View Full Version : EA Sports Cup vs Derry

gufc2000
04/05/2009, 11:29 AM
Are many Derry fans heading down? Hopefully ye will bring a few down because I'm not sure if there will be that big of a crowd here.

Weather is not that great, as usual.

KO is at the earlier time of 3pm

04/05/2009, 12:01 PM
Nope.

A lot of people have taken the humped after the decision last week to shift the game that they won't bother with this one.

Paddyfield
05/05/2009, 5:40 AM
One Nil to the minnows................

Patrick Dunne
05/05/2009, 7:51 AM
The trophy will be returning to Ireland this year.

corbyeire
05/05/2009, 11:09 AM
:D very bould!!!

MyTown
05/05/2009, 1:10 PM
Very happy with the way our lads played.

Fair play to the small set of Derry supporters who made the trip to see their reserve team. No doubting Kenny's competitive nature but the lads he put out gave the strong sense of not being too bothered themselves........bit like when Ireland used to win the Eurovision all the time.

05/05/2009, 3:11 PM

Gracious in victory.

I doubt you'll be seeing it.

SalvadorSanchez
05/05/2009, 6:15 PM

Partitionist!....

HarpoJoyce
06/05/2009, 1:00 PM
It appears from a draw made this morning and published on the loi.ie website at the time Galway and UCD are drawn together in the EA Sports Cup quarter-Final. I see you were graced with the ex-champion's presence already, good result. Because of that and Galway league form I don't know how the result will go. Obviously the line-up on the night will play a part, see how it goes anyway.

06/05/2009, 6:16 PM
cant see anything but a Galway win. We will have a full strength team out.

WoodquayBoy
07/05/2009, 11:28 AM
I wouldn't be so sure, Derry had a team of kids out and while we outplayed them, we only scored once and could have been caught with a late goal. UCD are top of the First Division, expecting a tough and decent game but not a comfortable win

07/05/2009, 11:34 AM
It appears from a draw made this morning and published on the loi.ie website at the time
Numerous people have already told you the draw wasn't published on the loi.ie website at the time.

I'd like to think we'll play a fuller-strength team than Tuesday; our first team need the experience against a Premier side more so than our reserves. We made ten changes from our league game to our League Cup game, and the one lad who stayed is only in the league side because of injuries. It'll be an interesting game, although I'll probably be stuck in work for it.

Any word on date/time confirmation?

MyTown
07/05/2009, 1:16 PM
Any word on date/time confirmation?

Aertel mentioned week ending May 17th.....would have thought May 19th. a more realistic possibility?

07/05/2009, 1:57 PM
It's either Monday 18th or Tuesday 19th per the original League Cup schedule; it's obvioulsy up to the clubs to agree after that. Presumably 7:45 will be the kick off.

gufc2000
07/05/2009, 3:26 PM
It's either Monday 18th or Tuesday 19th per the original League Cup schedule; it's obvioulsy up to the clubs to agree after that. Presumably 7:45 will be the kick off.
I'd say it will be the Monday night at 7.45

Mr Maroon
07/05/2009, 4:25 PM
Tuesday at 7:45 I presume. All our league cup games (other than the one on bank holiday Monday) have been on Tuesdays recently.

WoodquayBoy
08/05/2009, 2:33 PM
We are home to Bray and Friday before, and away to Sligo the game after, so would hazard a guess at the game being played on Tuesday. Which doesn't actually answer your question, so sorry about that!

09/05/2009, 10:20 AM
Confirmed for Monday 18, 7:45pm.

WoodquayBoy
11/05/2009, 10:55 PM
Ah, what would I know ;-0)

the_horse
12/05/2009, 2:11 PM
If Fitzgerald gets near that Galway team UCD will hammer them, he is all ego no end product!!!!