View Full Version : crunchy nut cornflakes
13/01/2004, 1:31 PM
are they just the best food on the planet or what, the only thing that comes near them is toast.
13/01/2004, 2:49 PM
Originally posted by max power
are they just the best food on the planet or what, the only thing that comes near them is toast.
Have you tried mixing them? :)
13/01/2004, 2:53 PM
not yet i have to go to work in the morning at the mo, but when i go back to college i'll be in bed all day so i'll give it a go then.
but we must never forget the days of coming to dublin on a sunday night drinking all your money that night and living on toast all week, its an important part of college days.
Well they are ludicrously tasty.
I've often wondered how they manage to get such a ludicrous amount of taste into them, but I guess I'll never find out. I hear the product testers yelled "but this is ludicrous, it has a ludicrous level of taste, are you people completely ludicrous!" upon sampling them for the first time, which is probably where the slogan came from in the first place. This may seem like a ludicrous tale but its true.
They definitely have more ludicrous taste than toast which is only ridiculously tasty. Although the people at Kelloggs are striving for the next level of taste - farcical taste.
13/01/2004, 3:28 PM
i think i met you wandering the streets of waterford in a ludicrous state one night !!! LOL
or waffles, they are waffely versatile after all.
13/01/2004, 5:41 PM
Crunchy Nut Cornflakes are just fantastic. The man who invented them deserves a medal. Toast is gorgeous too, but there's a lot to be said for potato bread. Mmmm....
jofyisgod
13/01/2004, 5:50 PM
They are lovely. I love the taste of the milk once they are all gone. A small bit of pleasure after the main bit.
How philosophical(long word).
adamcarr
13/01/2004, 6:00 PM
Originally posted by brendy_eire
Crunchy Nut Cornflakes are just fantastic.
frosties are the greatest cereal of all time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
13/01/2004, 6:31 PM
Originally posted by adamcarr
frosties are the greatest cereal of all time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Frosties are too sweet, far too much sugar in them. Crunchy Nut has just the right amount.
Jesse's Diets
"This week, I'll mostly be eating
Crunchy Nut Cornflakes"
"on Toast"
Originally posted by MikeW
I've often wondered how they manage to get such a ludicrous amount of taste into them, but I guess I'll never find out. I
I could tell you, but then I'd have to kill you - used to work in the Manchester Plant of Kellogg's where they are made....
Personally prefer plan old cornflakes, with a banana on top. Also hard to beat the Cornflakes/ Rice Krispies combo...
Non-cereal wise, toast is excellent, but boxty with a fried egg beats the lot.....
14/01/2004, 11:29 AM
Originally posted by Macy
used to work in the Manchester Plant of Kellogg's
I bet it's just like Willy Wonka's Chocolate Factory with the likes of Snap, Crackle and Pop, Loopy, Tony The Tiger and Coco running about like ravers on a bad acid trip instead of the oompa loompas! :D
Originally posted by Macy
but boxty with a fried egg beats the lot.....
And what in the name of poop is a boxty??? :confused:
14/01/2004, 11:32 AM
can i just say this is one of the weirdist threads ever and i'm proud to have started it.
does any one else like egg and jam sandwichs or is it just me ??? or dipping mcdonalds fries into a milkshake ???
14/01/2004, 11:35 AM
dipping fries in strawberry yoghurt, yum.
as for cereal mixes, weetabix with hot milk, then lash in a load of rice krispies, heaven.
Originally posted by sadloserkid
And what in the name of poop is a boxty??? :confused:
Kind of similar to Potato cake - grated potato, flour and water/milk, fried in butter.... Seems to be a North Longford/South Leitrim thing these days, but dates back to before the famine...
the scout
14/01/2004, 1:12 PM
having breakfast one morning in place in leitrim the fellow at the table next to me said to his mates
"jaysus lads i f****N luv boxty id eat a mile of it"
14/01/2004, 1:14 PM
well there isn't really anything exciting in Leitrim so that was prob the hilight of his day.
It'd be the highlight of anyone's day......
Hmmmmm Boxty....
14/01/2004, 1:27 PM
had some on christmas morning for breakfast, lovely stuff with a nice fried egg.
thats the way to feed a child boxty and guinness
14/01/2004, 3:57 PM
Boxty's big enough in Fermanagh too, that's where I know it from. And it's gorgeous. Fried in tons of butter with sugar over the top. :) Mmmm. Stop knockin it!
Sugar!?!?!?! No just lash on more butter and maybe a bit of salt, eat and then sit back and relax as the cholesterol rises....
the scout
15/01/2004, 9:28 AM
they are without doubt the finest food known to man.one in fact wonders how in fact the said taste level is in attained.
the end product belies the humble ingredients contained in said product,namely corn flakes and a few bits of nuts.one in fact is suspicious that this cereal might contain some kind of flavour enhancer along the lines of m s g or similar as the quality of the finished articile is sublime.
anyone have a laborotory to get a sample tested?????
15/01/2004, 11:28 AM
But I want a boxty now! :(
the scout
15/01/2004, 12:53 PM
or ill scweam and scweam and scweam!!!!!!!!
15/01/2004, 12:59 PM
Originally posted by the scout
or ill scweam and scweam and scweam!!!!!!!!
too right I will! :)
Until my ickle voice packs in!
Me too - Maxpower will put a couple of pans on....
15/01/2004, 1:52 PM
i'd love to but i'm on the atkins diet so none for me for a few weeks, but i think the first home game of the season will call for a pan or two before the game.
can't eat bloody toast either or cnc, i'm crying now. i want real food !!!!!!
15/01/2004, 2:08 PM
yes indeed it is, almost 3 stone of it !!!!!
its very good apart from no " MONDAY NIGHT BEER " ( you have to say that like its a really exciting tv show ).
the scout
17/01/2004, 12:28 PM
if on a diet for brekkie id suggest usually meuselli
i'd love to but i'm on the atkins diet so none for me for a few weeks, but i think the first home game of the season will call for a pan or two before the game.
can't eat bloody toast either or cnc, i'm crying now. i want real food !!!!!!
Atkins diet:confused: I know a lad who's on it, whats it all about? Still eats like a savage!
My advice is if it tastes like chicken keep on licken:D
the scout
17/01/2004, 2:15 PM
[.
Anyone remember Angus Deayton, Man U fan and all round dirty fecker. He was on the crunchy nut cfglakes ad in the 80s, he used to pop out of a ship's funnel. Dirty dirty man... [/B][/QUOTE]
is this the i got news for you guy who was caught with the colombian marching powder up his nose and his pants around his ankles???
the scout
17/01/2004, 3:01 PM
is it true that pat dolans on the atkins diet ????????
19/01/2004, 11:33 AM
Amazing story for the Longford lads. For my sins (and to pay my rent) I work part-time in a Spar. Imagine my great surprise when somebody brought a packet of none other than Boxty to the check-out yesterday!!! Sadly I'm broke as can be this week but come Thursday I just might sample... :eek:
19/01/2004, 11:43 AM
Amazing story for the Longford lads. For my sins (and to pay my rent) I work part-time in a Spar. Imagine my great surprise when somebody brought a packet of none other than Boxty to the check-out yesterday!!! Sadly I'm broke as can be this week but come Thursday I just might sample... :eek:
heard a story about someone who mixed an illegal substance with the above and ended up out of his box on boxty:D :D :D