View Full Version : Chadwicks Cup 2009
hardcore
14/07/2009, 12:45 AM
Quarter Finals------------Thursday 30th July @ 7.00pm
Manulla v Castlebar Celtic
Ballyheane v Swinford
Westport Utd. v Moy Villa
Achill Rovers v Charlestown Athletic
are the semi final pair-ups known already, or is it a draw after these are played?:ball:
achillrover
30/07/2009, 12:21 PM
*bump*
swinfordfc
30/07/2009, 10:15 PM
Swinford through after pens - great game by 2 good sides - match finished 2-2 aet
30/07/2009, 10:48 PM
Heard Moy Villa beat Westport 3-2 and Charlestown beat Achill 3-1. So plenty of shocks this evening.
Edit: Just checked Aertel and Manulla beat Celtic 3-2.
murphs jewels
30/07/2009, 11:39 PM
Achill Rovers 1 - 3 Charlestown Athletic
Tough but fair game played with a high tempo through out. Cannot fault any referee decisions and thought he had a fair game but i cannot understand 2 things..... Where were the ofically appointed lines men????? and why would the MAFL play such an important game on a thursday evening at 7-00pm. We had to leave Charlestown at 4-30 to make the fixture and therefore had only a skeleton squad. Do they belittle this competition to put such an important game on at a time when a club cannot bring a full squad or that they dont insist on linesmen turning up????? and to be fair we had 2-3 off side decisions wrongly given against us and fair play to the Achill official, he actually said as much and therefore unlucky not to have scored more and had 1 ruled out for off side. That said great preformance from our lads and hopefully we can push on from here. Best of luck to Achill for the rest of the season and complements on having the pitch look so well.
Great result for Moy Villa. Couldnt believe it when i saw it. There must be serious problems at Westport at the moment, but in saying that anyone can beat anyteam on any given day. Moy Villa probably wanted it more and got what they deserved.
Manulla wont fancy taken on any of the lower league teams but should be favourites to lift the cup at this stage. If i was to pick a winner now id go for Swinford.
Are the semis still a double header in Milebush???
achillrover
31/07/2009, 8:04 PM
Achill Rovers 1 - 3 Charlestown Athletic
Tough but fair game played with a high tempo through out. Cannot fault any referee decisions and thought he had a fair game but i cannot understand 2 things..... Where were the ofically appointed lines men????? and why would the MAFL play such an important game on a thursday evening at 7-00pm. We had to leave Charlestown at 4-30 to make the fixture and therefore had only a skeleton squad. Do they belittle this competition to put such an important game on at a time when a club cannot bring a full squad or that they dont insist on linesmen turning up????? and to be fair we had 2-3 off side decisions wrongly given against us and fair play to the Achill official, he actually said as much and therefore unlucky not to have scored more and had 1 ruled out for off side. That said great preformance from our lads and hopefully we can push on from here. Best of luck to Achill for the rest of the season and complements on having the pitch look so well.
credit where its due ye did very well to turn us over. Although we did miss 2 clearcut sitters, 2 1 on 1s and 1 or 2 smart saves from yere keeper.
if we scored the first goal im sure it would have ended with a different result:( Regardless, the penalty was stupidly given away because the attacker had knocked the ball too far to make it but it was taken sweetly! 2nd goal just before half time was a sucker punch, long ball over the top on the counter.
When we got our goal (and it was coming) i felt it was deffo there for us but ye totally winded us scoring quite literally straight away after. Sickened. In the end there was pressure pressure pressure by us but couldnt break ye down! ye played awful deep and plenty boys behind the ball! great pace on the break tho!
makes it worse goin over it today is the teams left in the competition and that ye genuinely have a sweet chance of some silverware!
enjoy yere run in milebush! beshta luck to yiz!
ye never give us a handy game do ye!!
edit: were you playin murphs?
murphs jewels
31/07/2009, 8:14 PM
credit where its due ye did very well to turn us over. Although we did miss 2 clearcut sitters, 2 1 on 1s and 1 or 2 smart saves from yere keeper.
if we scored the first goal im sure it would have ended with a different result:( Regardless, the penalty was stupidly given away because the attacker had knocked the ball too far to make it but it was taken sweetly! 2nd goal just before half time was a sucker punch, long ball over the top on the counter.
When we got our goal (and it was coming) i felt it was deffo there for us but ye totally winded us scoring quite literally straight away after. Sickened. In the end there was pressure pressure pressure by us but couldnt break ye down! ye played awful deep and plenty boys behind the ball! great pace on the break tho!
makes it worse goin over it today is the teams left in the competition and that ye genuinely have a sweet chance of some silverware!
enjoy yere run in milebush! beshta luck to yiz!
ye never give us a handy game do ye!!
edit: were you playin murphs?
Cheers for the good wishes. Ye have some lovely players and ill be shocked if ye dont go up this year. As was said earlier in this thread there is always tough games between the two sides and I think we just edged it in the end. We were down to bare bones but we got everything out of every player and defended very well. 4 players playing their 1st game of the season our regular keeper playing in midfield and a forward (who came on) back from oz last friday. Great result considerin .... Oh ya I was the last sub ..... just a class act :D
achillrover
31/07/2009, 8:17 PM
vintage stuff! ha, eh i can only think of one our lads who could hold his head high after last night. nobody was at it at all
serious squad strength at ye if that was the bones with 4 new lads coming in that ably
murphs jewels
31/07/2009, 8:37 PM
vintage stuff! ha, eh i can only think of one our lads who could hold his head high after last night. nobody was at it at all
serious squad strength at ye if that was the bones with 4 new lads coming in that ably
Stand in Keeper 1st game, 2 centeral midfielders 1st game (except Keeper who had to play out field 6 games in goal), Sub forward 1st game (From oz who scored 3rd) Young lad came on with 15 mins to go 1st game and moi 1st 5 mins ( and last) this season :D. What did you make of lack of linesmen?? do you honestly think that ref got all our off side decisions correct??
murphs jewels
05/08/2009, 8:54 AM
Chadwicks Cup semi-final draw
Double header at Milebush on sunday 13th September
Charlestown Athletic V Manulla K.o 1-30 pm
Moy Villa V Swinford K.o 4-00 pm
FahyForever
05/08/2009, 9:39 AM
Manulla Swinford final written all over it. Anyone fancy an upset? Apart from the ever-confident Murph obviously. Relying on your own squad for that one or what? ;)
murphs jewels
05/08/2009, 9:47 AM
Looking forward to playing one of the "Big boys" in Milebush and anything can happen in a once off game. All division 2 final wouldnt say alot for mayo football ..... or would it. Still its a possibility. All the pressure will be on Swinford and Manulla
achillrover
05/08/2009, 1:20 PM
only last season we beat manulla 3-0 on their own patch.....
charlestown are well fit for them
hardcore
05/08/2009, 7:00 PM
Manulla Swinford final written all over it. Anyone fancy an upset? Apart from the ever-confident Murph obviously. Relying on your own squad for that one or what? ;)
Would fancy manulla now. was talking to one of the celtic guys (in a drunken state i might add!) and he was not at all happy with the referreing decisions in the q-final to say the least! he reckoned the best ref in mayo didnt want extra time and gave a very dubious peno! And told the players as much! Sore loser or justified? anyone at it?:ball: