View Full Version : If you were a multimillionaire...

Pages : 1 [2]

Umberside
19/05/2009, 3:19 PM
To be fair, there isn't much space on the greyhound Stadium site. But behind the goal at the Ovens end is a huge space, there's a good bit of space on the Bishopstown side and there's space where the car park is now. If I was multi-millionare then what would stop me from buying land? Possibly put the stadium where to the fields are now at the farm (Big space there) and use the Bishopstown space for a Car Park, possibly mingle it with the greyhound one and create a hige park that could be used for both and the costs shared

Actually yeah that's a good idea and would be better next to the Greyhound Stadium than across the road from it. The stadium definitely couldn't be built on the current site, though. Maybe further down past the Greyhound Car Park would be a good site.

shefellover93
19/05/2009, 3:34 PM
Actually yeah that's a good idea and would be better next to the Greyhound Stadium than across the road from it. The stadium definitely couldn't be built on the current site, though. Maybe further down past the Greyhound Car Park would be a good site.

If only *sigh*

19/05/2009, 3:52 PM
Id buy a club, go up into the gantry with a gun and target the one on the field with the whistle.

SunderlandBohs
20/05/2009, 8:46 AM
If I won the euro millions at say e125m. I buy Bohs, disband the current board and membership committee and set up and new board ie chairman, ceo and executive board members. And set out to clean up the debts. Look into getting the best sponsorships and promotions to get money and fans into the club.

Secondly, I'll pump in around e2.5m-e3m into the squad for wages, transfer fees and signing on fees. Also put money into setting up a youth academy al la Ajax in the hope of getting the best young players in the country and keeping them at home or selling them on for a nice profit.

Thirdly, I look into trying to redevelop Dalymount Park into a 8,000-10,000 seater stadium and build a state of the art training ground.

endabob1
20/05/2009, 9:57 AM
I think if you won a lot (euromillions 50m+ level) it would be fun and handled sensibly it wouldn't have to just be a black hole, if you won 2/3m then it's pointless as you really should be investing most of your winnings to generate a proper future income.
By handled properly I mean investing in a proper youth accademy so you could offer a real viable alternative to 16 year olds and then profit on the sale of the better ones, clubs like Crewe are a good model to follow. There is only so much one indivisual/club can do within the league to drag it forward but you would need to try to get some input in the leagues marketing, egt your own club marketed properly and then get the league to follow suit.
To make it economically viable I think I would look at a club with a large catchment area outside of Dublin, Cork, Galway or Limerick or possibly Kildare, cheaper to buy into than a Dublin club but the smaller provincial towns just don't have the catchment areas to draw 10,000 regularly.
Ground ownership is an issue, Cork & Galway have long term agreements with their local associations which would I imagine be difficult (and expensive) to break, buying a club and then having to build a greenfield stadium would make it too expensive.
The field of possible clubs is shortening by the second....

20/05/2009, 11:24 AM
As has been pointed out unless you're winning vast amounts it's probably just a massive waste to put anything into a league of Ireland club. If I won 100 million in the Euromillions I'd certainly have a chat with Mick Wallace about helping to finish the stadium in Wexford, I'd also look to maybe get invloved full time with the club, looking to develop the commercial side, promoting it in the community.
I'd also offer my services to SDCC/Shamrock Rovers to help finish the stadium on all four sides. I certainly wouldn't offer nay money towards wages or first team development, it's all go towards facilities and developing academies.

rerun
20/05/2009, 12:13 PM
If I won the euro millions at say e125m. I buy Bohs, disband the current board and membership committee and set up and new board ie chairman, ceo and executive board members. And set out to clean up the debts. Look into getting the best sponsorships and promotions to get money and fans into the club.

Secondly, I'll pump in around e2.5m-e3m into the squad for wages, transfer fees and signing on fees. Also put money into setting up a youth academy al la Ajax in the hope of getting the best young players in the country and keeping them at home or selling them on for a nice profit.

Thirdly, I look into trying to redevelop Dalymount Park into a 8,000-10,000 seater stadium and build a state of the art training ground.

Just wondering why every LOI club/fan has a fantasy about building a 10,000 seat stadium. I mean, lets get real (and I know this is a fun thread), who fills their ground week in week out? Are you catering for when you qualify for the CL group stages and you get to play Barca at home? Perhaps if clubs reigned themselves in a bit and focused on building a modest stadium, say 5-6000 seats with some decent supporting infrastructure the dreams might have more of a chance of becoming a reality. There's no fun sitting or playing in a 10,000 stadium that's not even half full. Then again, if you won €125M in the Euromillions, I suppose you could pay folk to go to the games ;)

20/05/2009, 12:20 PM
If I won the euro millions at say e125m. I...set out to clean up the debts.
You're broke just there.

ShnaeGuevara715
20/05/2009, 2:37 PM
I'd use the dosh to get my local schoolboy team into the LoI for the craic. Mainly though blackmail the other league clubs into running themselves properly. Guarantee to pay off competing clubs debts if they followed the wages cap and all other sound advice yokes. It may help competitors but attracting players to the league that youre club is in is half the battle. Improve that and haway the lads! Imagine Fernando Torres was about to sign for Bohs dreaming of playing at the likes of Turners Cross then he finds out they have gone bust and instead he has to go play at UCD as their replacement.

No offence UCD!

SunderlandBohs
20/05/2009, 2:55 PM
You're broke just there.
Good one:D.

You're right about about the 10,000 seater stadia rerun. It's something that's burned into the mind of LOI fans that you must build a stadium for 10,000 even though you get maybe 2,500-3,000 on a good day. 5-6,000 seater with a view to build up to 8-10,000 depending on how successful you are would be the way I go come to think about it now.

RoversHead
20/05/2009, 2:59 PM
Id set up an acadamy in Tallaght and finish the stadium ,leaving it in the bank is more risky than anything else these days .