View Full Version : Your club's worst signing?
SalvadorSanchez
11/04/2009, 12:50 PM
I could write a book on all the rubbish we've signed down through the years. Below are a few standouts:
Jesper Jorgensen, Mark Leech, Marco Rapetti, Chris Armstrong, Yeboah Mensah, Shaun Fagan, Stephen Gavin, Juan Rojas, Dimitri Brinias
Jesper Jorgensensensen is my fav. played everygame with his back to goal, appalling first touch and could miss an empty net with a dead ball from a yard out, lanky, awkward, cowardly idiot who thought that we were a stepping stone to English football!!!!! Grrrr.
Shaun Fagan, at least, had one good game and could put the boot in when necessary, Juan Rojas was a nice guy at least and Dimitri Brinias at least had the good grace to go very very very far away after he left the club..... Greg O' Halloran has to be there as well, came played ****e in 2-3 games and then broke someones leg in training....
11/04/2009, 12:59 PM
ian wexler,
:mad::mad: QUALITY PLAYER!! The leagues finest signing in years. Ireland is a poorer place for his loss:(
Ah Pierre, know him well. Played against him many, many times. An absolute **** of the highest order so was fantastic when he impressed in his stint at Dublin City :)
I had the misfortune of going to school with him when he came back from England, if you think playing against him was bad....
11/04/2009, 1:47 PM
Holy Moly we have had a serios amount of them!
In no Particular order: Stephen Geoghegan, Alex Nesovic, Keith Dunne, Paul Byrne, Baba Isaaka!, Vinny Perth loads more too!
Paul Doolin, Robbie Doyle, Ger Robinson....list could be endless, Dessie Baker too, John Hewitt, Ian Ferguson aarrggggghhhh!!
pól-dcfc
11/04/2009, 1:50 PM
Ola Tidman for us. He used to be the Sheffield Wednesday keeper. I was excited. He was rubbish.
Alan Moore, big injured pie of a player.
Kyle Moran, Manchester United reserve - he must be good. Fenlon just loaned him out to Shels instead. Not sure if he ever got a game.
Greg O'Hallorahan - Jesus H. Christ.
Dave Rodgers - I was nearly in tears when I heard we signed this scouse ballbag.
11/04/2009, 2:16 PM
Mark Cobey would be another one for us...worst keeper in the world.
WoodquayBoy
11/04/2009, 2:55 PM
We have had a pile of them, a lot have been mentioned here already, but the stand-out one, in trms of totally failing to live up to the hype, has to be, as Paddyfield said, Neville Steedman. Jesus H Christ on a bike but he was rubbish. Don't agree about Juan Rojas, had potential but Taxi Tony never gave him a chance. ON top of those mentioned by other United fans, also have to tip the hat towards the likes of Pat Morley, Johnny Gaynor, Steve Craig, Jason Kabia and Kirk Miller.
11/04/2009, 3:13 PM
Apart from maybe Beckett, none of those really arrived on the scene with glowing references.
Cooney played for Coventry and Capper was capped at underage right up through.
Mr Maroon
11/04/2009, 3:16 PM
Was that not Jason Molloy? I thought Leech had gone by that stage but could be wrong.
It was Leech. There's video evidence on Youtube.
LeixlipRed
11/04/2009, 3:56 PM
I had the misfortune of going to school with him when he came back from England, if you think playing against him was bad....
Lovely fella wasn't he? And not even slightly in love with himself :)
11/04/2009, 4:50 PM
cause his dad played for us and was a short term success
was that the famous ross jack? didnt know that father and son both played with the club..
11/04/2009, 4:51 PM
Ola Tidman for us. He used to be the Sheffield Wednesday keeper. I was excited. He was rubbish.
Alan Moore, big injured pie of a player.
Kyle Moran, Manchester United reserve - he must be good. Fenlon just loaned him out to Shels instead. Not sure if he ever got a game.
Greg O'Hallorahan - Jesus H. Christ.
Dave Rodgers - I was nearly in tears when I heard we signed this scouse ballbag.
agree on you on greg o 'halloran. outside of the pats game in flansiro when he scored a screamer in a 3-3 draw he wasnt a success with us at all and wasnt missed.
11/04/2009, 7:59 PM
Paul 'Wanted by Shels/Bohs/Man Utd/Juventus' Browne. Utterly Shocking.
Dundalkjames
11/04/2009, 8:00 PM
cormac mcardle
srfc1928
11/04/2009, 8:12 PM
was that the famous ross jack? didnt know that father and son both played with the club..
yeah thats him
gufc2000
11/04/2009, 8:40 PM
Was that not Jason Molloy? I thought Leech had gone by that stage but could be wrong.
I backed Leech to be top scorer in the league at 50/1 last year... If I knew then what I know now I wouldn't have backed him at 5000/1!
No this was when Billy Clery was in temporary charge before Judas came. Leech was fined two weeks wages
11/04/2009, 11:32 PM
Paul 'Wanted by Shels/Bohs/Man Utd/Juventus' Browne. Utterly Shocking.
The fact we actually paid a scandalous amount of money for him is worse.
BobtheDrog
12/04/2009, 12:00 AM
:rolleyes:Predictable at least:D
I say our worst was Stuey Byrne due to his dressing room antics. Completely destabilised the team.
Mind you Pedro da Lima in the early 70s purely for on field hype.
Or Peter Barnes in the 80s. At least his kit never got dirty as he did bugger all
I can't believe you left out a player so bad they named an award for incompetence after him. The bigest waste of space ever to come out of Liverpool.
ladies and gentleman
MR DAVE SMITH
Shedhead84
12/04/2009, 12:19 AM
I'd say it would have to be between Seán Kelly, Brian O' Callaghan, or Tony Tynan...
Jesus, were they bad !
monzo
12/04/2009, 12:32 AM
Cooney played for Coventry and Capper was capped at underage right up through.
Yeah but Cooney was at Bohs before Harps and was generally shocking during his stint there (and that's only going by EL Weekly snippets). Didn't Ian Rossiter win something at underage level? :D
12/04/2009, 9:00 AM
Didn't Ian Rossiter win something at underage level? :D
Yeah, a pie eating contest.
corkboy360
12/04/2009, 4:18 PM
Paul Doolin
12/04/2009, 4:28 PM
Tom Coughlan surely?
Weatherman
12/04/2009, 4:55 PM
That would be Kevin O'Brien. Played a few games centre midfield for us 3 seasons ago. He had less talent than he had hair
Remember him now!!
12/04/2009, 5:06 PM
Forgot to mention the useless Mick O'Donnell and the comically inept Peter Hynes. Ronnie Henry was crap too.
Battery Rover
12/04/2009, 6:53 PM
Sam, Is there any chance that HOOF will be playing Saturday
Dundalkjames
12/04/2009, 7:10 PM
peter hynes was a very good player for us.
12/04/2009, 9:08 PM
Sam, Is there any chance that HOOF will be playing Saturday
Yup every chance, damn it, thats yer tactics sorted attack down the left for 90 minutes.
Battery Rover
12/04/2009, 9:34 PM
Yup every chance, damn it, thats yer tactics sorted attack down the left for 90 minutes.
I look forward to Emeka Onwubiko, Robbie Benson or one of the other young lads we have running at him for 90 minutes
Black and White
13/04/2009, 1:30 PM
Half the players we signed down the years from Monaghan, Paul Smith being one, Ciaran Quinn, Ashley White(who never played a full game).
Ashley White(who never played a full game).
He looked promising as a schoolboy international. Think he went the way of the GAA though
frog-gufc
13/04/2009, 2:29 PM
I could write a book on all the rubbish we've signed down through the years. Below are a few standouts:
Jesper Jorgensen, Mark Leech, Marco Rapetti, Chris Armstrong, Yeboah Mensah, Shaun Fagan, Stephen Gavin, Juan Rojas, Dimitri Brinias
did yeboah not get badly injured in his first game and had to be paid off???
13/04/2009, 2:52 PM
did yeboah not get badly injured in his first game and had to be paid off???Yes, fairly sure it was against us in the Showgrounds.
13/04/2009, 8:21 PM
He looked promising as a schoolboy international. Think he went the way of the GAA though
He suffered severely from migraine which occurred more and more regularly after matches...twas decided it may be triggered by heading the ball - crucial as a centre-half as ye know so he was advised to quit. Since changing to GAA the problem stopped. Still coaches for FAI as far as i know. Wouldnt say he was a bad signing as such...not in the same league as Stuart Connolly (for which we paid a fee) and his dodgy big toe:confused:
The Lilywhites
13/04/2009, 9:28 PM
George O'Callaghan.
LeixlipRed
13/04/2009, 9:45 PM
George O'Callaghan.
Was just about to post this :D Have you ever seen a midfielder hospital pass the ball back to his keeper so much? Shocking performance from the most over-hyped player we've ever had in this league. He was intent on giving us a goal tonight. Hilarious stuff though.
gufc2000
13/04/2009, 10:32 PM
Yes, fairly sure it was against us in the Showgrounds.
Ya it was, I was at the game aswell. He just didn't seem strong enough, great skill though. I remember he played against Sligo ina friendly down in Corofin, and was class. Thought he was going to be a great signing but he got injured and parted company.
Another bad buy of ours that deserves a mention, was the Russian Vladimir Antanamov
L.T.F.C.
13/04/2009, 11:31 PM
for longford
robbie martin, david freeman - wouldn't score in a whorehouse with a twenty up his hole, ian wrexler, dean barrett, barry ferguson - muck, can never be forgiven for that peno miss, paul keegan, the list of sh!t signings is endless. jamie duffy, myler9 idon't think he knew how to run) Mark Rutherford, the worst player to watch a footbal match, nevermind play one.
13/04/2009, 11:42 PM
Was Robbie Martin so bad? He was decent enough for UCD, and Longford were about our level when he moved.
13/04/2009, 11:49 PM
He wasn't great but it seems he was carrying an injury for a lot of his spell with us. Got us into the 2007 cup final which more than paid for his fee and wages in fairness.
LeixlipRed
13/04/2009, 11:49 PM
Mark Rutherford, the worst player to watch a footbal match, nevermind play one.
That's when I stopped paying attention. Rutherford could never be considered a worst anything. Ok, he was past it for the PD when he was with you but anytime I see him play for you he always gave 100%.
13/04/2009, 11:52 PM
Yeah Rutherford wasn't the worst. Past it as you say but he did his best and was excellent as an emergency left back against UCD in the cup semi final in 2007. That defence had Prunty and Sullivan as centre backs and Rutherford as a left back yet they were brilliant that day.
Rocky77
13/04/2009, 11:56 PM
He's now living in London and working as a model and is married to a model. Some lads have all the luck. Took a great free kick in his day though.
His missus is good looking alright but I wouldn't have had her down as a model. I don't agree with the previous assertion that he was useless by the way...
14/04/2009, 12:00 AM
That's what I was told by someone the night of the Prunty game anyhow. Maybe she's an ex-model or something.
Rocky77
14/04/2009, 12:04 AM
for longford
robbie martin, david freeman - wouldn't score in a whorehouse with a twenty up his hole, ian wrexler, dean barrett, barry ferguson - muck, can never be forgiven for that peno miss, paul keegan, the list of sh!t signings is endless. jamie duffy, myler9 idon't think he knew how to run) Mark Rutherford, the worst player to watch a footbal match, nevermind play one.
:eek: :eek: :eek:
L.T.F.C.
14/04/2009, 1:49 AM
That's when I stopped paying attention. Rutherford could never be considered a worst anything. Ok, he was past it for the PD when he was with you but anytime I see him play for you he always gave 100%.
thats what i'm saying is that not the whole point of the thread? bad signings, not bad players per say.
L.T.F.C.
14/04/2009, 1:50 AM
:eek: :eek: :eek:
okay barry ferguson not muck okay a bit far there.
I was limiting my list to people who were "talked up" but turned out to be
rubbish, but if it's just rubbish signings then you can add these to our list:
Eamon Donaghue, Mickey Fox, Stuart Holt, Mark Patton, Gino Lawless, Johnny
Mernagh, Ryan Casey, Colm Heffernan, Darren Young, Zolt Petro, Fiachra McArdle...
Honorable mention to Mixie Harty who was actually quite good but then
stopped turning up for training/matches and stopped answering his phone
apparently!
Tallanted
14/04/2009, 7:49 AM
Only captained us to 3 cup final victories (well 2 as he was suspended for waterford game), Ferguson is a legend enough said. Worst signiings though we have a good few. Last season Mick McCarthy stands out, David lee is up there, Sini Savic as Longfordian already said, Alan O'Connor never had a shot on target for us in the late nineties never mind score a goal. Eric Molloy signed from Athlone and was apparently a new wonder kid, I was certainly wonderin if he was even a footballer. Damien Rushe has to get a deserved mention aswell.