View Full Version : Salthill National 5-a-side - May 30th/31st - What a Weekend !
Oxotown
01/04/2009, 6:48 PM
Hey all, anyone interested in putting a 5 a side team together for a weekend should seriously consider the annual 'fives' in Galway.Its running for over 30 years and is on the Bank Holiday weekend of May the 30th and 31st.Great weekend to travel to Galway for quality football and brilliant craic. It takes place in Salthill Park, which overlooks Galway Bay and is beside all the entertainment of Salthill. This year’s event also coincides with the Galway stopover of the Volvo Ocean Race which will add to the experience. Can anyone give us feedback of what they think of the event(if you have played) or what do you all look for in a 5 a sides? To enter, go to Salthill Devon website and click on national fives on the left navigation menu. OR Ring 091521177 or 0871210310.
Oxotown
01/04/2009, 9:46 PM
Hey all, anyone interested in putting a 5 a side team together for a weekend should seriously consider the annual 'fives' in Galway.Its running for over 30 years and is on the Bank Holiday weekend of May the 30th and 31st.Great weekend to travel to Galway for quality football and brilliant craic. It takes place in Salthill Park, which overlooks Galway Bay and is beside all the entertainment of Salthill. This year’s event also coincides with the Galway stopover of the Volvo Ocean Race which will add to the experience. Can anyone give us feedback of what they think of the event(if you have played) or what do you all look for in a 5 a sides? To enter, go to Salthill Devon website and click on national fives on the left navigation menu. OR Ring 091521177 or 0871210310
Paddyfield
01/04/2009, 10:06 PM
It's a great event which usually attracts 120 teams from all over Ireland and abroad. Since the introduction of summer football for the LOI, there have been no league teams taking part.
GuisaSaigon
02/04/2009, 8:46 AM
The Fives is a brilliant weekend, I'd definitely recommend it. It has lost a bit of its glamour without LOI teams taking part but it is still great craic. If the sun is shining there is no better place to be.
WoodquayBoy
02/04/2009, 1:44 PM
Is it still in Salthill Park, or has it moved out to Drom?
Oxotown
02/04/2009, 10:15 PM
No, still in the Park and for the forseeable future. The Park has got a real special appeal to it as in there are a number of hills that surround the pitches and in many ways resemble stands in a small'ish stadium. When the sun is out its great and large crowds tend to congregrate around the park. When your knocked out, sure Lonergans Bar is only a few minutes away by the seafront! Exactly the reason why LOI teams dont really play is because they are in the middle of their season and cant afford to get injured really. However, the standard is still very good and it is very competitive. Everybody has a super chance of winning and bragging rights for life.
eamo1
03/04/2009, 12:16 AM
Myself and a few mates will be lining out this year.Im coming out of retirement for the event:o.With performance enhancing (liquid) drugs the night before in town we should be good for the first game.:).I did hear they are bringing back the golden goal rule for this year's knock out stages.
Actually on the Saturday The Red Arrows planes will be performing in the skies above Salthill,should be fairly packed.
LeixlipRed
03/04/2009, 9:05 AM
The standard must be extremely high in this though? So not everyone has a chance of winning as Oxotown put it!!
Oxotown
04/04/2009, 10:03 AM
Red Arrows too!that makes it even better. I will put it to you this way LeixlipRed, yes there are teams that show up who have not a hope in hell. No fault of their own, they are just down for the craic, take in the atmosphere. There are also teams that you would definitely fancy but maybe had a late one the night before and subsequently have an absolute nightmare the next day. The key in my opinion is to get down to the last 32 and at this stage the teams are fairly evenly matched. It can be a battle of nerve also as there are large crowds present and some lads may feel a bit tense. I personally feel if you are of decent standard and play in a regular 5 a side crew every week, then you will find it easier as your teammates all know how they play together. Its about living the dream man!!
LeixlipRed
04/04/2009, 5:20 PM
I live the dream every week in the UCFL. It's like La Liga but with more dog ****e :cool:
2legged tackle
08/04/2009, 9:06 PM
When is the closing date for entry and how many teams are expected?
lifegoeson
08/04/2009, 9:38 PM
When is the closing date for entry and how many teams are expected?
how much is it per team
2legged tackle
09/04/2009, 2:27 PM
how much is it per team
100 bucks but thats about all I know.
Oxotown
09/04/2009, 6:01 PM
Hey all, €100 per team(divide between 7 people). Better still, get someone to sponsor you(throw in a bit of drinking money!) and put their logo on your t shirts...everyones a winner. check out the website for al the rules..salthilldevon.ie/fives.asp
Oxotown
09/04/2009, 6:03 PM
And 120 + teams expected, you can apply right upto 5 days before hand but I would not leave it too long as it may get oversubscribed
Oxotown
21/04/2009, 8:48 PM
Leixlip Son, if ya cant play in dog**ite, then you cant play anywhere. Just look at wembley over the weekend.
eamo1
22/04/2009, 10:02 AM
I've seen plenty of shocks in this competition down through the years.The best was a group of young lads from Waterford or Wexford(cant tell between the accents) who beat a Shamrock Rovers team.Before the switch to summer football it wasnt always the LOI side who would win it out.Its sad that they cant play now though.
We plan on doing what Greece did in Euro 04 and come from nowhere to win it(and then i wake up):).
galwayhoop
22/04/2009, 2:32 PM
Should this thread not be in the junior or intermediate section?
I presume it is an attempt to get players for the tournament
Oxotown
23/04/2009, 5:52 PM
Hi Galway Hoop, I had initially put it here in the Premier division section but changed my mind as you say because LOI players would not be able to play in it. So, put the same thread in the Junior section as you will be able to tell by the date. In the meantime, most people are replying to this anyway. There may be people who are LOI fans who may want to play, even yourself. Anyways, I will be there regardless of LOI teams not been there.
how early does this start on the saturday
Oxotown
24/04/2009, 6:44 AM
Hey balls, 1st match is on a Saturday no earlier than 10am, although you may be lucky enough to be on the last batch at 11am.
galwayhoop
24/04/2009, 9:03 AM
should this not be in the Premier/First division LOI section??
I presume it is an attempt to get teams for the tournament...
Only pulling your leg oxo!!!
eamo1
24/04/2009, 12:35 PM
School boy giggles for "Hey Balls":D
galwayhoop
24/04/2009, 3:08 PM
some smashing photos below! played in it years ago but didn't get too far in it, a great weekend though! don't think the legs will carry me anymore!
here (http://www.salthilldevon.ie/fives_out.asp) and
here (http://www.salthilldevon.ie/fives2007b.asp)
the winners from the second one is a who's who of galway football (both codes!!)
Oxotown
26/04/2009, 12:34 PM
schoolboy error from me son!
Buller
26/04/2009, 12:51 PM
Any team need a ex-shamrock rovers schoolboys player?!! I'd love to play in this but I dont have a team...
gilberto_eire
26/04/2009, 5:28 PM
Any team need a ex-shamrock rovers schoolboys player?!! I'd love to play in this but I dont have a team...
Might do myself..... always enter a team, and getting numbers is always difficult, you going to come down alone?
LeixlipRed
26/04/2009, 6:14 PM
Buller is a decent player. Should make a good addition to your team.
Buller
26/04/2009, 6:33 PM
Might do myself..... always enter a team, and getting numbers is always difficult, you going to come down alone?
I was coming down for the Volvo ocean race thing with a group of friends (LOI supporters actually) and I've seen the 5 a side before and always wanted to play in it.
Doubt my friends would be of good enough standard to get anywhere. I could try to persuade another decent player to come down if you're making up numbers for a team though.
Buller is a decent player. Should make a good addition to your team.
Cheers! *remembers foot.ie team* ;)
twofooted
27/04/2009, 1:01 PM
Oxotown have ye many entered in this at the moment? Is there still time?
Oxotown
27/04/2009, 6:50 PM
Golden rules about the 5's are a)having a guy who will defend and not stray to far around the pitch as they are very big, believe me. b)Preferably a speed merchant(who can also finish) up front who will harass and work his nuts off=fitness c)Playmaker in midfield to pull the strings...Not asking for alot, am I!
A test for the speed merchant is if he can make it down and back to O'learys with three bottles of B in 5 minutes!
Oxotown
28/04/2009, 6:38 AM
Hi twofooted, yes of course there is still time, traditonally I know that alot of teams enter late upto the week before hand. However, the club are taking online bookings this year and a number of teams are using this route at the moment as it easier. If you are thinging of it I would enter asap. I would say you will be alright but there is alot happening in Galway that weekend with the Volvo/red arrows going on so there will probably be extra demand. Let me know how you get on or if you are having difficulty entering. cheers.
Oxotown
04/05/2009, 6:33 PM
And a burger for good measure
Oxotown
13/05/2009, 7:56 PM
OK folks, last 2 weeks to enter, get you entries in NOW before its too late. Who wants to watch boats when you can be playing in the legendary fives.
Oxotown
13/05/2009, 9:29 PM
last entry 2 weeks away, get them in now
14/05/2009, 11:21 PM
Threads merged and moved.
Oxotown, familiarise yourself with the rules (http://foot.ie/forums/misc.php?do=showrules#crossposting) or you won't be allowed to continue posting on Foot.ie.
smellyfeet
25/05/2009, 1:52 PM
I'll be up in Galway that weekend and would be willing to play if any team still looking for players
Oxotown
26/05/2009, 4:04 PM
Hi all, some of you may have noticed that the website is saying entry is closed. From a website point of view you cannot enter, but they have closed it on the site just in case they are not able to process any more entries. You will get a team in if you ring the following number -