View Full Version : Week 4 updates
27/03/2009, 8:50 PM
Mons unlucky not to find equaliser there as Gartland put ball over the bar.
Sunny Jim
27/03/2009, 8:51 PM
Wexford 2-1 Longford FT.
Thanks to The Optimist for the updates. Quicker than Aertel, even if they weren’t always as accurate!
27/03/2009, 8:52 PM
FT Mons 1-2 Mervue
Good result for Mervue.
27/03/2009, 8:54 PM
Good result for Mervue.
Aye. Well done. Gutted tho.
pól-dcfc
27/03/2009, 8:55 PM
FT at Tallaght. DCFC are the first away team to win at the new ground.
Aye. Well done. Gutted tho.
Ditto...:(
Tommy Stewart badly injured - hamstring. We've made all our subs. He can't walk.
Team spirit thats what we have spirit of 2006 is back again, 9 men or not
pól-dcfc
27/03/2009, 8:59 PM
Team spirit thats what we have spirit of 2006 is back again, 9 men or not
Aye, I'm delighted with the never say die attitude. Morrow turned the gamne for us by all accounts. I'm glad that he's back in form, because on the opening day against Drogheda he was pure ****e.
Umberside
27/03/2009, 9:01 PM
Pat Kenny just said on the Late Late Show he's got news that is surprising and good news for some. Probably telling of the news that Cork have won a game:D
Westernblue
27/03/2009, 9:07 PM
Would like to congratulate Mervue on their first ever win in LOI and our neighbours Wexford Youths on their first of the season. Should bring a smile to Micks face at last!
Were Fingal brilliant in Kildare or were Kildare just awful?
Aye, I'm delighted with the never say die attitude. Morrow turned the gamne for us by all accounts. I'm glad that he's back in form, because on the opening day against Drogheda he was pure ****e.
Morrow and McManus together will be a great strike force , Farren is out of sorts at the mo, big praise must go to Tommy stewart his work rate and patience is great. Massive 3 points would have taken a draw but a WIN with 10men is a great result
Sunny Jim
27/03/2009, 9:12 PM
Would like to congratulate Mervue on their first ever win in LOI and our neighbours Wexford Youths on their first of the season. Should bring a smile to Micks face at last!
I reckon Cobh would have been more competitive anyway. I'm not sure Kildare's presence is good for anyone.
27/03/2009, 9:31 PM
We could quite easily have scored 6 or 7 ourselves against Kildare last week, they were really poor so Fingal were always likely to give them a hiding. It's not good for Kildare's confidence though.
Jicked
27/03/2009, 9:37 PM
Jaysus, Derry City must be the luckiest side in the league this year. They should have been murdered by Rovers, but score with their only two shots, on or off target, in the whole game.
GalwayRed
27/03/2009, 9:39 PM
Good win tonight. Were going to have a lot of these 1-0s this season i feel. Missed some great chances as well. Was a fairly open game and i reckon we deserved it over the 90 minutes but Limerick had a few great chances to equalise. Flood played very well.
Your right, got my bet up. 55 quid:)
27/03/2009, 9:48 PM
Jaysus, Derry City must be the luckiest side in the league this year. They should have been murdered by Rovers, but score with their only two shots, on or off target, in the whole game.
I know people reading this might be thinking ah he's just a bitter Rovers fan but they genuinely were the only shots Derry had.
Rovers have some serious problems at the back, very sloppy goals given away again, they need McGuire back in there. It was a very poor game at times, I was very disappointed in Derry seeing as they were my tip for the league this year, never played any football at all. Rovers lacked a cutting edge up front, the penalty was very poor and some of the shots at goal were badly rushed, seemed to lack ideas at times and distribution from both centre halves was actually laughably bad.
The sending off was bang on, first yellow was blatant, might even have been red, the second was an elbow straight in the face, Delaney probably slightly unlucky that his elbows are the same height as most players heads, but it was a definite yellow.
Delighted to see the Youths get a win under their belts, and that Kildare Fingal result put's their performance last week in perspective, Youths definitely have one of the best central defensive pairs in the first division.
*edit to say fair play to Derry, never stopped fighting with 10 men and took the chances brilliantly when they came
Ah dry your eyes you had your bum chum HANCOCK yous played against 10 men and we still went onto try and win the game.
Kildare Lad
27/03/2009, 9:55 PM
Kildare played shockingly bad tonight. Couldnt string 2 passes together. Congratulations to Fingal though, could have easily been double figures!
Their fans were a great laugh too
Jicked
27/03/2009, 10:04 PM
Ah dry your eyes you had your bum chum HANCOCK yous played against 10 men and we still went onto try and win the game.
what? what do you mean dry my eyes? anyone at the game can tell you what I said was correct. Derry didn't try to win the game, they were holding out for a draw, and who can blame them. I'm pretty sure Stephen Kenny would admit that too. Somehow they scored from two efforts all night and fluked the win. Their first goal came from hilariously bad defending after rovers missed a clearcut chance to go two up.
pól-dcfc
27/03/2009, 10:19 PM
Derry didn't try to win the game
Hmmm....
New tactic there boys. Don't try and win. But somehow comeback from 1-0 down with 10 men to win 2-1.
27/03/2009, 10:20 PM
what? what do you mean dry my eyes? anyone at the game can tell you what I said was correct. Derry didn't try to win the game, they were holding out for a draw, and who can blame them. I'm pretty sure Stephen Kenny would admit that too. Somehow they scored from two efforts all night and fluked the win. Their first goal came from hilariously bad defending after rovers missed a clearcut chance to go two up.
Rubbish, we know that we have to win games like tonight's to have any chance of winning the league. We actually only started playing well after we went a goal down and after that it was obvious Rovers would leave gaps at the back in their haste to recover their lead. I certainly don't think we were playing for a draw at that point. Morrow was doing a terrific job playing players in. Yeah we weren't great but we scored twice and Rovers scored once. Would have been a different story if Rovers had taken their chances, including one just before we scored but they didn't and we did.
Jicked
27/03/2009, 10:24 PM
Hmmm....
New tactic there boys. Don't try and win. But somehow comeback from 1-0 down with 10 men to win 2-1.
Are you serious? Yeah because a team has never played for a draw when down to ten men before? Derry were time wasting at 0-0, once a goal down they were given a goal by some comedic defending, and then Rovers naively pushed too many forward trying to recover a lead and got hit on the break with Derry's second goal of the game. I'm not having a go at Derry like, I've no problem with a team looking to hold the ball up and waste time when down to ten men for an entire game, but they were clearly blessed to get the win. You really cant argue otherwise.
WexCar
27/03/2009, 10:24 PM
Wexford responded, and went ahead as David Miller’s cross-come-shot crept in at the near post after Conr Sinnott’s quick free set him away. The away defence were enraged but the keeper had clearly stumbled back across the line with the ball. Jim Sheridans’ choice verbal reaction to the Ref earned him a straight red card.
quote taken from extratime.ie, was a second yellow not a straight red.
pól-dcfc
28/03/2009, 12:45 AM
Are you serious? Yeah because a team has never played for a draw when down to ten men before? Derry were time wasting at 0-0, once a goal down they were given a goal by some comedic defending, and then Rovers naively pushed too many forward trying to recover a lead and got hit on the break with Derry's second goal of the game. I'm not having a go at Derry like, I've no problem with a team looking to hold the ball up and waste time when down to ten men for an entire game, but they were clearly blessed to get the win. You really cant argue otherwise.
Look. No offence to Rovers, but there is no way in hell that Stephen Kenny sent Derry out there tonight to play for a draw. Looking at the fixture list, the only match where I can see us doing that is Bohs away. We haven't been great this season, far from it in fact, but our last 2 results show that we go out to win games, and keep trying til the bitter end. Sure we may have been **** til Morrow came on, but the lads pushed and scored more than Rovers. If we had of been playing for the draw we would have shut up shop after the equaliser. From everything I've heard about the game, we kept pushing until we got the second.
Jicked
28/03/2009, 9:41 AM
I'm not saying Kenny went out looking for a point, but after the sending off Derry ceased as an attacking entity. That's hardly a controversial statement. Having actually been at the game I think I've a better take on it then you do. Your second goal came from a ball downfield that should have been dealt with except Rovers didn't have enough men back and the ball was lashed in from thirty yards, it was hardly the result of sustained pressure.
28/03/2009, 10:36 AM
The standard of refereeing in this league is atrocious, last night the refs and linesmen hit a new low. It was the most pathetic "performance" by a group of officials that I have ever witnessed in Finn Park.
An awful penalty decision that even had the UCD players and supporters in shock.
A goal ruled out for offside even though Gethins was at least a yard onside.
The linesman (who was further away from play than the ref) giving a free for a tackle when the ref had already signalled Coll got the ball. The ref decided to give the free even though he had the better view and was closer to play.
3 clear handballs by UCD players (one of which was in the box) and no free.
2 clear handballs from Harps players and nothing either.
A horrible little cnut from UCD dived all night and seemed to get a free every time (number 11)
Overall pathetic, it was not all bad decisions against Harps either I just highlighted some of them. He gave some frees that left people in shock and missed some blatant bookings never mind frees.
For those who think im over-exaggerating, I'll post the highlights of the game when our camera man has them ready.
UCD impressed me with their workrate last night and should be top 2 this season.
28/03/2009, 10:57 AM
The ref was a disaster. The amount of dangerous, sliding, studs-up challanges (whether they got the ball or not) that he let go was unbelievable. I said at one stage someone was going to get hurt if he didn't clamp down on it and unfortunately, that's what happened. I hope the Harps guy is alright. I couldn't see the offside or penalty from where I was but there were several offsides at the other end that wrongly called and some terrible tackles that weren't punished.
28/03/2009, 11:04 AM
Ref at the Pats game last night was OK actually but he missed two clear penalties (one for either side). A couple of ridiculous bookings too but overall not too bad
HarpoJoyce
28/03/2009, 11:12 AM
Conor Gethins 'Goal' was superb movement from him. Ball up to him and with the outfield defenders chasing back he took in past the UCD 'keeper Brennan. It looked like he took it to far and delayed his shot. But he struck from an acute angle and it beat the 'keeper again and a defender on the line.
Like Arsene Wenger I couldn't see from where I was if he was onside.
It was his 100th appearance for Finn Harps last night.
After Edit: Ref is down as Coombes.
28/03/2009, 11:25 AM
Very impressed by the Rovers set-up in Tallaght. Most professional in the League by a mile. Other clubs marketing and commercial managers should be forced to tour the club shop to see how proper merchandise can make serious money.
As for the match, awful first half, Delaney deserved to go, he was a liability anyway. If Rovers were halfway decent they might have thumped us, but they look a poor side (outside of Baker).
Derry showed a lot of effort and a bit of class from Martyn and Morrow.
Youths4Ever
28/03/2009, 11:29 AM
quote taken from extratime.ie, was a second yellow not a straight red.
Yeah def two yellows and if I was his manager I would giving me some going over. Player gets booked for abusive language and as walks away says something else what did he think would happen a pat on the back :rolleyes:
Longford looked very good at times. Best performance of the season so far from Wexford and saying that we slacked off a little end of first half start of second half still more to come hopefully. Playing two up front definitely a better option for us Marty Kelly may not be a natural forward but he plays for the team and ran his socks off last night as did richie fitz who could barely walk off the pitch when subbed
28/03/2009, 11:30 AM
Other clubs marketing and commercial managers should be forced to tour the club shop to see how proper merchandise can make serious money.
Or at the very least Umbro should treat all clubs as well as they treat Rovers ;)
Kildare played shockingly bad tonight.
First ever foot.ie example of someone understating something while using the words "shockingly bad"?
maybe even a world first?
28/03/2009, 5:53 PM
at our match last night the ref gave a shocking decision for youths winner. in my opinion brendan murphy stopped the ball going over the line but the ref still gave it. my pal was behind the goal in the clubhouse when it happened and he thought it was a dodgy decision.
Youths4Ever
28/03/2009, 6:06 PM
at our match last night the ref gave a shocking decision for youths winner. in my opinion brendan murphy stopped the ball going over the line but the ref still gave it. my pal was behind the goal in the clubhouse when it happened and he thought it was a dodgy decision.
in fairness to ref he did not give it lino did to be honest not 100% sure whole of ball crossed the line. view from clubhouse would not have been great goalie would have been in way maybe our camera man picked it up and when highlights go up may become clearer.
Lamper.sffc
28/03/2009, 6:25 PM
A combination of the two. We could easily scored 11 or 12. Unfortunately for kildare it was men against boys.
29/03/2009, 5:29 AM
The linesman (who was further away from play than the ref) giving a free for a tackle when the ref had already signalled Coll got the ball. The ref decided to give the free even though he had the better view and was closer to play.
Correct call by the linesman; the tackle could have broken Shorty's leg. Ref was an idiot to call play on (Harps lad did get the ball, but followed through with studs up) and only encouraged dangerous tackles on an awful pitch. No surprise there were injuries (we had two lads injured).
adamd164
29/03/2009, 5:39 PM
Currently Athlone 1-1 Waterford.
adamd164
29/03/2009, 5:50 PM
2-1 to Waterford now.
The Lilywhites
29/03/2009, 5:57 PM
Full-time now.
30/03/2009, 9:11 PM
Finn Harps beat Kildrum Tigers 2-1 in the league cup tonight. Conaghan and Harkin scoring for Harps.
The Kildrum team was full of former Harps players including Declan Boyle, Johnny Minnock, Stephen O'Donnell and Neil Lloyd.
JC_GUFC
30/03/2009, 9:19 PM
The Galway derby finished in a 2-2 draw - jut going to penalties now.
The winners play Galway United in what will surely be a fierce battle!
JC_GUFC
30/03/2009, 9:25 PM
Salthill won the shootout 4-3.
31/03/2009, 11:06 AM
Anyone know where I can get the Mervue line ups from their 4 league games to date and last night's League Cup game? cheers.
Drunkcaveman
31/03/2009, 11:12 AM
Anyone know where I can get the Mervue line ups from their 4 league games to date and last night's League Cup game? cheers.
http://extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/11299/1/
Athlone Game
http://extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/11308/1/
Limerick game
http://extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/11317/1/
Finn Harps game
http://extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/11323/1/
Monaghan game
Sorry, we hadn't someone at the League Cup game.
31/03/2009, 11:12 AM
http://www.finnharps.com/009MatchReports/0320Mervue.htm