View Full Version : Doyle to miss Bulgaria match

10/05/2009, 7:24 PM
http://www.readingfc.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10306~1653649,00.html

Colbert Report
10/05/2009, 7:39 PM
This might actually help us. Both Keane and Doyle are far too good to be dropped from our team, but if Doyle is out, now Trapattoni will have every right to play 4-5-1 and sit ten men behind the ball.

Given
McShane-O'Shea-Dunne-Kilbane
--------------Whelan----------
McGeady-Andrews-Gibson-Duff
--------------Keane-----------

I wouldn't mind seeing Carsley drafted in to play the holding role. He'd have less ground to cover and we don't really have anyone who can tackle like him.

I would settle right now for a scoreless draw, it would put big pressure on Bulgaria to have a right go the Italians away on September 9th. They could wind up losing if they commit men forward and that would be good news for us.

10/05/2009, 9:28 PM
I think Folan did enough last time out to justify replacing Doyle, like-for-like.

I suspect Noel Hunt would be Trap's next preference and I'll be interested to see if Trap was impressed enough by Robbie dropping deeper to deploy him in that role next time out.

Those three were on the pitch when we finally undid the Italian defence.

peadar1987
10/05/2009, 10:28 PM
Keane's too small to play as a lone striker. And Whelan is not a defensive midfielder. I think Hunt would be better up top for us

bwagner
11/05/2009, 8:15 AM
Noel Hunt is also injured guys.

Junior
11/05/2009, 10:57 AM
I would definitely give Caleb a shot. In the few games he has played for us he has created opportunities, hes strong, makes a nuisance of himself, wins plenty oin the air - I've been pleasantly surprised - Not sure how much playing time he is getting with Hull though and whether he could do it for 90 minutes?

11/05/2009, 11:13 AM
Folan could fill in no problem. If we leave Robbie up top on his own we're gonna struggle.

11/05/2009, 11:56 AM
Hopefully it's just a 2 week repair job for Doyle.
http://www.readingfc.co.uk/javaImages/2c/9a/0,,10306~5872172,00.jpg

Looks certain that Noel Hunt is out
http://www.readingfc.co.uk/javaImages/b6/6d/0,,10306~5860790,00.jpg

Umberside
11/05/2009, 11:56 AM
Not sure how much playing time he is getting with Hull though

He got sent off against Liverpool and is suspended for three games. He would be back for the last game against Man Utd but unlikely he would start. Up until playing Liverpool I think he was a regular starter.

11/05/2009, 12:12 PM
He got sent off against Liverpool and is suspended for three games. He would be back for the last game against Man Utd but unlikely he would start. Up until playing Liverpool I think he was a regular starter.

He has been more of an impact sub this season. I think Brown had started to give him a bit more game time in the run up to the Liverpool game but he blew his chance after that silly incident with Skyrtel. Tets website hopefully backs me up. I often scan the guardian Monday morning paper in the hope that they start with him but they rarely do.

11/05/2009, 12:15 PM
He got sent off against Liverpool and is suspended for three games. He would be back for the last game against Man Utd but unlikely he would start. Up until playing Liverpool I think he was a regular starter.Had been getting a run of games as a sub up until that. The liverpool game was his first start since February, and first start in the league since August!

He has been more of an impact sub this season. I think Brown had started to give him a bit more game time in the run up to the Liverpool game but he blew his chance after that silly incident with Skyrtel. Tets website hopefully backs me up. I often scan the guardian Monday morning paper in the hope that they start with him but they rarely do.
Yep, see for yourself: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=28492&seasonID=138

Buller
11/05/2009, 12:33 PM
Folan could fill in no problem. If we leave Robbie up top on his own we're gonna struggle.

Agreed. 4-5-1 is just asking for trouble, inviting Bulgaria on. We need to go on the offensive like we did against Italy when we went 1-0 down. Of course this is not how Trapp will play...

Folan impressed me against Italy. Looked very skillful and composed on the ball and is an obvious aerial threat. He setup Robbie nicely with that header on over the top and I think they'd work well together.

11/05/2009, 12:50 PM
Reckon Trap might give Keogh a go. He has rarely had a chance to play in his natural position and has finished off the season well.

11/05/2009, 12:56 PM
The Nigeria friendly is well timed methinks.

Wolfie
11/05/2009, 1:03 PM
The Nigeria friendly is well timed methinks.

Indeed. I was just in the process of posting that Folan should be paired with Keane against Nigeria.

If he can reproduce what he delivered against Italy in the Nigeria game - I'd start him against Bulgaria.

11/05/2009, 1:13 PM
Yeah I get the impression that Folan will be one of those players that will not really make it at the top level in England as he will not score enough goals week in week out but he will be worth a place in our squad every time. International football is not an exact science

irishultra
11/05/2009, 1:19 PM
Yeah Folan without a doubt for me.

as_i_say
11/05/2009, 1:20 PM
Indeed we've always relied on lads who didnt get their game for their clubs. Wouldnt mind see keogh up with keane though-Trap seems to like him enough to play him in a position that he is totally uncomfortable with (midfield) and has played like a pudding there, so would be good to see what he can do up front with Robbie.

See Robbie's missus in the paper today-Schwiiiiing.

Razors left peg
11/05/2009, 1:33 PM
no doubt in my mind that Folan will come in as like for like if Doyle doesnt make it

boovidge
11/05/2009, 8:11 PM
Yeah Folan should be able to do a job. Make a nuisance of himself as someone said and hopefully knock a few balls down for Keane to latch onto.

12/05/2009, 12:10 AM
Doyle ruled out out the Bulgaria game: http://soccerrepublic.eircom.net/News/doyleruledoutofbulgariaclash.aspx

Kevin Doyle has been ruled out of the Republic of Ireland's crucial World Cup Group 8 qualifier against Bulgaria in Sofia next month, after being told he faces between four and six weeks on the sidelines

Colbert Report
12/05/2009, 12:42 AM
If anyone on here thinks that Caleb Folan is going to start this match, you're just plain mad.

Trapattoni will play a 4-5-1, no doubt in my mind. All we'll be looking for is a point.

12/05/2009, 2:13 AM
If anyone on here thinks that Caleb Folan is going to start this match, you're just plain mad.

Trapattoni will play a 4-5-1, no doubt in my mind. All we'll be looking for is a point.

He might go 4-4-2 and drop Keane into the midfield with Caleb up front.
Will have to wait and see I suppose, but it seemed to work well with Keane
picking up knock ons from Caleb.

lionelhutz
12/05/2009, 10:29 AM
This might actually help us. Both Keane and Doyle are far too good to be dropped from our team, but if Doyle is out, now Trapattoni will have every right to play 4-5-1 and sit ten men behind the ball.

Given
McShane-O'Shea-Dunne-Kilbane
--------------Whelan----------
McGeady-Andrews-Gibson-Duff
--------------Keane-----------

Please God don't let this be the team. Have you not learned from our numerous heroic away defeats in the past. 5 in midfield and inviting the opposition to attack us is not the way to go. And I think Trap knows that.

If the above was the starting line up we'd never be able to hold onto the ball. There's no doubt we're going to be under pressure at times and our defenders/midfielders will need an out ball - Keane is not an out ball. Doyle is an excellent out ball - he'd take the ball in, hold onto possession and either win a free or lay the ball off. If Doyle isn't fit, Folan will have to play.

12/05/2009, 1:33 PM
Just wondering when we have played 5 away from home last. I know we played it against Romania in 1997.

Razors left peg
12/05/2009, 2:31 PM
Im hoping that Trap will have learned from the Italian game and will allow the players to have a proper go at what is a very ordinary Bulgaria side

Supreme feet
12/05/2009, 3:53 PM
Just wondering when we have played 5 away from home last. I know we played it against Romania in 1997.

It was away to Croatia, September 1999, as far as I remember. Midfield of Gary Kelly, McLoughlin, Carsley, Kinsella and Duff, with Cascarino up front on his own. We lost 1-0. :( We did play 5 in midfield at home to the Czechs at Lansdowne and Slovakia at Croker in 2006/7.

13/05/2009, 8:23 AM
Im hoping that Trap will have learned from the Italian game and will allow the players to have a proper go at what is a very ordinary Bulgaria side

I wouldnt get your hopes up, I think it was necessary against the Italians because Trap knew that once they had the lead all they were going to do was sit back. If Italy had not scored, even against ten men, i dont think Trap would have changed things so much and so quickly either.

It was away to Croatia, September 1999, as far as I remember. Midfield of Gary Kelly, McLoughlin, Carsley, Kinsella and Duff, with Cascarino up front on his own. We lost 1-0. :( We did play 5 in midfield at home to the Czechs at Lansdowne and Slovakia at Croker in 2006/7.

Croatia was the first game that came to mind as well. Man that was a horrible few days, in both games we were mins away from automatic qualification.

13/05/2009, 1:42 PM
Reading manager Steve Coppell attributes Kevin Doyle's significant dip in form to his international exploits with Ireland.

“This is the conflict with international football,” Coppell said “I know how much playing for your country means to players, especially for the Irish boys here at Reading.

“Ireland had some important games and he wanted to play even though he wasn’t fully fit. I couldn’t stop him but it meant he came back to us worse off and we have suffered because of it.

“Saying that, he has got to play for his country. I would never tell anyone not to because it is an honour.

“But after all that has happened, we do feel that we are owed. It is time for him and all the senior players to deliver.”

Doyle played for the first half in today's 1-0 away defeat to Burnley in the Championship semi-final play-off game today.

And Doyle branded himself “stupid” for playing through the pain barrier and now admits a brief rest when the injury first arose would have cured the problem.

“My knee feels so much better now than it has for the last 10 weeks or so,” he said. “It started a few weeks before I last joined up with Ireland towards the end of March and it’s been at me ever since.

“If I had stopped playing then it probably would have been right in no time. But I would have missed Ireland’s games against Italy and Bulgaria which were big World Cup qualifiers, as well as some big ones with Reading.

“But I kept taking painkillers and anti-inflammatories and made it worse. That’s why it’s taken longer to clear up than it should have.”

And he admitted: “It wasn’t anyone’s fault but mine. I just didn’t have a chance to rest it. Looking back now I was stupid. Had I missed one or two games at the time I would have been fine.

“No-one knows I’ve been playing with a sore knee either so I haven’t been doing myself justice. It was stupid of me. At 25 I really should know better and hopefully next time I will.”

13/05/2009, 4:24 PM
Yep it really is stupid takiing pain killers to play, the pain is so painful because it is there to prevent you doing someothing stupid - like playing.
I broke my ankle recently and I didn't take painkillers because I know it means you don't know when you are doing damage to it and secondly that damage means it will take longer to heal, so I would be stuck in a cast for longer.
Finally the injury might never heal and you might end up crippled for life.

Wexford Delboy
14/05/2009, 12:58 AM
no one think he will play mcgaedy supporting keane,i think he mentioned mcgaedy would be good in the centre before?

irishfan86
14/05/2009, 2:33 AM
no one think he will play mcgaedy supporting keane,i think he mentioned mcgaedy would be good in the centre before?

Keane won't play alone up front under Trap (thank God).

Trap has compared him to Totti, and I don't think he would ever play Totti up front either.

Colbert Report
14/05/2009, 5:34 AM
I'd love to see McGeady in the No. 10 role in behind the lone striker, he makes great forward runs with the ball, very hard to take the ball off him without fouling if he can get speed.

Hunt and Duff on the wings, although apparently Hunt's form has dipped significantly of late.

14/05/2009, 9:01 AM
“If I had stopped playing then it probably would have been right in no time. But I would have missed Ireland’s games against Italy and Bulgaria which were big World Cup qualifiers, as well as some big ones with Reading.

this is the sort of dedication that we should come to expect from our internationals, legend!!! SI take note. Sad to see Steve Coppell go as well, he has always spoke well of the Irish players and given them a fair chance.

14/05/2009, 9:10 AM
this is the sort of dedication that we should come to expect from our internationals, legend!!! SI take note. Sad to see Steve Coppell go as well, he has always spoke well of the Irish players and given them a fair chance.

Thats why I posted it, btw Neil knows my thinking on this one.....

14/05/2009, 11:09 AM
Whats this got to do with me Paul. Fair play Kevin Doyle. A great guy and great player for Ireland so far.

14/05/2009, 11:26 AM
Whats this got to do with me Paul. Fair play Kevin Doyle. A great guy and great player for Ireland so far.

Nothing, you didnt get what I was alluding too obviously.

He is a good honest country lad, fed on GAA :D Don't come back with the Richard Dunne or RK one, Tallaght is practically wicklow at this stage :D

14/05/2009, 11:31 AM
Andy Reid, who said he would swim the Irish Sea to play for Ireland. Think he is from Drimnagh. How close to the city centre do you want.

14/05/2009, 11:34 AM
Andy Reid, who said he would swim the Irish Sea to play for Ireland. Think he is from Drimnagh. How close to the city centre do you want.

Exceptions to every rule. Lets be honest here though I doubt he would get further than Bull Island, if even that far :)

14/05/2009, 11:38 AM
Thats not bad considering as he would be swimming from England.

republicofwhite
14/05/2009, 12:33 PM
Brilliant.

14/05/2009, 1:37 PM
Thats not bad considering as he would be swimming from England.quality

14/05/2009, 3:11 PM
Thats not bad considering as he would be swimming from England.

He is from Drimnagh :confused:

14/05/2009, 4:01 PM
If he was in Drimnagh why would he need to swim the Irish Sea to play for Ireland? He could just get the bus. Unless of course we were playing in England, but that's rare.

14/05/2009, 5:48 PM
If he was in Drimnagh why would he need to swim the Irish Sea to play for Ireland? He could just get the bus. Unless of course we were playing in England, but that's rare.

As a point to prove how much he wanted to play for ireland.

The point is he wouldn't actually swim the Irish Sea.

14/05/2009, 8:08 PM
I don't know about that.
Don't underestimate the buoyancy factor.

http://rlv.zcache.com/whim_to_swim_cartoon_custom_stamps_postage-p172413405264354187anr4n_400.jpg

14/05/2009, 8:13 PM
Not to mention the insulation against the cold.

Whatever happened that mad dude from Waterford, Jim Swift?

14/05/2009, 8:26 PM
Would it not casue a dramatic rise in sea-levels?

Sicuani
14/05/2009, 8:32 PM
Not to mention the insulation against the cold.

Whatever happened that mad dude from Waterford, Jim Swift?

Being a Swift i would say that he flew...or maybe not.... http://www.irishferries.com/flash/ships/replacement/dublin-swift.jpg

14/05/2009, 8:48 PM
Poor old paul