View Full Version : Eamon Dunphy at the European Championships

Straightstory
01/04/2009, 11:16 PM
Eamon Dunphy claimed on the panel after the game that he'd been at a game at the 1988 European Championships Finals where Ireland drew with Holland. I thought he may have been thinking about the 1-1 draw with Holland at the 1990 World Cup, but as neither Bill O'Herlihy, John Giles or Ronnie Whelan (who played in the 1988 European Championships) contradicted him, I presume Eamon was right. Anyone else remember this game besides Eamon, Ronnie, John and the programme's producer and production team? (who presumably would have corrected this mistake). Maybe we went on to win the tournament. Anybody know?

papa-j
01/04/2009, 11:36 PM
Eamon Dunphy claimed on the panel after the game that he'd been at a game at the 1988 European Championships Finals where Ireland drew with Holland. I thought he may have been thinking about the 1-1 draw with Holland at the 1990 World Cup, but as neither Bill O'Herlihy, John Giles or Ronnie Whelan (who played in the 1988 European Championships) contradicted him, I presume Eamon was right. Anyone else remember this game besides Eamon, Ronnie, John and the programme's producer and production team? (who presumably would have corrected this mistake). Maybe we went on to win the tournament. Anybody know?

And Bill waved Giles protests away, saying it was definately 1988 you senile cnut. Do you not remember Bonners great save from that Wim Kieft spinning header that put us through to the semis. Then Quinn scored a late winner against the same opponents after the keeper spilled a flick on to reach the final where Ronnie convinced himself that he shinned a volley from 35 yards against the russians to lift the title. What a summer it was 1988 says Bill, great days says Eamonn I also loved Jack Charlton while gilesy just shakes his head in confusion. Bunch of muppets the lot of them but bloody entertaining

01/04/2009, 11:51 PM
Loved the comment read out by Bill at full time "Eamon Dunphy is a disgrace with his comments" :D
Mike Kinnane from Roscommon, you absolute legend!

fergalr
Geriatrics the lot of them. Time to retire that tired panel. Gilesy was not even able to distinguish between Whelan and Andrews.

Uncle_Joe
Listened to the post match dribble in a pub in london and the whole pub laughed at everything Dunphy said. The guy goes beyond being annoying. I was only a young lad during Italia '90 and didnt really get why my dad and uncles hated him but I get it now.

For the first time since i can remember an Ireland manager made some tactical substitutions that actually made a differance and he calls it gambling!!!:mad:

fair play eamonn, enjoy seniliity :p

Duggie
02/04/2009, 8:57 AM
dunphy is a joke now, couldnt even aknowledge the performance. he shouldnt even be talked about. did u hear him on about the subs been a gamble...WTF. tosser. this is the guy who would have died if we didnt get trap a year ago.

antrimgreen
02/04/2009, 9:17 AM
He was no great player himself i am lead to believe? Anyone?

02/04/2009, 9:24 AM
He was no great player himself i am lead to believe? Anyone?

He openly admits that he was no more than a journeyman.

Closed Account 2
02/04/2009, 9:27 AM
Seemed a bit ironic Dunphy calling someone "a drunk at the casino throwing all his chips on the table".

Duggie
02/04/2009, 9:31 AM
i like giles thought he was on about the quinn/keane goal in 2002 v germany. what had last nights goal got to do with quinns goal against holland in 90?? apart from a long goal kick.......

please go away ronnie whelan from the panel, so negative all the time. brutal he is. i miss liam.

02/04/2009, 9:50 AM
Sigh. The Panel is a one trick poney. It's been the same for 20 years or more.

Dunphy exaggerates the strength of the Irish team and uses this to castigate the incumbent Irish manager be he Jack, Mick, Brian, Stan (fair enough) or Giovanni.

Although it is 13 years since Jack departed the scene, Dunphy and O'Herlihy still makes jibes against him. Dunphy: "Trappatoni doesn't let his team play". Laughing Bill: "A bit like Charlton. We'll take a break now".

Start of programme Dunphy shows clips of how good the Italians are. End of game. "Italians are hopless Bill. Worst Italian team ever". Ignoring the fact that they are the current World Champions.

All 3 just about agree on every point as usual. Remember these are the muppets who wanted Paul Jewell for the job. Sacked by Sheffield Wednesday. Recently sacked by Derby as the club headed towards relegation. Currently not in a job.

I could tear my hair out. They like to rain on every parade but they have made a very good living out of it.

smasher
02/04/2009, 9:53 AM
i like giles thought he was on about the quinn/keane goal in 2002 v germany. what had last nights goal got to do with quinns goal against holland in 90?? apart from a long goal kick.......

please go away ronnie whelan from the panel, so negative all the time. brutal he is. i miss liam.
Ronnie is only a yes man for the other two, brutal! As I stated on another thread, Dunphy is merely a rabble rouser and consistently contradicts himself.
Anyone who quotes him in defence of an argument is sadly deficient and cannot be taken seriously.

02/04/2009, 10:14 AM
RTE sport is analysed in a similar vein. There is usually a controversial clown with a coupld of straightmen. Dunphy has Giles and Whelan. Hook has Pope and O’Sea and Spillane has a host of them.

RogerMilla
02/04/2009, 10:23 AM
Geriatrics the lot of them. Time to retire that tired panel. Gilesy was not even able to distinguish between Whelan and Andrews.

gilesy is actually the only one i would keep but he is seriously dotty...

I was only a young lad during Italia '90 and didnt really get why my dad and uncles hated him but I get it now.

For the first time since i can remember an Ireland manager made some tactical substitutions that actually made a differance and he calls it gambling!!!:mad:

shocking alright , trap did exactly the right thing in the situation , every manager can make a bad call but not every one can rectify his own mistakes

he is ruining my fond memories of him...

Start of programme Dunphy shows clips of how good the Italians are. End of game. "Italians are hopless Bill. Worst Italian team ever". Ignoring the fact that they are the current World Champions.

king of the volte-face , see him after ireland drew with holland in italia 90 and every time we have done well since

Ronnie is only a yes man for the other two, brutal! As I stated on another thread, Dunphy is merely a rabble rouser and consistently contradicts himself.
Anyone who quotes him in defence of an argument is sadly deficient and cannot be taken seriously.

ronnie whelan hasnt an original thought in his head , nodding dog.
the panel really ruined what should have been a celebration last night and i am delighted to come on here this morning and see it wasnt just me who thought that

02/04/2009, 12:41 PM
I thought pre-match analysis was interesting. I thought Dunphy's post-match assessment of Trap was churlish beyond belief. I thought Trap made brave and correct decisions early. You can clearly criticise the starting XI but credit where it's due for reacting to the game's circumstances.

02/04/2009, 12:43 PM
Although it is 13 years since Jack departed the scene, Dunphy and O'Herlihy still makes jibes against him. Dunphy: "Trappatoni doesn't let his team play". Laughing Bill: "A bit like Charlton. We'll take a break now".In fairness Dunphy said that Ireland under Trap defend deep but Ireland under Jack defended up the pitch - "we were the best team in the world without the ball". I think he went on to say we were the best team in the world full stop at one stgae though!

02/04/2009, 2:48 PM
Yes, it is the usual stuff about us being the best in the world and would have won Euro 88 and the World Cup twice except for Jack.

As a matter of interest let's compare the English team (which did badly by the way) that we beat in Euro 88 with our "world beaters". I have highlighted the players whom I think were better:

ENGLAND: Shilton (Derby); Stevens (Everton). Wright (Derby), Adams (Arsenal) Sansom (Arsenal), Webb (Notts Forest), Robson (Manchester Utd), Waddle (Tottenham), Beardsley (Liverpool), Lineker (Barcelona), Barnes (Liverpool).

REPUBLIC OF IRELAND: Bonner (Celtic), Morris (Celtic), McCarthy (Celtic), Moran (Manchester Utd), Hughton (Tottenham), Houghton (Liverpool), McGrath (Manchester Utd), Whelan (Liverpool), Galvin (Sheffield Wed), Aldridge (Liverpool), Stapleton (Derby)

Our bias aside, England had the better side on paper (Frank S was nearing the end of his illustrious career). Some debatable (e.g. Moran vs Adams) but I think subjectively I am correct.

No matter how often Dunphy and Laughing Bill say it, we had a good team but it was not a world beating team. The Dutch were a class ahead of every other team in that tournament but if you repeat things often enough, some muppets will believe it.

Wangball
02/04/2009, 3:14 PM
Our bias aside, England had the better side on paper (Frank S was nearing the end of his illustrious career). Some debatable (e.g. Moran vs Adams) but I think subjectively I am correct

If they were better than us than surely they would of beat us? No??

The point being made was that whilst other teams may of had better individual players than us we've always had a more cohesive and better team which often translated into results, Ireland teams under Jack seemed to be completely free of ego and pomp meaning the players played for each other and the jersey - I think that to a degree Trap has began to instill this in the players again - I don't think England have ever been able to make a claim like this about their side.

Reality Bites
02/04/2009, 4:03 PM
Dunphys rant last night and yes I know before its pointed out, is in a large measure self promotion. I was annoyed too say the least at Dunphys post match Ludicrous diatribe..I am a huge fan of constructive criticism but after what I felt was the finest performance by an Irish team away from home in years and some very effective tactical subs I wanted to bask in the glory of it for some time afterwards but instead we got Dunphys parallel view of the universe.. I have to say I am disappointed in Whelan and not surprised by Giles inability to argue Dunphy down..Sometimes I think Dunphy can be great TV but last night he was a complete Loser..

Morbo
02/04/2009, 5:15 PM
In fairness Dunphy said that Ireland under Trap defend deep but Ireland under Jack defended up the pitch - "we were the best team in the world without the ball". I think he went on to say we were the best team in the world full stop at one stgae though!
I think he said "we had perhaps the best squad in the world, certainly the best in europe anyway" slight exaggeration alright, were good but not that good Eamo. Hilarious Dunphy calling Trap a drunken gambler throwing chips around at a casino, a bit disapointed Bill or Giles didn't quip "You'd know all about that wouldn't you Eamon".

DotTV
02/04/2009, 5:18 PM
Yes, it is the usual stuff about us being the best in the world and would have won Euro 88 and the World Cup twice except for Jack.

As a matter of interest let's compare the English team (which did badly by the way) that we beat in Euro 88 with our "world beaters". I have highlighted the players whom I think were better:

ENGLAND: Shilton (Derby); Stevens (Everton). Wright (Derby), Adams (Arsenal) Sansom (Arsenal), Webb (Notts Forest), Robson (Manchester Utd), Waddle (Tottenham), Beardsley (Liverpool), Lineker (Barcelona), Barnes (Liverpool).

REPUBLIC OF IRELAND: Bonner (Celtic), Morris (Celtic), McCarthy (Celtic), Moran (Manchester Utd), Hughton (Tottenham), Houghton (Liverpool), McGrath (Manchester Utd), Whelan (Liverpool), Galvin (Sheffield Wed), Aldridge (Liverpool), Stapleton (Derby)

Our bias aside, England had the better side on paper (Frank S was nearing the end of his illustrious career). Some debatable (e.g. Moran vs Adams) but I think subjectively I am correct.

No matter how often Dunphy and Laughing Bill say it, we had a good team but it was not a world beating team. The Dutch were a class ahead of every other team in that tournament but if you repeat things often enough, some muppets will believe it.

Adams better than Kevin Moran!! Blasphemy!

Couldn't believe Dunphy's crap after the game. Questioning all the subs! They all worked for chrissakes. Calling him a drunk at a casino! What a tool. Gilesy doesn't put him in check as much as he used to. I think he's eased off after they kissed and made up after Saipan. You gotta love Bill though! Always optimistic

02/04/2009, 6:43 PM
Loved the comment read out by Bill at full time "Eamon Dunphy is a disgrace with his comments" :D

thats roscommon people for ye tets ;)

The fella that won the prize was also from Roscommon.

craig7042
03/04/2009, 12:40 AM

I enjoyed hearing the comment too.

By the way I dont find them entertaining on RTE. I find them depressing because they just want the manager out...end of... thats always been the agenda. Everything is said with that agenda in mind..

craig7042
03/04/2009, 12:42 AM
Adams better than Kevin Moran!! Blasphemy!

Couldn't believe Dunphy's crap after the game. Questioning all the subs! They all worked for chrissakes. Calling him a drunk at a casino! What a tool. Gilesy doesn't put him in check as much as he used to. I think he's eased off after they kissed and made up after Saipan. You gotta love Bill though! Always optimistic

Bill is acting more like a sheep these days though...do you not think? They've all basically fallen into line with Dunphy in the past year or two. They pretend to disagree, but the whole agenda is set by him. Its really wrong imo

DotTV
03/04/2009, 2:24 AM
Bill is acting more like a sheep these days though...do you not think? They've all basically fallen into line with Dunphy in the past year or two. They pretend to disagree, but the whole agenda is set by him. Its really wrong imo

You're right man. He controlled the whole agenda. Hounding Giles and Whelan over whether Trap has ever seen Hunt play! What a load of balls! I'm exiled in Canada and was over the moon to find the rte coverage online but the s hite talk afterwards nearly took the gloss off the game...and meant the missus had to listen to me rant even more than usual!

seanfhear
04/04/2009, 11:22 AM
You're right man. He controlled the whole agenda. Hounding Giles and Whelan over whether Trap has ever seen Hunt play! What a load of balls! I'm exiled in Canada and was over the moon to find the rte coverage online but the s hite talk afterwards nearly took the gloss off the game...and meant the missus had to listen to me rant even more than usual!
Where online did you find the rte coverage please and was this the entire match and analysis live ?

stiffler
04/04/2009, 11:52 AM
I bet ya he reads this site!

04/04/2009, 12:20 PM
Do you honestly think that people post in this forum so that someone like Dunphy can take on board their criticisms. They are expressing their views just like Dunphy is.

FahyForever
04/04/2009, 2:06 PM
I particularly enjoy his perceptive assessments on players... Platini: 'A good player, not a great player', Gerrard: 'A nothing player'. and Ronaldo 'A Donkey'.

All coming from a donkey who was a nothing player!

04/04/2009, 3:39 PM
Where online did you find the rte coverage please and was this the entire match and analysis live ?
I uploaded it to megaupload.com, details here
http://foot.ie/forums/showpost.php?p=1136410&postcount=94
Enjoy

Any problems just PM me

05/04/2009, 2:12 PM
I bet ya he reads this site!
I've no doubt he does.

05/04/2009, 2:31 PM
He got his list of arguments against Venables' appointment straight from this site.

06/04/2009, 4:52 PM
To be more precise,
straight from your post way back before Stan?

irishultra
06/04/2009, 5:25 PM
before the world cup he said messi wasnt up to much.

he appears to absolutely idolise wayne rooney, and now fernando torres(probably because hes done well in the super english premiership)

he makes cringeworthy statements like ireland has better players than inter and always completely over analysis english club matches in CL..

they are a poor panel imo...i actually dont mind them when they are are analysing non english clubs and ireland matches..heres hoping for a spanish german final(not gonna happen i know)

06/04/2009, 7:02 PM
To be more precise,
straight from your post way back before Stan?D69er I think put forward something very similar too.

06/04/2009, 7:06 PM
"Nah Bill. He switched the full back and centre back when it was obvious it wasn't working. He then made a gamble by bringing on an untried forward for his competitive debut. Luckily for him it worked but it was simply the last throw of the dice by a drunk at the casino".

Dunphy on Ferguson's successful substitutions at Old Trafford yesterday?

Irish_Praha
19/04/2009, 9:10 AM
I listened to about 5 mins of the Chelsea-Arsenal game on BBC Radio 5 live in my car yesterday and Dunphy was mentioned in the commentary. Alan Green took the p!ss out of him for saying he didn't enjoy the recent 4-4 between Chelsea and Liverpool because there were too many mistakes in the game.
Anyone know why they are interested in what Dunphy has to say on BBC radio? I just found it unusual. Is it because Green if from NI, writes for a few Irish papers and would have been exposed to some of Dunphy's sh!te or had someone called into 606 and taken the p!ss and highlighted how "entertaining" some of his comments can be? Or is there another story behind this?

Claret Murph
19/04/2009, 10:16 AM
All I can say I am soooooooooooooooooooooo glad I go to the international games so that I don't have to listen Dunphy before , during and after the match .

Also I never watch the preimership ( or whatever it's called these days ) MOTD for me but the only time I watch RTE is the Champions League on the Wednesday night and only swich on at kick off time and again at the start of the second half . SORTED ......

19/04/2009, 11:25 AM
Anyone know why they are interested in what Dunphy has to say on BBC radio? I just found it unusual.
Who knows if anybody apart from Greene was interested in what Dunphy had to say.

Is it because Green if from NI, writes for a few Irish papers and would have been exposed to some of Dunphy's sh!te or had someone called into 606 and taken the p!ss and highlighted how "entertaining" some of his comments can be? Or is there another story behind this?
Who knows why Greene felt the need to quote/paraphrase Dunphy on the BBC, do people need a reason?:)
Maybe Greene had a point to make about excitement having a big enough part in a game's entertainment value and Dunphy was his donkey.

I have to admit to double standards though, that when the hooha about the Alf Ingi "tackle" broke out after the publishing of excerpts from Keane's book in the English papers, I enjoyed the Dunphy interviews on the BBC in defense of Keane, doing the equivalent of the Keane tackle on the English hacks/interviewers.

19/04/2009, 11:57 AM
Barry Glendenning's and had mentioned it on the Guardians Football Weekly Podcast

19/04/2009, 5:23 PM
I heard Green's comments myself. He's almost as annoying as Dunphy anyway.. Although at least he supports his local team, well he's meant to support Linfield, although I've never actually heard him mention them.

19/04/2009, 7:30 PM
I thought he supported England.

19/04/2009, 8:13 PM
Dunphy also namechecked in the observer today by their big signing Paul Hayward.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/blog/2009/apr/19/champions-league-chelsea-liverpool-goals-premier-league

The RTE panel are often applauded by the written media over here for their forthright opinions and debates (Dunphy in particular) and yes at times it makes them a million times more interesting than Redknapp/Lawro/Shearer and co but Dunphy's like the ranter at your local or workplace who is entertaining because he spouts a lot of **** and not because he talks a lot of sense.

Irish_Praha
19/04/2009, 9:14 PM
I thought he supported England.

He's just in denial that his fater was an itinerant from Limerick. :D

Well that's accoring to his wiki page anyway.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alan_Green_(broadcaster))

Alan Green (born 25 June 1952 in Belfast, Northern Ireland), who never knew his father, an itinerant tinker from Limirck who Green's mother met once while taking her turn "in the barrel" at the local inn, The Flange and Ferret, is a BBC Radio sports broadcaster/commentator.

That's got to be a joke?

19/04/2009, 11:04 PM
Good one IP.

His real wiki page is good read. You couldn't make up the stuff that is true.

Apparantly he's a sworn enemy of Ferguson and (by sheer coincidence) Allardyce.

HarpoJoyce
20/04/2009, 12:42 AM
The reason why I know alan Green is from Northern Ireland is because he keeps mentioning that facton BBC5 Live/BBCFive. I woundn't want to interupt the chap.

There is also a growing awareness of the anti-establishment from Irish media. RTE Panel + morning radio songs involving English Football personalities + the puppets on Setanta among England and English football fans.

Its normal to presume football fans from England presume Ireland is obese about them.

Drumcondra 69er
20/04/2009, 1:08 PM
D69er I think put forward something very similar too.

Yeah, it was from an article I'd posted that was written not long before Venables got the sack at Leeds, I'd had it saved on an e mail in work from back in 2003 so copied it into the Venables thread when the likes of Hyland and Fanning were really pushing the Venables agenda. About 2 days later Dunphy was quoting it verbatim before a Champions League game! Had a proper laugh at it and felt strangley satisfied that I'd done my piece!

E mailed it to Hyland as well, to give him credit he mailed back disagreeing with it but at least he mailed back.

Scram
20/04/2009, 1:15 PM
He's just in denial that his fater was an itinerant from Limerick. :D

Well that's accoring to his wiki page anyway.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alan_Green_(broadcaster)

Alan Green (born 25 June 1952 in Belfast, Northern Ireland), who never knew his father, an itinerant tinker from Limerick who Green's mother met once while taking her turn "in the barrel" at the local inn, The Flange and Ferret, is a BBC Radio sports broadcaster/commentator.

That's got to be a joke?

Link doesn't exist anymore unfortunately.

20/04/2009, 1:26 PM
Closing bracket is missing in the link.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alan_Green_(broadcaster)

EalingGreen
20/04/2009, 1:35 PM
I heard Green's comments myself. He's almost as annoying as Dunphy anyway.. Although at least he supports his local team, well he's meant to support Linfield, although I've never actually heard him mention them.
Don't get to hear Dunphy, but God Help you all if he's anything aproaching Green in his ability to annoy.
On a general level, "Greeny" (as he likes to refer to himself) is an arrogant pr1ck, who doesn't seem to appreciate why the BBC also employs a former footballer/manager etc alongside him, to provide "expert" analysis.
More specifically from an NI angle, I can understand someone who has lived and worked in England all this time developing an affinity to the England team etc.
However, when England last came to Belfast (2005), someone asked him outside the ground who he'd be rooting for.
"Straight down the middle" was his reply - no doubt adhering to the (mythical) "BBC Impartiality" line which his employers like to spout.
Which only serves to demonstrate what this arrogant clown fails to understand, namely, that as a mere radio commentator, his job is to identify the players, remind us of the score and let us know how long is left etc.
Therefore he doesn't actually matter, which is why no England fan would ever have objected had he said he was hoping his home country would win (especially since England had won 4-0 at home and didn't need victory in Belfast to qualify).
But if that was bad, worse was to come after the recent WCQ games at the beginning of the month, on his post-match 606 phone-in. An NI fan rang in (following an ROI fan, as it happens) and the subject of Green's affiliations came up.
He "played it safe" by saying he's a Linfield fan (means nothing in England). But when the conversation came to who he'd support if NI played ROI, he bottled out by claiming he had "no opinion" - the first time in his entire 57 years* the cnut hasn't had an opinion on something...
Frankly, you are welcome to the fat, ugly greaseball.

P.S. Apparently he's none too popular amongst his colleagues at the beeb, either:
Beeb's got a fight on its hands
The BBC sport high command are aware of the nuclear 5 Live fall-out between commentator Alan Green and presenter Mark Saggers, highlighted in Sports Agenda. But it will be left to the 5 Live bosses to whom Green answers to sort out what is a serious internal problem and if previous Green misdemeanours are anything to go by, the saga will be swept under the carpet.
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/article-1077712/Charles-Sale-Mega-rich-Desmond-decides-settle-bet-debt.html
Or this gives some good background:
http://www.rednews.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=48905
And apparently Green has fallen out just as badly with Andy Gray who, whatever else you think of him, has an accomplished record as player and broadcaster.

* - I bet when he was being born, the first thing he did was to tell the midwife how she might have done her job better.