View Full Version : Invite

20/05/2009, 8:04 PM
All supporters are invited to a showing of "till i die" a documentary on Limerick Football Club next monday the 25th of May at the strand hotel at 9:30. Following that the FAI will do a presentation on the vision for the development on the markets Field.

Monkfish
21/05/2009, 9:30 AM
Lovely invitation letter came in the door yesterday, felt all important so I did. :)

Ciarán R
21/05/2009, 10:06 AM
nice one. sorry i missed you yesterday gael353.

Rashers Baptisa
21/05/2009, 11:32 AM
Is there a big turnout expected for this event? It sounds important. I got my invite yesterday.

LK37oldskool
21/05/2009, 12:23 PM
got my invite too.Nice touch.lookin forward to monday night and seen the documentary.

Monkfish
21/05/2009, 1:04 PM
Is there a big turnout expected for this event? .

Jammers with election candidates no doubt.
Im looking in your direction SLK. :p

24/05/2009, 12:05 PM
is this an open event or invite only folks?

Monkfish
24/05/2009, 5:59 PM
is this an open event or invite only folks?

Open.

Pious37
26/05/2009, 8:15 AM
Really interesting presentation last nite. Well done the lads the documentary was really well put together. Really interesting to see all the hard work that goes on behind the scenes and especially to paul o' riordan. Hes a credit to the club and puts in blood, sweat and tears for the and big respect to him for that. The problems of the club were discussed and seems unless there is drastic change in the future we may not have a senior club in Limerick and that would be very sad indeed.

The plans for Markets Field were really impressive but for some reason I just cant see it happening even though I would love to see it happening. Anyway, well done to everyone involved last night, was interestin to get a different perspective on the club.

LK37oldskool
26/05/2009, 12:48 PM
Really enjoyed last night till we got the low down on the financial reality we're in. Its really in the hands of the Limerick council.I would ask you all to interrogate any politican that knocks on your door over the next week about his views on the Markets Field project.If he's for it we should put up a thread here and name him and also name those that are unsure or not know what your talkin about. Votes are all their about and maybe we could vote as a block(those that are eligible!) for the ones that are most positive for the club.
Just an idea.

Castletroy_Blue
26/05/2009, 1:51 PM
Votes are all their about and maybe we could vote as a block(those that are eligible!) for the ones that are most positive for the club.
Just an idea.

A question on the side...Is it wrong to vote for someone because they are good looking?

Me and the lads were wondering...especially with the likes of those nice Toireasa Ferris posters out in Castletroy at the moment :D

LK37oldskool
26/05/2009, 2:01 PM
seein as we live in a banana republic and all our politicans are corrupt or incompetant i think voting on looks is a logical approach to the elections.Cant elect any worse than those already there! :D
though do keep in mind my original idea on who'll help the club most.

Monkfish
26/05/2009, 2:06 PM
A question on the side...Is it wrong to vote for someone because they are good looking?

Of course not, and if she can provide a service to get your vote all the better.
Rumours around the Island Field area for years of a male politician doing favours for 'favours'.
Id however like to stress at this point that its not a Sinn Fein member or The Right Honourable Mayor Of Limerick John Gilligan

Castletroy_Blue
26/05/2009, 3:31 PM
That's good.

So it's a toss up between Toireasa Ferris, Elena Secas, and Mary Jackman then.

Guy Incognito
26/05/2009, 4:16 PM
R.I would ask you all to interrogate any politican that knocks on your door over the next week about his views on the Markets Field project.If he's for it we should put up a thread here and name him

Cllr Kieran O'Hanlon is already involved in the Limerick for Markets Field campaign.

inmoscow
26/05/2009, 4:52 PM
Why does the fai not buy,or at least guarantee the mortgage.On current figures,the doggie people want 5 million,give them 4 tops.4 mill,on a twenty year deal would cost about 24 grand a month.Given the land bank involved,the municipal aspect,not unsurmountable.On the other hand,bring in the council as well,they bring richmond/geraldines in,take back a portion of garryowen green,for much needed social/affordable housing,of which the department of the environment pay for ,presto,closer again.Thats not even considering the college,who are going to be screwed for space(given all that upskilling going on)bobs your uncle!All it needs is joined up thinking,forget owning anything,thats never a runner.

LK37oldskool
26/05/2009, 7:13 PM
Any chance you'd make a late entry into the political arena inmoscow? you'd get my vote.

26/05/2009, 7:36 PM
That's good.

So it's a toss up between Toireasa Ferris, Elena Secas, and Mary Jackman then.

hmmmm big question castletroy blue. Ferris is a bit hefty for me, me being a fattist and all. Jackman is a tad too mature and she has a nose bigger then mine and that thing from the karioke in the imperial Emma O'Driscoll. so its secas for me, shes one of them foreign girls who i go for, shes also one of those foreign girls whos good looking which i go for and who will go home and leave me which always seems to happen :D
in fact shes perfect

LK37oldskool
26/05/2009, 7:40 PM
But does she know the history of the Markets Field? Priorities gael! :rolleyes:

Castletroy_Blue
26/05/2009, 8:00 PM
Tell me if this is a stupid suggestion, but why not play out at the Bowl in UL (where the running track is?)

They have a few entry gates into the area, where stewards could stop and charge the admission prices, and the pitch is nice too. Surely UL wouldn't charge too much in rent?

26/05/2009, 8:33 PM
Tell me if this is a stupid suggestion, but why not play out at the Bowl in UL (where the running track is?)

They have a few entry gates into the area, where stewards could stop and charge the admission prices, and the pitch is nice too. Surely UL wouldn't charge too much in rent?

the entire arena would have to be fenced or walled as its an open venue at the moment...only fence are the ones keeping ppl offthe track but nothing to stop ppl watching any events for free...its pretty much like jackman come to think of it :rolleyes:

inmoscow
26/05/2009, 9:09 PM
No lights,ul would never give a lease long enough to draw down grants,stunt future expansion of arena(track is due to be moved)and they are doing very well without us!Combine that with the possability of drawing a rabble element home/away fans,that why,in a nutshell.

oscar
26/05/2009, 9:45 PM

its a stupid suggestion

Paddywhackspurs
26/05/2009, 9:58 PM
Really enjoyed last night till we got the low down on the financial reality we're in. Its really in the hands of the Limerick council.I would ask you all to interrogate any politican that knocks on your door over the next week about his views on the Markets Field project.If he's for it we should put up a thread here and name him and also name those that are unsure or not know what your talkin about. Votes are all their about and maybe we could vote as a block(those that are eligible!) for the ones that are most positive for the club.
Just an idea.

Myself & Paul O R had a very good chat with Maurice Quinlivan & Tom Collopy (i think his son Darren ? goes to every match) & i was very very impressed by the way they talked about the old days watching Limerick @ the MF. i said to them are ye her just to get votes. The response i got was "we are here because by getting this done it can only benefit Limerick & Limerick FC as a whole & it must happen" another Quote was " if we can get in it will happen because we are fans as well"

So they are definitely getting my vote. They ment what they said not like other politicans who promise the world & never deliver.

Castletroy_Blue
26/05/2009, 10:06 PM
the entire arena would have to be fenced or walled as its an open venue at the moment...only fence are the ones keeping ppl offthe track but nothing to stop ppl watching any events for free...its pretty much like jackman come to think of it :rolleyes:

Maybe you can get onto Elena Secas and get her to sort it out? ;)

26/05/2009, 10:24 PM
Maybe you can get onto Elena Secas and get her to sort it out? ;)

hmmmmmm:D:)

Monkfish
26/05/2009, 11:47 PM
its a stupid suggestion

Have to agree.

Monkfish
26/05/2009, 11:50 PM
Maurice Quinlivan & Tom Collopy .

2 men with family members very close to the club in fact.

mastershake
27/05/2009, 3:43 AM
Are these plans/drawings for markets field on show anywhere? If not can anyone tell me whats been proposed?

LK37oldskool
27/05/2009, 12:23 PM
got to look after those guys,there gettin my vote. :D

28/05/2009, 3:37 PM
Myself & Paul O R had a very good chat with Maurice Quinlivan & Tom Collopy (i think his son Darren ? goes to every match) & i was very very impressed by the way they talked about the old days watching Limerick @ the MF. i said to them are ye her just to get votes. The response i got was "we are here because by getting this done it can only benefit Limerick & Limerick FC as a whole & it must happen" another Quote was " if we can get in it will happen because we are fans as well"

So they are definitely getting my vote. They ment what they said not like other politicans who promise the world & never deliver.

Had a chat with Tom Collopy as well about what the Market's Field could do for the Garryowen area and was very impressed with some of the things he was able to tell me he had picked up from canvassing the area so he's getting my vote.

I will say too that I'm mates with his son, in case anyone thinks I'm trying to drum up votes here

LFC-Zulu
29/05/2009, 1:21 PM
Had a chat with Tom Collopy as well about what the Market's Field could do for the Garryowen area and was very impressed with some of the things he was able to tell me he had picked up from canvassing the area so he's getting my vote.

Now to convince Mammy and Daddy to vote for them. :rolleyes: