Bigone57
04/04/2009, 9:00 PM
Sligo Rovers 1 Dundalk FC 3
Cretaro 77.... Mansaram 38
...................Burns...... 64
...................Turner..... 76
Rovers Maniac
04/04/2009, 9:11 PM
Could not make it and heard no reports so far but not good considering Dundalk only scored in 1 previous match bar this, to be 3-0 down at home is poor actualy it is humilating given who looks after them.
Were we poor or what happened?
sligofan4ever
04/04/2009, 9:16 PM
Could not make it and heard no reports so far but not good considering Dundalk only scored in 1 previous match bar this, to be 3-0 down at home is poor actualy it is humilating given who looks after them.
Were we poor or what happened?
We were the better team up until the first goal. In the second half they just looked like they lost confidence. Cretaro did well to get 1 back but Morrison made an absolute balls of the penalty. Dundalk must have the worst disciplinary record in the league so far, they got about 6 yellow cards (including the keeper).
Inside Man
04/04/2009, 9:43 PM
Disgracefull stuff. No heart. No willingness to win.
I will not be bothering my arse coming up from Dublin to watch that rubbish again until they start looking like they give a rats arse.
Oh, who said we play good brand of football?:confused:
04/04/2009, 10:06 PM
Well last season, more a less everyone in the league said it:confused:
Rovers Maniac
04/04/2009, 10:07 PM
Disgracefull stuff. No heart. No willingness to win.
I will not be bothering my arse coming up from Dublin to watch that rubbish again until they start looking like they give a rats arse.
Oh, who said we play good brand of football?:confused:
Does not take you long to get back to Dublin and posting !!
Rovers fan
04/04/2009, 10:09 PM
Me thinks he is a wum. Seems to have a mysterious friend on the gate who tells him incorrect attendances.
That's a horrible result. Made even worse by who scored for them. Bring on Tuesday. If ever there was a must win game thats it.The trip to the Brandywell was always going to be tough but morale must be at a minimum now.
Black and White
05/04/2009, 1:01 AM
Never mind about our disciplinary records alds, I would be more concerned with the attitude of half your squad, esp that Cretaro yoke, That was an utter disgrace what he did on O'Callaghan tonight, there was absolutly no contact and for him to bloody roll around as if he had being shot and then get staright up all of a sudden and go for O'callagahn and then drop to the ground again until Geogie was booked was a disgrace. Then all of a sudden he gets up and legs it to the box and then he kicks out at O'Callaghan 2 mins later!what the hell, I wouldnt have a CHEAT like that in any team! BTW, ye where awful in the second half.
brianw82
05/04/2009, 9:39 AM
So, we were brutal then?
Black and White
05/04/2009, 10:20 AM
So, we were brutal then?
Yeah ye where! Holmes is awful, your midfield just disappeared in the second half! Victory number 2 over ye this season for Seaosn Connor!both in Sligo!:D
SMorgan
05/04/2009, 10:44 AM
GUSTAVO why did you delete Inside Man's message? Accusations are made against Inside Man, a reply is posted and you deleted it. Why?
Nah Nah Nah Nah
05/04/2009, 12:22 PM
Yeah ye where! Holmes is awful, your midfield just disappeared in the second half! Victory number 2 over ye this season for Seaosn Connor!both in Sligo!:D
Yes Connor is a football genius alright
red arrow
05/04/2009, 12:45 PM
we are all very dissapointed at the moment. we are performing poorly but we the supporters must keep supporting the club as best we can. we all know that a win on tue eve could turn the tide in our favour. after last nights game i tried to see some positives.for me the return of ALMEIDA can be a big plus. look at last nights game the 1st goal was poor defending (although i thought brush was impeded). the second goal came from a very good delivery but nobody chalenged liam burns and the 3th goal as far as i can remenber was loss of posession and in their half and ALMEIDA was struggling to get back because he had turned on his ankle(however he seemed to recover towards the end of the game). we had chances , we missed a penalty
at no time were DUNDALK a better team by 3 goals.our problem at the moment is low on confidence and belief also i think that maybe some of the players lose heart to quickly. this is where paul& gerry need to instil a belief in the players that they are good enough but also should be proud to play for the rovers and want to play.i also feel that we are a bit weak on the physical side but if we can play football (as we did last season) then we can overcome this.probably a lot of people won't agree with me on this one but i thouht we missed VENTRE last night as that type of a physical presence would have suited his game.thats my analysis for what its worth, nobody is more dissapointed than me but i will keep slogging along. we have good people in place at the club. it will turn around . we must keep on their side
as i said tuesday night is of huge importance
Inside Man
05/04/2009, 1:07 PM
GUSTAVO why did you delete Inside Man's message? Accusations are made against Inside Man, a reply is posted and you deleted it. Why?
re posted from 9am this morning. Seems i had to edit it due to someone being a bit touchy, EDITED.
:confused:??Bloody hell i waste a brilliant saterday afternoon to drive up for that rubbish and i get man coming on and questioning me. You have a problem or something? Seriously? Why do you even think i support the rovers. I'd say i have been going to them for much longer than you and have seen it all before. Unlike some of you i can see the road ahead: Relegation, and i said it after seeing our first preformance against Shams.
Me thinks you have issues regarding that post, now i have to get up early and travel back home for work tomorrow after wasting more or less my whole weekend to go to that crap. Can't you understand my frustration?
3 points adrift at the bottom now. As the words of red&whiterover; we need to start getting points thick and fast or we will be in deep trouble.
All of you seem to look on the positives on here and fair play i respect you for that. However when someone comes on here with a different opinion(more realistic maybe) alot of the fans on here get uptight and uncomfortable. I'm just saying this because its my bow out of foot.ie and I'll leave you all in peace as its clear a different/realistic opinion is unwelcome.
Just like to add it becomes a farse when other fans who are in disagreement with you delete your post because they help run the site. Were's the democracy in that?
I'll see you all in the first division next year.
sligofan4ever
05/04/2009, 1:09 PM
we are all very dissapointed at the moment. we are performing poorly but we the supporters must keep supporting the club as best we can. we all know that a win on tue eve could turn the tide in our favour. after last nights game i tried to see some positives.for me the return of ALMEIDA can be a big plus. look at last nights game the 1st goal was poor defending (although i thought brush was impeded). the second goal came from a very good delivery but nobody chalenged liam burns and the 3th goal as far as i can remenber was loss of posession and in their half and ALMEIDA was struggling to get back because he had turned on his ankle(however he seemed to recover towards the end of the game). we had chances , we missed a penalty
at no time were DUNDALK a better team by 3 goals.our problem at the moment is low on confidence and belief also i think that maybe some of the players lose heart to quickly. this is where paul& gerry need to instil a belief in the players that they are good enough but also should be proud to play for the rovers and want to play.i also feel that we are a bit weak on the physical side but if we can play football (as we did last season) then we can overcome this.probably a lot of people won't agree with me on this one but i thouht we missed VENTRE last night as that type of a physical presence would have suited his game.thats my analysis for what its worth, nobody is more dissapointed than me but i will keep slogging along. we have good people in place at the club. it will turn around . we must keep on their side
I tought I was alone in thinking Brush was impeded. I tought it was a bad mistake having Boco start at the back, anytime he was on the ball he broke forward and tried to create chances. As i sad in another thread though, Almeida could make a big diference for us on teusday, with him back our proper defense should start to take shape.
Yes Connor is a football genius alright
What? Where did he state that?? Can't even give your own opinion on the game now...:rolleyes: Wasn't there but anytime I have seen Holmes he has been crap.
celticV3
05/04/2009, 1:34 PM
Never mind about our disciplinary records alds, I would be more concerned with the attitude of half your squad, esp that Cretaro yoke, That was an utter disgrace what he did on O'Callaghan tonight, there was absolutly no contact and for him to bloody roll around as if he had being shot and then get staright up all of a sudden and go for O'callagahn and then drop to the ground again until Geogie was booked was a disgrace. Then all of a sudden he gets up and legs it to the box and then he kicks out at O'Callaghan 2 mins later!what the hell, I wouldnt have a CHEAT like that in any team! BTW, ye where awful in the second half.
What the f**k were you sniffing? Raf is one of the most honest players in the game. That happened right in front of us and O callaghan ran his studs down Raf's leg. What part of that was cheating?
the rock n roll
05/04/2009, 1:36 PM
we were bad
So, we were brutal then?
05/04/2009, 2:25 PM
I tought I was alone in thinking Brush was impeded. I tought it was a bad mistake having Boco start at the back, anytime he was on the ball he broke forward and tried to create chances. As i sad in another thread though, Almeida could make a big diference for us on teusday, with him back our proper defense should start to take shape.
How is that a bad thing? He was one of our best players.
And Almeida is nowhere near full fitness IMO.
sligofan4ever
05/04/2009, 2:34 PM
How is that a bad thing? He was one of our best players.
And Almeida is nowhere near full fitness IMO.
Your missing the point of what i'm saying. I meant we would have a had a better chance of scoring earlier if Boco was up front, he was a handful for defenders going forward.
I agree with most of this. Some serious shift seems to have taken place in that the attitude of the players seems to have changed from last season. That's a serious defeat against a very average side. The confidence is gone and the heads drop as soon as we're in trouble. You hit the point there regarding players needing to be proud to play and wanting to play. This needs to be instilled in the team and the responsibility lies with Paul Cook and Gerry Carr. Of all the teams I've watched this year we seem to be the ones most lacking in this respect, although I haven't seen Drogheda yet. In a league where there is an obvious lack of great talent, qualities such as working hard, team spirit and a never say die attitude count for so much. It's hard to understand how these aspects of our performances have disappeared so quickly.
05/04/2009, 3:19 PM
I wouldnt have a CHEAT like that in any team!
Darren Mansaram ;)
Delighted Mauro put him in his place second half:D. Never saw a more dis-honest player in the LoI.
I would love to say we were beaten by the better team, but we were'nt. Dundalk were muck, but the worrying thing is, they'll get better. O Callagahan wasn't interested, their tactics were very similar to Connors' when he was at the Showgies, hoof the ball to the big man!
As for Rovers, things just aren't going right are they IMO its the belief the players have in themselves that's affecting them. We just need ONE win to get things going. Shouting and screaming abuse at players is ridiculous, no need for it at all. Can't see a big crowd for Tuesday night...but hey, we'll have the craic. :D
forza rovers
05/04/2009, 6:05 PM
bring back foy
05/04/2009, 6:57 PM
Glad to have Mauro back disappointing that we lost the way so badly after playing so well , Three bad goals to concede really from a defensive point of view. Not sure it was a free for their 2nd goal . For all the abuse he received I thought Mansaram played very well for them and we could have done with someone like him on the night , Hopefully we can pick ourselves up now for the game against Bray on Tuesday
sligored
05/04/2009, 7:34 PM
i think anyone that says we were the better team in last nights match is deluding themselves.
Hate to say it but mansaram is the player rovers are missing.
big improvement needed against bray
betty swollox
05/04/2009, 7:48 PM
We were awful last night and in every game this season,
Flashes of adequacy against a poor galway side does not a good team make.
I honestly don't remember the last time i was this depressed after 5 games
but id imagine Tommy Cassidy was in situ and the new stand was still a building site.
Europe and the Setanta offer the hope of a silver lining but unless the
attitude of the players improves its going to be a long season on church hill.
Everyone at the club took a gamble this season by staying full time and this was based on the revenue we hoped to attract from crowds.
However, the sligo public rarely embraces a struggling rovers side, and has never had time for one that appears to lack heart.
Given that the two solitary headings under "income" on the rovers balance sheet are 'gate receipts' and 'begging bowl initiatives',
I really hope Paul Cook can pull this out of the bag.
If not, the writing would appear to be on the wall for both him and the people who took a chance on him.
the rock n roll
05/04/2009, 8:10 PM
we need to beat bray
lifelong rover
05/04/2009, 8:52 PM
That was one of the worst performances i have ever seen, yes cook is overated as a manager. Just look at his singings they are a waste of good money each week. Add to those cash and doherty, ask where are we going
It will be a big test to see if the manager can lift them for the Bray game.
If not the writing will be on the wall,and we can blame whoever allowed cook
back to the club after he took the short break.
05/04/2009, 9:12 PM
Oh, Jaysus, lads, I'm finding it very hard to keep my mouth shut but I said, as the manager asked, that I'd say no more until his nine games are up.
05/04/2009, 9:15 PM
That was one of the worst performances i have ever seen, yes cook is overated as a manager. Just look at his singings they are a waste of good money each week. Add to those cash and doherty, ask where are we going
Owen Morrison,
Mauro Almeida,
Chris Butler,
Rommy.
Richie Ryan.
All top class players who aren't a waste of money.
EDIT: My report is up btw on extratime. Make of it what you like.
lifelong rover
05/04/2009, 9:43 PM
If you think these players are producing the goods and delivering for the wages they are getting ,i just think that they are not producing.
ryan is the only one doing it at the moment.
morrison penalty looked quality .
Black and White
06/04/2009, 9:18 AM
What the f**k were you sniffing? Raf is one of the most honest players in the game. That happened right in front of us and O callaghan ran his studs down Raf's leg. What part of that was cheating?
You seem to be a little confused there as the incident I was looking at happened just inside the Sligo Rovers half in the MIDDLE of the pitch, not right in front of ye. And I would like to point out that I dont sniff anything nor smoke nor do anything dodgy so I was well awake for the game and all its incidents!
Rover'n'out
06/04/2009, 10:08 AM
I was sitting in the stand close to Sean Connor at the match and if there was any doubt about the mentality of the guy, he showed his true colours on the night. There were one or two Rovers supporters who shouted a bit of abuse in his direction in the second half on one or two occasions (to be fair, one in particular was a bit OTT, but when you are opposition at an away ground this is not uncommon). Connor became quite pathetic. He started shouting obscenities back and when Dundalk scored their third he acted like a child in the school yard gesturing in our direction and clapping wildly. Worse was to come when we missed the penalty .... he turned to our side of the stand as if he had scored the winner in a world cup final. What a gobs**te. Even the more muted supporters told the guy to get a grip and cop on. If the guy had any class or an ounce of sense he should grow up. He then continued with animated clapping and hand signals when the teams were walking off. What an assh*le and Dundalk will come to learn that in time too
As far as the game goes, I am afraid it appears we are going to struggle this year. Yes, they were lucky with their goals and are not a great team. I had a very good view of the incident and it should not have been a free kick for their 2nd. Basically we are short up front, and with a wafer thin squad the reshuffle that we experienced on Saturday night will be something we will likely see time and time again in the coming months.
red bellied
06/04/2009, 10:14 AM
What a tosser Connor is. They should of thrown him out for yobbish behaviour.
roversman
06/04/2009, 11:59 AM
the team lost their committment when paul came back it seems they lost all respect and he cant get them to play like they can
i dont blame paul for leaving his only mistake is when he came back the players
werent going to play for him after that
The Midget Gem
06/04/2009, 1:09 PM
Very bad on saterday night. I'm praying for a win against Bray. We had too many poor players in the team on saterday. I can't wait until Butler is back.
Can't help but think Toolin was smart to get out when he did.;)
If you think these players are producing the goods and delivering for the wages they are getting ,i just think that they are not producing.
Too right.
Rovers fan
06/04/2009, 9:43 PM
Hate to say it but mansaram is the player rovers are missing.
Agreed. I absolutely despise him but he was fantastic on saturday,a real handful.
We have conceded first in four out of five games,not a good statistic. Like the pats game,we were decent until they scored but the goal took the wind out of our sails. I'm afraid not enough players stood up to the task when we went behind. Morrison is a quality player but needs to do more. Raf did well to get the goal and the peno and rommy was good at rb too imo.Make or break time against bray.....