View Full Version : Bohs Star Accused of Racism by Rovers

Bigone57
23/04/2009, 11:53 PM
Any one hear of this its on the back page of todays Metro.
Boco was allegedly abused during last Sats game by a Bohs Player.
The matter is now with the FAI disciplinary committee.

http://img.e-metro.ie/e-edition-ie/A178p5/Metroire20090424/resources/index.htm?referrerUrl=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.e-metro.ie%2Fe-metro-ie

Mayo Red
24/04/2009, 8:34 AM
Just heard this on I102-104 Sportsnews aswell, it said the referee mentioned it in his match report and quoted Fran Gavin as saying if it's found to be true they will ban the player for a maximum of 5 games! Was at the game myself and didn't notice Boco react out of the ordinary to anything that happened, but as any player knows there's a lot of banter going on in a game that people on the sidelines never see or hear about.

There's definately no excuses for that sort of behaviour at all and the ironic thing is that I wonder if the unnamed player would be as brave saying it to Joseph Ndo at training or on the team bus??

I wonder what Rovers official reaction will be?

Rovers Maniac
24/04/2009, 8:36 AM
Just heard this on I102-104 Sportsnews aswell, it said the referee mentioned it in his match report and quoted Fran Gavin as saying if it's found to be true they will ban the player for a maximum of 5 games! Was at the game myself and didn't notice Boco react out of the ordinary to anything that happened, but as any player knows there's a lot of banter going on in a game that people on the sidelines never see or hear about.

There's definately no excuses for that sort of behaviour at all and the ironic thing is that I wonder if the unnamed player would be as brave saying it to Joseph Ndo at training or on the team bus??

I wonder what Rovers official reaction will be?

Disgusting stuff and very sad, 5 matches is the least they should be given this scum bag. Club won't stand for one of it's employees being subjevted to this by a fellow professional.

roversforever
24/04/2009, 9:38 AM
ah now lads lets stop coming out with big reactions til we know what happened. If something happened condemn him when ye know the facts but innocent until proven guilty!

24/04/2009, 9:47 AM
ah now lads lets stop coming out with big reactions til we know what happened. If something happened condemn him when ye know the facts but innocent until proven guilty!

That's right. Look at all the abuse I've taken from you people on this board and Padraic has never banned any of ye.

Seriously, fair play to the ref and if true, the player should be made an example of, by both the FAI and his club.

Rovers Maniac
24/04/2009, 10:11 AM
I caan't believe Fran Gavin would comment on something if he did not have all the facts, will be interesting to see who the player is, will have problems looking N'do in the eye after it.

celticV3
24/04/2009, 3:37 PM
If he is foind guilty of something as serious as this, then I would hope something will accompany a possible 5 game ban, financial penalty might help send a message through to him.

Da Real Rover
25/04/2009, 12:55 PM
If he is foind guilty of something as serious as this, then I would hope something will accompany a possible 5 game ban, financial penalty might help send a message through to him.

Put a burning cross in his front garden.

28/04/2009, 12:42 PM
http://www.setanta.com//uk/Articles/Football/2009/04/28/LOI-Bohemians-discipline-McGuinness/gnid-50597/

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/fenlon-insists-inhouse-punishment-has-drawn-line-under-bohemians-race-row-1720612.html

Guts&Glory
30/04/2009, 10:55 PM
I am not impressed by Fenlon's comments or attitude on the matter in the independent article.

Just becuase there was in house discipline which wa sprobably only a fine doesnt mean the matter should be dropped.

I doubt the whinger would be so dismissive of the matter had it been Joseph Ndo on the reciveing end of the abuse.

Bigone57
30/04/2009, 11:21 PM
I am not impressed by Fenlon's comments or attitude on the matter in the independent article.

Just becuase there was in house discipline which wa sprobably only a fine doesnt mean the matter should be dropped.

I doubt the whinger would be so dismissive of the matter had it been Joseph Ndo on the reciveing end of the abuse.

We just have to wait and see what the FAI Disciplinary Committee do which will hear the case on 6th May. But its a Dub club :rolleyes:

Mayo Red
01/05/2009, 8:06 AM
We just have to wait and see what the FAI Disciplinary Committee do which will hear the case on 6th May. But its a Dub club :rolleyes:

Nothing would surprise me with the FAI, but surely you'd imagine they'd have to be at least seen to come down pretty hard on him seeing as this incident happened just after they launched their Show Racism The Red Card Campaign!

Guts&Glory
01/05/2009, 1:05 PM

Hee, Hee, True....

I will stick my neck out and say that the FAI will claim to have taken the in house discipline and admission and apparent apology to Boco by McGuinness into consideration and give him a one match ban.

Ya that will show them they are serious about the whole issue.

01/05/2009, 1:12 PM
You can take it that McGuinness will receive the minimum five match ban.

Bigone57
04/05/2009, 12:58 AM
You can take it that McGuinness will receive the minimum five match ban.

Lets see :rolleyes:

rob mcdonald
06/05/2009, 5:38 PM
And McGuinness is true "Inner City" gentleman, imagine him having any intelligent comment...

prodsc
06/05/2009, 6:48 PM
5 games it is!

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/0506/mcguinnessj.html