek to bring 13 players along with him??? Its screams of amateurism & plain auld not giving a rats @rse. If things are really that bad, i ask why not register some of those die hard fans who i see on the terraces at every game (the fit enough ones;)) and stick them on the bloody bench? At least they would give it 200% to get the chance to play for their beloved club. At least you might see some bloody heart instead of a fat muppet like Morrison strolling around waiting to pick up his pay check on thursday evening.
I think all of us who bothered to travel to the game are entitled to answers seeing as Cookie wasn't bothered ringing up 3/4 more lads to get them to travel. I'm very annoyed he had the cheek to do that.
Captain2007
04/06/2009, 10:38 AM
I heard Mauro isn't really injured...either one of us could be true in fairness. Besides, did you see the amount of water on the Bray pitch? It was obviously watered down pre-match.
FYI Sprinkler System (24 sprinklers) were switched on an hour before kick-off, pitch was soft and grass was lush and in pristine condition. I am sure your travelling supporters would agree.
Pitch was perfect. Best I've seen in the league this year. We could take a leaf out of Bray's book on that.
We could take a leaf out of Bray's book on a couple of other things as well.
04/06/2009, 12:41 PM
Ever notice, when Rovers win a game, the corresponding thread barely makes it to 2 pages, yet when we get beaten there's alot more pages...
Just a thought..
Mauro's injury is still taking a hell of alot longer to heal than it should.
neutrino
04/06/2009, 12:45 PM
Ever notice, when Rovers win a game, the corresponding thread barely makes it to 2 pages, yet when we get beaten there's alot more pages...
that just untrue.:rolleyes: look over a few previous threads
Just a thought..
Mauro's injury is still taking a hell of alot longer to heal than it should.
You're telling porky pies there......
04/06/2009, 12:56 PM
:o woops yeah, missed the Pats and Dundalk threads. :(
rovers100%
04/06/2009, 1:42 PM
its life, bad news is far more discussable than good news. look at the 6 o clock news a lot of good stuff happens every day in ireland but bad newsis far more debatable. As for mauro injury and bringing 1 sub surely we the supporters are entitled to an answer the club is owned by the community after all and its us who keep it going. the club is quick enough to come to us when fund raising is needed and we gladly contribute. would a simple explanation be too much. no one here is criticising cookie and we are all in agree he is one fo the most talented managers to grace the showgrounds and it saddens me we cant give him the budget he so sadly needs because he could easily turn us int a title challenging squad. if i won the euro millions i would give him an open checkbook !!!
Sean South
04/06/2009, 7:50 PM
[QUOTE=rovers100%;1171430]I have been
I agree Rovers100% and 1st time post, for those of us in our 30's plus our constant singing days are past us really.
When we were singing all the time at games, for me it was the Shed, were moshes, tickertape and surges to the old fence were a regular home match occurence there were plenty of older lads in their late twenties early 30's who didn't sing along with us, its just the way a supporting life goes and doesnt dissapate our support for the club one bit.
Indeed Eddie Annand used to climb up the fence regularly at the Shed end to celebrate with the Supporters when the fence surges happened.
Rory - What would you rather that just the five lads who sing go to the games and the other 95 stay at home rather than attend in their Rovers gear and shout encouragement ?
Good song from the Bray lads.............."we only sing when we are winning!!!"........
I use to love that I was only 12 at the time crazy getting crushed down at the front fence when everyone surged forward.
They really were glory days. Was like a real football ground back then. I don't know how many used to pack in there but it felt like thousands!!
The atmosphere was electric compared to these days I don't care what anyone says. I think the novelty when the floodlights came in added to the buzz.
Happy times. Fair play to the Forza boys for all their good work these days. The shogies would be a dull place now without them.
lifelong rover
04/06/2009, 10:44 PM
Id be very careful about giving cook a big budget, He re-signed an injured
Mauro at the pre season, Butler, Morrisson and Parkhouse. Also take into account Cash and Doherty. We have some bunch of hard workers there ,if that is the type of players he wants at this club we have some future. Between all of these players we have not got one decent gamefrom them.
04/06/2009, 10:51 PM
Mauro at the pre season, Butler, Morrisson and Parkhouse. Also take into account Cash and Doherty. We have some bunch of hard workers there ,if that is the type of players he wants at this club we have some future. Between all of these players we have not got one decent gamefrom them.Butler was already signed for this season before he had the car crash, he wasn't "re-signed at the pre-season". Parkhouse and Mauro* have been more or less injured for most of this season, hardly Cook's fault. As for Morrison, yes he took a risk there and it doesn't seem to have paid off yet but on the other hand, if Morrisson turns good people will be singing Cook's praises.
*Assuming he is injured but that's another matter.
04/06/2009, 10:55 PM
Parkhouse played very well V Pats and did his job v Fingal. Fair enough they're not Derry or Bohs, but he got injured at the worst possible time, for himself and the club.
Rovers fan
04/06/2009, 11:05 PM
Mauro at the pre season, Butler, Morrisson and Parkhouse. Also take into account Cash and Doherty. We have some bunch of hard workers there ,if that is the type of players he wants at this club we have some future. Between all of these players we have not got one decent gamefrom them.
Jesus christ, was he supposed to look into the future and know those players would get injured:rolleyes:? Yes, he has signed some average players, but in this league, especially with a tight budget, that is inevitable. As Sligoman said, butler and almeida and parkhouse have had a tough time with injuries. Butler and almeida were top notch last season, and parkhouse seemed to be coming into a bit of form recently. Morrison no doubt has the ability, but I agree just has to work a bit harder. He has shown glimpses of brilliance. Let's hope he can up his game. Then look at other players cooke has brought in like boco and Keane. He certainly hasn't signed any manson/choice/julian type players.
We do have a good squad. Unfortunately we have been unlucky with injuries. I suppose we can't complain as we were very lucky in that regard last season. I think our biggest problem is we lack urgency at times. Also when we go behind the heads seem to drop. Pats has been the only league game this season where we have gone behind but came back to salvage something.
I don't feel we should bring in more than 1 new player. I'm sure things must be tight financially as it is. I think we have enough to avoid the drop with the squad we have at the moment. If we bring in new players, we're still unlikely to break into the top4 (unless bohs/cork or someone else go tits up).