View Full Version : Aran Islands

04/05/2009, 5:36 PM
Went out to Inish Mor yesterday for the first time. Brilliant weather and a great day out but while the place remains pretty authentic the rip-off culture is very much in evidence.

From a fiver to park at the ferry (which at €25 was pretty steep) to guys wanting €50 for a horse and cart trip, to dear prices in the shop, to bikes for rent that were in poor condition (and ALL the available helmets were fecked) to €4 for a bowl of chips, to €7.50 per person to camp in a bumpy field covered in cow crap where the toilets had no bog roll, it all left a bit of a bad taste- every opportunity taken to provide half arsed service and skelp the tourist.

04/05/2009, 5:46 PM
Sure, aren't all prices "coming down" :rolleyes:

Last year, it would only have set you back €7 to camp out.

04/05/2009, 6:13 PM
I was there about 6 or 7 years ago and went into the pub in Cill Rσnαin expecting an uber Irish type of atmosphere. Instead I was greeted by the voice of Andy Gray and loads of young lads looking in a trance at Liverpool playing on the big screen. It kind of ruined it all for me to be honest..

05/05/2009, 8:24 AM
Been out to Inis Mσr three times and had a good time always ...that's not to take from the well founded complaints here mind.

Stayed in B&Bs the last time and they were great. There's also a hostel (name forgotten) about a mile and a half out of Kilronan that does excellent vegetarian meals. Very informal set up (BYOB if I recall) and great fun.

I'm sure I know the pub Holidaysong mentions and I must admit I was delighted to find they'd the Georgia-Ireland match on the box and there was a great atmosphere in there for it. I've been to some cracking music sessions in there too and even had a guitar passed to me at one!

05/05/2009, 3:49 PM
ye guys actually pay to camp!!!!!!!!!!!!!:eek: