View Full Version : Pat's v Rovers Match Predictions
CarrickFan
15/05/2009, 8:49 PM
Decent point..two more goals conceeded tho!..how did Almedia do?..or Parkhouse for that matter?
red arrow
15/05/2009, 8:49 PM
says on the teletext that teele scored the equaliser. is this a mistake ?
we badly needed that point. now if we can win monday. how did almeida play
was he substitued because of match fitness or did the injury cause him problems.
15/05/2009, 10:13 PM
I am a Sligoman..............
Mauro was great on his re-appearance, and I say that when he was barely near his true self. There are rumours abound and cynics among us who must see him back to his best as a matter of opinion and that is the only way to say it!
Not one of those cynics though :D
15/05/2009, 10:44 PM
Rory comes out of the closet.
15/05/2009, 10:49 PM
I love Lineout
I made this one. Pats were useless, we were no better. Positive result though. Good to see Almeida make a decent contribution. Parkhouse played well but he tired in the second half i think.
Cawley's a rat.
16/05/2009, 12:12 AM
A decent point in the end up. Could have won it though, Pat's are dire and Kenna won't last much longer. Great goal by Cawley...he smiled up at us when he was getting abuse shouted at him as he was coming off...seconds later, Keane scored:D.
Rovers fan
16/05/2009, 12:14 AM
A good enough point but that was a poor pats side,and the 3 points were there for the taking. That's the first league game this season we have not lost when we conceded the first goal. Tbh I couldn't see us scoring after a cawley cracker put them 2-1 up so it was nice to come away with something.
Parkhouse played well, won a few headers and flicks and held the ball up well. Keane and boco also did well and worked very hard. I'd love to see danny keohane get a chance to start a game as he looks to be a great prospect.
About 100 rovers fans there I'd say. It's hard enough to judge as we were kinda mixed in with some pats fans.
Rovers Maniac
16/05/2009, 12:15 AM
Not long back and thought we deserved our point, lads done well to fight back and showed good heart to do so. I would have to question Brush for both goals, Cawley's goal will look a fine goal on TV but i thought it was not the hardest of shots or it was not placed in the top corner of the net either. There first goal was a cross come shot which travelled along way and was a soft goal to give away imo.
Parkhouse, Peers and Boco were all excellent with maybe Romy shading our best player on the night. Holmes played on the left hand side of midfield which was a surprise and Steve Feeney played in the middle of the middle for a lot of the second half and did not do too bad. Keohane had a decent game when he came on and will make a footballer imo. great to see Almeida back although bad to see him go off, hopefully he is back for Galway if not available for Monday night.
We fought hard but made it tough work for ourselves Raf took a lot out of the ball at times in the first half, he also went if injured at half time. At times we had a lot of possession but did little with it and too my mind that usually means a team are lacking a quality player in the middle to create something. Looking forward to the cup quarters on Monday and hopefully we can pick up a win and bring that into the next match.
Excellent away support
srfc1928
16/05/2009, 1:44 AM
Mauro was great on his re-appearance, and I say that when he was barely near his true self. There are rumours abound and cynics among us who must see him back to his best as a matter of opinion and that is the only way to say it!
Not one of those cynics though :D
Ok hands up, i shouldnt have said anything.:o
It doesnt help anybody.
Im not going into the ins and outs of what i think,
but i genuinely hope im wrong with my jugement call.
I am A Rovers Fan:)
Rovers fan
16/05/2009, 1:56 AM
I am A Rovers Fan:)
Ffs lads,I'm Rovers fan:rolleyes::D
Rovers Maniac
16/05/2009, 8:20 AM
No but to be fair one of my pet hates is seeing a good player asking to come off when you can't see part of his body hanging off. Not sure how many times Morrison signaled to the bench in Galway to come off they got him in at the half and he was back out and played the rest of the game. Much rather see a player go down and somebody come on and say thats you done for the day 'buck', we'll have to take you off. It was frustrating to see last night because you know he is a very good player and he's has been out for so long.
Anyway hopefully Mauro has picked up just a strain, often you can pick up a little strain after coming back from injury. A fully fit Mauro Almeida is quality and will be a huge addition to our side and we should see that in the coming weeks.
CarrickFan
16/05/2009, 10:06 AM
Good to hear Parkhouse did well as he seemed to be singled out on some of these threads during the week..i hope he can kick on from here and prove a good signing..couldnt make it up last nite due to work but hope to make Santry on Monday night...Bray losing and Dundalk and Drogs drawing keeps us in touch..3 huge League games coming up..need a big performance next Sat nite.
16/05/2009, 10:47 AM
Have to say, and I know there's plenty here who disagree with me, but the booing of Alan Cawley is ridiculous.
Alan Cawley owes us nothing. He is a Pats player, not a Rovers one. In fact he's never even played for Rovers. Why does he deserved to be booed? He even wanted to sign for Rovers this year but as we all know for delays on our budget and things he didn't. He can't go on for weeks at a time without getting paid lads, he needs to make a living as well.
As for the celebration, he scored an absolute screamer from 30 yards out. Just cause he's from Sligo he can't celebrate a stunning goal like that? I mean I could sort of understand it if he's played for us previously, a bit of class and all that, but the fact that he hasn't just makes it a bit silly.
I think booing just makes us sound like very bitter fans, who can't accept that he's not playing for us.
Rovers Maniac
16/05/2009, 11:52 AM
Have to say, and I know there's plenty here who disagree with me, but the booing of Alan Cawley is ridiculous.
Alan Cawley owes us nothing. He is a Pats player, not a Rovers one. In fact he's never even played for Rovers. Why does he deserved to be booed? He even wanted to sign for Rovers this year but as we all know for delays on our budget and things he didn't. He can't go on for weeks at a time without getting paid lads, he needs to make a living as well.
As for the celebration, he scored an absolute screamer from 30 yards out. Just cause he's from Sligo he can't celebrate a stunning goal like that? I mean I could sort of understand it if he's played for us previously, a bit of class and all that, but the fact that he hasn't just makes it a bit silly.
I think booing just makes us sound like very bitter fans, who can't accept that he's not playing for us.
I did not boo him myself, but i thought his goal was celebration was totally over the top ! He scored a goal against a team second bottom of the league. Tardelli or Stenson would not have had a look it with that celebration last night. What does he do if he scores a goal in a big game? He was always going to get abuse being subbed after that.
red arrow
16/05/2009, 1:01 PM
i agree there was no need to boo alan cawley but you must also get the facts correct because i clearly remember paul cook saying at the night of the agm that alan cawley had given paul cook personally a verbal agreement to sign for sligo rovers and the contract had being agreed on but he never turned up on the sunday to sign and the next day it was in the paper that he had signed for st pat's. it was not the fault of sligo rovers f.c. both parties had agreed on his contract but unfortunately alan cawley did a "u " turn. i have nothing against the lad and wish him the best but he did let sligo rovers down
16/05/2009, 1:09 PM
There was no contract for him. So he signed for Pat's.
Why is Cawley "A Rat"?
Because he celebrated his goal the way he did. He's from Sligo. Should have a bit more respect. That's just my opinion.
16/05/2009, 2:28 PM
Jeff Kenna post-match:
lOOQFom5atI
and most pointless video ever:
k4WHqQ4qEkg
redobit
16/05/2009, 4:01 PM
By all accounts Alan wanted to sign and Cook wanted to sign him. no contract was offered because there was no money in the kitty.
As for the game, not a bad game considering there was 2 bad teams tbh. At least when rovers went behind they kept there heads up and coming back twice can only boost morale. Boco and Peers were quality as usual, and Brushes celebration after our second goal shows his commitment.
Also well done to Parkhouse, for a man coming back from injury he tried his hardest to make things happen and always wanted to get involved in the play.
Compare that with the other man coming back from injury: Almeida did not want to be on that pitch. As a defender he should want that ball to come in his direction and get involved, that did not seem to be the case. He made at least three or four 'attempts' at headers that were laughable, he looked like he was going through the paces, and the leadership and drive he showed last season were nowhere to be seen.
Keohane definetly looks one for the future.
redobit
16/05/2009, 4:06 PM
About 100 rovers fans there I'd say. It's hard enough to judge as we were kinda mixed in with some pats fans.
I cant understand why some of our away fans sit in home sections!
To be fair to Almeida it was his first game back after a long lay off. He did look very tentative when challenging. I wouldn't be so critical of him going off when he did. He has had no first team football so he must have felt the pace.
I think at this stage it's worth saying that one of the reasons we're struggling is that we haven't once been able to field the same team in consecutive games. Whether because of injuries and suspensions or both we definitely have never had our strongest eleven out on the pitch. If we could start to get some consistency in this i think the same will follow with our results.
Where I was sitting there was a few Rovers fans and they did nothing but slate our players the whole way through the game. There was a Pat's fan to our left and he even commented on it to me. Bit disappointing.
rovers100%
16/05/2009, 9:02 PM
a mixed nite for me, good point earned considering we were a goal down with only minutes to go but we only threatened their goal once and that was a free kick in opening minutes. againdt bohs, shams and in inchicore we did not look like we could score from open play. people here saying pats are dire and good point earned................. how can it be a good point if they are dire and we were no better than them in the game if anything they had the better chances. i do not wanna sound like a kill joy but it was an improvement over shams but we were playing a far inferior team. holmes looked good on the left of mid, parkhouse looked lively and interested, boco was brill as ever, raf unfortunately went off injured and his replacement feeney done well, i was suprised. almeida was off the pace as would be expected being out so long but match fitness will correct that with time. peers outstanding as ever and keane again dependable. richie was ok in firrst half and then v poor in second as went missing for first 25 mins of second half. as a team i feel we are lacking confidence and direction. remember we were 5 mins away from losing to a team who ye say yourselfs are dire. as far as performances go it was 6/10 at best. i feel we will struggle this year. i do not wanna be the bearer of constant moaning but kills me to see us struggling this year and only coleman gone as real change from our heroics from last year, so how can situation change. is it just confidence ???
red bellied
16/05/2009, 11:44 PM
Sligo Rovers are currently a full time side second last in the LOI.
17/05/2009, 9:34 AM
Red Bellied, we are ninth in the table.
We are all lying in the gutter but some of us are looking at the stars (Oscar Wilde)
srfc1928
17/05/2009, 1:02 PM
Red Bellied were only second last because of the alphabet.:mad:
http://www.rte.ie/aertel/images/235-01.gif
http://images.art.com/images/products/regular/12204000/12204838.jpg
a mixed nite for me, good point earned considering we were a goal down with only minutes to go but we only threatened their goal once and that was a free kick in opening minutes. againdt bohs, shams and in inchicore we did not look like we could score from open play. people here saying pats are dire and good point earned................. how can it be a good point if they are dire and we were no better than them in the game if anything they had the better chances. i do not wanna sound like a kill joy but it was an improvement over shams but we were playing a far inferior team. holmes looked good on the left of mid, parkhouse looked lively and interested, boco was brill as ever, raf unfortunately went off injured and his replacement feeney done well, i was suprised. almeida was off the pace as would be expected being out so long but match fitness will correct that with time. peers outstanding as ever and keane again dependable. richie was ok in firrst half and then v poor in second as went missing for first 25 mins of second half. as a team i feel we are lacking confidence and direction. remember we were 5 mins away from losing to a team who ye say yourselfs are dire. as far as performances go it was 6/10 at best. i feel we will struggle this year. i do not wanna be the bearer of constant moaning but kills me to see us struggling this year and only coleman gone as real change from our heroics from last year, so how can situation change. is it just confidence ???
I think you've answered some of your own questions there. It was a good point because we were so poor as well as them. We deserved no more than a point. We have been poor all season.
As to why we haven't kicked on from last year? I still believe we'll be much better if we can get a settled side out that's close to full strength.
Cloggs
17/05/2009, 2:43 PM
was at the game on friday night and overall i thought that the match was quite enjoyable.sligo showed great character to twice come back from being behind and i felt that they tried to play football when posible.the ball form holmes for peer's goal was fantastic and if he could produce balls like that instead of overhitting them they'd be a real threat.thought that parkhouse was poor enough imo.haven't seen him play in the flesh this year but he must've been very poor in previous games going by people's posts referring to to friday night's performance.think that sligo's man of the match was a toss up between keane and boco.keane was up and down that wing all night although his passing at times left a little to be desired.boco was at the heart of all good play by sligo.thought that himself and raf could have chanced taking a shot on a couple of occasions in the first half but lost the ball on the edge of the box.danny ventre may well give his all in a game but is seriously lacking in quality.ryan guy won every ball in the air that came down his wing and ventre lost the ball in the runup to cawley's goal.good point gained as pats probably had the more clear cut cances,particularly through quigley,who looked pretty disinterested in the game lukily enough.still if they show the same commitment and heart against galway could well take something out of it
red bellied
17/05/2009, 2:49 PM
Red Bellied were only second last because of the alphabet.:mad:
http://www.rte.ie/aertel/images/235-01.gif
http://images.art.com/images/products/regular/12204000/12204838.jpg
True, bit unfair should complain to Aertel on the grounds full time teams like Rovers should be given the privilige in scenarios like this and Bray only being part time!
1st time post
18/05/2009, 12:37 AM
My taughts on our struggles this year are posted on the 1st page of thus thread!!!mite help maybe???
dublinred
18/05/2009, 8:29 AM
Happy enough with a point in the end , performance was a massive improvment on the previous week the players were defo up for it unucly to go in 1 down at half time against the run of play , very impressed with Parkhouse he held the ball up well and gives us another dimension up front he laid off a lot of balls for the midfielders who then tried to walk the ball into the net instead of shooting . Good to see Mauro back will take him a few games to get into swing of things , Holmes on left midfield isn't a bad option thought Keohane looked very good too when he came on , looking forward to tonight confident we will get a result.
nechayev
18/05/2009, 12:24 PM
I made this one. Pats were useless, we were no better. Positive result though. Good to see Almeida make a decent contribution. Parkhouse played well but he tired in the second half i think.
Cawley's a rat.
here! some of my BEST friends are rats..... wotchit
good away support - point on the road's a point on the road - this could be the start of something bootiful...
and anyhoo: who can honestly say they wouldn't prefer a good old fashioned bloodbath of a relegation dog-fight than annodyne mid-table mediocrity?
assuming, of course, we don't go galloping off on another quixotic tilt at the windmills of yooropeen sokker!
PEACE - y'all
DIMITRI - only let on the bus to raise the average age to an acceptable UEFA standard!
ps: a great disappointment for me, on the night, was dooley's failure to examine short-cut alternatives to the N4 on the way home
tch tch tch...