View Full Version : Kildare County and manager part company

Dundalkjames
26/04/2009, 11:01 AM
Thomas Donnelly
Kildare County Football Club and senior team manager Thomas Donnelly have parted company following County’s latest heavy defeat in Monaghan last Friday night.

The club are currently interviewing candidates and hope to be in a position to name a new manager in the near future.

Conroy
26/04/2009, 11:39 AM
Noone going to touch this job. Club is going Nowhere but down IMO

Paddyfield
26/04/2009, 11:44 AM
Noone going to touch this job. Club is going Nowhere but down IMO

Tony Cousins would jump at the chance.

Philly
26/04/2009, 11:47 AM
Tony Cousins isn't exactly Mr Popular around here!

What we need is a fighter. A Roddy Collins who doesn't want much money.

LeixlipRed
26/04/2009, 11:55 AM
A Roddy Collins who doesn't want much money.

Not Roddy Collins then :cool:

I think this is a disgraceful decision. I know nothing about the chap but surely no one will do any better until the transfer window opens and you can get a few experienced heads in.

Dundalkjames
26/04/2009, 12:04 PM
This would be a great chance for john gill to get back into managment

Philly
26/04/2009, 12:11 PM
Not Roddy Collins then :cool:

I think this is a disgraceful decision. I know nothing about the chap but surely no one will do any better until the transfer window opens and you can get a few experienced heads in.

AFAIK he fail very badly at the targets he set for the opening part of the season, and match organisation/player management etc has been poor. Maybe it's the board acting quickly to save our asses (if possible) rather than acting rashly. The KCFC don't have a reputation for sacking people lightly anyway, as seen by their patience with John Ryan despite his unpopularity.

Gill would be interested but would want to be able to spend in the transfer window. I am not sure if we are in the position to spend as much as he would like.

Youths4Ever
26/04/2009, 12:17 PM
who will be in charge while the search for the new manager is ongoing?

Maynard
26/04/2009, 12:28 PM
Who will be willing to take the wheel of the Titanic?

Hopefully it will be an opportunity for a young manager with no previous LOI (managerial) experience, and not just another jaunt on the merry-go-round for some old, failed hack.

gufc2000
26/04/2009, 12:46 PM
John Gill won't want it I'd say. Perhaps someone like Pete Mahon?

barney
26/04/2009, 1:31 PM
Put the house on Gareth Cronin.

26/04/2009, 1:41 PM
Don O Riordan's your man!

Iorfa2MaccaJim
26/04/2009, 2:04 PM
Yeah it would be nice to see Gareth Cronin back in football.

LeixlipRed
26/04/2009, 3:08 PM
It would be. Cronin was always an ambitious manager. Waterford often came to Tolka under him and time wasted after 30 seconds of a game. I'm sure he can improve on that record with a far less talented squad. I'd expect a KC select under him to bolt themselves to the dressing room door 2 hours before kick off as to prevent the game ever being played and hence hanging on for a glorious 3-0 walkover.

26/04/2009, 5:12 PM
What is it with us that so many managers resign after we beat them? Doesnt reflect well on us that they think we are so bad they have to resign or get fired.

da bishop
26/04/2009, 6:18 PM
sure after that win cookie will get another 5 years on his contract.kildare need a young hungry manager who will be more professional and get the team fit and organised.

26/04/2009, 6:28 PM
This would be a great chance for john gill to get back into managment

wasnt john gill no 2 to dermot keely at kildare co? he would be the perfect candidate for them

26/04/2009, 6:30 PM
Put the house on Gareth Cronin.

gareth cronin would know the club he played under dermot keely. What about Gavin Dykes he played for them too..

26/04/2009, 6:31 PM
What is it with us that so many managers resign after we beat them? Doesnt reflect well on us that they think we are so bad they have to resign or get fired.

you are dead right magicme remember aaron callaghan last season?? :(

The Midget Gem
26/04/2009, 6:50 PM
Its a nice little job. Whoever goes in there has nothing to lose. If he could turn them into a mid table team then he'd be recognised, there aren't many jobs going these days so i think they could get a good manager.
Always liked Kildare for some reason so hope they get a good man in and he steers them away from trouble.

26/04/2009, 6:55 PM
There was a good piece in the last City programme on County when they played Limerick recently. Doesn't sound good for County fans but its a long season yet.

26/04/2009, 7:47 PM
Whoever goes in there has nothing to lose.
Apart from their job.

L37Ultra
26/04/2009, 8:52 PM
Apart from their job.

And their reputation

26/04/2009, 9:10 PM
And 25 matches.

Philly
26/04/2009, 9:51 PM
Are we finished yet guys? :)

And shut up Schumi, at least we get to see more goals per game than you do supporters.

26/04/2009, 9:56 PM
Philly, have to say my heart went out to you lot on Friday night coz I know only too well how that kinda demolition feels.

Big hugs.

26/04/2009, 9:59 PM

To be fair, I was just pointing out that the "manager has nothing to lose" line doesn't appear to hold true in Kildare's case. There were apparently expectations which the previous manager failed to meet, and any manager coming in would need to consider very carefully just how possible it will be to meet whatever the expectations are, considering the current squad and the likely squad after a transfer window. It seems the new manager will get a local squad to work with, no money to spend, and the sack a possibility.

Black and White
27/04/2009, 9:04 AM
They badly need a few experienced heads in that team,your not guna get anywhere when you limit your squad to local based players and kids, there are a few experienced heads out there that may shore up that team a bit such as a leader like Ben Whelehan in defence.

KildareFan
27/04/2009, 9:12 AM
The new manager is ex Cherry Orchard manager Joey Somerville and ex middlesboro, st. johnstone and swindon player Keith O'Halloran will be his assistant.

I've heard great things about both, I'm amazed we have got such an exciting pair in give our situation, best of luck lads!!

Jersey Cow
27/04/2009, 9:18 AM
Joey Sommerville and Keith O'Halloran... eh!?? :confused::ball:

27/04/2009, 9:31 AM

And shut up Schumi, at least we get to see more goals per game than you do supporters.

No offense meant, Kildare fans have been very welcoming every time I've been down there for a game. I've seen enough seasons where I've gone to games expecting to lose every week, you have to have fun with it or you just give up.

Best of luck to the new manager.

27/04/2009, 9:56 AM
The best thing for someone at Kildare to do now is start writing a book about the whole season.

harps1954
27/04/2009, 10:01 AM

We play you in a few weeks. I wonder would our Manager consider resigning after you play us?

JC_GUFC
27/04/2009, 11:09 AM
The new manager is ex Cherry Orchard manager Joey Somerville and ex middlesboro, st. johnstone and swindon player Keith O'Halloran will be his assistant.

I've heard great things about both, I'm amazed we have got such an exciting pair in give our situation, best of luck lads!!

Yeah he was linked with a few jobs in the league before - his connections in non-league football will surely be a help for you signing players.

Is it true that one of the conditions of his appointment was that you had to change your nickname from the Thoroughbreds to the Communards?

The post-match sing-along will be a bit of craic at least!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8iJUh5zTp_Q

27/04/2009, 6:39 PM

I think joey summerville was one of the candidates for the town job before alan gough got it..

Battery Rover
27/04/2009, 9:53 PM
I think joey summerville was one of the candidates for the town job before alan gough got it..

Just like Brendan Place was one of the candidates. Joey Summerville is bound to be a success then:D

gufc2000
27/04/2009, 9:55 PM
He could still be a candidate with the way things are going on in Longford :D. What's the Longford fans reactions to Gough so far? Six defeats in Eight really says it all

28/04/2009, 6:40 PM
He could still be a candidate with the way things are going on in Longford :D. What's the Longford fans reactions to Gough so far? Six defeats in Eight really says it all

its not a good start so far.. he hasnt really endeared to the fans over the last two games ie in mervue he just went down the tunnel instead of appluading the fans.strangely enough at the start of the season when we had a goalie he was good but I think he made an error of judgment in tryin to get chris knocpka when he could have got someone else.

28/04/2009, 6:49 PM
Just like Brendan Place was one of the candidates. Joey Summerville is bound to be a success then:D

you are right battery rover we are the mugs now...

29/04/2009, 10:53 AM
its not a good start so far.. he hasnt really endeared to the fans over the last two games ie in mervue he just went down the tunnel instead of appluading the fans.strangely enough at the start of the season when we had a goalie he was good but I think he made an error of judgment in tryin to get chris knocpka when he could have got someone else.

Heard a few whispers which don't reflect well on his professionalism so far. Don't think his relationship with the committee is great at the moment as a result of these occurrences.

30/04/2009, 9:57 AM
Has the new manager made any signings yet?

davidatrb
30/04/2009, 10:48 AM
Has the new manager made any signings yet?

Gavin Kinsella and Paul Mooney have already been added to the squad on Somerville’s recommendation and Craig Purcell has signed from St. Pat’s, “Craig is a very good player, a central midfielder, he is very busy and is the kind of player that we will need in a situation like this. He won’t stop going for 90 minutes and he is a brave lad too, it doesn’t matter how many times he gives the ball away, he will keep looking for it. We are going to need people like him.”

http://www.kildarecountyfc.com/?p=1301

30/04/2009, 1:26 PM
He won’t stop going for 90 minutes and he is a brave lad too, it doesn’t matter how many times he gives the ball away, he will keep looking for it. We are going to need people like him.”

http://www.kildarecountyfc.com/?p=1301

That's a real vote of confidence in the guy right there!

stann
30/04/2009, 3:32 PM
Was just going to say.
Feck sake, talk him down why don't ya! :D

randomcomment
30/04/2009, 3:47 PM
Sounds like a bit of a

http://www.facebook.com/profile/pic.php?uid=AAAAAQAQ9YvW74RpUZKXfphL4kFvGQAAAAnLbj HHHwCDOtXIsnjQ3_wc

fanszone
13/05/2009, 2:38 PM
Somerville is good manager if he has backing of everyone and things are done the way he wants it. If not is when big problems start to occur.
His assistant was excellent player and if he brings that side to management he should be good.
I think these are two good appointments by kildare.

I still think Joe has to sign few more players to help get them out of relegation!

blackwood
20/08/2009, 9:38 AM
Why is there always Dublin players playing in all teams in the league of Ireland. Take Kildare 95% of players are Dubs, ok we are a border county.But take Monaghan or Athlone why. I know the schoolboy leagues are strong in Dublin. But lets be honest the country teams have been domainating the FAI the Junior Cups so they must have a few good players.

Ronnie
20/08/2009, 10:35 AM
Where to start. Many good local players may have the ability, but its abut week in week out commitment and an acceptance that other aspects of a lifestyle, such as socialising have to be reduced etc. Plenty of lads get signed by clubs but it doesen't work out for one reason or another. Thats why, on talent alone plenty of players in Junior Football on any given day can hold their own with LOI, thus the "shocks" we see in the cup. But over a 40 week season, training twice sometimes 3 times a week plus a game, for probaly wages of no more than 5000 in the year, its a mjaor commitment. You will regularly see young locals getting released, they don't move on to other LOI clubs, rather they revert to Junior football.
A lot of LOI players from the cities, have been schooled in the ways of football by the top DDSL clubs such as Home Farm, Stella Maris, etc from a young age - not unknown for a young lad to commit fully to soccer over all sports at 10 or 11 - that would be almost herey in a rural area.

atfconline
20/08/2009, 10:55 AM
Of the players involved in our last game against Sporting Fingal, six were locals (two of them current underage internationals), two were English (one with family ties to the area, and one settled in the Midlands), one was from the West, one was Romanian, and three were Dubs.

Kildare Lad
20/08/2009, 11:17 AM
Where to start. Many good local players may have the ability, but its abut week in week out commitment and an acceptance that other aspects of a lifestyle, such as socialising have to be reduced etc. Plenty of lads get signed by clubs but it doesen't work out for one reason or another. Thats why, on talent alone plenty of players in Junior Football on any given day can hold their own with LOI, thus the "shocks" we see in the cup. But over a 40 week season, training twice sometimes 3 times a week plus a game, for probaly wages of no more than 5000 in the year, its a mjaor commitment. You will regularly see young locals getting released, they don't move on to other LOI clubs, rather they revert to Junior football.
A lot of LOI players from the cities, have been schooled in the ways of football by the top DDSL clubs such as Home Farm, Stella Maris, etc from a young age - not unknown for a young lad to commit fully to soccer over all sports at 10 or 11 - that would be almost herey in a rural area.

Brilliant post.