TheBoss
18/04/2009, 3:25 PM
Waterford United 6-0 Monaghan United

Graham Cummins 24, 47, 55, 88
Willie John Kiely 59
Paul McCarthy 75

18/04/2009, 3:33 PM
Bray also had a few good passing moves. Admittedly, the second half did have a lot of hoof-ball.

I don't think you give Bray enough credit superfrank.

Whatever Gormley said/the introduction of Kavanagh made a massive difference and they were by far the better side in the second half. You have a hungry side who battle the way and can put together quality moves when required.

As for irishultra, were you already in the bowling alley and missed the last five minutes? Derry have three absolute gilt edged chances.....

blue til i die
18/04/2009, 4:56 PM
Why would they kick off so early? :confused: Surely they would have gotten a bigger crowd if they kicked off tonight.
To avoid people watching the cup semi final.
Awful crowd again anyway. two or three hundred i think.

Maynard
18/04/2009, 5:35 PM
To avoid people watching the cup semi final.
Awful crowd again anyway. two or three hundred i think.

Moved a home game because of a rugby match, moved a home game because of the English FA Cup Semi Final...and STILL have brutal crowds. Clowns of the highest order running that club. Unreal.

Why don't ye just play your home game behind closed doors and have a live feed to the local boozers so that every barstooling gobdaw can just watch it on the telly with a beer in their hand. Sham.

blue til i die
18/04/2009, 6:55 PM
No matter when the match is on, Waterford people don't care. They'll give out either way.

18/04/2009, 7:03 PM
Longford leading 1-0 against Mervue. McGrath o.g after 5 mins.

Maynard
18/04/2009, 7:13 PM
If they didn't move the games in an attempt to raise crowds people would be giving out, they do move games and people are giving out. At least they're trying something. It's the people of Waterford I'd be more inclined to call clowns as oppossed to the club

Not true. It is every LOI club's duty to respect, first and foremost, their loyal fans; those who help to keep the club afloat. NOT those who would be more inclined to stay in the pub and watch an English club play or another sport entirely for that matter.

Think about it. Shuffling fixtures around televisual sporting "events" (within reason obviously; ie: Ireland in the WC) is a two fingers to the fans who actually give a fiddlers'. And as has been seen, relying on bandwagon stool-jockeys is a naive waste of time.

Until the club and the league have a bit of self-respect on matters such as these, we're all ****ing in the wind hoping for people to take the league seriously.

the-blue-harp
18/04/2009, 7:17 PM
any links for good updates of the athlone v harps game? probably not!

the-blue-harp
18/04/2009, 7:20 PM
http://www.istatonline.com/ found it.

18/04/2009, 7:30 PM

Excellent stuff - well done athlone town

blue til i die
18/04/2009, 7:33 PM
Not true. It is every LOI club's duty to respect, first and foremost, their loyal fans; those who help to keep the club afloat. NOT those who would be more inclined to stay in the pub and watch an English club play or another sport entirely for that matter.

Think about it. Shuffling fixtures around televisual sporting "events" (within reason obviously; ie: Ireland in the WC) is a two fingers to the fans who actually give a fiddlers'. And as has been seen, relying on bandwagon stool-jockeys is a naive waste of time.

Until the club and the league have a bit of self-respect on matters such as these, we're all ****ing in the wind hoping for people to take the league seriously.

I take your points, fair enough. However, last home match we had, we were competing against Munster/Leinster and the Liverpool match, so a poor crowd shows. So I dont see the point in not trying to switch it to avoid the same happening. Another poor crowd, so fair enough we havent gained anything, but isnt it worth a try to try get people in? The same die hards were there today, and still go when the times are switched. It suits some people, doesnt suit other. Waterford people don't give a toss about the club!!

Umberside
18/04/2009, 7:36 PM
Mervue United 0-1 Longford Town (McGrath og 5')

Youths4Ever
18/04/2009, 7:37 PM
UCD's average age tonight- 18
Wexford's average age tonight- 26

yeah the new signings of Breen and Holden bring up our average age a bit and gives us a good mix of age and experience plus the majority of the team even the younger players have know been playing LOI for three seasons now which we should be starting to see the benefit of this season.

Maynard
18/04/2009, 7:43 PM
I take your points, fair enough. However, last home match we had, we were competing against Munster/Leinster and the Liverpool match, so a poor crowd shows. So I dont see the point in not trying to switch it to avoid the same happening. Another poor crowd, so fair enough we havent gained anything, but isnt it worth a try to try get people in? The same die hards were there today, and still go when the times are switched. It suits some people, doesnt suit other. Waterford people don't give a toss about the club!!

I know what you're saying here pal. But traveling away fans (ye I know it was Monaghan;)) also have to be considered here. Earlier this season, Shels fans were told that their game against you was switched less than a week in advance due to a feckin rugby game...Lads take half days from work, switch shifts, work overtime etc in order to free up time to go to these scheduled games...Changing the dates and times of these games because people from the town would rather watch Ashley Cole and a bunch of goonbags?

As Liam Brady would say; I'm not having it Bill.

18/04/2009, 7:45 PM
1-0 athlone onwebiko

the-blue-harp
18/04/2009, 7:45 PM
athlone 1-0 harps:(

18/04/2009, 7:48 PM
half time rovers 0 0 bohs

18/04/2009, 7:53 PM

This has stopped working for me - anyone else having trouble ?

the-blue-harp
18/04/2009, 7:54 PM
its off for half time. should come back on for second half.

the-blue-harp
18/04/2009, 7:55 PM
i thought i was gonna have to watch the game on aertel. thank feck for that.

niallsparky
18/04/2009, 8:00 PM
i thought i was gonna have to watch the game on aertel. thank feck for that.

We're stuck with Livescore and half-hourly updates from Ocean FM. :(

18/04/2009, 8:04 PM
1-1 in Mervue-Longford. McGrath for Mervue.

18/04/2009, 8:04 PM
Mervue 1-1 Longford - Ger McGrath again - eventful match for him

blue til i die
18/04/2009, 8:09 PM
I know what you're saying here pal. But traveling away fans (ye I know it was Monaghan;)) also have to be considered here. Earlier this season, Shels fans were told that their game against you was switched less than a week in advance due to a feckin rugby game...Lads take half days from work, switch shifts, work overtime etc in order to free up time to go to these scheduled games...Changing the dates and times of these games because people from the town would rather watch Ashley Cole and a bunch of goonbags?

As Liam Brady would say; I'm not having it Bill.

I understand the thought about away fans, its happened to me plenty of times. But Shels match was originally going to be played earlier on the saturday, and it was the FAI who wouldnt allow it and said it would have to be the Friday.

Lets just blame the FAI....that should please everyone. :D

18/04/2009, 8:15 PM
2-0 athlone - McGee

18/04/2009, 8:17 PM
Mervue 1 Longford 2. Carmine Russo apparently.

18/04/2009, 8:20 PM
I understand the thought about away fans, its happened to me plenty of times. But Shels match was originally going to be played earlier on the saturday, and it was the FAI who wouldnt allow it and said it would have to be the Friday.

Lets just blame the FAI....that should please everyone. :D

Just out of interest when was the game switched because loi.ie had it as 7.00pm as recently as last night?

18/04/2009, 8:21 PM
Mervue 2-2 Longford

18/04/2009, 8:28 PM
Mervue 3-2 Longford - Browne & Goldby with the 2nd and 3rd Mervue goals

blue til i die
18/04/2009, 8:29 PM
Just out of interest when was the game switched because loi.ie had it as 7.00pm as recently as last night?

The match was on Friday March 20th, was meant to be on the saturday 21st.

Youths4Ever
18/04/2009, 8:35 PM
Athlone 2-1 Harps Houston

the-blue-harp
18/04/2009, 8:35 PM
2-1 now, sean houston for harps.

RoversHead
18/04/2009, 8:39 PM
Any news from Sligo?

niallsparky
18/04/2009, 8:43 PM
Still 0-0, just a few minutes to go.

sonofstan
18/04/2009, 8:44 PM
Any news from Sligo?

Still 0-0 - Murphy and Brennan on for us

18/04/2009, 8:52 PM
Harps equalize through a Gethins penalty right on the FT whistle.

Nice.

niallsparky
18/04/2009, 8:55 PM
Finished 0-0 between Sligo and Bohs at the Showgrounds.

sonofstan
Full time in the Showgrounds 0-0

irishultra
:D come on, great comeback.

re: my derry comments last night, in fairness i was down the other end of the ground when derry were attacking in the first half and they were much better but i couldn't really see any of the passing moves very well from where I was. as i said to my friend at half-time the second half will be good as derry are shooting down this end, but unfortunately derry didn't really show up. i must have completely forgot about the last 5 mins, but my last memory of the game was the block by the bray central defender after morros cross.

adamd164
18/04/2009, 8:56 PM
FT Sligo 0-0 Bowez

18/04/2009, 9:00 PM
rovers bohs finished scoreles

RoversHead
18/04/2009, 9:00 PM
Still 0-0, just a few minutes to go.
We will have to start webcasting games ourselves .Radio coverage needs fixing.

Captain2007
18/04/2009, 9:07 PM
Full time in the Showgrounds 0-0

Sorry ye couldn't return the favour for our result against Derry last night, although Sligo having a good spell, probably a good point come the end of the season for ye , not easy to pick up points at the Showgrounds.

18/04/2009, 10:02 PM
Did anyone get the score from the showgrounds........

18/04/2009, 10:03 PM
Last I heard it was scoreless.

Umberside
18/04/2009, 10:09 PM
Sligo have taken points off the top four already this season which is some achievement.

18/04/2009, 10:10 PM
Harps equalize through a Gethins penalty right on the FT whistle.

Nice.

Not Nice :mad:

Ref was a fupping disgrace

18/04/2009, 10:41 PM
0-0 in Sligo = decent result.

18/04/2009, 11:31 PM
Can someone post the score for the Sligo-Bohs game by any chance.....?

19/04/2009, 1:34 AM
Am too scared to read this thread.