View Full Version : Latest 1/5
Lamper.sffc
02/05/2009, 1:12 PM
Yet we've dropped less points than you lads, funny that.
A little early to be happy about 1 point difference. And you have played a game less. No guarantees you would have come away with all the points at harps. Unless you bored them into submission
GalwayRed
02/05/2009, 1:17 PM
Fair enough point. But you have been playing that way when they have been in the team, from what iv read from shels fans anyway. I havent seen that sort of long ball tactics since the jack charlton era. stone age stuff.
It worked for him didnt it:D Fair enough we play the long ball tactic a bit but to say we dont use our midfield would be wrong. Our best player so far this season imo has been David McAllister sure and he plays centre mid. It might not look nice but its ground out results so you wont hear me complain.
The Lep
02/05/2009, 1:38 PM
In fairness Lamper, anyone who's surprised to see a Keely team play the long ball probably hasn't been following the game for very long.
Are shels just Dublin City in disguise ? :D Only thing missing is Rocky
CSFShels
02/05/2009, 1:49 PM
Are shels just Dublin City in disguise ? :D Only thing missing is Rocky
Yes a club who have been around 114 years are Dublin City in disguise who barely lasted 5. Sporting Fingal fans should be banned from having an opinion on anything to do with the league.
JC_GUFC
02/05/2009, 2:54 PM
0-0 at half time in Waterford v Mervue
adamd164
02/05/2009, 3:23 PM
2-0 to Waterford now.
Lamper.sffc
02/05/2009, 3:26 PM
Yes a club who have been around 114 years are Dublin City in disguise who barely lasted 5. Sporting Fingal fans should be banned from having an opinion on anything to do with the league.
You amuse me:p
It worked for him didnt it:D Fair enough we play the long ball tactic a bit but to say we dont use our midfield would be wrong. Our best player so far this season imo has been David McAllister sure and he plays centre mid. It might not look nice but its ground out results so you wont hear me complain.
Fair play. At least a shels fan who can take a bit of football banter.
02/05/2009, 6:45 PM
Teams for tonight:
Monaghan Utd:
Ronan MCGann, Paul Whelan, Shane Grimes, Brian Gartland, Alan Byrne, Don Tierney, Sean Brennan, Cathal O Connor, Darren McKenna, Karl Bermingham, Barry Clancy
Subs: Aiden Lynch, Steve McCrossan, David Freeman, Daragh Hanaphy, Aaron McCarey
Athlone Town:
Aaron Shanahan, Robbie Hamm, Brian Cleary, Thomas McCauley, Des Hope, Kieran O Reilly, Emeka Onwubiko, Damien Rushe, Robbie Benson, Noel McGee, Kevin Williamson
Subs: Stephen Place, Cathal Joyce, Kevin Dunne, David Tyrell, John McGuinness
02/05/2009, 7:03 PM
Athlone 1 - Monaghan 0
Goalscorer 9 Robbie Benson 2mins
JC_GUFC
02/05/2009, 7:04 PM
Kildare managed to go 30 minutes without conceding and then did...
1-0 Wexford.
dfclilywhite
02/05/2009, 7:05 PM
Teams for tonight:
Monaghan Utd:
Ronan MCGann, Paul Whelan, Shane Grimes, Brian Gartland, Alan Byrne, Don Tierney, Sean Brennan, Cathal O Connor, Darren McKenna, Karl Bermingham, Barry Clancy
Subs: Aiden Lynch, Steve McCrossan, David Freeman, Daragh Hanaphy, Aaron McCarey
Just wondering how is Shane getting on for you this season?
The Lep
02/05/2009, 7:19 PM
114 years? you would think that you would have a bit more fans then wouldnt you.
So you are saying that apart from the years shels have been around that you are dublin city in disguise? :D
Half the team and the manager are ex dublin city and you hoof the ball as well :D.
Banned for having an opinion? Yep, same old shels :D
02/05/2009, 7:40 PM
Monaghan Penalty
Athlone 1- Monaghan 1 Scorer 7 Sean Breannan
4. Thomas McCauley red card Due to deliberate handball
02/05/2009, 7:46 PM
Athlone 2 - Monaghan 1
Scorer 10 Noel McGee 45 min
02/05/2009, 8:17 PM
Athlone 2 - Monaghan 2
Own Goal by Athlone
LeixlipRed
02/05/2009, 8:22 PM
Yep, same old shels :D
:confused: How would you know?? Didn't you just crawl out of the woodwork in March 2008?
02/05/2009, 8:41 PM
14 David Freeman Sent off For Mons
02/05/2009, 8:42 PM
Athlone 2 - Mons - 3
Scorer 11 Barry Clancy!
passerrby
02/05/2009, 8:46 PM
bloody hell tell me its over julie
02/05/2009, 8:51 PM
FT Athlone -2 Mons - 3
02/05/2009, 8:57 PM
Shocking he has no faith in any of them to at least put them on the bench.In fairness, the A team are young fellas, it's a long way for them to go, for an over-nighter too. There is some A teamers who could have gone but didn't want to travel also, that's their problem, not Cook's.
Kuduzovic's header was unbelievable. Ball crossed in from the sideline and from the edge of the box curled the header past Brush. Fantastic goal.It hit off his head, he knew very little about it.
We also had a goal disallowed for a 'push'...nothing wrong with it. Overall, we deserved a point, Cork are poor enough considering the team we had out.
The Lep
02/05/2009, 9:03 PM
:confused: How would you know?? Didn't you just crawl out of the woodwork in March 2008?
I followed the League of Ireland before last year :D
Umberside
02/05/2009, 9:25 PM
We also had a goal disallowed for a 'push'...nothing wrong with it.
Don't remember it. What part of the match was it?
02/05/2009, 9:36 PM
Don't remember it. What part of the match was it?
second half, down St Annes end. Few lads were chatting to the players after the game, they all thought it was a free out.
It hit off his head, he knew very little about it.
I personally thought he leapt like a salmon and strategically placed it into the one part of the goal Dickie Brush could not reach, super goal.
We also had a goal disallowed for a 'push'...nothing wrong with it. Overall, we deserved a point, Cork are poor enough considering the team we had out.You probably had a better view of this than I did as, just like Fazs goal, it happened at the other end of the pitch.
gufc2000
02/05/2009, 10:41 PM
FT Athlone -2 Mons - 3
Looks like the Mons are starting to recover. Good result for them, cos Athlone have been doing ok this year
04/05/2009, 11:10 AM
It hit off his head, he knew very little about it.
Absolute rubbish and funny how you could make that judgement from the away section.
Watch it on MNS tonight, quality goal
04/05/2009, 11:25 AM
Absolute rubbish and funny how you could make that judgement from the away section.Player said it himself but you know better I suppose.
04/05/2009, 11:51 AM
Player said it himself but you know better I suppose.
Modesty is a great quality in a footballer :)
Gareth
04/05/2009, 2:30 PM
We are keeping up with all the League Cup games today here if people are interested. Early start. Three games underway.
http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/1781/
pól-dcfc
04/05/2009, 2:38 PM
1-0 Galway. We have a very young an inexperienced team out. Hopefully we get put out and can concentrate on the FAI Cup and league.
JC_GUFC
04/05/2009, 2:41 PM
Great stuff as always Gareth.
1-0 Galway - Dave Cooke with the goal.
1-1 Carlow v Waterford
Still scoreless in Pat's v Rovers
04/05/2009, 2:42 PM
Great stuff as always Gareth.
1-0 Galway - Dave Cooke with the goal.
1-1 Carlow v Waterford
Still scoreless in Pat's v Rovers
what price were galway before kick off JC?
04/05/2009, 2:43 PM
Shams 1 up.
EDIT: Amond with the goal.
Umberside
04/05/2009, 2:44 PM
Shams 1 up.
Who's at home?
DeNiro
04/05/2009, 2:48 PM
Does anyone know when the draw takes place for the next round of the League Cup?
Umberside
04/05/2009, 2:59 PM
SPA..
Oh right.
JC_GUFC
04/05/2009, 3:13 PM
what price were galway before kick off JC?
There was a big move due to team news - Galway went off at about 2.5 on betfair.
04/05/2009, 3:30 PM
Would be our first LC defeat since Monaghan United in 2004.
All over at Terryland
Did it finish 1-0
The Lilywhites
04/05/2009, 4:00 PM
Yes..
Jicked
04/05/2009, 4:51 PM
Very dull game of ball between Pats and Rovers, Pats dont have any go in them at all. Sean O'Connor looked to have a broken leg apparently after a two footed lunge on him, it took two minutes of Gary Twigg standing over him sreaming at the referee and both benches before the ref decided to stop the game.
WoodquayBoy
04/05/2009, 4:56 PM
Have Pats given Kenna the boot yet? Surely not too far away . . .
Jicked
04/05/2009, 4:58 PM
Well they played like they were merely playing out time under that regime, very very flat.
gufc2000
04/05/2009, 5:00 PM
Waterford 2-1 up in extra time against Carlow
rebelarmyexile
04/05/2009, 5:01 PM
SPA 0-1 Rovers FT
Enjoyable game for a neutral, was well worth heading along to. plus I got 2 free Footballs from Gay Mitchell MEP!!