View Full Version : Newsflash! Shels players cheques bounce
Counting Crow
14/12/2003, 8:55 AM
On the Shels website today there is a post that informs all that several players could not cash their wages this week as their cheques bounced. This is straight from the horse's mouth. Check it out.
There is real concern within the Club. There is talk of them relocating etc. They really sound like they are in disarray ( Kilcoyne ..... and now Ollie Byrne ...... our heroes )
If you were a player with no strong ties to your Club, which is pretty much every Dublin player:p , would you stick around in that type of climate or would you try to come to a Club like City..........Dolan new what he was doing, didn't he?
He saw the writing on the wall. All these Dublin teams cannot compete amongst one another with such a fickle crowd of people. Anyway half the city seem to follow us ..... as is eveident each time we play in Dublin.
NOTE TO ALL GOOD PLAYERS IN DUBLIN: Look south gentlemen, you have one last chance to get on the train and join the future dominant Club in Ireland. Offer closes February 2004;)
jofyisgod
14/12/2003, 2:10 PM
Very good news. The revolution has begun, my people.:D
DolansWaistcoat
14/12/2003, 2:19 PM
Great news,indeed.:D
I wonder if poor Ollie Cahill's cheque is after bouncing;) Maybe a big pay cut and he could come back to City. :)
14/12/2003, 2:54 PM
Long term ... this is very bad for us, and every other club in the league. We just landed a new sponsor which is great but would they have had much faith in the league, knowing that the league champions were having these problems. They might of looked at it differently.
Any benifit for us in this is purely short term and very bad for the bigger picture.
Good article in the Times today about the madness of some EL clubs.
According to it, Oily Byrne has spent 1.5 million to win a cash prize of 15,000 grand from the FAI plus 100,000 from UEFA. The highest paid player is on 80,000 a year.
He now wants to sell Tolka, which has got 800,000 of public money pumped into it over the past 4 years, so he can move to Finglas. This will get them an "affiliation with the people" accoeding to Oily.,:p
Most of the article doesn't read well for the EL in general though.
Looks like City are the only club with an attendance of any sort.
Worryingly the journo argues that Ireland cannot support a two division league and that clubs like Limerick should be left die.
I'd have to agree with a Face here. For City to prosper, we need a strong division, which is more attractive to potential sponsers.
DolansWaistcoat
14/12/2003, 6:54 PM
I wouldn't worry too much at the moment.Enjoy the fact that the 'big boys' shels are having a few problems sorting out their bank balance,boo hoo.
The whole league isn't gonna go bust over night.
City are the Chelski of the Eircom league so no bother we can join the Roman revolution and join clubs,Chelski City ;)
B Lennox and the russian feen would be great business partners.:D
14/12/2003, 9:31 PM
I don't see how anyone can consider this good news, there's loads of clubs in trouble and now we find out our champions can't pay players.
it's all we'll and good to boast and gloat about city's riches, they're not much use if we've got no-one left to play though
15/12/2003, 1:17 AM
looks like the first stage of gaining the indepence of cork has started:D
Is the players I feel for? Most if all of them are professional and if their pay cheques bounce it can't be good.
Is not good for the league at all. More negative publicity for the anti eLs to jump on.
DolansWaistcoat
15/12/2003, 8:30 AM
Chill lads.We're stinkin rich:cool:
15/12/2003, 10:38 AM
Brilliant, you've taken a post on a messageboard from some random punter and said "This is straight from the horse's mouth".
Class :D
Yeah, we're in such financial ruin we've gone and signed Glen Fitzpatrick and said he wont be the last one in either.
DolansWaistcoat
15/12/2003, 10:46 AM
Shels are broke Na Na na na na..;) Saw it on sky sports news last night.:D
rebel yell
15/12/2003, 9:06 PM
Sure they could always organise another 4 team tourney:D . Oops
I forgot there aren't any accompanying league fixtures to mess around with.
Maybe City could organise a benefit match V Shels for next Sunday and in the interest of fairness move it to yesterday at the last minute. Alternatively Shels could play against Leeds, Leicester and Barnsley in the Receiver's Cup I suppose.:)
15/12/2003, 11:01 PM
Am I allowed to post in this thread, it seems to be a $h€l$-Cork affair? ;)
It's about damn time! :D "Go on home Ollie Byrne...to the place you belong.....!" :D
Now let's all hate Cork! :p
16/12/2003, 9:32 AM
dublin players can look west as well you know, playing in europe next season, owning our own ground, no finanical worries etc, cork aren't the only option you know and play for us and you can still live in dublin, sounds like a better option to me, oh yeah and you don't have to listen to dolan s**ting on and on and on, replacing the words st pats with cork city in every long boring speech.
liamon
16/12/2003, 4:27 PM
Shels posted a press release on their web site this afternoon. Didn't really state what was discussed last night or outline any details of the clubs finances. However, it sounds as if they need to raise some cash in a hurry to pay for the player's wages.
I don't get how Shels can go off and sign G. Fitzpatrick if they're broke, so what's going on there?
Only a Moron would think that Shels/Bohs going out of business is good for the league. The fatc that these have been the only clubs in the last 5 years making strides to full time professionalism, doesnt bode well for the league does it?
Not too mention the fact that I, and im sure most of you, would like to win a hard fought league, full of last day drama, than win a league 2 months before the season is over by 25 points(a la SPL), without there ever being any real challenge. That would be just plain boring.
16/12/2003, 7:22 PM
Originally posted by Gary
(a la SPL)
Heaven forbid !!
Originally posted by Gary
Only a Moron would think that Shels/Bohs going out of business is good for the league. The fatc that these have been the only clubs in the last 5 years making strides to full time professionalism, doesnt bode well for the league does it?
Not too mention the fact that I, and im sure most of you, would like to win a hard fought league, full of last day drama, than win a league 2 months before the season is over by 25 points(a la SPL), without there ever being any real challenge. That would be just plain boring.
spot on. amusing as it is, the league needs fully pro teams to be in with a chance of competeing in europe. bad publicity is all we need
Shels need €300,000 just to get through the close season. They were discussing it on The Right Hook on newstalk last night as well, some nob who is/used to be involved in Shamrocks. Unbelievably one of the directors of Shels is Business Editor with one of the papers (think indo but not 100%)....
Aberdonian Stu
17/12/2003, 11:58 AM
Anyone, and I mean anyone, who is happy that clubs are struggling not only shows a lack of vision as to the future of the league but also a lack of memory. The majority of big clubs, and a considerable number of small ones too, have had some sort of financial problems over the past couple of decades. Hell seasoned Cork fans can guide you through a history of the troubles of Cork teams that at one point even led to the admittance of we the educated few.
City had problems in the mid-nineties and for a Cork fan (who yes does currently support the best supported team in the country) to say that the main problem Dublin teams have is the fickle nature of their fans is laughable. When Cork do well(ish) they get in the crowds but a below par season (which isn't too difficult with the demands some of your more casual support make) does lead to a similar enough problem for ye.
Can't see any of de big clubs going under, tho' smaller clubs might be killed off by uefa licensing. Worst case scenario for Shels/Bohs would be semi-pro and big reduction in playing staff. Rovers on de other hand could be in for another couple of rough seasons, mebbe even relegation unless some benefactors come in. Can't see them disappearing altogether.
What de eL needs to do is become a feeder league a la Norway. We need to keep players all de way from schoolboy to senior teams and then sell off de brightest lights for proper money to UK/European teams (div 1 and up). This way de best talent stays in de league until min. 22-23, raising standards and when they do move on (and on again) de clubs get money to plough back into developing more. We are never going to be able to match Prem/Liga standards, but at least should be aiming to be on fringes of Champ league qualification each year.
We are in a position now to make that happen, but will need to make some big changes over next few seasons. First and foremost all clubs need to look at their financial stability and build from there. Next money should be ploughed into coaching and youth development. Players' wages expenses will be covered by Uefa license so clubs won't be able to pay themselves into trouble any more.
The only real problem with this is Irish fans' apathy, and I don't just mean de barstoolers. There is also still a lot of business money available if de clubs can somehow tap it.
Shelsman
22/12/2003, 12:53 PM
Originally posted by jofyisgod
Very good news. The revolution has begun, my people.:D
Yeah, it's like the start of 28 Days Later with all the Cork feens going mad!!!
EUR 300,000? A long term result of all the damage done to the pitch a while back? A least none of the Irish clubs are plcs hence they don't need to show a profit every year, which prob just as well.
27/12/2003, 7:41 PM
The flood set the club back the best part of a million they say, so it's definitely played it's part in the financial problems without doubt.
28/12/2003, 12:59 PM
Originally posted by Slash/ED
The flood set the club back the best part of a million they say, so it's definitely played it's part in the financial problems without doubt.
Is there any word of a move or what is the story ... what is holding up the decision.
28/12/2003, 7:50 PM
The move is a bit complicated it seems. Finglas was the original destination but that's out the window, too many people in Finglas, mainly the schoolboy clubs, were against it. It still looks like they want to move though, and rumours of groundsharing in Dalymount and even Tallaght seem to be cropping up a fair bit, but there's nothing really offically confirmed at all so it's all just speculation right now.