View Full Version : FT. Drogheda Utd 0 - 0 Sligo Rovers

Pages : 1 [2]

26/04/2009, 9:23 PM
I wasn't at the game, so all I have to go on are the reports and what's been posted here, but on the subject of Morrison's sending off, in my mind there's just no excuse for getting booked for dissent. You're walking a tightrope for the rest of the game afterwards and there's always the chance that a mistimed tackle will be your ticket to an early bath. I know players get caught up in the heat of the moment and all that, but these are full-time pros, and non-professional behaviour like this means he's letting his team down both during the game, and the following week while suspended. Must do better.
His second yellow was far more worrying than his first imo.

There's dissent, and there's stamping. Big difference.

srfc1928
26/04/2009, 10:17 PM
cook doing a great job with resources available over the last few games.
Absolutely spot on.
When you compare our budget and squad size to most others in the division, Paul Cook is doing a magnificent job.

showgies
26/04/2009, 11:17 PM
The one thing that hasn't been mentioned yet about Friday night was Cook's positive approach after going down to 10 men. Even with 10 men he kept two forward, when many thought he would drop either Raf or Boco back to right full.

I know one of the men told to keep forward was Morrison, who lets face it obviously thought we had still got 11 men and decided not to put in the extra work, however I thought it was very positive by Cook and with better finishing it should have paid dividends.

MMVIII
26/04/2009, 11:54 PM
The amount of absolute c-u-nts on this is disgraceful. If you have a problem with the way Danny Ventre plays, take it up with the fella himself. Its all grand and easy doing it behind a keyboard but i'm sure most wouldn't have the balls to say it to the lad.

Dannys performances have improved a lot since he first came to the club imo. He's been played out of position time and time again and yet, still plays a solid enough game. Yes, he makes the odd rash tackles and mistakes but he gives 110% every game and i'd rather him in the team than someone who doesn't. And, at the end of the day, we don't really have somebody else to play centre half. If Steve Feeneys put there and doesnt play great, I wonder will he get the same stick as Danny over the last while? :rolleyes:

And another thing that bothers me is people who weren't at the game, but yet pass judgement on tackles etc that they havent even seen for themselves? Whats that about?

nechayev
27/04/2009, 12:21 PM
on the positive side (against a VERY poor drogs) we kept it together despite going down to 9 men and still looked the more likely to succeed - good teamwork, character, commitment blah blah blah....

otherwise the highlight of my friday evening was dooley's "short cuts" through the bogs o west meath..... fair fekks

sat nav? who needs it.....

DIMITRI

ps: the general consensus on the bus seemed to be in favour of khazakistan for the yooropa cup...... mad fekkers!

sligored
27/04/2009, 12:43 PM
Are gavin peers, conor o grady and richie ryan less committed rovers players because they do not lunge into reckless tackles like danny ventre? Come on lads, i will support our players but that is another 2 points lost because of this guy. We would have beaten drogheda with 11 men i have no doubt. if it was preventing a goalscoring chance i could understand but this guy who he tried to cut in two was no danger. Stupidity imo.

neutrino
27/04/2009, 5:22 PM
Aye, he'll probably come in but he'll be needed in defence more so than attack with Ventre suspended. Even with Danny back, I think he should get a run at CB just to see how he does. If he's willing to play there and that allows Danny to cover for O'Grady in central midfield, that's a positive thing, I reckon.

I wasn't at the game, so all I have to go on are the reports and what's been posted here, but on the subject of Morrison's sending off, in my mind there's just no excuse for getting booked for dissent. You're walking a tightrope for the rest of the game afterwards and there's always the chance that a mistimed tackle will be your ticket to an early bath. I know players get caught up in the heat of the moment and all that, but these are full-time pros, and non-professional behaviour like this means he's letting his team down both during the game, and the following week while suspended. Must do better.

It's a different perspective when at the game. Players and Supporters alike get caught up in the moment. Players being full-time pros isn't going to stop them sticking up for their team mates if they felt a wrong has been done. Players in leagues all over the world react so don't see why it should be different with our players.

Morrison was being glib with the linesman following Ventres red card which got us all up in arms. Remember it takes very little to get booked for dissent in this league with the super sensitive and legends in their own mind officials. Bar 1 or 2 ref's players cant say anything to officials without them being booked or warned.

I thought Ventres tackle was going to get a yellow card. He was late alright and went in hard, but that's his way. Hard tackling is being lost to the game and when someone goes in hard these days a furore erupts. Seeing the tackle again might prove the red to be fair or harsh.

Morrison caught the drog lad for the second yellow. He left the foot in but it was far from a stamp. I might add this happened minutes after some "supporter" roared savage abuse towards him- totally over the top and unwarrented. Why is it some supporters need to pick out a player and get on his back for the season. Of course players need to be professional but the heat of the moment can be hard for some to handle. I think both reds were harsh but I'm biased enough;)

celticV3
27/04/2009, 6:03 PM
Are gavin peers, conor o grady and richie ryan less committed rovers players because they do not lunge into reckless tackles like danny ventre?
There not any less committed, that still doesn't subtract from Danny being a legend because he consistently and without fail produces performances were nobody can question his commitment.

showgies
27/04/2009, 6:59 PM
I might add this happened minutes after some "supporter" roared savage abuse towards him- totally over the top and unwarrented. Why is it some supporters need to pick out a player and get on his back for the season.

I don't understand "supporters" who do this.....what do they think they are achieving? It certainly didn't benefit us in any way...........

27/04/2009, 7:58 PM
People get frustrated.....tbh what was said wasn't far from the truth!

Nah Nah Nah Nah
27/04/2009, 8:13 PM
There not any less committed, that still doesn't subtract from Danny being a legend because he consistently and without fail produces performances were nobody can question his commitment.

Obviously your definition of a legend of a soccer player differs from a lot of us. When I think of legends for Sligo Rovers Danny Ventre most certainly doesn't come to mind.

That was such a stupid tackle. Yet again another stupid tackle by him. He does a job for us alright but if he could keep his head rather then diving in the whole time he'd be a much better player.

celticV3
27/04/2009, 9:00 PM
I think he got the ball.....

Guts&Glory
27/04/2009, 10:42 PM

and two legs......it was a needless, disgraceful tackle that he should be ashamed of and disciplined internally for putting his team under pressure by getting sent off again.

For Jesus sake the flag was already up for a throw in to Rovers.

Ludicrous Danny (and not in a Rap name sense!)

As for celticV3 claiming he is a legend - cop on.

27/04/2009, 11:21 PM

Left or right?

28/04/2009, 9:47 AM
some of ye on here really take the bait way too easy!

Redie
28/04/2009, 10:25 AM
Danny Ventre mighten be the most talented player in our squad but he is certainly one of the most commited.

As always the biggest joy to be gleaned from this forum is the introduction of new words to the English language and mighten is certainly a fantastic addition to it.

redobit
28/04/2009, 1:38 PM
First time up in Drogheda's ground and I have to say its a s**thole, but in saying that i have to say i probably like it. It has a bit of charater I suppose is how you could describe it.

ndrog
28/04/2009, 3:37 PM
you can sit in the bar and watch the game while enjoying a pint ffs ! what more could you want .And the showgrounds aint exactly a palace now is it :eek:

28/04/2009, 3:43 PM
you can sit in the bar and watch the game while enjoying a pint ffs ! what more could you want .And the showgrounds aint exactly a palace now is it :eek:

at least we have a few seats and a decent stand ;)

I dont mind shabby grounds like United and Finn Park. Brings a bit of character as redobit said.

redobit
28/04/2009, 3:44 PM
Absolutely, the showgrounds is far from a palace.
But to be fair at least we have room to expand and improve, their aint much ye can do with that shoebox, unfortunately.
Ive never been a big fan of siting in a bar watching a game out a window either, dosent seem right.

Redie
28/04/2009, 3:49 PM
Absolutely, the showgrounds is far from a palace.

Actually The Showgrounds is quite close to the Bishop's Palace in Sligo.

MMVIII
28/04/2009, 4:57 PM
Personally, i really like United Park. Mainly cause of that away stand. Don't know why really, reminds me of a real football ground.

rob mcdonald
28/04/2009, 5:31 PM
Fair point about Butler a class act but there is no sign of him getting back to full fitness and maybe its might be better for both parties to come to some agreement although at full fitness there is no better full back in the league. He can handle the tequila better than richie though, both buckled in the Strand after the bohs game.....

The Midget Gem
28/04/2009, 8:20 PM
Big write up in the weekender judging our 9 games so far. Fickle ****in newspaper!:D:p

I like United park too. If they got a good stand like ours put opposite their away setion, it would be alot better.
The away section looks great on TV when Bohs, Shams are playing and its packed to the rafters.

28/04/2009, 9:16 PM
Don't think it is a fickle newspaper, always helps out Rovers with it's coverage, has also helped with prizes for many draws and carried the €2 a week application for weeks.

28/04/2009, 10:38 PM
Don't think it is a fickle newspaper, always helps out Rovers with it's coverage, has also helped with prizes for many draws and carried the €2 a week application for weeks.

;) .....

The Midget Gem
29/04/2009, 11:21 AM
I was only joking!;)
good paper. I always buy it.:)

red_away
29/04/2009, 12:04 PM
i also like utd park and moving these grounds out of their support base is the death notice for many clubs even for EPL clubs