View Full Version : Weekend Latest 24/4
JC_GUFC
24/04/2009, 8:26 PM
Kildare play Waterford in 2 weeks. As someone mentioned they beat Monaghan by 6 so going by that they should hit double figures!
That said the comeback is on - Kildare pulled one back!
In the worst season in living memory Kilkenny City in 94-95 got only 2 points from 27 games (if memory serves me right their points came against St James' Gate and Finn Harps) their average scoreline for the season was 0.52 - 3.07
2 red cards for Sligo now - Morrisson with the latest!! :eek:
24/04/2009, 8:27 PM
while you guys might be conceding now, im sure Cork will have something to say about the matter...
Dammit Stu, I was going for dramatic effect.
sligofan4ever
24/04/2009, 8:28 PM
As if injuries weren't bad enough for us, now we have 2 more players definatly missing the Cork game :(.
Dammit Stu, I was going for dramatic effect.
i just wanted to get a wee dig in... :D
The Midget Gem
24/04/2009, 8:28 PM
why was he sent off ?
:mad: Typical Danny..:mad: The definition of a Liability!
From what was a must 3 points is now a cling on for a draw.
The Midget Gem
24/04/2009, 8:30 PM
:DOh god now Morrisson:mad: sucha joke:mad:
24/04/2009, 8:31 PM
In the worst season in living memory Kilkenny City in 94-95 got only 2 points from 27 games (if memory serves me right their points came against St James' Gate and Finn Harps) their average scoreline for the season was 0.52 - 3.07
How did they end up playing 27 games in a season? :confused:
was it foot and mouth year, the year of the Roddy Bohs double?
24/04/2009, 8:37 PM
i just wanted to get a wee dig in... :D
Go for it, we fully deserve it.
:(
The Midget Gem
24/04/2009, 8:38 PM
Drogs Rovers 0-0 result.:mad:
24/04/2009, 8:39 PM
Mervue 1-2 UCD. FT.
Reilly '90.
24/04/2009, 8:40 PM
Drogs Rovers 0-0 result.:mad:
Down to 9 men and you're not happy with a point?
GuisaSaigon
24/04/2009, 8:40 PM
FT Cork 1-0 GUFC
Mervue 1-2 UCDD
Dundalk win 1 nil!
:D:D:D
24/04/2009, 8:41 PM
Derry 0-1 Dundalk
FT.
Derry 0-1 Dundalk
FT.
Well done dundalk but all of our players need to get the fingers out of their ass now or head off some were else to ply their trade, just not good enough
24/04/2009, 8:45 PM
Kildare no. 6 Baba Issaka Sent off
Mons 5 kildare 1
14 Daragh hanaphy 90min
24/04/2009, 8:47 PM
ttWe're simply not good enough. It was telling that Bohs were 2 up at half time tonight against a team we failed to put away in the first half last week. Not taking anything at all away from Dundalk but we are most definitly not a championship winning team. We'll have some lots more decent away wins this season, we might even beat Bohs once or twice, but we aren't going to win week-in, week-out. People can criticise Bohs all they want for their style but being consistant and being clinical are two much underrated virtues. Sad to say it after 9 games but, over to you Cork City.
Well done Dundalk by the way.
JC_GUFC
24/04/2009, 8:47 PM
How did they end up playing 27 games in a season? :confused:
10 team league with only 3 series of games.
A few other not very good teams...
In 1925-26 Pioneers had 1 win and 17 losses from their 18 games. An average of 4.55 goals conceded per game!
1929-30 Jacobs got 3 points from 18 games through 3 draws.
1935-36 Bray Unknowns won 1 and lost 21 of 22 league games. They conceded 99 goals over the season - slightly better than Pioneers - only 4.5 per game
1941-42 Bray Unknowns again only got 3 points - 3 draws from 18 games.
Before Kilkenny the last team to fail to win a game was the Bohs team of 1959-60 - they drew 5 games
24/04/2009, 8:48 PM
FT Mons 5 – Kildare 1
ttWe're simply not good enough. It was telling that Bohs were 2 up at half time tonight against a team we failed to put away in the first half last week. Not taking anything at all away from Dundalk but we are most definitly not a championship winning team. We'll have some lots more decent away wins this season, we might even beat Bohs once or twice, but we aren't going to win week-in, week-out. People can criticise Bohs all they want for their style but being consistant and being clinical are two much underrated virtues. Sad to say it after 9 games but, over to you Cork City.
Well done Dundalk by the way.
We need a centre half ( calling Ken Oman ) we need 2 wingers and a striker, Higgins wouldnt even lace my boots, Farren is doing nought and has lost all confidence, we couldnt beat caseys drum at the moment. We should have beaten Galway, Sligo and Dundalk at home 7 points lost there, next home matches Bohs, Shamrock Rovers and Pats Christ be lucky to pick up any points there at this rate
We were total and utter ****e!!!
Candystripe
24/04/2009, 9:09 PM
We had no idea once again how to break down a team who were here to play on the break.
The thing is we will probably beat Bohs and Pats as they will attempt to come at us instead of playing on the break.
Probably why we get decent results away from home.
Certain players need to get it sorted and quickly or even I will conceed the league.
sonofstan
24/04/2009, 9:11 PM
Congratulations Bohemians FC on retaining your league title.
And who said it was ever yours to concede?
It may ne even be your title
sonofstan
24/04/2009, 9:25 PM
BTW, Alan Kelly was shocking tonight - we had two penalty shouts, and the last one - with minutes to go- was a blatant hack on Ndo who was clear on goal, and who hobbled off injured.
Kildare no. 6 Baba Issaka Sent off
Mons 5 kildare 1
14 Daragh hanaphy 90min
Baba Issaka, our former esteemed left back from the worst dundalk team in history (2003) is he still playing:eek:
He was there last season aswell.
Candystripe
24/04/2009, 9:38 PM
STOP PRESS::::::::::
News coming through that serious fighting happened with teenagers wearing Dundalk colours outside the Brandywell after the game.
40+ INVOLVED!!!!!!!!!!!!
Injuries on both sides but was broke up by older Derry fans.
EDIT:::::::::::::::::::::::;
Some Dundalk fans were not allowed entry to the game as they were extremely drunk... they proceeded to enter the Brandywell Bar and last I heard was that destruction to property took place...
Hearing also that some young Derry "fans" who also go to the Linfield Setanta game every season where involved as well.
The whole story will probably come out later
GuisaSaigon
24/04/2009, 9:49 PM
Dundalk Fans in Schooligan shock!!!!!!!!!!:eek::rolleyes:
Candystripe
24/04/2009, 9:50 PM
Louth4sam
24/04/2009, 10:00 PM
STOP PRESS::::::::::
News coming through that serious fighting happened with teenagers wearing Dundalk colours outside the Brandywell after the game.
40+ INVOLVED!!!!!!!!!!!!
So Dundalk fans were fighting themselves and there was no Derry fans involved???
That seems to differ to what is being reported on your forum
Aaron
24/04/2009, 10:04 PM
So Dundalk fans were fighting themselves and there was no Derry fans involved???
Indeed. Mainly the fault of local hoods and a few Derry fans who were at the game. No deflecting this one, there were a few of our fans involved tonight
Candystripe
24/04/2009, 10:17 PM
I'm not blaming Dundalk fans as it seems that plenty of young Derry hoods were involved.
Both sets of fans got on brilliantly together before and after the game although it seems the people invilved here on both sides were not even at the game. Dundalk fans who spent the night in the bar during the game as they were not allowed into the ground and the local hoods who I said are regulars at the Linfield Setanta game once a season.
Just to clarify....... it seems the only people involved are not fans of either club but young hoods who can't handle their drink and drugs.And it was genuine fans from both clubs who broke it up.
Louth4sam
24/04/2009, 10:22 PM
I'm not blaming Dundalk fans as it seems that plenty of young Derry hoods were involved.
Wait a minute you were indeed blaming Dundalk fans
ISTOP PRESS::::::::::
40+ INVOLVED!!!!!!!!!!!!
If thats not blaming Dundalk fans i don't know what is. Sure didn't it fool some eejit from Galway
24/04/2009, 10:28 PM
Wait a minute you were indeed blaming Dundalk fans
If thats not blaming Dundalk fans i don't know what is. Sure didn't it fool some eejit from Galway
Is it not implied that since he said it was "with teenagers wearing Dundalk colours" that Derry kids were involved too?
GalwayRed
24/04/2009, 10:39 PM
Good win with a decent performance to go with it tonight. First half we werent great, missed a couple of sitters just before half time. Second half we came out and got 2 quick goals. We were coasting to the win until the Crawley sending off, which from where I was sitting, looked a poor decision although Ill have to see it again. After that Athlone had a bit more possesion and we were happy to hang on to 2-0. The Athlone keeper (Shanahon I think) didnt look comfortable with crosses all match and had a fairly poor game. Bisto was great for us tonight. Chased everything but he probably shouldve had more than 1 goal. Doyles goal was very good. From a tight angle he smashed it into the top corner. Thought in general the referee was poor for both sides. Some soft yellow cards given. Overall happy with the result. :ball:
24/04/2009, 10:53 PM
Cant believe how uncompetitive this league has become, how did derry lose to Dundalk? just give Nuttsy the league.
25/04/2009, 12:23 AM
Drogheda will definitely be relegated. That's fact, worst team I've seen in years.
Typical Danny..:mad: The definition of a Liability!
From what was a must 3 points is now a cling on for a draw.
Oh god now Morrisson:mad: sucha joke:mad:You weren't there and didn't see any of the incidents so don't comment.
Drogheda will definitely be relegated. That's fact, worst team I've seen in years.
Go find a Kildare match - Isaaka probably asked to be sent off :)
I dropped into the Shels Athlone match. Athlone defence at the start of the second half was pathetic, the second goal was a comedy of ineptitude. The red card evened things up and made it a little more entertaining, but it was still largely comfortable for Shels.
25/04/2009, 12:36 AM
Go find a Kildare match - Isaaka probably asked to be sent off :)Meant to say Premier Division team;).
Louth4sam
25/04/2009, 8:22 AM
Is it not implied that since he said it was "with teenagers wearing Dundalk colours" that Derry kids were involved too?
Well not really, where does he mention anyone from Derry in the original post?
Why was the need to write "Dundalk colours" if he was trying to imply that two sets of fans were involved Why not say there was fights outside would that not imply that there was both sets involved.
The way it was worded it read like it was the Dundalk fans causing the trouble.
passerrby
25/04/2009, 10:20 AM
The way it was worded it read like it was the Dundalk fans causing the trouble.
and that could not happen could it. i mean dundalk fans causing trouble whoever heard the like of it.
quite frankly i dont know or care who started it but your fans are never far from it.
eelmonster
25/04/2009, 10:24 AM
and that could not happen could it. i mean dundalk fans causing trouble whoever heard the like of it.
quite frankly i dont know or care who started it but your fans are never far from it.
Imagine the trouble there'd be in Monaghan ... if you lot had any fans :D
Black and White
25/04/2009, 10:30 AM
Both sets of fans got on brilliantly together before and after the game although it seems the people invilved here on both sides were not even at the game. Dundalk fans who spent the night in the bar during the game as they were not allowed into the ground and the local hoods who I said are regulars at the Linfield Setanta game once a season.
Just to clarify....... it seems the only people involved are not fans of either club but young hoods who can't handle their drink and drugs.And it was genuine fans from both clubs who broke it up.
IM SICK TO THE TEETH OF THIS CRAP, COME CLEAN LADS, WE ALL KNOW BLATENTLY WHO THESE SCUMBAGS ARE, THE 7'S BUS WHICH RUNS FROM A CERTAIN PUB IN SEATOWN, THE SAME BUS WHO ARRIVED IN GALWAY AT HT AND WHERE INVOLVED IN ALL THAT TROUBLE AFTER THE GAME, THE SAME BUS THAT ARRIVED IN SLIGO WHEN I WAS HEADING UP TO THE GROUND AND 3 GOBS!!@S GOT OFF PUCKING RINGS AROUND THEM. SOMETHING HAS TO BE DONE ABOUT THIS AS ITS JUST GETTING RIDICOULOUS NOW, SORRY DERRY LADS, WE ARE NOT ALL LIKE THAT AS YE WELL KNOW!
(And i felt the need to post in capitals to get a point out there)
Black and White
25/04/2009, 10:31 AM
Good win with a decent performance to go with it tonight. First half we werent great, missed a couple of sitters just before half time. Second half we came out and got 2 quick goals. We were coasting to the win until the Crawley sending off, which from where I was sitting, looked a poor decision although Ill have to see it again. After that Athlone had a bit more possesion and we were happy to hang on to 2-0. The Athlone keeper (Shanahon I think) didnt look comfortable with crosses all match and had a fairly poor game. Bisto was great for us tonight. Chased everything but he probably shouldve had more than 1 goal. Doyles goal was very good. From a tight angle he smashed it into the top corner. Thought in general the referee was poor for both sides. Some soft yellow cards given. Overall happy with the result. :ball:
Why was Crawley sent off, did the mouth errupt again? god he cant keep that shut.