View Full Version : Worst Referee and Why?

blue til i die
11/05/2009, 2:02 PM
I know there's a lot of threads about referee's but...

Who is the worst current LOI referee and what decision has made you wonder what they were thinking?

Saturday night we had that Sean Grant dope.

With the ball still in play by the corner flag, Kenny Browne kicked it out for a throw,he did give it a good kick. so the ref booked him for time wasting :rolleyes:

11/05/2009, 2:05 PM
Dave McKeown, Richie Winter, Alan Kelly and Ian Stokes. Because they ruin every game they officiate and never let the game flow.:mad:

blue til i die
11/05/2009, 2:09 PM
Dave McKeown, Richie Winter, Alan Kelly and Ian Stokes. Because they ruin every game they officiate and never let the game flow.:mad:

any specific incidents?

11/05/2009, 2:15 PM
any specific incidents?

Hmm.... well...

In our recent game V Galway in Terryland, Kelly never let a 50/50 tackle pass and blew a for a foul almost every time.

McKeown is just incompetent, he booked Mauro last year in one of our games at the Showgies, when it was Ventre who made the foul.

Ive neverforgiven Stokes for our FAI Cup exit V Galway in 03' (maybe 04'). He was that bad that night even an aul fella ran from the shed towards him in the middle of the game!

Winters is just an idiot who loves his yellow card. Never lets advantage play and is slow to keep up with the game.

11/05/2009, 3:15 PM
Paul Deering was atrocious for us in the First Division.

11/05/2009, 3:22 PM
2 words. Alan Kelly.

Worst ref I've ever seen.

gufc2000
11/05/2009, 3:22 PM
Anthony Buttimer, has to be the worst LOI referee, can't ever seem to get anything right

11/05/2009, 3:28 PM
Anthony Buttimer, has to be the worst LOI referee, can't ever seem to get anything right

What a disgrace he is. Wouldn't call him a ref tbh, more like a joke.

headtheball
11/05/2009, 3:28 PM

Couldn't have put it better myself. Complete joke he is.

Flexy
11/05/2009, 3:35 PM
Couldn't have put it better myself. Complete joke he is.
The whole lot of them, plus their assistants

gufc2000
11/05/2009, 3:38 PM
The whole lot of them, plus their assistants
Don't get me started on those lads.

I don't know how so many of the officials we have now got a licence, the condition must have been to collect tokens on the back of a corn flakes box, ''Collect 100 tokens to become a LOI referee''

WoodquayBoy
11/05/2009, 3:38 PM
Anthony Buttimer. Why do I say he is the worst referee? Simply because he is simply the worst referee.

L.T.F.C.
11/05/2009, 3:42 PM
Hey guys, can you all post specific incidents please? If it works, and all goes well, i will reveal all!

Mwah hahahahah! ahem!

11/05/2009, 3:44 PM
Hey guys, can you all post specific incidents please? If it works, and all goes well, i will reveal all!

Mwah hahahahah! ahem!

I'm guessing your going to e-mail the FAI???

seand
11/05/2009, 3:56 PM
Buttimer and Kelly and to a lesser extent Hancock suffer from the Collina-effect. They like to think they are the star of the show. Buttimer's self importance is particularly grating. Take of the various example of him delaying matches due to perceived colour clashes because both goalkeepers are wearing black y-fronts.

blue til i die
11/05/2009, 3:57 PM
i still cant get over how he booked our player for kicking the ball out for a throw!

11/05/2009, 4:00 PM
Tom Connolly for his Mick Devine/Dessie Baker no penalty incident last season. Incredible.

Drogman.
11/05/2009, 4:04 PM
Buttimer is doing his best to outclass the all time great that was Jim O'Neill, I'd say that man was the cause of more family break ups that anything else during his time as referee!

McKeown had a beauty one year when we were playing Bohs at Utd Park and Oman(I think it was) fouled one of our strikers about 1 1/2 metres outside the box as they were running towards goal and gave a penalty, no questions!

Then there was the infamous goal that never was in Dalymount when Fabio's effort was about a yard away from the line and the linesman flagged for a goal,haha!

L.T.F.C.
11/05/2009, 4:04 PM
I'm guessing your going to e-mail the FAI???

no sir!

Troubadour
11/05/2009, 4:26 PM
Damien Hancock for me. The man is atrociously bad. Honourable mention for Alan Kelly. Hancock for a game down in Bray a couple of years ago when Rovers where going well and he sent off two of our players including our keeper and Kelly for....well he's Alan Kelly.

dublinred
11/05/2009, 4:32 PM
Buttimer simply for the shirts fiasco in St Pats last year what did we do for the previous 80 years we have being going there without him.

I thought the ref in the showgrounds on sat was very good by LOI standards, small guy with black hair let the game flow and wasn't centre of attention.

Aaron
11/05/2009, 4:39 PM
Buttimer, Stokes, Hancock and McKeown are the worst. We get Terence Moyne as assistant mostly and he is shocking. There was an incident last Friday night when he didnt know who to give the throw into so he just stuck his flag up in he air:confused:

11/05/2009, 4:43 PM
I thought the ref in the showgrounds on sat was very good by LOI standards, small guy with black hair let the game flow and wasn't centre of attention.

Neil Doyle;)

Mr Maroon
11/05/2009, 4:45 PM
They're all incompetent but Anthony Buttimer is the worst of a bad lot. The linesmen are a joke altogether but I don't know any of their names.

Mr Maroon
11/05/2009, 4:46 PM
Any of the GUFC fans know who the bald, overweight fella that's usually assistant on the Old Stand side is?

seand
11/05/2009, 4:50 PM
Neil Doyle;)

Splutter! Praise for Neil Doyle?!?! :eek:

Ezeikial
11/05/2009, 5:07 PM
When you have to consider Hancock, Stokes, Buttimer and McKeown (among others) for this coveted award its a really hard call.

On current form my vote goes to Buttimer. In the recent Bohs-Dundalk game, that he failed to recognise either of Paul Keegans x-rated challenges (two-footed challenge on Michael Daly and his earlier knee high lunge on Chris Turner) as even worthy of a free kick is staggering!

Aaron
11/05/2009, 5:21 PM
When you have to consider Hancock, Stokes, Buttimer and McKeown (among others) for this coveted award its a really hard call.

On current form my vote goes to Buttimer. In the recent Bohs-Dundalk game, that he failed to recognise either of Paul Keegans x-rated challenges (two-footed challenge on Michael Daly and his earlier knee high lunge on Chris Turner) as even worthy of a free kick is staggering!

Add in the cup final to his shambolic displays

L.T.F.C.
11/05/2009, 5:45 PM
Brendan Kelly.
What a useless referee. Failed to spot the miraculous save by Athlone Town... defender. cannot comprehend the idea of advantage.
Neil Callanan Pathetic.

Black and White
11/05/2009, 5:49 PM
McKeown cause he favours all Dublin clubs and Buttimer cause he cant officiate, take for instance our game against Bohs, Paul keegans 2 dangerous lunges on Turner and Daly, not even a free for either!

11/05/2009, 6:02 PM
McKeown cause he favours all Dublin clubs and Buttimer cause he cant officiate, take for instance our game against Bohs, Paul keegans 2 dangerous lungs on Turner and Daly, not even a free for either!

I read he made another tackle above the knee on a Derry and only got a yellow...:rolleyes:

sonofstan
11/05/2009, 6:11 PM
Paul keegans 2 dangerous lungs on Turner and Daly, not even a free for either!

What? he shouted at them?

A N Mouse
11/05/2009, 6:15 PM
Was it McKeown last friday at the brandy?

How bohs finished the game with 11 men is beyond me.

Oh wait, was it Mckeown reffing at the brandy on friday night?

Black and White
11/05/2009, 6:31 PM
What? he shouted at them?

Obviosuly a typo error numbnuts!

11/05/2009, 6:47 PM
Paul Tuite.

Rovers v Derry in Santry.

Two balls on the pitch. One ball hit the other, took a deflection and went in. Goal given................

Youths4Ever
11/05/2009, 10:05 PM
Simply answer = No LOI referee is up to a high enough standard required

L.T.F.C.
11/05/2009, 10:32 PM
i asked an official guy at a town match about what they are doing to improve refs. he went on to say that they are doing this program to improve refs, started years ago.
i asked him why no improvement?
He had no answer.

11/05/2009, 10:37 PM
Brendan Kelly.

big time. crap linesman promoted to ref :rolleyes: (last year he flagged Leo the lion twice) last friday he dicided that the game was going to be a draw so when the keeper for harps dropped the ball into his net in the last five mins, he just blew his whistle and gave a free out for........????? knowone knows! he leads a vary bad and shocking selection of officails in the graveyard that is the first division

11/05/2009, 11:14 PM

exactly, there isnt even one ref to set a benchmark.

Hulsey
12/05/2009, 12:36 AM
The refs are bad but the linemen are so much worse. Mark Douglas (the poncy looking git who we always seem to have the pleasure of having infront of us at the Carlisle) is a particularly pathetic waste of oxygen

L.T.F.C.
12/05/2009, 12:56 AM
whos the bjore that does be on the line?
a pathetic attempt for equality by the FAI. On equality she has with the male refs, is that she is equally crap.

12/05/2009, 1:13 AM
Buttimer. Buttimer. Buttimer.

Candystripe
12/05/2009, 5:18 AM
Buttimer. Buttimer. Buttimer.

Topic closed!!!!!!!!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bFQSD8KB8tQ&feature=related

12/05/2009, 7:37 AM
Paul Deering was atrocious for us in the First Division.

Snap :mad:

12/05/2009, 8:24 AM
whos the bjore that does be on the line?
a pathetic attempt for equality by the FAI. On equality she has with the male refs, is that she is equally crap.

Rhona Daly, you know your fate when she is doing the line.

L.T.F.C.
12/05/2009, 10:11 AM
Rhona Daly, you know your fate when she is doing the line.

what a waste of space on the line. useless on every single front on the line. it would be fairer if the attacker called himself offside.

12/05/2009, 10:14 AM
what a waste of space on the line. useless on every single front on the line. it would be fairer if the attacker called himself offside.

Hilda isnt much better

Black and White
12/05/2009, 12:44 PM
Hilda isnt much better

Ah hey would you stop, anytime that yoke comes to Oriel she gets abused from all corners and when that happens the referees turn on our team and award everyting to the opposition. Pure joke

GuisaSaigon
12/05/2009, 12:47 PM
Buttimer, closely followed by Mark Gough, closely followed by the rest of them!
Buttimer has been ridiculously inept every time I've seen him. Gough gets big decisions wrong all the time. I could trawl through youtube videos and point out countless examples of crap refereeing from these two but that would take too much effort.

L37Ultra
12/05/2009, 1:27 PM
Either Mark Gough or Gramene Kelly. I never look forward to Limerick games when any of them are over the game.

Joke that Gough refs our games as he is based in Limerick.