View Full Version : Italy V Republic of Ireland - Wednesday, 1st April 2009 - World Cup 2010 Q

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10

kingdomkerry
01/04/2009, 10:14 PM
I thought we deserved to win. Would of taken a draw before though. Fair play to Trap for taking Keogh off so early. Himself and McShane were liabilities.

01/04/2009, 10:16 PM
OK, so they only had 10, but yesterday a few of us reminisced about the first half in Norway. Tonight'ss game was like that. If we had been Italy we'd have been asking why the ball kept coming back at us and how we struggled to keep it.

Credit where it's due.

Second place is in sight, even first (or third), so hopefully we can play it right from here on in.

kingdomkerry
01/04/2009, 10:17 PM
I was also impressed by Traps subs and think he won the game of chess against Lippi.

01/04/2009, 10:19 PM
Very happy with a point, would have gladly taken it before the game.

01/04/2009, 10:22 PM
Yep. Hands down.

I wonder how tomorrow's Indo will call it.

I'm sure the giants of the game like Spain, Germany, Brazil & Holland etc. would expect to break down a 10 man Italy but this was a very understrength Ireland and despite criticisms of squad & starting XI I thinbk nobody can deny that Trap won the tactical battle tonight.

01/04/2009, 10:25 PM
Anyone know of any clips of the goals/highlights?
Neither the BBC no Sky seem willing to show a clip, they usually do when it's a bad result for Ireland though!!
[Edit] I caught the highlights here on RTE news which is not blocked, I think it's closed down now though.
http://www.rte.ie/live/

01/04/2009, 10:29 PM
Very surprised Pirlo went off at HT. I wonder were Trap & Lippi playing a game with each other.
"Rattled" was the word I used about Pirlo in texts at half time. Our midfield bossed him about and he's very much a luxury player. As much as I think he's one of the most influential players in the world on his day.

btw - anyone know what the possession stat was? I think I heard it was 33 - 67. 10 men or not. If our players misplaced a few passes and lost confidence Italy would have been well back in the game but we never allowed them.

Jicked
01/04/2009, 10:36 PM
Just working through Gazzetta dello Sport with the aid of an online translator, from what I can make of it they're giving the credit to Trap. Saying Keane's goal was coming and singling Hunt out for praise. Lippi and Pazzini both unhappy with the red card that changed it, but according to the dodgy translator Pazzini refers to the ref as "the beautiful arbitrator" :D Can't see Wayne Rooney coming out with that phrase! Pazzini and the Italians saying that the ref didn't see the elbow too...which I thought aslo, and that the red card was a result of O'Shea's bleeding and the ref being 'forced' in to the decision.

Guitd
01/04/2009, 10:36 PM
good result tonight but lets not get carried away
1) mcshane is not a right back there must be a better one out there ,even in the league of ireland ,he was brutal!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

2) Keogh was totally out of his depth ,must be the worst 20min performance by a irish player that i can recall in the last 30years

Jicked
01/04/2009, 10:40 PM
Just working through Gazzetta dello Sport with the aid of an online translator, from what I can make of it they're giving the credit to Trap. Saying Keane's goal was coming and singling Hunt out for praise. Lippi and Pazzini both unhappy with the red card that changed it, but according to the dodgy translator Pazzini refers to the ref as "the beautiful arbitrator" :D Can't see Wayne Rooney coming out with that phrase! Pazzini and the Italians saying that the ref didn't see the elbow too...which I thought aslo, and that the red card was a result of O'Shea's bleeding and the ref being 'forced' in to the decision.

I'll be fluent by the end of this! A poll is up now, only 54% of 5000 voters agree with Lippi that the ref was the cause of Italy's problems.

Colbert Report
01/04/2009, 10:41 PM
I agree, McShane and Keogh were terrible. McShane in particular. Hopefully Finnan will be fit for the rest of the games. Great performance, going a goal down early was really the best thing for us. Dunne could have won it for us in the end!

irishultra
01/04/2009, 10:42 PM
keogh terrible??? ffs. ineffective but terrible? jesus.

barney
01/04/2009, 10:42 PM
Excellent performance tonight in the main, but some people are getting carried away.

I heard that clown Ken Whatshisface on Newstalk say that "We should play long ball all the time". No we shouldn't. If Folan is our only outlet every time, teams will easily counter the threat. We need to mix it up (like we did tonight).

Wouldn't automatically start Folan now. Yes he did well tonight but still has to prove that he can do it time and again. Robbie would thrive off of an effective big man and maybe Folan is it but tonight isn't conclusive proof.

Tonight also wasn't proof that "we can play if we just put our minds to it". We dominated v Italy away granted. But they were down to ten and they dropped off once they scored and invited us on. Bulgaria away, providing they don't go down to 10, will be a different proposition and we may not be allowed to play as we did tonight. Giles said a while back "Give any player, even a bad player, space and he will look good. The great players are the ones who look good when they don't have time or space." He is spot on. We had time and space tonight, we may not in the future.

Dunphy is a f**kwit. The man is either and idiot (which I doubt) or is controversial for the sake of it.

Trap is doing an excellent job. Massive improvement on what's gone before. This won't be pretty, but we are in good shape.

01/04/2009, 10:53 PM
Looked a cráp stadium.

Trap deserves fulsome praise despite beginning with a minus 2 handicap for starting with Keogh.
Moving McShane central and putting O'Shea wide was an obvious good stroke at half time.
He took too long to replace Doyle.
I have mixed feelings about Keane's role but it worked okay on the night.

SwanVsDalton
01/04/2009, 10:54 PM
Tactically Trap got i just right. He mixed it up quickly and wasn't afraid to go for it - something I wasn't convinced he was capable of. Confidence restored in Il Gaffer.

However I would add to the calls for restraint. We played well and deserved the point but there's still some troubling elements. McShane was awful - flat out awful in the first half - and cannot remain in the team, not when Finnan, Kelly and Foley are knocking on the door. Grosso is a quality left back but he rinsed him five times in the first half and McShane allowed him to cross the ball every time. Meanwhile McShane, for all his willingness, can't cross hot buns.

Not sure I agree with the noise about Whelan. Played well in the second but was utterly anonymous in the first. I actually thought Andrews was our standout midfielder at the time and was surprised when he was taken off. Whelan actually improved when Gibson allowed him the opportunity to push forward. Gibson did ok, he clearly was on to find the penetrating pass and was constantly thwarted by an excellent Italian defence.

Folan did very well, a limited player but plenty of impact. I suspect he'll be better off the bench than a starter but it's great to have the option.

And the last word to Keane. He ships a truck load of criticism - some deserved - but who's there with the crucial goal once again?

Roll on the boys in Green.

mjpcc
01/04/2009, 10:55 PM
What a game ... but are we only able to play well when we are chasing a game. Italy were always going to try to defend their lead once they went ahead and especially when they were a man down.

What Irish team will show up next?. Is it part of the Irish physique to play better when we are behind and go to pieces when we are ahead.

Here we are at the end of the week haniging in - all the hopes of 4 points down the drain and Bulgaria breathing down our necks.

June 6th is certainly going to br interesting...........................

01/04/2009, 10:56 PM
Given: Little to do other than the goal, genuinely can't remember him having to make a save

McShane: Can't decide if it was him or Keogh at fault for their goal. Improved immeasurably when given space to roam on the right
Dunne: Rock. Absolute rock
O'Shea: Bloodied but not unbowed. Solid again alongside Dunne, and didn't look out of place at right back. Still has to be first choice centre half though
Kilbane: As you were from Zizou, endless endeavour, possibly could have pushed on more in the second half

Keogh: As above with McShane. His substitution changed the game. Hopefully not the last we see of him, but never again on the right, please
Andrews: Could have equalised in the first half. Puzzling substitution, unless he was injured?
Whelan: Came into the game more in the second half, wanted the ball more and not afraid to take a shot either
S.Hunt: How close was he to emulating Houghton?? Never stopped running, ever. Didn't look out of place on the right, gave Grosso a massive headache. Probably his best start ever.

Keane: Worked hard with little to show for it until the goal. Could have had the winner too. Never scores against big teams? Bite me.
Doyle: Ran himself into the ground, possibly exhausted doing the same at the weekend. Thought he could have stayed on for 10 more minutes, but what do I know?

Subs:
Folan: Introduction changed the game. Gave the Italian defence a whole other headache to deal with. Could have had a goal. Very nearly his "Niall Quinn VS Germany" moment.
N.Hunt: Ran his heart out, quite possibly got the final touch on the goal
Gibson: Came in and sat beside Whelan to keep it tidy in midfield. Not yet the finished article, but showing signs of becoming something special

Ireland finally show what they can do under Trapattoni. I can only hope they continue in this vein in the upoming qualifiers. Effort of entire side improved immeasurably from the weekend. Never stopped working for the deserved equaliser. How Cannavaro stayed on the pitch, I'll never know. That midfield quartet will, in all likelihood, never start together again, but Folan proved his worth as a squad player. The question is now, does he start against Italy at home?

This result, and performance will go a long way to restore the good faith of fans of the Ireland team.

01/04/2009, 10:57 PM
Greetings from Bari, what a night, really good performance. Bar a very poor goal conceded. For those doubters on the other tread re Trap, I hope this will shut ye up for the time being. Also many who criticise Keane on this site and is "poor" record against big teams, well right back at ye!!!
Very impressed with Hunt, McShane was very poor though improved in the second half. On we go now, draw in Bulgaria and its all in our hands.

Wrecked, tired and emotional and have a flight to catch at 7 in the morn, but with one point in the bag, its a lot easier. Great night!!

fergalr
01/04/2009, 10:57 PM
We just drew away to the world champions.

Stop the moaning just for a few days and allow yerselves to be carried away. Go on - live a little. Smile. Be happy.

01/04/2009, 11:00 PM
Not sure I agree with the noise about Whelan. Played well in the second but was utterly anonymous in the first.
No he wasn't. I really don't think I was imagining Glen Whelan dominating that match. We had 67% of the possession. Whelan ran the show. Andrews was very good in the first half too imo but we tend to remember things like that tackle on Pirlo. Most of the things Whelan does are simple and less noticeable but he was excellent. I thought he was motm in Georgia, with or without his goal, but tonight was certainly the best I've ever seen him play.

01/04/2009, 11:01 PM
http://www.metacafe.com/watch/2648258/italia_irlanda_1_1_qualif_mondiali_2010_intervista _pazzini_highlights_by_lavezzotube/
highlights (but not of ireland goal :rolleyes: )

01/04/2009, 11:03 PM
Hunt's prematch interview makes a lot more sense now.

01/04/2009, 11:06 PM
I was worried after the Bulgaria match, because I saw no real determination from our players during that game, and I felt that if we gave Italy the same amount of possession as we had against Bulgaria, we'd be beaten.

But tonight was an excellent performance. To disagree with Giles, I thought the harsh sending off did change how Italy played - I agree that after the goal they would have played more defensively, but the sending off made them far more defensive than they would otherwise have been, in my opinion. They were happy to allow Ireland come forward almost to the edge of their area, and as a result, Whelan and Andrews were able to get on the ball and really do well.

I thought Folan had a very good game, he definitely is another option if we can't pass through teams. Likewise Hunt, he kept the ball much better tonight. McShane and Keogh were poor, poor, poor.

Apart from the Folan substitution, I didn't think the other substitutions were significicant - Gibson offered nothing Andrews hadn't, likewise with Noel Hunt, though if Doyle was just exhausted then fair enough.

For the future, I hope we see more of Folan, even as a substitute to add a different dimension (we could have used him against Bulgaria), and I hope Trap, who in the interview afterwards said he wouldn't be changing his system from our old defensive game, is a little more ready to allow players impose themselves in midfield whenever possible.

I thought the panel were very negative afterwards. I have defended Dunphy in the past, but he was just a joke tonight, with the whole panel saying "Why didn't we see this before now?" instead of commending Trapattoni for what he did tonight in terms of motivation and getting Ireland attacking more.

SwanVsDalton
01/04/2009, 11:09 PM
No he wasn't. I really don't think I was imagining Glen Whelan dominating that match. We had 67% of the possession. Whelan ran the show. Andrews was very good in the first half too imo but we tend to remember things like that tackle on Pirlo. Most of the things Whelan does are simple and less noticeable but he was excellent. I thought he was motm in Georgia, with or without his goal, but tonight was certainly the best I've ever seen him play.

Sorry but that's not what I remember Andrews for. It was him repeatedly picking the ball up deep in our half and moving it quickly and efficiently that sticks in the mind.

I looked for Whelan to do the same thing, couldn't see it. He wasn't particuarly dynamic on or off it first half imo - improved in the second but I thought Andrews outshone him.

And in terms of memory, I do recall Whelan giving posession away extremely sloppily in the first 15 mins. But what odds. ;)

Hunty's Flatcap
01/04/2009, 11:13 PM
Some of you idiots are being ridiculous. Keogh and McShane made-up a very inexperienced right hand side that the Italians exploited well for the goal. The two were only playing as a result of injuries. Trapp should have given Foley a chance at some stage before now as he is pure quality, and what's more, a natural full back. Keogh is young and learning his trade, he doesn't play regularly at Wolves on the right and, again, was only used as a last resort. The tactics displayed by Trapp were excellent and they bode well for the future. It was horrible to see the time-wasting tactics employed by the Italian team though and with that in mind we should be so pleased to have scored and taken a point. Tonight is a night to celebrate.

01/04/2009, 11:14 PM
I thought the panel were very negative afterwards.
Giles said that Folan did 1 thing of note in the whole game. Then Dunphy mentioned 3 positive things Folan did in the last few minutes alone. People talk about Giles not remembering names but he seems to have a poor memory full stop. Fair enough, give him a clip and let him analyse it and I'd trust his opinion but analysing matches that he saw live just once I'd be listening to a few people before him.

01/04/2009, 11:15 PM
First things first, I'm absolutely delighted for the players, the management, and most of all the fans who travelled over. They were magnificently loud throughout, and you could hear the SS in action.

As for the game, we got a break with the red card, it looked accidental to me. However I think it stunned the players, as they seemed to be in shock for the next 10/15 mins or so. Once we got into the game I thought we were outstanding. Passing, movement, workrate, everything. We deserved to win that game.
I feel sorry for both McShane and Keogh. McShane is not a RB, he's not an international CB either, hopefully the management will blood Foley in Fulham. Keogh is not a RW either, I think he could prosper with time as the playmaker, but too was out of his depth.

You have to hand it to Trap, he was bloody decisive with the introduction of Folan. I've to laugh at this notion that we played route one. With the exception of the last 12/13 mins we played great keep ball. We drew the Italians all over the place, and I wasn't surprised Pirlo was taken off, I thought he'd a shockin half myself. He had to chase which isn't his game at all, due to the little triangles Glenn, Andrews and Keano were playing with each other and the full backs.

I'm not surprised Doyler was taken off, he'd a massive game last Sat and threw himself all over the place again tonight, so much so that Cannavaro was tiring obviously (I thought) and the introduction of Hunt Mk2 was a masterstroke, as not only was he an annoying little imp, but he's got pace, and can whip a ball in too.
All the substitutions were good and ultimately effective. Thats the best football I've seen from an Irish team since Israel away or against a big team then Spain in WC02. Whelan's distribution was superb, he seemed quite sprightly tonight.
Hunty was very good. He really affected the Italians, drew plenty of frees and was unlucky himself.

Once the Bulgarian result came in, it was imperative we got a result tonight. This group has a lot left in it. We've to go to Sofia, Italy to Dublin, and the Vulgars to Italy. Its still up for grabs.

I agree that we've found a new formation. By mistake or not, we now definitely have an Option B. A bit of a tangent I know, but in relation to the spouting of Drunkers wanting carsley, Carlsey wouldn't have suited tonights game, the lack of mobility or finesse wouldn't have worked.

In Sofia these are the options as I see it, if everyone is available:

Given

Kilbane
O'Shea
Dunne
Finnan/Foley

Duff
Whelan
Andrews
McGeady

Doyle
Keane

or

Given

Kilbane
Dunne
O'Shea
Finnan/Foley

Whelan
Andrews
Duff/McGeady

Keano

Folan
Doyle

kingdomkerry
01/04/2009, 11:19 PM
Whats the story with Stephen Reid any chance he could be fit?

01/04/2009, 11:19 PM
Giles said that Folan did 1 thing of note in the whole game. Then Dunphy mentioned 3 positive things Folan did in the last few minutes alone. People talk about Giles not remembering names but he seems to have a poor memory full stop. Fair enough, give him a clip and let him analyse it and I'd trust his opinion but analysing matches that he saw live just once I'd be listening to a few people before him.

They didn't seem willing to admit Trap had got some things right, implying that Ireland had got the result almost in spite of his decisions before and during the game.

As an aside, did anybody think the ref was way too harsh on booking people for having a go at him? It seemed like if you said anything at all, you were in the book. Yet when an Irish player got flattened on the edge of the box, after (rightly) playing advantage, he never booked the Italian afterwards.

01/04/2009, 11:23 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k1M8YBcyg6Q
goal
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2z_kjXcv9ao

TheBoss
01/04/2009, 11:34 PM
I was really impressed by the Ireland team, many will say that they played against 10 men etc etc, but Italy are a good enough team to combat against that. Players are much fitter these days than they used to be, so it is not really a huge advantage.

The Italy goal was disappointing to concede, I think Trap has finally seen the true McShane and Keogh. They were a little out of the depth during the first half, but one has to say McShane was quite good going forward at times.

The Subs were of genius proportions. Trap seen that Keogh was struggling, he could have easily stuck on midfielder to replace him but no, he seen that Chiellini and Cannavaro were completely dominate over Doyle and Keane and with Folan's arrival, it released Keane and Doyle but manily Keane as he was dropped back into a playmaker role in front of the 3 midfielders. Ireland now had a control over the middle of the pitch even if they were not creating too much, they were able to retain possession of the ball. Also, the full backs were providing the width for team, effectively making 5 players in the middle v Italy's 4 with O'Shea and Dunne patrolling Iaquinta.

Andrews was doing OK and Trap needed someone to take the ball and spread possesion about the place, so put on Gibson and he did the job, he brought a spark to midfield that some seem not to noticed. N Hunt replaced Doyle cause was a bit ineffective, and brings on Hunt to liven up the attack and tire the Italian players, which in the end caused the mistake.

thepiedpiper
01/04/2009, 11:51 PM
Fantastic match and a very good result sums it up for me. We dominated the game from start to finish and on the balance of play probably deserved to win by a couple of goals. That said a draw away to Italy is a more than decent outcome and sets us up for our crucial game against Bulgaria with group very evenly poised between Bulgaria, Italy and ourselves. Thought Italy were awful. Couldn't pass the ball, had very little penetration other than right full and didn't boss the game like I feared they would.
One thing that stood out for me above all else tonight was the character all the Irish players showed. They showed a great amount of determination in everything they did whether it be to close players down, win a tackle or pass the ball. Everything they did was done with conviction and determination. Not sure I've ever seen an Irish side as motivated as this side were tonight. Hugely impressive. Thought Trap's substitutions worked very well and he was brave to do them early. His side went out with a good attitude and reminded me of the way Martin O'Neill's Celtic sides used to go out bursting a gut to get the result.
Analysis given by Dunphy there at the end was just silly. We displayed huge courage there and tactically we got it right. As someone else mentioned he had that script written this morning. Looking at Dunphy to be honest I have a feeling he was willing us to lose. I thought Giles analysis was very good though and we can criticise the way the team performed on Saturday. Thought the way he cut through the bull of some football cliques was spot on also. I do accept the point though that no matter how much freedom or whatever you give the likes of McShane it is his lack of ability which hinders him. Calling him a failed manager though is harsh. Anyway too much talk on RTE's analysis
Given 6 - Nothing to do. Loved the attitude he set in sprinting for the balls when it went behind.
McShane - 2 Horror show at fullback. Ball in behind him caught him out time and again. Showed a bit of heart to get forward well but didn't deliver much. One incident where he let ball go out for a throw in when all he had to do was run onto a pass summed up his lack of technical ability.
O'Shea - 7.5 Was lucky not to give away a peno for blatant shirt pulling. Apart from that though he was his usual self in an Irish shirt since Trap has taken over. Good hunger, got on the ball a bit and defended well
Dunne - 8 Put in one crunching tackle where he should have been penalised. Got on ball well, what he did he did well
Kilbane - 8 Most of their attacks went down other flank so didn't have that much defending to do. One decent effort and a couple of good crosses also. Boucned back well from weekend. Strong character
Hunt - 8 Tried the same trick of looking for a fowl again and again but it worked more often than not. Was afraid he was going to get sent off but I really like his workrate and will to win. Could have done better crossing the ball but had huge workrate.
Andrews - 7.5 Had an impressive 55 odd minutes. Passed the ball well and probably unlucky to be taken off. Encouraging
Whelan - 7 Got one or two good tackles in. Good determination to push his teammate out of the way to continue pushing forward with the ball in the second half.
Keogh - 3 Was mainly at fault for their goal where he fell asleep for a couple of seconds. Wasn't good on the ball for his 20 odd minutes. Felt sorry for him but apparently he has good aspects to his game from central positions which we'll see soon enough
Doyle - 6 Worked hard but to no real avail. Cannavora had the better of him mostly. Was very surprised to see him being taken off but it probably worked though I would have fancied him for that chance at the end
Keane - 7.5 Linked play well at times but would have liked to see him push a little further forward and not play alongside our two central midfielders so much. Good finish though could well have had another.
Folan - 7.5 Pleasantly surprised. Did well with ball at his feet, closed them down very well, set up two very good chances for us. Isn't as slow as I thought
Gibson - 6 Passed the ball decently. Crossed the ball poorly. Looks a more confident player for us than a few months back though
Hunt - 6.5 Worked very well. Great tackle after his introduction. Could have had a goal near the end and think he may have had one if he wasn't so knackered after celebrating Keane's goal

Closed Account 2
02/04/2009, 12:01 AM
The King of Tallafornia strikes again, did it against the Germans 7 years ago, does it again now vs the World Champions... absolute legend!

02/04/2009, 12:11 AM
Just realised, this continues Ireland's record of not losing a game when Robbie Keane scores! Go on, that lad!

Uncle_Joe
02/04/2009, 12:20 AM
A lot of talk about Italy being down to ten men but all the post match analysis seems to forget that we did play tonight without our two wingers.

irishultra
02/04/2009, 1:16 AM
just talking to a guy from san marino on msn who was at the game he thought whelan was very good but didnt believe andrews offered much.

02/04/2009, 2:46 AM
Got the point I felt we would get, it looks a beautiful stadium, compared to the kip that hosts our next game, and we haven't lost a competitive game now for 18 months.

It's a real shame Benitez didn't show the faith in Keane that Trap does.

billybunter
02/04/2009, 3:21 AM
just talking to a guy from san marino on msn who was at the game he thought whelan was very good but didnt believe andrews offered much.
oh - ok, good. I was waiting for that very insightful update. I'll be able to sleep tonight now.

DotTV
02/04/2009, 4:22 AM
I think Trap showed his worth tonight. The game changed dramatically for us when Folan came on and we changed formation. It's obvious now that he is only cagey when we are winning or in a tight game. When the chips are down and he needs to change tactics, he will. I couldn't get over Gilesy going on about us playing like Bulgaria played on Saturday....maybe it's because both teams were chasing the game. You're going to play different when you're 1 ahead than one behind.
Also, this team has fu cking balls. They stuck at it to the end and got what they deserved, in fact we should have won.
Hats off to Robbie for being the king of kings and hats off to the boys in the stands for putting on a great show of strength

02/04/2009, 4:59 AM
a quote from the end of the irish independent article...

One trick Trap? Ireland could have won the damn thing. The Irish fans were drunk with delight.

gave me a chuckle. :D

full article here: http://www.independent.ie/sport/other-sports/now-at-last-we-can-dare-to-believe-1695065.html

Oink
02/04/2009, 9:01 AM
Not much to be added as most has already been said.... but what I was most impressed with last night was our determination to do the right thing and be patient.

When you are playing against 10 men from an early stage in the game and conceeding so early it is very easy to get caught up and go Gung Ho, ending up making silly mistakes and possibly conceeding or go down to 10 men yourselves. Time after time we recycled the play or tried to get the ball to the winger (the crossing wasn't great unfortunately), very rarely did we have an audacious frustrated pot shot from 30 yeards out. This is a massive indication of a well managed and tatically sound team, for a squad without a true captain (sorry Keano) it shows maturity and teamwork.... something which can be the great divider in football.

Scram
02/04/2009, 9:03 AM
Just realised, this continues Ireland's record of not losing a game when Robbie Keane scores! Go on, that lad!

Love Keano and delighted for him.

Great result, great spirit, but can't ignore the luckiness! A very, very harsh sending off and the early goal from Italy which FORCED us out of our shell!, substituion Bingo from Trappatoni with a long ball getting him out of grief for the awful decision to start Keogh and start him on the right side with McShane behind.....1-0 Italy !!

Trappatoni copped on eventually to what I have said in here MANY times, you cannot afford to have McShane on the right wing, much less risk to have O'Shea out there and McShane beside Dunner.

We only started playing like underdogs when we went 1 down. Maybe Trappatoni should be kidded in to believing we are 1 down before every game?

We really did get out of jail but it was great to watch, especially when Hunt went past three or four Italians leaving then stranded and bemused.....absolute gem.

Much more respect today for Hunt's have-a-go attitude, he really has no fear, a shame that some of his crosses were dreadful.

We really need to get a more settled side with attacking options with some freedom just to play football. And, we need to consider Reid and Carlsley etc. before the home game v Italy. No reason we can't top the group if that is done.

Sandro
02/04/2009, 9:04 AM
Chipper owner on the way back from the pub wasn't happy with Lippi for leaving out Cassano and thinks Santon should be brought into the first team. He also said that Ireland deserved it and it wasn't a red card (which is true). Might not speak for the rest of the country though

I mostly agree with your chipper owner, well Santon actually played the day before in Holland with the Italian U21 team and I think it's still a bit early for a call from Lippi anyway

As for the match, people here are unhappy with the final score but praise the defence once again for their good display despite so much pressure and the initial handicap. I think Ireland was disappointing in the first half and improved much in the second. I agree with most of the things you wrote here. I am sorry for Pazzini, he's the most exciting local talent at the moment, since he was released to struggling Sampdoria in January he scored 8 goals. With Cassano he form a lethal attacking pair. Lippi's decision not to call Cassano (who's from Bari) explains part of the poll result (agree/not agree with Lippi that the ref was the cause of Italy's problems)as most people think he could have changed things and deserved a call anyway (in particular when Camoranesi, Toni, Di Natale and Gattuso are unavailable). But this is another story, the link between Lippi and his son's players agency is notorious

Scram
02/04/2009, 9:05 AM

Great result, great spirit, but can't ignore the luckiness! A very, very harsh sending off and the early goal from Italy which FORCED us out of our shell!, substituion Bingo from Trappatoni with a long ball getting him out of grief for the awful decision to start Keogh and start him on the right side with McShane behind.....1-0 Italy !!

Trappatoni copped on eventually to what I have said in here MANY times, you cannot afford to have McShane on the right wing, much less risk to have O'Shea out there and McShane beside Dunner.

We only started playing like underdogs when we went 1 down. Maybe Trappatoni should be kidded in to believing we are 1 down before every game?

We really did get out of jail but it was great to watch, especially when Hunt went past three or four Italians leaving then stranded and bemused.....absolute gem.

Much more respect today for Hunt's have-a-go attitude, he really has no fear, a shame that some of his crosses were dreadful.

We really need to get a more settled side with attacking options with some freedom just to play football. And, we need to consider Reid and Carlsley etc. before the home game v Italy. No reason we can't top the group if that is done.

DeNiro
02/04/2009, 9:08 AM
I think that game would have suited Stephen Reid, he's a much better version of Gibson, but also has Andrew's robust qualities. When is he due back does anyone know? Is the Bulgaria away game too soon for him?

02/04/2009, 9:18 AM
If Trap is going to use Folan as a impact sub for his stature, he should seriously think about Delap to supply the ammunition when we are chasing a game. Can you imagine at 0-0 against Italy in Croker with 15 minutes to go and bring on these two guys. Think it would strike fear into the Italian defence.

smasher
02/04/2009, 9:26 AM

Italian defence was uneasy all night mainly because of Hunt , culminating in Grosso's yellow card. Stephen will lose the ball and some of his crosses were not up to scratch but the plusses far outweigh the less positive and was probably our Man of the Match last pm

Sandro
02/04/2009, 9:30 AM
http://www.gazzetta.it/Fotogallery/Tagliate/2009/04_Aprile/01/cas/01.jpg

Lippi check your FaceBook inbox, you have a friendship request from Cassano

prince20
02/04/2009, 9:33 AM
Italian defence was uneasy all night mainly because of Hunt , culminating in Grosso's yellow card. Stephen will lose the ball and some of his crosses were not up to scratch but the plusses far outweigh the less positive and was probably our Man of the Match last pm

I wouldnt be hunts biggest fan but credit where it is due after his performance last night.

RogerMilla
02/04/2009, 9:41 AM
lads anyone else think noel hunt scored ??