View Full Version : Barry Ferguson and Allan McGregor

04/04/2009, 10:43 AM
Surprised there is no thread for this.

Anyway I suppose ye all know that they have been given lifetime bans from playing for Scotland ever again and also in the case of Ferguson he's been stripped of the Scotland and Rangers captaincy and both havae been fined and suspended without wages for 2 weeks!

All this stemming from there all night drinking session after the Holland games which lasted until lunchtime the next day and this lead to them being dropped to the bench and this is where the controversy really started as whenever a camera was on them they stuck up a v-sign which caused thousands of complaints from fans as well as angering SFA officials.

What I found interesting today is that all fans support the decision wholeheartedly!

04/04/2009, 10:52 AM
Height of stupidity IMO. How chilish s doing a v-sign and trying to cover it up, dopes like. Ferguson never a player i liked, the comparisons with roy keane baffled me, hes not even a poor mans roy keane!!!http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0E1nXqUnx9c

brianw82
04/04/2009, 11:07 AM
You could at least (sort of) understand it if they were a bunch of 20-year-olds, but Ferguson is 30, ffs!

celticV3
04/04/2009, 12:44 PM
There has to be more to this. The two of them told they will never play for Scotland again and fined two weeks wages by rangers for doing the V sign and having drinks after hours? There must be something else?

Noelys Guitar
04/04/2009, 1:56 PM
Ferguson Mr Choker himself. Would struggle to get a game in the championship. McGregor(a very good keeper)was obviously following the example of his "captain".

Denis The Red
04/04/2009, 11:13 PM
Pair of langers. The SFA were spot on to punish them as they did because for so called professionals earning thousands a week to behave like that is insulting and disrespectful to the people who love the game and support these particular idiots. They just got hammered by Holland, Scottish fans would have been pretty down as it is about that then they have to hear about these two go about as if they were celebrating???
I have to disagree with celticV3, I think what they did is enough to warrent their punishment.

04/04/2009, 11:17 PM
Height of stupidity IMO. How chilish s doing a v-sign and trying to cover it up, dopes like. Ferguson never a player i liked, the comparisons with roy keane baffled me, hes not even a poor mans roy keane!!!http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0E1nXqUnx9c

Quite possibly the most cringeworthy video ever there...

Denis The Red
04/04/2009, 11:29 PM
Quite possibly the most cringeworthy video ever there...

It's really sad, kinda pathetic.

05/04/2009, 10:32 AM
but they have a slime ball of a manager anyway so the players are bound to be not so tied to "rules"

awec
05/04/2009, 7:40 PM
They've both played their last games for Rangers too.

05/04/2009, 7:41 PM
They've both played their last games for Rangers too.

Maybe.

Ferguson meant to be going to join Advocaat at Zenit St.Petersburg and McGregor is supposed to be off to Newcastle!

awec
05/04/2009, 7:44 PM
Maybe.

Ferguson meant to be going to join Advocaat at Zenit St.Petersburg and McGregor is supposed to be off to Newcastle!
Both are rubbish to be honest.

Not much of a Rangers fan myself, but Barry Ferguson is a shadow of his former self and McGregor will be no great loss either.

reder
05/04/2009, 7:58 PM
Both are rubbish to be honest.

Not much of a Rangers fan myself, but Barry Ferguson is a shadow of his former self and McGregor will be no great loss either.

Im amazed by their actions and the fact that they are getting turfed out of Ibrox.

Ferguson is a shadow of his former self. Still more than good enough to have an impact in the Rangers team and the SPL. I cant see him fitting in too well at Zenit.

05/04/2009, 8:53 PM
Bizarre story. It's amazing that these guys, 2 or 7 or whatever, think it's ok to go on such a binge in between 2 games. It's amazing the management wasn't aware. Surely they'd have had some form of light training organised for that day. It's even more amazing that these 2 can then be so juvenile in front of the cameras.

I always felt Ferguson was a wrong 'un - like Dennis Wise if it wasn't for football he'd probably be in jail. I don't know much about McGregor but he looks a promising keeper.

05/04/2009, 9:42 PM
Apparently Burley had sanctioned a few pints after the Dutch game for the team, just not a 12+ hour session for the two lads!

They got exactly what they deserved and I'd like to commend the SFA for taking such a hard line with them, disgraceful behaviour. Did they think they wouldn't be seen doing that on the bench??

06/04/2009, 12:11 PM
Rangers are cash-strapped so it might suit them to get these two jokers off the payroll. In fairness to Smith he has been very forthright in his dealings with this situation.

DeLorean
06/04/2009, 1:08 PM
Rangers are cash-strapped so it might suit them to get these two jokers off the payroll. In fairness to Smith he has been very forthright in his dealings with this situation.

I think this might be a key point. I can totally understand the Scottish FA imposing the bans they have but I would have expected Rangers to condemn their actions but ultimitely stand by their players. I think it suits them to let them go, if they do.

Wangball
06/04/2009, 2:11 PM

They are probably 2 of Ranger's most saleable assets...McGregor was attracting a lot of interest from Spurs & Newcastle and there's always gonna be a queue of idiots looking to sign Captain Barry

Wangball
06/04/2009, 2:16 PM
I always felt Ferguson was a wrong 'un - like Dennis Wise if it wasn't for football he'd probably be in jail. I don't know much about McGregor but he looks a promising keeper.

McGregor is as much a dirt bag as Ferguson, he's prime tabloid fodder in Scotland, typical loutish stuff like cheating on his Fiancee with quite literally loads of women....Typical Olf Firm Goalkeeper stuff actually!

06/04/2009, 9:20 PM
I'd say Advocaat will definitely be in for Ferguson. Tymoschuk is off to Bayern in the summer.

DaveyCakes
07/04/2009, 12:35 PM
I'd say Advocaat will definitely be in for Ferguson. Tymoschuk is off to Bayern in the summer.

Nope, he's said he's not interested.

Junior
07/04/2009, 2:49 PM
Poor Barry is not allowed to drift to far from Glasgow - His missus gets homesick (Blackburn was a wrench for her) - Partick Thistle perhaps? Injury prone, poor form, 31 years of age......early retirement could be on the cards.

McGregor - Decent keeper, obviously easily led. Newcastle vs Sunderland next year (assuming they are both still in the same division) could see McGregor vs Gordon.....