View Full Version : Rovers Vs. Dundalk
30/03/2009, 11:44 PM
Match poster (http://i46.photobucket.com/albums/f102/sligoman/Dundalk04April09.jpg).
Big game this week, after a good enough performance on Friday it's time to kick on and pick up our first win. Dundalk have some good players but like ourselves haven't started well and are managed by a clown, we all know that:). With Boco and Raf back I think we can do well here, it won't be easy but hopefully we can win. Prediction: 2-1.
like ourselves haven't started well and are managed by a clown
a bit harsh on Paul Cook! :)
Huge game indeed. We have reached the four game mark with only two points. The question now is: What do we want from this season as a club? Lose the next two and it sets the tone for the team for the season: "We gave it a shot, it didn't work out. Lets accept a relegation battle is on the cards and limit our ambitions to survival."
Win them, and we're up there where we should be, challenging for a top three place.
Huge character is required to avoid the former scenario. This applies to everyone involved: Fans, management and players.
brianw82
31/03/2009, 5:35 PM
The fact that there are 2 less teams in the league means we'll have to run just to stand still in the league this year. 7 victories out of 9 games against the bottom 3 last year, I don't think we'll get that this year.
What's our defence going to look like for this game?
sligofan4ever
31/03/2009, 5:45 PM
The fact that there are 2 less teams in the league means we'll have to run just to stand still in the league this year. 7 victories out of 9 games against the bottom 3 last year, I don't think we'll get that this year.
Keane--Peers--Feeney--Holmes
or the more likely option
Noctor--Peers--Keane--Holmes
31/03/2009, 5:47 PM
Noctor--Peers--Keane--HolmesLikely as in, just your opinion?
Shedzer
31/03/2009, 6:35 PM
Says in the weekender that almeida might be back is there any truth to this?
red arrow
31/03/2009, 7:57 PM
mauro won,t be back for another week
Mayo Red
31/03/2009, 8:38 PM
I've been wrong with every prediction so far, but what the hell!! I'll go for a 1-1 draw, much like our own performances a lot depends on what Dundalk team shows up and don't forget to wave to Seanie in the stand!!;)
Black and White
01/04/2009, 11:37 AM
Lads Im guna head over for th match, can any of ye advise wheres the best palce to go for a bit of pre match banter/drinks etc?
Oh and by the way, Joe Miller will be managing the team, Sean will be sitting amongst ye in the stands and we will be playing with virtually 10 men anyways as Georgie doesnt "play away" from home!
01/04/2009, 12:11 PM
Lads Im guna head over for th match, can any of ye advise wheres the best palce to go for a bit of pre match banter/drinks etc?
Oh and by the way, Joe Miller will be managing the team, Sean will be sitting amongst ye in the stands and we will be playing with virtually 10 men anyways as Georgie doesnt "play away" from home!
Please be assured that, wherever Sean is sitting, it won't be amongst us in the stand. He's a clown, not an eejit.
01/04/2009, 12:38 PM
Lads Im guna head over for th match, can any of ye advise wheres the best palce to go for a bit of pre match banter/drinks etc?Mooney's pub, across the road from the ground.
Black and White
01/04/2009, 12:59 PM
Mooney's pub, across the road from the ground.
WIll us non trouble making fans be welcomed or...?
Guts&Glory
01/04/2009, 1:16 PM
As regards points won against the bottom three last season everyone that stayed up from last season is in the same boat as Rovers so it is a red herring really.
Given we play each team four times this season so such logic about points won playing the three relegated teams from last season doesn’t stack up.
We are better than Galway and should get our fair share of points from Dundalk and Drogheda, remember Shams are part time also and even with a poor showing from us didn’t look great, Cork have a lot of changes, we will pick up points against Bray, etc. the only teams I would be wary of not having much joy against this season are Bohs, Pats and Derry all of whom we never do great against anyway – certainly not away from home.
Only 4 games in - let’s be patient.
01/04/2009, 1:21 PM
WIll us non trouble making fans be welcomed or...?Yeah...I'd say even your trouble making fans will be allowed in:D
Black and White
01/04/2009, 2:09 PM
Yeah...I'd say even your trouble making fans will be allowed in:D
Ah you will be able to tell them a mile of anyways if ye wana bar them, they're the ones wearing peaked hats and have white socks with their tracjsuit bottoms stuck intot them and the stupid huge runners! also they will be pi!!ed ariving in Sligo probably after half time!!:D
brianw82
02/04/2009, 11:34 AM
Noctor--Peers--Keane--Holmes
If we had Almeida fully fit and starting, I'd be confident of getting a win here. Dundalk haven't done anything of note as yet, their 3-0 win over Drogheda doesn't really prove anything.
However, with a makeshift central defence, I wouldn't be sure of keeping a clean sheet. Mansaram will be a handful. I'd hope for a 1-0.
eelmonster
04/04/2009, 10:55 AM
Can anyone recommend accommodation (Hotel or B&B) near the Showgrounds/town centre?
Inside Man
04/04/2009, 10:58 AM
Going for a Rovers win today. 2-0. Have a feeling our season will kickstart today. Can't begin to imagine what a defeat would do to us. Morrison to score and Rovers to dominate.
brianw82
04/04/2009, 11:04 AM
Can anyone recommend accommodation (Hotel or B&B) near the Showgrounds/town centre?
Any amount of them. The Southern Hotel is right beside the train/bus station, and is less than 10 mins from the Showgrounds. There's also the Railway hostel quite close to the station too, if you're on a budget.
eelmonster
04/04/2009, 11:32 AM
Any amount of them. The Southern Hotel is right beside the train/bus station, and is less than 10 mins from the Showgrounds. There's also the Railway hostel quite close to the station too, if you're on a budget.
The Southern it is, cheers.
Dundalk one nil up. Mansaram according to Aertel. Brush at fault i heard.
Bigone57
04/04/2009, 9:14 PM
Going for a Rovers win today. 2-0. Have a feeling our season will kickstart today. Can't begin to imagine what a defeat would do to us. Morrison to score and Rovers to dominate.
Inside Man Gets it right again :rolleyes: Rovers 1 Dundalk FC 3
Inside Man
04/04/2009, 9:48 PM
Inside Man Gets it right again Rovers 1 Dundalk FC 3
:rolleyes: Oh i really really didn't think we were this poor. Pointless post.:rolleyes:
The one thing i predicted after Shams was that 'we are going down' and that 'Cook is the most overated manager in the league'. Oh wait, hate to say i told you so.:rolleyes:
Rovers fan
04/04/2009, 9:53 PM
The one thing i predicted after Shams was that 'we are going down' and that 'Cook is the most overated manager in the league'. Oh wait, hate to say i told you so.:rolleyes:
Ya,and that has so clearly been proven right:rolleyes:
04/04/2009, 10:05 PM
We need to start getting points on board soon. Very soon.
SMorgan
05/04/2009, 10:49 AM
At the end of the day, all you have to do is finish above Drogheda United.
Is that such a big task?
We'll finish above you lot in any case if we even start to half play because ye are also a shambles of an outfit. Just that little bit less of a shambles than us at the moment I'm afraid...
Very bitter!!! How were we a shambles,we totally deserved to win last night.You had a good 1st 10 mins and last 10 mins,apart from that it was all Dundalk.
05/04/2009, 11:54 AM
I think that was more down to the fact we were so atrocious last night though, as opposed to you being super.
showgies
05/04/2009, 11:59 AM
Very bitter!!! How were we a shambles,we totally deserved to win last night.You had a good 1st 10 mins and last 10 mins,apart from that it was all Dundalk.
I am not too sure you were as dominant as you think. I thought the game was pretty even, and the first goal was crucial. We gifted you the first and third goals.
sligofan4ever
05/04/2009, 1:02 PM
Wouldn't say ye were a shambles, but by no means were ye much better than us.
I have to say though when Almeida came on it felt like a new signing, I hope he makes a difference from the start on teusday, hes been badly missed at the back.
the rock n roll
05/04/2009, 1:46 PM
thought Almiada was injured
sligofan4ever
05/04/2009, 1:49 PM
thought Almiada was injured
He's recovered now by the looks of it, probably didnt start because he cant go the full 90 mins just yet. He came with about 20 mins to go.