View Full Version : Noel Hunt's Goal

Pages : 1 [2] 3

02/04/2009, 7:58 PM
Folan headed it on. I think it was initially a long ball from Given (possibly a free kick).a restart after the Italians won an uncontested drop ball due to one of them being injured while we had possession.

They gave the ball to Shay, which is why Shay's kick was about 10 yards outside his box.

02/04/2009, 7:58 PM
The ball was kicked back to Given after the restart following Cannavarro's mystery collapse. Dunno why he was down, probably tackled by a stiff breeze

Den Perry
02/04/2009, 7:59 PM
Bloddy pikey's always trying to nick everything, seriously though its poor form to handle it public the way he did. I think it was more Keanes' goal anyway although it is debatable.

Jesus, I hope Noel Hunt is not going the same way as his brother....ie turning into a public pain in the hole

Den Perry
02/04/2009, 8:04 PM
a restart after the Italians won an uncontested drop ball due to one of them being injured while we had possession.

They gave the ball to Shay, which is why Shay's kick was about 10 yards outside his box.

thanks guys

irishfan86
02/04/2009, 8:04 PM
My opinion is that Noel made contact with the ball, pushing it forward into the path of Robbie who got a better shot away. However, it happened so quickly that Noel probably thought that his initial contact was what sent the ball into the net.

jmurphyc
02/04/2009, 8:07 PM
a restart after the Italians won an uncontested drop ball due to one of them being injured while we had possession.

Ah yeah, I remember that now.

Tis-smeee
02/04/2009, 8:13 PM
This is the best screenshot I can do of the goal, Hunt's leg is nowhere near to the ball, Keane is making clean contact
http://tetsujin1979.googlepages.com/vlcsnap-379029.jpg
You can download the goal in slow motion here: http://tetsujin1979.googlepages.com/RobbieKeaneVSItaly.mpg
It's only a few second long, I'd recommend using the slow motion option in VLC to view it

Could very will be an air shot , I think the that camera shows it cleanest that hunt scores

Den Perry
02/04/2009, 8:39 PM
Jesus, I hope Noel Hunt is not going the same way as his brother....ie turning into a public pain in the hole

Think i may have been a bit harsh on Noel there...just read Emmet Malone's article and he said hewasn't that bothered. In fairness if he thinks its his stike he's entitled to claim it. Was a bit worried when I heard he was on Waterford radio moaning though(if thats true?)

Den Perry
02/04/2009, 8:40 PM
by the way, who is the alleged drunk gambler? Folan?

irishfan86
02/04/2009, 8:44 PM
by the way, who is the alleged drunk gambler? Folan?

Dunphy called Trap a drunken gambler for making the substitutions he did, implying that he was just changing things for the sake of it and hoping for the best.

The Bunk
02/04/2009, 8:47 PM
Impossible to tell. For a while I was convincede it was Hunt's.

However Robbie's run to the sideline claiming the goal was very convincing and if you watch Hunt's immediate reaction it's to chase Keane to congratulate him. If I were Hunt and I was sure it was mine I'd have run in my own direction.

I was always convinced it was Robbies goal. After hearing about Hunt claiming the goal, I watched the goal over and over and it is too hard to tell, there is definitely nothing there to say Hunt got the last touch. I know that if I had scored that I would have gone crazy and ran over to the supporters, not after my captain lol

Den Perry
02/04/2009, 8:54 PM
Dunphy called Trap a drunken gambler for making the substitutions he did, implying that he was just changing things for the sake of it and hoping for the best.

Thanks again Irishfan. I was at the game so didn't hear Dunphy's words of wisdom...

on the subject of Eamo I think his attacks on Trappatoni are disgraceful(I think Dunphy sometimes talks sense). We have just drawn with the World Champions at a very difficult away venue. We are in a very strong position to qualify(even if its in a play-off). People should cast their minds back to when we had that genius Staunton in charge. I wonder how the table would look if he were?

02/04/2009, 8:55 PM
This is the best screenshot I can do of the goal, Hunt's leg is nowhere near to the ball, Keane is making clean contact

You can download the goal in slow motion here: http://tetsujin1979.googlepages.com/RobbieKeaneVSItaly.mpg
It's only a few second long, I'd recommend using the slow motion option in VLC to view it

How do you do slow option VLC? All I could seem to do was pause or slow the speed. I tried it in another player Intervideo WinDVD which has a frame by frame advance, well at least I thought it had, but the frame you posted does not see to be available in Intervideo WinDVD!
I got the latest VLC but it I could not find a slow motoion option.

02/04/2009, 9:05 PM
It seems to me the ball starts to change direction a microsecond before Keane's boot would have made contact.

02/04/2009, 9:22 PM
http://www.independent.ie/breaking-news/sport/soccer/noel-hunt-contacts-fai-to-claim-goal-against-italy-1696696.html

taking it too far now in my opinion - or alternatively lodge an appeal and do it quietly.

Colbert Report
02/04/2009, 9:23 PM
Unreal. What a joke this guy is.

Tis-smeee
02/04/2009, 9:27 PM
Pot Kettle Troll

Den Perry
02/04/2009, 9:51 PM
Pot Kettle Troll

is it just because you are from Waterford that we're not allowed to criticise a hunt? for God's sake he's taking it too far now

Tis-smeee
02/04/2009, 9:54 PM
No but calling the guy a joke and a pikey is just plain silly , saying that it doesnt matter because its a team game is ridiculous , just trying to level the playing field.

02/04/2009, 9:58 PM
How do you do slow option VLC? All I could seem to do was pause or slow the speed. I tried it in another player Intervideo WinDVD which has a frame by frame advance, well at least I thought it had, but the frame you posted does not see to be available in Intervideo WinDVD!
I got the latest VLC but it I could not find a slow motoion option.
yeah, all you can really do is use the slow controls, because of the way VLC is coded, there's no frame advance option for it
Media Player Classic has the option alright, but it's only in one direction only

theworm2345
02/04/2009, 10:19 PM
I've put two replays side by side and slowed them down, perhaps it will help perhaps not, I've thought it was Keane's goal the whole time
http://www.mediafire.com/?mvm2hni2dkj

02/04/2009, 10:26 PM
Unreal. What a joke this guy is.

"Hunt steals Keane's Goal"

"Keane steals Hunt's Goal"

2 ways of looking at it. Personally I couldn't care less who gets the goal officially, but for you to be calling Hunt a joke and a whiny b!tch over this makes you look like a true idiot.

Colbert Report
02/04/2009, 10:36 PM
In fairness, this reminds me of a child on the school playground arguing over who got the last touch on a ball that went in the goal. Who really cares? In my personal opinion, this makes Noel Hunt look like an immature amateur. Just my two cents, that's all. You're all entitled to your own opinions too.

fergalr
02/04/2009, 10:37 PM
The trend on this forum to rush to criticise those who are playing for our country is beyond me. Sad.

Qwerty
02/04/2009, 10:48 PM
It is more of an own goal than Hunt's goal. It's Keane's. Is this an April Fool's joke that didn't get out in time :rolleyes:

theworm2345
02/04/2009, 11:00 PM
If Noel Hunt wanted a goal he should've finished off that corner that went through his legs :o

soccerc
02/04/2009, 11:15 PM
For what it's worth I was just a few yards away and my initial belief it was Hunt or an Italian OG, it happened that fast.

02/04/2009, 11:26 PM
Not to us it doesn't but i think if Hunt feels he was the one who scored and got credited for the goal it would only do his confidence the world of good which of course would be to our benefit.
I'd rather our first choice striker got the confidence tbh and that goal will lift a huge weight off Keane's shoulders with people commenting on his goal drought against the top teams.

and btw, unlike every other county in Ireland, most Dublin people don't tend to care whether our players are from Dublin, Cork or Donegal. :)

02/04/2009, 11:31 PM
I'd rather our first choice striker got the confidence tbh and that goal will lift a huge weight off Keane's shoulders with people commenting on his goal drought against the top teams.

Whatever happens, I hope it is resolved quickly, amicably, and preferably quietly.

craig7042
02/04/2009, 11:44 PM
"Hunt steals Keane's Goal"

"Keane steals Hunt's Goal"

2 ways of looking at it. Personally I couldn't care less who gets the goal officially, but for you to be calling Hunt a joke and a whiny b!tch over this makes you look like a true idiot.

I dont really care either! Mind you...great to see Hunt out there. Really pleased for him. Not long since he was making his debut for Shamrock Rovers and I saw his uncle or father or someone mouthing encouragement to him from behind the goal! Great he had his chance and brilliant when he went for Zambrotta!

Duggie
03/04/2009, 7:55 AM
saw it again this morning and defo looks like robbie got the final touch. his goal for me.

03/04/2009, 8:49 AM
Would say 100% Hunt based on Andy Grays rule of direction of the ball after contact

:rolleyes: I have heard it all now. Who gives a fiddler's flam what that bull headed gombeen thinks. "ANdy Gray's rule of direction". He's an ex-footballer like thousands of others who makes a living attacking referee's on overhyped Sky TV. No more, no less. He makes no rules for anything.

I would say Hunt got the first touch and Robbie the second and hence the reason both claim it.

Duggie
03/04/2009, 9:10 AM
:rolleyes: I have heard it all now. Who gives a fiddler's flam what that bull headed gombeen thinks. "ANdy Gray's rule of direction". He's an ex-footballer like thousands of others who makes a living attacking referee's on overhyped Sky TV. No more, no less. He makes no rules for anything.

I would say Hunt got the first touch and Robbie the second and hence the reason both claim it.

ya thats prob what happened. if robbie says he got a touch then its his goal, end of.

Drumcondra 69er
03/04/2009, 10:12 AM
the ball was actually whipped into the net - it was more than a prod. Keane's shot is more likely to have sent the ball into the net the way it went in. I think its Keane's goal.

Got back last night so have only seen a brief replay on Italain TV at 6.15 yesterday morning (8.15 flight out of Bari, what a nightmare!) but how you describe it is how it looked in the ground, the manner and angle Hunt came onto the ball wouldn't seem to me to have had the required power or angle to put the ball where it went.

Robbie's goal for me and I do think it's a little undignified scrapping over it much as I can understand Hunt wanting to claim it to a small degree.

antrimgreen
03/04/2009, 10:29 AM

and btw, unlike every other county in Ireland, most Dublin people don't tend to care whether our players are from Dublin, Cork or Donegal. :)

Take Antrim out of the equation i couldn't give a monkey's what county they are from as long as they put the green shirt on their back and wear it with pride abnd play with passion. North Men south men commrades all etc etc....

03/04/2009, 10:39 AM
In fairness to Hunt, I think his claim is as much tongue in cheek as anything. He probably believes he has a claim on the goal but to be critising the lads over a random light hearted statement he made on beat fm is a bit harsh.

monutdfc
03/04/2009, 12:11 PM
Got back last night so have only seen a brief replay on Italain TV at 6.15 yesterday morning (8.15 flight out of Bari, what a nightmare!) but how you describe it is how it looked in the ground, the manner and angle Hunt came onto the ball wouldn't seem to me to have had the required power or angle to put the ball where it went.

that's what I thought - when you look at it side-on in real-time it is rightly rifled in; if Hunt got a touch then it was a toe-poke and wouldn't have had the power.
I could be wrong though.

greendeiseboy
03/04/2009, 12:21 PM
would have hoped it was Hunts goal myself being from waterford

but RTE news at one have just shown a replay and it proves beyond doubt that Hunts touch was minimal and that Keane indeed did score it.

Case closed.

ps dont think Hunt has done himself any favours but i suppose it was worth a try if he thought otherwise

Mise Le Mas
03/04/2009, 12:26 PM
:)I have just seen it again on Tv ( i also had thought at first that is was Hunt's goal ) and it's Definitely Robbies goal and the Fai have also confirmed that.

EastTerracer
03/04/2009, 12:47 PM
No doubt at all based on the RTE pictures - clearly Robbie's goal and well deserved for his performance.

It may not have come through as much on TV but sitting in the stand in Bari I thought Robbie played a hugely important role throughout the game when he was moved behind the front two. The goal was fully deserved and thankfully puts an end to the "he never scores against good teams" lie.

zenokelly
03/04/2009, 12:49 PM
Duggie, Razors Left Peg and Rogermilla are all quoted in the Star (Pg 8 I think, only saw it in the barbers) regarding this debate over who scored:ball:

I don't think Robbie would have celebrated the way he did if it wasn't his, but it could be any one of Hunt, Keano and the Italian back. All 3 have claims.

Wolfie
03/04/2009, 12:56 PM
Whatever happens, I hope it is resolved quickly, amicably, and preferably quietly.

That statement is vaguely reminiscent of how those Upper Class scandals were handled in 18th Century England!!

Quite a to-do, eh Lord Osarusan!!!

EastTerracer
03/04/2009, 12:59 PM
but it could be any one of Hunt, Keano and the Italian back. All 3 have claims.

Not any more - based on the latest footage there is only one claim. Fair play to Robbie!

Scram
03/04/2009, 1:15 PM
Not any more - based on the latest footage there is only one claim. Fair play to Robbie!

I think we should have a Poll here.

03/04/2009, 1:24 PM
I don't know any, do you?

Duggie
03/04/2009, 2:13 PM
Duggie, Razors Left Peg and Rogermilla are all quoted in the Star (Pg 8 I think, only saw it in the barbers) regarding this debate over who scored:ball:

I don't think Robbie would have celebrated the way he did if it wasn't his, but it could be any one of Hunt, Keano and the Italian back. All 3 have claims.

ha yah seen that...i got the most ink !!! from now on im top dog round here :D get in robbie

ramblers
03/04/2009, 2:47 PM
It was shown in slow motion on the 13.00 news and it is definetly Robbies goal no question.

Hunt tipped it but robbie blasted it in to the back of the net. It may be on the 6 news this evening on RTE.

Duggie
03/04/2009, 2:49 PM
It was shown in slow motion on the 13.00 news and it is definetly Robbies goal no question.

Hunt tipped it but robbie blasted it in to the back of the net. It may be on the 6 news this evening on RTE.

good must watch out for it but i knew it robbies goal all along from his reaction after. robbie is a true irish legend.

03/04/2009, 3:01 PM

good must watch out for it but i knew it robbies goal all along from his reaction after. robbie is a true irish legend.
Beyond a shadow of a doubt, Gol a Di Rrrobbieee Keane a! Doesn't even look like Hunt got a touch.

Here (http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/0403/1news_av.html?2519865,null,230)
(http://javascript%3Cb%3E%3C/b%3E:showPlayer%28%27/news/2009/0403/1news_av.html?2519864,null,230%27%29)

Drumcondra 69er
03/04/2009, 3:11 PM

You really think he's the most reliable man to ask!

http://www.worldcupblog.org/files/2008/10/graham-poll-with-cards.jpg