View Full Version : Derry City 1 Sligo Rovers 2

Bigone57
10/04/2009, 8:28 PM
Derry City 1 Sligo Rovers 2
McGlynn 40,...Boco 39,
...................Cretaro.89

sligofan4ever
10/04/2009, 8:32 PM
What a win :) 4 in 3 for Cretaro now, nice calm finish, and a superb first of the season for Boco. Brush was another stand out man tonight. This is great confidence for the Bohemians match now, if we can beat an in form Derry team, we can beat a Bohemians team who aren't as good as last season. I tought Boco coming off would effect our game but obviously it didn't. bring on Bohs!.

just look at the predictions thread for this, no one predicted a Rovers win, nearly everyone was going for a win (someone said they would beat us 5-0!)

roversforever
10/04/2009, 8:37 PM
yessssssss!!!!get in there!just wish i could have been there!

lowroadrover
10/04/2009, 8:39 PM
YESYESYES what a win ,

The Midget Gem
10/04/2009, 8:41 PM
Oh how i was wrong!! And im loving it!!!
get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!!:D:ball::D

Ohhh just watching the lads on TV made me so envious!! Wat a bad decision not to go! Cumon the Rowvers!!!

sligo23
10/04/2009, 8:41 PM
have a look at what that ment to the players at the end, and people were doubting their commitment!!
fantastic result!!

showgies
10/04/2009, 8:52 PM
That was one sweet victory..........well done lads !!!!!!!

Knappagh Red
10/04/2009, 9:58 PM
Great night apart from those rip off publicans 2 quid a pint, all in great voice on the trust bus heading for Mooneys FORZA ROVERS

10/04/2009, 10:24 PM
Fantastic result , great battling performance and we could have had 3 or 4 in the second half , I was very confident Raf would stick it in at the end :D will really set the lads up for next week and Bohs

10/04/2009, 10:43 PM
Jays, Rw. What a prediction.:D

Red Star
10/04/2009, 11:00 PM
Forza Rovers :cool:

Rovers Maniac
10/04/2009, 11:07 PM
:D Superb result, just back did not drink si i was on babysiting service superb.

10/04/2009, 11:19 PM
Unbelievable:)

MMVIII
10/04/2009, 11:24 PM
Still havent got me head around it. What a fcuking night. Up there with the bests imho. What made it even better was the delight on the players face when they came over celebrating to us at the end.

Bring on Bohs :D

11/04/2009, 12:03 AM
Unbelievable. I would have been disappointed with the point tbh. Cannot believe we won:D. Hope we kick on from here now and give it to Bohs, league champions or not.

YEESSSSSSSSS!

dong
11/04/2009, 12:16 AM
Absolute belter! Only down side was the boys banner getting ripped on the barbed wire in the second half!!
Disappointed that we hadn't a few more there but an unbelievable night. They had us pinned back for long spells but fair play to all the defence. Stand up Danny Ventre!! Great to see us so clinical as well.

Rovers fan
11/04/2009, 12:17 AM
Superb result, just back did not drink si i was on babysiting service superb.

:D Haha,yeah right you maniac;)

What a trip:) Good craic on the bus. Elation to depression after we scored and then conceded straight after. Derry were dominant in the second half and were exploting us down their right wing,but we did well to hold on. As SM said a draw would have delighted me but what a way to ein it. In the 1-1 draw last season in the brandywell last raf was in the exact same position late on and he missed,I feared he would do the same again but that man doesn't dissapoint to often! Viva cretaro!! Celebrations at the end and the sing song on the bus home - Quality! This will really give the lads some confidence to push on. Inside Man - Where are you now?!

srfc1928
11/04/2009, 1:29 AM
Still havent got me head around it. What a fcuking night. Up there with the bests imho. What made it even better was the delight on the players face when they came over celebrating to us at the end.

Bring on Bohs :D
says it all really.

one of the best away trips ive been on.
so proud tonight of the players, management
and especialy the supporters who made the trip

forza rovers
11/04/2009, 7:56 AM
what a win!we could ave bet them by more if we had taking our chances

Fivesilver
11/04/2009, 8:00 AM
Stunning result, and what a turnaround in the last few days after the Dundalk debacle - shows this team has real bottle.
Everyone played well, but I thought in particular Peersy and Ryan were phenomenal. We had a bit of long overdue luck - two decent shouts at penalties waved off - but overall, away to the in-form league leaders, I'll take that.
Derry looked a top side, but we still created as many (more?) clear scoring chances. There was also no desperate hoofing the ball clear. It was generally passed and played out of defence.
Funny enough, in the closing stages I said to herself "We should be okay now. Derry have run out of ideas and they're just humping in long balls, betting on their big men." About a minute later we were 2-1 up. Somehow I had no doubt from the moment Raf got that ball nothing was going to stop him.
This team is only getting better. Roll on the rest of the season.

sligofan4ever
11/04/2009, 10:33 AM
:D Haha,yeah right you maniac;)

What a trip:) Good craic on the bus. Elation to depression after we scored and then conceded straight after. Derry were dominant in the second half and were exploting us down their right wing,but we did well to hold on. As SM said a draw would have delighted me but what a way to ein it. In the 1-1 draw last season in the brandywell last raf was in the exact same position late on and he missed,I feared he would do the same again but that man doesn't dissapoint to often! Viva cretaro!! Celebrations at the end and the sing song on the bus home - Quality! This will really give the lads some confidence to push on. Inside Man - Where are you now?!

And Avvenalaf . Going by our perfromances in the last two games, not by a long shot will we be in a relegation battle, I suppose Avvenalaf cant wait for those 9 games to be over so he can can say "I told you so" . Would be a great month if we win our next 2 aswell, do ye think we can beat Bohs and Drogs ?

My predictions anyways:
Against Bohs- 2-1 to us (well if we can beat an in form Derry team we can beat Bohs as i said in this thread before)
Against Drogs- 3-0 to us.

brianw82
11/04/2009, 11:31 AM
My predictions anyways:
Against Bohs- 2-1 to us (well if we can beat an in form Derry team we can beat Bohs as i said in this thread before)
Against Drogs- 3-0 to us.

Let's not go nuts just yet. :)

Both goals were brilliantly taken. I was actually surprised when Boco scored. He had at least 4 chances like that in the game at home last July and either missed or hit them straight at the keeper. We played very well as a whole.

However, we really should have conceded at least 1 penalty in the first half, which would have changed the game totally. I don't know how Keane got away with booting Kearney like that.

Rovers Maniac
11/04/2009, 11:49 AM
Game can be viewed again on-line now

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/audiovideo_index.html

Played really really well i thought thought Alan Keane was superb at the back as well as Peersy, Ventre and Holmes all done really well. Worked really hard and got a bit of luck, nice to see young Torpey getting the block in that lead to the second goal.

11/04/2009, 12:14 PM
...:):D

Well Red
11/04/2009, 12:17 PM
Fantastic win and well deserved and nice to get the rub of the green with a referee for a change. Cratero was the hero but he has to time his runs better as we gave so much possession away through him going offside non stop. Sligo really had the better chances and we should have had two more goals at least. Like everyone else I was delighted with the result especially as we were given no chance by anyone. Bring on the Bohs now, any of our sidlined players due to come back?

Rovers Maniac
11/04/2009, 1:09 PM
Pretty sure i seen Sligoman handing out some Oil to the Derry fans at the end of the game :)

Should be a good crowd now for Bohs next week.

redobit
11/04/2009, 2:39 PM
Am I glad I travelled or what. Theres no words.

11/04/2009, 5:11 PM
well done to ye last night. It was the best live match i saw this season so far. Had to laugh at the shed boys going nuts including dan!! ten years is a hell of a wait to win up there but it makes it much better! was there many of ye that travelled up there? heard ye no problem on the screen!

Rovers fan
11/04/2009, 5:17 PM
I'd say 100,maybe 120. Not great,especially considering it was good friday(well it was around what i had anticipated). But we made good noise alright,especially towards the end and for a while after:D. It was mayhem when we scored!

11/04/2009, 7:50 PM
The White Pele.....

srfc1928
11/04/2009, 8:16 PM
hes Danny Ventre

Well Red
11/04/2009, 10:44 PM
Two posts recently did not appear, anyone else having this problem but in summary what a trip to Derry, bring on the Bohs.

the rock n roll
12/04/2009, 9:25 AM
Two posts recently did not appear, anyone else having this problem but in summary what a trip to Derry, bring on the Bohs.
happend to me once

roversforever
12/04/2009, 1:08 PM

well i seem to have had one deleted for responding to somebody provoking me!!!!!!!!

Brian Boru
12/04/2009, 10:09 PM
Great win in Derry. Cretaro and Boco as good a strike force as any.

Jeebus
13/04/2009, 3:33 AM
Absolute belter! Only down side was the boys banner getting ripped on the barbed wire in the second half!!
Disappointed that we hadn't a few more there but an unbelievable night. They had us pinned back for long spells but fair play to all the defence. Stand up Danny Ventre!! Great to see us so clinical as well.

Were you the lad that tried to give me a hand with the flag??. Had no option but to rip it down. Thanls anyway, appreciate it.
One of the best away games i've been at in a long time.

FORZA ROVERS!

He drinks,
he drives,
he/s lucky to be alive...

:D:D

dong
13/04/2009, 11:56 AM
That wasn't myself Jeebus, I was a bit further away and could see it happening. Pity that, hope it wasn't totally destroyed but I'd say it probably was!
Still elated after the result.:)

Rovers Maniac
13/04/2009, 2:15 PM
Great weekend for Cook, Rovers winning in Derry Liverpool beating Blackburn 4-0 got to have a few bob Each way on One Cool Cookie in the national in honour of the man. :)

13/04/2009, 7:29 PM
Were you the lad that tried to give me a hand with the flag??. Had no option but to rip it down. Thanls anyway, appreciate it.
One of the best away games i've been at in a long time.

FORZA ROVERS!

He drinks,
he drives,
he/s lucky to be alive...

:D:D

nice chant about ventre jeebus!!:D

Rovers Maniac
13/04/2009, 7:43 PM
nice chant about ventre jeebus!!:D

No not about Ventre.

red_away
14/04/2009, 12:16 PM
Sweet, Sweet, Sweet!!!!!

When Boco socred i thought this will have to be our night and then I nearly went thru the TV when Raf scored!!!

Bohs will be a tougher task but we are at home and confident and attacking is the best strategy - keep them on their heels (And obviously defending as well!!)

redobit
14/04/2009, 2:57 PM
Fair play to the Derry fans that came up and shook our hands when were on the way out.
Hopefully we can do ye a favour this weekend.

MMVIII
14/04/2009, 4:12 PM
Great bunch the Derry fans.They applauded our players of the pitch at the end which says a lot for them.

14/04/2009, 5:09 PM
Some of the lads from the singing end of The Brandywell always come down to the away end after the game, theyre dead on.