View Full Version : Sligo Rovers 2 - 1 Bray Wanderers

Bigone57
07/04/2009, 8:52 PM
Sligo Rovers 2 - 1 Bray Wanderers

Cretaro 4,46. Byrne 29.

At last we are on our way,I HOPE :D

Only1Rovers
07/04/2009, 8:57 PM
Result is fantastic, does anyone know what the performance was like?

sligofan4ever
07/04/2009, 9:08 PM
Result is fantastic, does anyone know what the performance was like?

We were the much better team tonight Raff's goals came from just outside the bo, second one the keeper was stranded and well away from his goal. Never stopped going forward and just as I said, if they could get the open goal it would give them the confidence to keep going. Bray had their own chance sn the last minutes, around the 85th minute Brush made a crucial and brilliant save. I hope this gives us the confidence and belief that we can get something out of this match. Raff could easily scored his hat-trick but was taken down in the box, no penalty though :(. Morrison,Raff (surely MOTM),Boco,keane,Ryan,Doherty,Holmes and Pers all had good games. I hope this is the start of proving Inside Man wrong about us ending up in a relegation battle :p.

Rovers Maniac
07/04/2009, 9:34 PM
Great result for us, lets hope the boys get confidence from this.

showgies
07/04/2009, 9:51 PM
The second half performance was very good, but despite all the pressure we failed to get a third goal. This left us nervousily defending for the last few minutes.

Both Cretaro's goals came from great play from Morrison. His ball for the second goal was superb. Brush's save in the second half was unreal. I don't know how he kept the ball out.

The performance both in terms of quality and committment was a lot higher than Saturday night, I hope they continue this on Friday in the Brandywell.

MMVIII
07/04/2009, 9:52 PM
Yes, yes and fcuking yes :D

Big improvement all around tonight. Poor conditions but we got stuck in and got a deserved result.

dong
07/04/2009, 9:56 PM
Cretaro is the man! Once again he comes good when it matters. Fair play to all the lads. Should be a good few travelling to Derry being Good Friday with nought else on and everything.

07/04/2009, 10:03 PM
I'm delighted. Has brightened up my day:)

Hopefully I'll make it to Derry on Friday.

C'mon the Bit O'Red

red arrow
07/04/2009, 10:26 PM
yep. great result and the players answered my call to a man, showed great heart and commitment and played some superb football in the 2nd half. hopefully this shows them that they can do it when they put there minds to it. on a very bad night weatherwise and the pitch cutting up v. badly they showed great courage and there level of fitness is getting better. i thought all played well and sets us up nicely for friday. coke&carr were mightly relieved and fair play to those who came out to support the rovers yee are the real supporters. any way i'm very happy

brianw82
07/04/2009, 10:34 PM
First time in the Showgrounds this season. Forgot how much I missed the place.

Great to get 3 points. There's daylight between us and Drogheda now. Both of our goals were superbly well-worked. Morrison's ball for Raf's second was brilliant. The team was hungry and took the game to Bray. Credit also to Brush for that super save near the end. He surely earned his money there.

Having said that, and given that we have to face league leaders Derry on Friday, some points do need to be made. We were still sloppy at the back at times, and could've been a goal down even before Raf's first. Their goal was just a scramble from a free kick. Finally, that passage of play in the second half, where we were camped outside their box but NOBODY would take a shot, sums up a very irritating aspect of Cook's team. As the lads behind me said, they think they're Arsenal. We should have been, and had enough chances to be, 2 goals ahead by the 90th minute, yet we were hanging on at the end.

Bring 'em on, regardless. We'll give it a lash. :)

Boo_Boy
07/04/2009, 11:58 PM
Great to hear we played better.

Although hard to believe, i actually thought this game was an away match, i was working today and even tried to get off early to travel to the game...but here was me, sittting in my place on the internet across town from the Showgies..and thinking Rovers were playing in Bray.

I feel so stupid. :o

Rovers fan
08/04/2009, 12:12 AM
About time:) Great win. We were poor in the first half,sloppy defending for the equaliser. The second half was by far the best we have played this season. After raf's second we seemed to grow in confidence. Passed the ball around very well and created a number of chances for once. Raf is unreal. He really has improved so much. I think it's fair to say he's one of the best players in the league. Does so much work and is so good with the ball at feet. All we had to do tonight was put the ball in behind the bray defence and he looked a threat.As said by others we should have scored a third. Feck we were lucky brush made that absolutely unbelievable save. That would have ruined our season imo as we have two tough games against derry and bohs and would have fallen of the pace. Ryan and O'grady controlled it around the middle,made a lot of tackles,especially Richie. Holmes and ventre were much better also. Finally morrison has delivered. He is quality but has been patchy up to tonight. He was brilliant though,at the heart of the two goals and did a number of other positive things. Not sure if it was wise of cookie to throw on tarpey and mcloughlin in a game like that,we seemed to be under a bit of pressure afterwards. Poor crowd,but hardly unsurprising given the weather and the champs league. Great to finally get the win and should give us the confidence to push on. Roll on the brandywell:)

Mayo Red
08/04/2009, 8:24 AM
Great result, could and should have had more goals aswell which would have taken away the slightly nervy ending. Almeida too will make a big difference in shoring up the defence when he's fully fit, it was a bit dodgy at times. I thought the lads played excellent overall though, some of the passing and movement was unreal especially with the way the pitch cut up because of the rain (cue dogs abuse again on MNS on Monday night about it, even though that kind of rain would cut up most pitches). Thought Raf should have had a stonewall penalty aswell in the second half, but the ref was far more competent than Alan Kelly was down in Galway.

showgies
08/04/2009, 9:26 AM
It's unusual to mention the referee, but I agree he had a good game considering the conditions (bar the pen shout).

The Midget Gem
08/04/2009, 9:28 AM
Good result. But no point dwelling on it though. We must try to get 4 points out of the next 2 games. And we are capable of doing it. Alot of positives to take from it. Back playing some good football. Deserved it in the end. But have to say Bray deserved their goal, it was coming. Cook must have rallied them at half time and fair play, in the end it would have been devastating to not win that one.
Like Roversfan i was baffled by some of the substitutions. Taking off O'Grady when we were in need to close the game out was weird(unless was he injured?). When Ross and Torpey came on we went under pressure and could have conceded, but that was some save by Brush! Unreal. I was sure it was in, then his arms just poped up and got to it:) hearts in mouths stuff.
We'll get a point in Derry and beat Bohs at home now and we'll be cruising!

I thought that was stone wall penalty turned down as well. Any other views on it?

red_away
08/04/2009, 11:37 AM
Great Result

Were Bray any cop?

brianw82
08/04/2009, 12:01 PM
Great Result

Were Bray any cop?

They weren't bad, we were just better. They're a young side, but very enthusiastic. Their subs were out until kick-off, and all during h/t, kicking the ball around in the pouring rain. I thought it said a lot about them. Their no.9 did quite well up front, he'll be a decent player, I reckon.

They'll be fine as far as relegation goes. 7th or 8th I'd say.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
08/04/2009, 12:06 PM
Good result. But no point dwelling on it though. We must try to get 4 points out of the next 2 games. And we are capable of doing it. Alot of positives to take from it. Back playing some good football. Deserved it in the end. But have to say Bray deserved their goal, it was coming. Cook must have rallied them at half time and fair play, in the end it would have been devastating to not win that one.
Like Roversfan i was baffled by some of the substitutions. Taking off O'Grady when we were in need to close the game out was weird(unless was he injured?). When Ross and Torpey came on we went under pressure and could have conceded, but that was some save by Brush! Unreal. I was sure it was in, then his arms just poped up and got to it:) hearts in mouths stuff.
We'll get a point in Derry and beat Bohs at home now and we'll be cruising!

I thought that was stone wall penalty turned down as well. Any other views on it?

We'll get stuffed in Derry like we usually do

08/04/2009, 12:12 PM
They didn't beat us last year I think?

Shedzer
08/04/2009, 12:14 PM
Good result. Defence stiil very sloppy Holmes doesn't seem to have much postitional sence and the whole team was in the box defending and bray managed to score giving away another bad goal. Still good preformance in the second half substitutions were very strange taking a big risk in such an important game.

dong
08/04/2009, 12:19 PM
We may be beaten in Derry but by "stuffed" I take it you mean beaten off the park or given a hiding?
It's not something that happens to Rovers teams very often to be fair. As bad as we've been this season we haven't taken a hammering. I believe we can take a draw from Derry if a bit of luck goes our way.
Great result last night, no point in negative talk now just so we can say "I told you so" later.
Come on the bit o' red!!!

08/04/2009, 12:37 PM
They weren't bad, we were just better. They're a young side, but very enthusiastic. Their subs were out until kick-off, and all during h/t, kicking the ball around in the pouring rain. I thought it said a lot about them. Their no.9 did quite well up front, he'll be a decent player, I reckon.

Where were you last night? You missed a game in The Showgrounds. The Bray subs who were kicking around at half time should have stayed out there as the team didn't come out in the second half. Playing with a gale it was 25 minutes before they mounted an attack. Clueless and the only thing that can/will save Bray from relegation is Drogheda.

Rovers Maniac
08/04/2009, 12:39 PM
We'll get stuffed in Derry like we usually do

Ah jeez have some faith, what about the last 2 times we have been up. I think no pressure on us anyway heading up now that we are off and running after last nights result.

BrayUnknowns
08/04/2009, 12:42 PM

Against St. Pats we had 6 teenagers start the game. It was pretty much the same last night, and were still without argueabley our best players in Paddy Kavanagh, Dave Mulcahy, Derek Pender and Colm Tresson. I reckon we have by far the youngest squad in the premier division so they lads still have a lot to learn. I think i've taken great heart in this season is that teams are not turning us over like they have in previous years. In years gone by if we went 1 down in places like Sligo or Cork we would have caved in and concedded 3 or 4. There's a lot of fight and spirit in the team this year. Great credit should be given to Eddie Gormley and his backroom staff for being able to instill that in such a group of young players.

If we can keep them together for a couple of seasons and they keep progressing the way they are then we will be at the right end of the table in years to come.

Rovers Maniac
08/04/2009, 12:43 PM
Where were you last night? You missed a game in The Showgrounds. The Bray subs who were kicking around at half time should have stayed out there as the team didn't come out in the second half. Playing with a gale it was 25 minutes before they mounted an attack. Clueless and the only thing that can/will save Bray from relegation is Drogheda.

We all know your predictions ala Cork to be league Champions last year, Sure we even finished above them :D, Bray fans would not worry to much actually probably means you will be in Europe. :)

sligofan4ever
08/04/2009, 12:50 PM
They didn't beat us last year I think?

Your right, 3 draws in all, 0-0 and 1-1 away. Arguably, our best home peformance came against them last summer, ended 0-0 aswell but anyone who seen it knows that was one we could easily have won 3 or 4 nil if Boco had taken his chances better.

the rock n roll
08/04/2009, 7:07 PM
We need Almeida back for set plays

redobit
09/04/2009, 9:39 AM
Sligo Rovers 0 Bray Wanderers 1: Damn tasty pints in Mooneys, missed the two Rovers goals. Thank funk for MNS.:)

Fine performance, for the first 25 minutes in the second half that is the best spell of football we have played under Cookie. And Brushs save was worth the admission alone.

Redie
10/04/2009, 3:42 PM

At half time most of the crowd were applauding the 2009 Sligo-Leitrim under 12 developoment League Champions - Ballisodare United and believe me in a few years time a few of those lads will be coming off the showgrounds pitch at half time intervals.