View Full Version : Away support in Bari

Pages : 1 [2] 3

04/04/2009, 5:05 PM
Bari was really great but I wouldn't go near the place if there wasn't a match there........sh!thole of the highest order!

04/04/2009, 5:12 PM
Thats a bit harsh rambler. Did you have a run in with people or what. Of course its all opinion but just find that a bit suprising.

04/04/2009, 5:15 PM
Thats a bit harsh rambler. Did you have a run in with people or what. Of course its all opinion but just find that a bit suprising.

Just found it all primitive. There's nothing there as such. Any landmark of note is seperated by the dual carraigeway which meant you couldn't walk there. Shops are limited and no house's they all live in high-rise flats that are next to each other.
The bus ride from the airport I thought I was in Ballymun!

Had no run in as such. I had an argument with a taxi driver who tried to charge me €100 to go from the bus station to my hotel after the match!:mad:

SuperDub
04/04/2009, 5:27 PM
Just home this afternoon. I found Rome and Bari great craic. the italians were really good hosts. We even got to see the world cup in bari city hall. The atmosphere on wednesday was excellent especially at the final whistle.

Regarding issues between the older and younger generations i travel with my father and his mate to all the away games one in his mid seventies the other in his late sixties and they are great travelling partners. While they like to sit at matches the abuse they get from some younger lads when they are asked to sit down is not on. The other issue they have is the younger lads dont know when to stop drinking and the sight of some lads asleep during the game is a joke.

Great trip and it was good to meet up with so many regulars. Role on bulgaria :)

Bottle of Tonic
04/04/2009, 5:30 PM
Thought the old town was lovely myself. Bit of character. Did you try going for any random strolls up by the St Nicholas Cathedral or that? You'd get lost in the narrow windy lanes amongst little shops and bars. Then you have the sea two seconds from the main square, nice scene on a sunny day. The rest of it was a standard enough foreign city. I've been in far worse.

Regarding fellas not knowing about the sending off - it took our group a while to figure it out. I think a lot of people were confused about what was going on.

green army
04/04/2009, 6:28 PM
as has already been said, it was a great trip. glad that the game was in bari and not rome. locals were great hosts. great to see families out mixing with us in the piazzas. bus trip to the ground was one i will never forget. on leaving the ground, italian fans in their cars were clapping along. saw one kid climbing out the car window to take photos of us. thought bari was a nice enough place. liked the walk along the seafront.

mrtndvn
04/04/2009, 7:18 PM
Just found it all primitive. There's nothing there as such. Any landmark of note is seperated by the dual carraigeway which meant you couldn't walk there. Shops are limited and no house's they all live in high-rise flats that are next to each other.
The bus ride from the airport I thought I was in Ballymun!

Had no run in as such. I had an argument with a taxi driver who tried to charge me €100 to go from the bus station to my hotel after the match!:mad:

We got charged €66:10 to use the toll road to get into Bari

04/04/2009, 7:58 PM
As I said to the fella travelling with me............"Old Bari is fantastic but you'd expect they'd improve the new part rather than down grade!"

Crosby87
04/04/2009, 9:52 PM
Regarding fellas not knowing about the sending off - it took our group a while to figure it out. I think a lot of people were confused about what was going on.

Cant you just count them?:p

marty
04/04/2009, 10:16 PM
Thought the trip was fantastic from start to finish althouth I"l plan it a bit better and cheaper next time.The best part was the laid back approach the locals had to us.We actually met up with some Bari "Ultras" before and after the game all they wanted was my Cobh Ramblers jersey and they gladly gave us scarves,free drink and spins back to appartment.Only down side to them is they fought with the police before the game and they insisted they were only there th support Bari and actually despised Lippi for obvious reasons.

05/04/2009, 12:35 AM
As I said to the fella travelling with me............"Old Bari is fantastic but you'd expect they'd improve the new part rather than down grade!"

Jesus they have to live in it. I think its more to do with the fact that the south of Italy is not that rich, did you not study leaving cert Geography.

Rovers Maniac
05/04/2009, 1:18 AM
Superb trip, really top. For me the locals and the effort they made for us made it for me. Top notch could not do enough for you. Never seen any messing of any sort at all. As for Bari would go back again even if they're was no match as i just thought the locals were so nice. They clearly love their city and are rightly very proud of it and were excellent ambassadors for it.

Claret Murph
05/04/2009, 8:45 AM
Well that was some ride for the 17 hours that we were in Bari .
Easy train journey down from Rome and got in at 12 noon then headed down to the old town . Now from what I could make of it they had two squares , one in the middle of the old town and the other near the sea front . We were in the one in the middle beers at 1.50 ( the bill said 2 each when we came to pay ) but great fun . I must say in all of my life I have never seen a Shot of Vodka as big as the wife was severd I would say it was between 125mm and 175 mm no ice just 3 quarters full . Poor kid had to buy 3 cokes to one glass of vodka and after 3 of them she was twisted .
Again a bit like Italia 90 where the Italians wanted to swap everything that you were wore . Never managed to to meet anyone form here which was a suprise thou . I would say the hardest part was waiting for the 5.30am train back to Rome after the game . Now if any of you were in the waiting room we clocked 4 very shady dudes who were waiting to make threr move , the police must have known them as they were they were took outside and we never saw them again .
But all in all a very good trip and ended up eating some fantastic grub in Rome and cheap also which was a great surprise .:):ball::)

05/04/2009, 10:09 AM
Thought the trip was fantastic from start to finish althouth I"l plan it a bit better and cheaper next time.The best part was the laid back approach the locals had to us.We actually met up with some Bari "Ultras" before and after the game all they wanted was my Cobh Ramblers jersey and they gladly gave us scarves,free drink and spins back to appartment.Only down side to them is they fought with the police before the game and they insisted they were only there th support Bari and actually despised Lippi for obvious reasons.

The only downside of the couple of days was that lunatic with the bari ultras on the tues night that came up to one of the Irish lads outside one of the pubs in the square and pressed a knife against him. Totally unprovoked and no reason for it as far as i could see, but a scary moment nonetheless. Once the lunatic realised that none of the irish fans were there for a fight he backed off.

And as for Alitalia, dont get me started, never ever flying with that shower of amateurs again. Changed our flights without telling us, dublin contact phone number doesnt exist and then were over two hours late with our flight home so missed our connecting flight from london and thats only the very start of it.

RedBobby
05/04/2009, 12:20 PM
The only downside of the couple of days was that lunatic with the bari ultras on the tues night that came up to one of the Irish lads outside one of the pubs in the square and pressed a knife against him. Totally unprovoked and no reason for it as far as i could see, but a scary moment nonetheless. Once the lunatic realised that none of the irish fans were there for a fight he backed off.

I went back down to the square at 4am on wednesday night, found my mate tommy talking to the ultra's capo, and his mate, while we were talking some young Irish supporter, fell over, totally drunk, and two dodgy looking Bari young lads were circling the lad on the ground (had a bit too many) and the Ultra's spotted this, ran over and told the other 2 Bari youngsters to **** off, which they did.
All credit to the Ultra's they enjoyed our company, and we enjoyed theirs, got a bit out of hand on the Tuesday night, with the Bari chanting, and the flares, but all good fun in the end.
I'd heard of a guy getting lured down a lane-way with the promise of beer for a euro, but as soon as he saw 10 people at the end of the lane, he ****ed off.
Always, always stay together in foreign places.

Crosby87
05/04/2009, 1:16 PM
I went back down to the square at 4am on wednesday night, found my mate tommy talking to the ultra's capo, and his mate, while we were talking some young Irish supporter, fell over, totally drunk, and two dodgy looking Bari young lads were circling the lad on the ground

Wait, maybe they were going to break out in dance. Like West Side Story. Cant believe they still perpetuate crime. Was Tony Soprano there? Or Jimmy from Goodfellas?

05/04/2009, 1:19 PM
Wait, maybe they were going to break out in dance. Like West Side Story. Cant believe they still perpetuate crime. Was Tony Soprano there? Or Jimmy from Goodfellas?

Speaking of Goodfellas there was a fella going around the place saying "Go fcuk your mother!" over and over again.:D

soccerc
05/04/2009, 3:29 PM
http://photos4.pix.ie/9D/01/9D017B4A0376452FAB043F1B4058599C-800.jpg

AidoP
05/04/2009, 3:44 PM
Hey did anybody happen to record the stuff that was on Sky Sports News or RTE that was shown from the square in Bari on the day of the match as that would be good to see? The bus journey to and from the stadium was brilliant. It was a quality trip with a great result even though we were a bit disappointed after the match that we didnt win the game in the end up. Typical Irish, eh? :)

Beavis
05/04/2009, 8:28 PM

That head Ultras bloke was a fcukin asrehole but the only I met during the week.

05/04/2009, 8:40 PM

My mate is in this pic and its a priceless pic of him. I live it. Fair play soccerc.

Cowboy
06/04/2009, 8:19 AM
Yep got caught for 221 STG when I missed the aer lingus flight in Heathrow because of the un announced re schedule.

And as for Alitalia, dont get me started, never ever flying with that shower of amateurs again. Changed our flights without telling us, dublin contact phone number doesnt exist and then were over two hours late with our flight home so missed our connecting flight from london and thats only the very start of it.

06/04/2009, 8:44 AM
Aye ye ******, ignored me!

Ah balls, apologies for that. I was in a daze from the travelling.
If its any consolation, I also ignored soccerc appartently :o

06/04/2009, 10:18 AM
Definitely up there with the best trips ever.We were in Temple Bar on saturday paying €6.60 for a bucket of **** and on Sunday we were getting Perioni Superiore 6.6% for €3 with the ordionary Peroni for €1 and some people complain about getting ripped off.

Locals were the best ever and all mad into football with no hassle whatsover.Best story was 3 of us got waylaid at 4.30am on Monday Morning and a baker gave 3 of us a lift back to our hotels in his van which 2 of us were in the dark lying flat because of the trays in it.

We raised over €2,000 euro in the charity game but nothing could repay the kindness of Marco,his staff & customers.I will go back to Bari thats one thing for sure.

06/04/2009, 10:40 AM
Definitely up there with the best trips ever.We were in Temple Bar on saturday paying €6.60 for a bucket of **** and on Sunday we were getting Perioni Superiore 6.6% for €3 with the ordionary Peroni for €1 and some people complain about getting ripped off.

Locals were the best ever and all mad into football with no hassle whatsover.Best story was 3 of us got waylaid at 4.30am on Monday Morning and a baker gave 3 of us a lift back to our hotels in his van which 2 of us were in the dark lying flat because of the trays in it.

We raised over €2,000 euro in the charity game but nothing could repay the kindness of Marco,his staff & customers.I will go back to Bari thats one thing for sure.

What were you drinking in Temple Bar for ha ha !!

DeLorean
06/04/2009, 11:03 AM
Myself and my buddy ended up missing the first half hour cos our other mate disappeared drunk with all the tickets. They wouldn't take money at the gate for love nor money but eventually opened the gate to a bunch of gypsy kids waiting outside. We ran in with them and took our place amongst the locals finding a spot at the front of the upper tier. We weren't waring green thankfully but some of the kids heard us talking and spread the word that we were Irish. We got a couple of flare banger things thrown in our direction. We were a fair distance from the Irish supporters and didn't hear much noise from them. The Italian fans I thought were superb and didn't stop for 90mins. The Irish support came into it's own maybe about 10mins before our goal but before that we thought that they were very quite, probably just drowned out by the Italian fans around us and the distance we were away from them as well as the running track around the pitch.

06/04/2009, 11:53 AM
We were a fair distance from the Irish supporters and didn't hear much noise from them. The Italian fans I thought were superb and didn't stop for 90mins. The Irish support came into it's own maybe about 10mins before our goal but before that we thought that they were very quite, probably just drowned out by the Italian fans around us and the distance we were away from them as well as the running track around the pitch.

always hard for about 3,500 Irish to be heard over the much larger home support but i have watched the match since and can clearly hear us throughout the game. was one of the better away Irish supports I have been in for years

06/04/2009, 12:22 PM
Bari was really great but I wouldn't go near the place if there wasn't a match there........sh!thole of the highest order!
Have you ever looked around Cobh?

Only thing that really annoyed me on the night was the Ole Ole with twenty minutes to go. We're losing, and the Oles start? WTF?

Great atmosphere though. Started off slow, but built up as the game went on. Shame we couldn't have won it, but I'd have taken a draw at the outset.

DeLorean
06/04/2009, 12:32 PM
always hard for about 3,500 Irish to be heard over the much larger home support but i have watched the match since and can clearly hear us throughout the game. was one of the better away Irish supports I have been in for years

I'm sure you're right. Must watch it again myself, especially the first half hr!!! we didn't even know the Italians were down to 10 men so we thought it was a mighty result altogether.

06/04/2009, 12:39 PM
I think the old town was lovely and I would certainly go back to that part of Bari again but it's the run down outskirts of the town that i'm on about.

As for the support. I thought it was fantastic, it's hard to out-sing 50,000 Italians but by christ we tried! If only Croke Park was like that!

06/04/2009, 12:49 PM
it's hard to out-sing 50,000 Italians
La Gazetta had the crowd as 41000 overall.

06/04/2009, 1:13 PM
La Gazetta had the crowd as 41000 overall.

the italian end looked full to me but our end of approx 9,000 only had about 3,500 in it so id say the crowd was closer to 50,000

irish tricky
06/04/2009, 1:36 PM
Brilliant away trip, the best i have ever been on!!!

Just about recovered!!!

06/04/2009, 1:39 PM
the italian end looked full to me but our end of approx 9,000 only had about 3,500 in it so id say the crowd was closer to 50,000
Thought it sounded a bit low alright if capacity's 58000, but just noting what it said. I'm sure they must have some basis for that (round sum) figure.

06/04/2009, 1:46 PM
Thought it sounded a bit low alright if capacity's 58000, but just noting what it said. I'm sure they must have some basis for that (round sum) figure.

and it was reported in the bari papers on tuesday that the match was a sell out (except obviously the Irish section i presume)

galah
06/04/2009, 5:32 PM
definatley one of the better away trips ..thought atmosphere was class throughout but when we scored and for 20 mins after game it was mad alright! dont remember italians being too loud to be honest?!
locals good except for incident with guy pullin knife on irish guy who was then pulled away by his itlaian friends. liek superstars over there with everyone wanting a pic with ya!

06/04/2009, 8:11 PM
and it was reported in the bari papers on tuesday that the match was a sell out (except obviously the Irish section i presume)

I was in the one of the Bari outlets on Wednesday morning circa 11am and they were still selling away at tickets. Tickets weren't selling that great as there was an article in La Repubblica at free tickets for kids due to the Lippi/Cassano effect.

06/04/2009, 9:15 PM
Any pictures available from among the Irish support there?Have a few alright, I'll stick them up somewhere tomorrow. Some good ones from the square. :D

http://photos4.pix.ie/9D/01/9D017B4A0376452FAB043F1B4058599C-800.jpgThe face on your man at the front who's obviously just got something spilled on him is class.

I just hope it wasn't the bottle of beer that I somehow got in. :eek:

06/04/2009, 10:11 PM
Yeah thats my mate Classic pic. To be fair I think his face is full of Joy for Keanes goal as I dont think he gave a ****e that he got beer on him. I am just to the right of that picture. Come on Soccerc any other ones near there ha ha !!1

awaythelads
06/04/2009, 10:24 PM
Some more pics of the game on www.awaythelads.com/italy (http://www.awaythelads.com/italy).

I still haven't recovered yet!

soccerc
06/04/2009, 10:32 PM
Some more pics of the game on www.awaythelads.com/italy (http://www.awaythelads.com/italy).

I still haven't recovered yet!

Love the one of Paddy Allen and the two full cases of Corona. When I met him there were very few left and he was worried about the cardborad getting wet in the rain!

soccerc
06/04/2009, 10:46 PM
Yeah thats my mate Classic pic. To be fair I think his face is full of Joy for Keanes goal as I dont think he gave a ****e that he got beer on him. I am just to the right of that picture. Come on Soccerc any other ones near there ha ha !!1

Full sequence is now uploaded

http://pix.ie/soccerc/album/339827
(http://pix.ie/soccerc/album/339827)

awaythelads
06/04/2009, 10:50 PM
Love the one of Paddy Allen and the two full cases of Corona. When I met him there were very few left and he was worried about the cardborad getting wet in the rain!

I relieved him of his last bottle ... despite me swearing that I couldn't drink after waaay too many beers/gins/rums/wine/other strange drinks the previous night!

You got some decent pics - you must have been sober!

soccerc
06/04/2009, 10:54 PM
I relieved him of his last bottle ... despite me swearing that I couldn't drink after waaay too many beers/gins/rums/wine/other strange drinks the previous night!

You got some decent pics - you must have been sober!

Very sober, one bottle of beer that Tuff Paddy bought me about 3pm

06/04/2009, 11:21 PM
How did they not cop this:
http://pix.ie/soccerc/918760/size/800

rfkimble
07/04/2009, 2:23 AM
any 1 know where i can get a copy of the game on rte, the palm tree still has me in stitches, the boy carrying it musta been wrecked

rfkimble
07/04/2009, 2:39 AM
found it on the other thread, thanks

EastTerracer
07/04/2009, 11:38 AM
the palm tree still has me in stitches, the boy carrying it musta been wrecked

I'm sure he just wanted to bring it back home for mass on Palm Sunday

CaroG
07/04/2009, 4:48 PM

Brilliant picture! I've looked at the other ones in the sequence aswell and I seem to be in a few of them just gone mad! I'm the only girl in the one above. It really captures the moment we scored.

soccerc
07/04/2009, 4:57 PM
Brilliant picture! I've looked at the other ones in the sequence aswell and I seem to be in a few of them just gone mad! I'm the only girl in the one above. It really captures the moment we scored.
Quality 12*8 or 12*10 prints available, matt or gloss :D