View Full Version : 4 Jackeens and a Racist
09/01/2004, 11:40 AM
Ah God Bless red tape and Irish paranoia when it comes to work permits.
09/01/2004, 12:36 PM
Originally posted by niamh
We need more of it if you ask me.
Just look at all the crime being commited in Ireland by people originally from African nations. We have to be very careful who we give visas and permits to.
The major problem is so many of them get into Britain and then get into the Republic through Northern Ireland.
Where people are genuine they usually get dealt with fairly.
I'm actually amazed at how patient and understanding the staff in the visa and passport offices are here in Ireland.
If Nwanko gets all his papers in order he should have no problem renewing his work permit.
He has the potential to be a good squad player.
09/01/2004, 12:46 PM
Originally posted by Peadar
Just look at all the crime being commited in Ireland by people originally from African nations. We have to be very careful who we give visas and permits to.
The major problem is so many of them get into Britain and then get into the Republic through Northern Ireland.
*cough splutter* Nice to see the Irish keeping up their reputation for hospitality and remembering all those who left these shore :rolleyes:
09/01/2004, 1:49 PM
I'm actually amazed at how patient and understanding the staff in the visa and passport offices are here in Ireland.
Wa**er!!!!!!!!!!
Its definitely not (solely) an Irish problem. If everything is on order (employer and employee wise) the whole thing is very straight forward
If he had a work permit (which he must have had to play) renewing it is simple and does not require him to leave the country
DolansWaistcoat
09/01/2004, 2:20 PM
Peadar,don't be talking sh!te.
Are you from Alabama by any chance.:rolleyes:
Originally posted by DolansWaistcoat
Peadar,don't be talking sh!te.
Are you from Alabama by any chance.:rolleyes:
I would suggest that Peadar had his tongue firmly stuck in his cheek?;)
Originally posted by Conor74
I have spent 5 minutes on an enjoyable enough old ramble through the whole area of immigration, emigration and the latest caselaw.
I find potato salad better - tastier and less likely to slip out of your sandwich.
:p
I defo am a fan of salsa. Just recently rediscovered it. Its the job. No to mention relish and a bit of BBQ sauce.
Think ill go and make a sandwich.
Ruairi
09/01/2004, 6:03 PM
put one in cling film for me, i'll be over later....
If Nwanko gets all his papers in order he should have no problem renewing his work permit.
Was mainly referring to the fact that he had to go back to his point of origin to sort things.
Wouldn't have to if everything was in order with the first one (Work permit or visa)
If he had to leave Ireland to get his visa sorted that would seem to imply he did not have a work visa to start with. AFAIK once you have a work visa you can renew it annually as long as currently in employment?
12/01/2004, 1:30 PM
since when is the crime rate among african people in cork high? higher than the scum with baseball caps finely balanced on the back of their necks above their half bleached heads and pube-like knacker tashes?
12/01/2004, 2:15 PM
Originally posted by GavinZac
since when is the crime rate among african people in cork high?
No one is talking specifically about Cork and its African population.
The biggest ATM and credit card frauds scams in this country recently have been organised by African nationals.
You wont have to dig too deep to find numerous cases recently of African nationals found in possession of false documents and forged passports. African nationals are the biggest offenders of identity theft in this country. The political correctness posse will climb on the moral high ground and brand me racist for merely reporting the facts. It is the duty of a country to protect its borders and people who seek employment here ligitimately understandably need to contribute necessary paperwork. It's no big deal and I can't see what the problem is. Everyone here is so intent on being seen to be against racisim that they make a mountain out of a molehill when an African national returns to his home country in order to process his work permit via the proper chanels. Get a life! Perhaps he will be glad of the trip home during the closed season. There would be national uproar if Nwanko was given special treatment purely because he was a Cork City FC player.
I have no doubt Nwanko will get his work permit and I look forward to seeing him in the squad next season. My original point was that the "red tape" around work permits in this country is necessary. I stand by that opinion.
12/01/2004, 2:26 PM
Racist ******. Also I see that UCC have invited a BNP representative to talk down there. Are you all racist?
12/01/2004, 2:54 PM
Originally posted by WeAreRovers
I see that UCC have invited a BNP representative to talk down there
Probably the same guy from C18 who lectures Rovers on holiganism.
Racist ******. Also I see that UCC have invited a BNP representative to talk down there. Are you all racist?
Freedom of Speach banned in Jackland now is it?
Originally posted by SÓCcfc
Unfortunately not…
12/01/2004, 3:49 PM
Only for racists. No platform for fascists or racists. That includes Peader and Kilroy-Silk.
12/01/2004, 3:55 PM
wouldn't denying freedom of speech be considered an act of fascism, which should deny you your right to freedom of speech by your own criteria :confused:
12/01/2004, 4:05 PM
That includes Peader and Kilroy-Silk.
I am Kilroy-Silk.
I can understand why you're bitter though WeAreRovers, the travelling community do get a raw deal in this country :D
12/01/2004, 4:23 PM
Originally posted by tiktok
wouldn't denying freedom of speech be considered an act of fascism, which should deny you your right to freedom of speech by your own criteria :confused:
Usually I'm 100% against any form of censorship EXCEPT when it comes to dangerous racist crap. And to equate that with fascism is laughable.
Which is more dangerous, the racist nonsense that Peadar posted or denying him his right to say it? Also why do racists alway bring up the freedom of speech issue when they want to deny other people their basic human rights?
Kilroy has been bleating about his dad fighting in the war to protect British freedoms. Tell that to the millions of British Arabs he accused of murder.
One last thing - What will you do when that BNP scumbag shows up in your fair city? Will you be out on the streets defending his right to free speech? Just wondering.
12/01/2004, 9:19 PM
WAR, you can't reason with someone you won't listen to. To ignore someones argument doesn't halt the thinking behind it. IMO it's better to have groups like the BNP out in the open and for right thinking people to have access to their rubbish and offer a differing opinion, rather than have them spreading their crap through underground actions, where their suppression can lend an air of rebellion which can be used to motivate even greater hatred.
The view Peadar expressed is shared by many, to censor those expressing this viewpoint could lead many to believe the problem doesn't exist. It's then that movements like the BNP are at their most dangerous, because misinformed people have no other forum to express their (usually unwarranted) concerns.
13/01/2004, 8:21 AM
wasn't the atm reader scam blamed on eastern europeans?
and if you're being persecuted in your own country and you have to get out, would you use false documents? so that even if you get deported they can't tell who you are and so its harder to be tracked down by the people who forced you out in the first place?
Only for racists. No platform for fascists or racists. That includes Peader and Kilroy-Silk.
Slippery slope. You'd just be playing into their hands, giving them more ammo.
Have them out in the open and let everyone see what lángers they are.
As Comic Book Store Guy would say;
Most off topic thread ever
However, if were to draw general conclusions about people from those sources, I would go around preaching that all Irish people were ex-Christian Brother child abusers who just retired from planting bombs in Britain for 30 years.
Or even that child-abusers & terrorists were all white.
There have been cases of forgery but, it must be noted, mostly by Nigerians, who come from a country where corruption is nearly a way of life from de top down, i.e. most instances of this type of fraud comes from ex-pats of one nation, not one ethnic colouring and even this is a gross generalisation.
Similarily, there are ATM scanner gangs that originate from ex-Soviet bloc countries, but not all east Europeans are thieves (or even beggars).
Anyone who enters this country and breaks de laws should be dealt with, whether they come from within de EU or without. Even if those laws are immigration laws. Personally I think we could do with a relaxation of de immigration laws but while they're there they should be observed.
But whole groups should not tarnished by de crimes of a minority.
Italian Americans (or even Irish Americans) are not involved in organised crime. Some are, no doubt, but only a low percentage.
Lets not forget de lengthy history of Irish illegal immigration either. For every chancer there will be 10 willing workers or more, who should be given a chance - we all will gain ( ah, de bliss of having nursing staff for example).
As for freedom of speech; I do feel uncomfortable that people's free speech can be limited or denied by vocal public opinion. On de other hand I don't like de idea of facists given free reign to spout their noxious ideas. Suppressing ideas you don't agree with does smack of totalarianism, tho' allowing any lunatic to recruit with easy-answer politics that promotes violence is a little too idealistic.
To get back on topic tho', Nwnako had a work permit which expired - AFAIK permits are granted to employers so City must have asked for a short permit for Nwanko to go on trial. I'd imagine that as he has a new contract that it's just some minor administerial ****-up that will get sorted sooner rather than later.
13/01/2004, 11:17 AM
The political correctness posse will climb on the moral high ground and brand me racist for merely reporting the facts.
Ah the last refuge of the right-winger! "I'm not a racist, I'm not a fascist, its these god damn liberals who are oppressing me!" :rolleyes:
The simple fact of the matter is that the media plays into people's subconscious by giving them a scapegoat for their ills. When an (white) Irish person commits fraud or some such crime, it warrants a paragraph tucked under Jordan's tits in the arse end of the newspaper. If the thieving git responsible just happened to be born somewhere else (maybe even not on this continent! :eek: ) then it warrants a banner headline on the front page. Similarly it suits the government and the authorities to do nothing to allay people's fears, because if they did, people would realise they weren't doing their job.
If the BNP want to send a spokesperson to UCC let them. If Peadar wants to cast ridiculous slurs on an entire continent, let him. The more often racists and bigots spout their idiotic bullshít, the more obvious it is to any right-thinking individual just how spurious and laughable their ideas are.
13/01/2004, 11:47 AM
Originally posted by Éanna
If the BNP want to send a spokesperson to UCC let them. If Peadar wants to cast ridiculous slurs on an entire continent, let him. The more often racists and bigots spout their idiotic bullshít, the more obvious it is to any right-thinking individual just how spurious and laughable their ideas are.
That’s just the point Eanna. Most people don’t really think for themselves and get all their opinions from whoever shouts loudest. Most people generally aren’t defiantly rascist but they are lazy and ill-educated. If they’re not exposed to rascist crap, they’re unlikely to think that way.
13/01/2004, 12:00 PM
Originally posted by Dodge
That’s just the point Eanna. Most people don’t really think for themselves and get all their opinions from whoever shouts loudest. Most people generally aren’t defiantly rascist but they are lazy and ill-educated. If they’re not exposed to rascist crap, they’re unlikely to think that way. fair point
13/01/2004, 12:10 PM
Well there has always been a bizarre attitude to censorship in this country.
Look back at section 31.
Sinn Fein banned from the airwaves, which engendered a lot of sympathy for them, and their views and attitudes could never be challenged. So for a long time, nobody could hear and see the contradictory and ridiculous stance they held on issues.
On the other hand, Paisley was given free rein to show his bigotry and sectarianism on the airwaves. With the exception of those people in NI who vote for these people and support them, nobody with a decent bone in their body in these islands, would touch these creeps with a forty foot pole.
In this case, I would say that censorship proved to be a help to Sinn Fein, the opposite to what was intended. So a unionist politican in the Republic did as much to help them down here, as his colleagues in the North did to drive people to SF up there.
The BNP guy will come to UCC, and he will be met by a very large and very vociferous group telling him/her exactly what they think of him and his policies.
Freedom of speech meets freedom of speech.
Nothing like it for a bit of entertainment.
13/01/2004, 12:16 PM
Originally posted by patsh
Sinn Fein banned from the airwaves, which engendered a lot of sympathy for them, and their views and attitudes could never be challenged. So for a long time, nobody could hear and see the contradictory and ridiculous stance they held on issues. But since that was recinded, they've got 4 TDs elected and probably more to come.
Jordan's tits in the arseWhatever you're into! :D
13/01/2004, 12:30 PM
Originally posted by Schumi
But since that was recinded, they've got 4 TDs elected and probably more to come.
For two reasons:
1. Because when they were banned from the airwaves, they had to get their "message" across in other ways, and so built up a very efficient community structure, which worked hard at portraying them as the outsider who could shake things up.They were seen as the anti-poilitics politicians. Now that you can listen to some of their more ridiculous characters like O'Coalain, and the gun-runner Ferris, anybody who gives any thought to politics will see them for what they are.
2. Blame must be taken by FF, in particular, for the current situation of cynicsm towards politics, which has given SF the chance to exploit their "cachet" and that outsider status they try to give themselves.
13/01/2004, 12:36 PM
Originally posted by Schumi
But since that was recinded, they've got 4 TDs elected and probably more to come.
To be fair, they've had four TD's elected since the Good Friday agreement.
I can only speak for one constituency, but the reason that Sinn Fein had a TD elected from North Kerry is because they worked harder than the other parties.
Every single person who turned 18 or added their name to the register since the previous election got a letter from Gerry Adams/Sinn Fein telling them how important their vote was, an act sure to impress a disenfranchised youth vote. They won a huge amount of the elderly's vote by preying on fears that the gardai could do little about crime, while rumours of the 'good work' certain people were doing 'behind the scenes' with regards to crime were widely circulated. They used tactics like these to build on what was an already large (if unmotivated politically) base of republican support in the constituency.
To censor anyone only makes people want to hear the censored all the more, to see what evil they are being prevented from accessing. The public at large might be lazy as Dodge suggested, but you have to let people make up their minds. Government enforced law regarding what we have a right to read and hear is worse than letting idiots hang themselves spouting rubbish.
The real reason why SF have made advances?
They have money, more than any other party in Ireland.
Where do they get that money?:rolleyes: Watch this space. The Taoiseach, Minister for Justice and the FG leader all told us to expect a few SF heads to roll soon if the Gardaí do crack down on Provisional IRA "activities".
13/01/2004, 2:31 PM
Ah the last refuge of the right-winger! "I'm not a racist, I'm not a fascist, its these god damn liberals who are oppressing me!" :rolleyes:
If Peadar wants to cast ridiculous slurs on an entire continent, let him. The more often racists and bigots spout their idiotic bullshít, the more obvious it is to any right-thinking individual just how spurious and laughable their ideas are.
When you've all finished basking in the glory you derive from public proclaimation of your anti racist stance, we might get back to the original issue here. Nwanko had to return to his native country in order to process his work permit application. Since he's not in Ireland a year we can only assume that he had a temporary visa. This is not a big issue and it's better for everyone involved to have this resolved completely before the season starts. After the St Pats player registration fiasco we all need to ensure that everything is in order with regard to our players. While St Pats paid the price, many clubs were guilty. It doesn't make Ireland a facist nation because we have protocol which needs to be followed with regard to foreign nationals entering our country. It doesn't make the people in the visa section of the Department of Foreign Affairs facists because they apply the rules. I believe the immigration rules are justified and offer a fair deal to genuine applicants. You can call me a racist/facist all you like, it doesn't bother me. I have nothing to prove to any of you.
Jesus that posts affects me on so many levels but…
The Pats registration thing had nothing to do with what country he came from.
13/01/2004, 2:55 PM
who's moderating this....I thought the thread was about how big a loss Nwankwo will be to Cork City, not a massive racism debate!!:confused: :confused:
13/01/2004, 2:59 PM
Jesus that posts affects me on so many levels
:D :D :D
13/01/2004, 3:00 PM
The Pats registration thing...
I didn't say they did. What I was pointing to was what the possible implications could be if a problem with his work permit arose during the season. We could be charged with registering an illegal player and docked points in the same way that St Pats were docked points for "failing" to register players.
13/01/2004, 3:54 PM
When you've all finished basking in the glory you derive from public proclaimation of your anti racist stance.... I believe the immigration rules are justified and offer a fair deal to genuine applicants. You can call me a racist/facist all you like, it doesn't bother me.
that's just moving the goalposts Peadar. I'm sure most people would agree that we need rules in place to protect the genuine asylum seekers and immigrants, and exclude the chancers, but that's not the point you made that people took issue with.
anyway, immigration has nothing to do with player registration.
Watch this space. The Taoiseach, Minister for Justice and the FG leader all told us to expect a few SF heads to roll soon if the Gardaí do crack down on Provisional IRA "activities".
Well McDowell, especially, seems to be a master of innuendo. If he has the information as he says he has, he should publish it immediately for us all to see. I have no time whatsoever for SF, but I don't hold with McDowells mudflinging, which he rarely, if ever, backs up.
14/01/2004, 9:49 AM
My, we are busy with the Humanities and Politics topics these days, aren't we? This is good. However there's an unwritten rule about these kind of debates on Foot.ie: Provide evidence or shut up. Peadar, I hate to pick on one particular poster but you're the one making contentious statements here: If you can prove that Africans are responsible for a large proportion of crime in Ireland, state facts and figures please. If you don't know them, the Department of Justice will be able to help you out.
Until then, no more statements like "[t]he biggest ATM and credit card frauds scams in this country recently have been organised by African nationals" and "[j]ust look at all the crime being commited in Ireland by people originally from African nations." If you don't provide facts and figures I'll simply consider it uninformed implicitly racist Sun or Star rhetoric playing to the lowest common denominator. Clear?
14/01/2004, 10:26 AM
So Eanna and Conor have been promoted to jackeens now. Congrats to both.
14/01/2004, 11:31 AM
No probs.
Eanna's already bought the miniskirt and a map of Benburb Street and I have a belt, a spoon, a lighter and an old syringe we used to use for mastitis in the cattle lying around somewhere...;) :D
SO its alright to generalise one group but not another. Tut tut Conor :p :D
14/01/2004, 12:27 PM
The vanity of comparing Dubs to Africans. You lot think you're a separate race and continent too, I suppose! :D :D
We may as well be...
If Michael McDowell was to publish any information he had into Sinn Fein's illegal activities it wouldn't exactly help with any criminal investigation into the matters. As is the same with any Garda investigation any such information is kept hush hush until the investigation is finished.
Africans are involved in a lot of crime, mainly fraud and sex offences but so too are Eastern Europeans. However it's wrong to say that they are involved in the majority of it. Us Irish are well enough represented in these crimes too.
The major difference between someone who's Irish committing these crimes and someone from Africa or Eastern Europe committing them is that the majority of Africans and Eastern Europeans in this country are here illegally!!!
The immigration laws in this country are not too strict, if anything they are not tight enough. The numbers of Gardai working within the Garda National Immigration Bureau have been increased in the last month and are due to be increased again in the near furute. If we can stop these problems at the point of entry then we can reduce the numbers of them that are involved in crime here and in the long run hopefully that will help the people of Ireland to accept people of different races
15/01/2004, 12:41 PM
Originally posted by Eric
If Michael McDowell was to publish any information he had into Sinn Fein's illegal activities it wouldn't exactly help with any criminal investigation into the matters. As is the same with any Garda investigation any such information is kept hush hush until the investigation is finished.
If thats the case, he should never have alluded to it in the first place.
When it suits him, he can clam up, and say nothing except "I couldn't possibly comment on an ongoing Garda investigation". However, he did not choose to say this, and it didn't stop him from prejudging the outcome of any investigation by deciding that SF are guilty of this, and publicly stating so.
Don't get me wrong Patsh, I'm not standing by McDowell one bit. I agree with you that he should never have even mentioned the matter. He's not exactly the brightest Minister for Justice we've ever had.
The only reason I mentioned that was because others were saying that information re crime caused by foreign nationals should be made known to the public and I was trying to show that it would ruin every criminal investigation if all the information was to be made known before the cases were dealt with
16/01/2004, 12:19 PM
Originally posted by Eric
He's not exactly the brightest Minister for Justice we've ever had.I'd've said the opposite. He's too clever by half.