View Full Version : MNS
A N Mouse
11/05/2009, 7:20 PM
Did he honestly say Crowe was unlucky to get a yellow?
He went in for the 50/50 fair enough, but then don't know what he was doing, trying to pull out or what but lifted feet together, studs up, about a foot off the ground and caught Doherty in the head. He knew exactly what he'd done and how lucky he was, both to, only, get a yellow and that Doherty got up again. The head went down and that was him out of the game.
11/05/2009, 7:22 PM
Nothing wrong with that challenge, the yellows should have been issued to Doherty for playacting (which he does constantly) and the eejits who came steaming in.
Kenny is either greying rapidly or has run out of Just For Men.
Black and White
11/05/2009, 7:22 PM
I love the way Rico thinks he knows everything!CLOWN
11/05/2009, 7:24 PM
More Oireland crap! :mad::mad::mad:
Black and White
11/05/2009, 7:24 PM
Also yet again Paul keegan with an awful tackle, 3 in 1 week and a yellow given, what does he have to do to get sent off for those awful tackles!
A N Mouse
11/05/2009, 7:25 PM
Nothing wrong with that challenge, the yellows should have been issued to Doherty for playacting (which he does constantly) and the eejits who came steaming in.
It was a bad camera angle. If there was nothing wrong with the tackle then why did Crowe disappear from the game afterward, and Fenlon subbed him about 5 minutes later.
Also yet again Paul keegan with an awful tackle, 3 in 1 week and a yellow given, what does he have to do to get sent off for those awful tackles!
Have a fan from the opposition as the ref?
I love the way Rico thinks he knows everything!CLOWN
Is he not right?
He may have overstated it a bit but he's definitely right. For the hardcore fan you just want to win, but there's a reason our crowds are a fair but down this season and will keep dropping.
Boring football and boring games don't attract the floaters/part-timers, not until the last few games of the season anyway.
We'll be lucky to have 3000 against Derry on Friday. In similar games in 2004/2005 against Shels we would have always had over 5000.
Now it's not just the football, obviously money etc comes into it as well but we're certainly seeing a drop because of the football imo.
rico was dead right in what he said
11/05/2009, 7:32 PM
Fabio's packing a bit of timber. :eek:
Raiders is gone to the dogs alright. Is it that they've taped over all the LoI footage and don't want to tell anyone?
And don't want to harp on about the lack of Division 1 coverage - Christ knows we're resigned to gething nothing from them at this stage - but to dismiss what is a top-of-the-table clash on Friday with the throwaway line 'UCD and the Youths playing at home' is nothing short of disgraceful.
Roddy & Rico are the best pundits on MNS, they need to find a third person.
If the number of goals in teh league doubled I am sure crowds would increase.
Roddy was correct calling Stuart Byrne a disgrace. The more I see that "tackle" it is very clear he made no effort to go for the ball at all - the ball was on the ground all the time yet he hacked down Faz as he tried to hurdel the tackle.
How Keegan has not been sent off is a mystery.
The more I see it, the better Twigg's touch to Amond's second gets:cool:
Nah Nah Nah Nah
11/05/2009, 9:54 PM
God there was a couple of players from each team who had nearly ran past Parkhouse by the time he took the penalty!
the-blue-harp
11/05/2009, 9:59 PM
has to be GOALC gareth mcglynns volley for goal of the month!
11/05/2009, 11:29 PM
Go on Alex Kerr.
L.T.F.C.
12/05/2009, 1:14 AM
Roddy & Rico are the best pundits on MNS
now that is bullshˇt. roddy is not the best anything. maybe the best idiot.
Candystripe
12/05/2009, 4:57 AM
Waaaaaoo, you are joking me thinks.
Just because your a Dublin city fan doesn't mean you know feck all about football, or maybe............:rolleyes:
WoodquayBoy
12/05/2009, 7:57 AM
Thought Rico was spot on.
Is the reason Keegan stays on the pitch because he was some SERIOUS dirt on the officials, as his, ahem, 'tackles' in the last 2 games have been shocking.
Must have been the camera angle as I didn't see a whole lot wrong with Crowe's challenge, quite entitled to go for the ball. And if people are questioning why there was no red card for the incident, I presume ye are talking about the 'head lead' by Molloy (or could have been Deery) in the handbag waving that went on after it?
Nice touch by Twigg for Amond's second, great striker by Faz, the mroe I see of Pats, the more I think we got the better of the deal in the goalkeeper swap!
I love the way Rico thinks he knows everything!CLOWNHow long have you been about? Last shower?
Rico does know everything.
Also yet again Paul keegan with an awful tackle, 3 in 1 week and a yellow given, what does he have to do to get sent off for those awful tackles!And then such sense a mere two minutes later.
Keegan is an absolute disgrace to the game.
wonder88
12/05/2009, 8:58 AM
Galway certainly got the best deal in the keeper swap, how Pats agreed to it i don't understand. Ricco is right about the awfull football played by Doolins and Fenlons teams teams and the main reason their crowds are so poor despite being top of the table.
Galway certainly got the best deal in the keeper swap, how Pats agreed to it i don't understand..
Barry Ryan wasn't great last seaosn but I couldn't believe it when I saw they had replaced him with Rogers. Crazy.
Rocky77
12/05/2009, 10:04 AM
Ryan is from Clare and wanted to move home. His contract was up, I believe, so he did just that.
monzo
12/05/2009, 10:54 AM
And don't want to harp on about the lack of Division 1 coverage - Christ knows we're resigned to gething nothing from them at this stage - but to dismiss what is a top-of-the-table clash on Friday with the throwaway line 'UCD and the Youths playing at home' is nothing short of disgraceful.
I'm fairly glad there's no coverage of the FD on MNS (the PD is bad enough) but as for announcing the fixtures you should expect as much, the presenter doesn't seem to know anything about the FD. When reading the table as well you get the impression that he really doesn't want to do it.
GuisaSaigon
12/05/2009, 1:00 PM
Have to have a chuckle to myself every time I think of how we managed to swap Rogers for Ryan. Ryan has been outstanding for us. Rogers and Jay O'Shea were the only players contracted to Galway United after the end of last season. While there was interest in Jay, we thought we'd never get rid of Rogers.
12/05/2009, 1:25 PM
Ricco is right about the awfull football played by Doolins and Fenlons teams teams and the main reason their crowds are so poor despite being top of the table.
Did Rico criticise us on that basis? I thought he said it would be great if every team went at it like Derry and Bohs the other night. (I'd say it just slipped out).
Collins was the one who had a go at Bohs for unadventurous play -- the week we went on to beat Dundalk 5-0.
Demoshield
12/05/2009, 2:07 PM
Ryan is from Clare and wanted to move home. His contract was up, I believe, so he did just that.
On the other hand Rogers & O'Brien swapping clubs could have had absolutely nothing to do with the shenanigans surrounding a manager contracted to one club jumping ship to another club, so I am told.:D
WoodquayBoy
12/05/2009, 2:33 PM
On the other hand Rogers & O'Brien swapping clubs could have had absolutely nothing to do with the shenanigans surrounding a manager contracted to one club jumping ship to another club, so I am told.:D
The we REALLY got the dest deal - out goes a keeper who couldn't catch a cold, in comes one of the best in the league in the last decade, along with one of the best wide men we have ever had. Jeff takes the next step up in the ladder on the way to management glory . . . and leads Pats to what is it, seven defeats in eight games!!
gufc2000
12/05/2009, 4:11 PM
The we REALLY got the dest deal - out goes a keeper who couldn't catch a cold, in comes one of the best in the league in the last decade, along with one of the best wide men we have ever had. Jeff takes the next step up in the ladder on the way to management glory . . . and leads Pats to what is it, seven defeats in eight games!!
He can't take a kickout either, every time he kicks it, it hits someone in the stand or else goes out over the stand entirely.
As for Barry Ryan, great shot-stopper, decent kick and always roaring at the defence
brianw82
12/05/2009, 8:14 PM
It got fairly intense there between Rico and Disco Tony for a minute. Rico is, however, wrong to say that attendences are down because the football is not 'exciting' enough. He seems to be blaming poor attendences on this alone, when we know that there are a myriad of reasons why the attendences are poor. For example, I saw a super 4-3 match in Prague on Sunday, attended by a paltry 872 people. This would've been game-of-the-season material here, but it was just another game there. Exciting, techinically-competent football is not enough. The EPL and Celtic are the big name brands. The LOI is supermarket own-label. Changing this mentality will be the start of increasing crowds.
Faz's goal was a cracker, though. Brilliant strike.
the-blue-harp
13/05/2009, 5:53 PM
It got fairly intense there between Rico and Disco Tony for a minute. Rico is, however, wrong to say that attendences are down because the football is not 'exciting' enough. He seems to be blaming poor attendences on this alone, when we know that there are a myriad of reasons why the attendences are poor. For example, I saw a super 4-3 match in Prague on Sunday, attended by a paltry 872 people. This would've been game-of-the-season material here, but it was just another game there. Exciting, techinically-competent football is not enough. The EPL and Celtic are the big name brands. The LOI is supermarket own-label. Changing this mentality will be the start of increasing crowds.
Faz's goal was a cracker, though. Brilliant strike.
i agree with that, its all about marketing.