View Full Version : Cowen painting

Angus
25/03/2009, 9:05 AM
What's this chutney about Cowan and a painting and RTE apologising and the Guards going into Today FM ?

25/03/2009, 11:40 AM
Makes us look even more like a banana republic. I saw the original RTE piece, it was slightly tongue in cheek, but not overly so.

I'd love to know what offence the guards are investigating?

25/03/2009, 11:48 AM
RTE show their bias again. The DG should resign, not over the original piece, but for the apology. If this was happening in some South American country it'd be held up as interence with the freedom of the press.

25/03/2009, 11:51 AM
Couple of pieces
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/world/europe/article5971027.ece
http://www.independent.ie/national-news/rte-apology-to-cowen-for-nude-portrait-story-1684876.html

The RTE piece
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rQsR09ER4Yk&feature=player_embedded

The Apology
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IgzhRxRMB_U&feature=player_embedded

Agree with others here. An absolute disgrace that government contacted RTE and forced an apology

25/03/2009, 12:15 PM
The RTE piece
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rQsR09ER4Yk&feature=player_embedded

ROFL...Y fronts and all. I think I'm going to puke...:D

anto1208
25/03/2009, 12:29 PM
Banksy did something similar in London.

Ray darcy said on air that a friend of the artist had emailed in and told them he was going to do it so thats prob why the gaurds went in to today fm.

25/03/2009, 1:17 PM
Is there actually a law against hanging paintings? At least the Government have their priorities right in these times of "national crisis", and the cops should obviously be concentrating on people with canvas and picture hooks rather than gangsters with drugs and guns. :rolleyes:

25/03/2009, 3:20 PM
Is there actually a law against hanging paintings? At least the Government have their priorities right in these times of "national crisis", and the cops should obviously be concentrating on people with canvas and picture hooks rather than gangsters with drugs and guns. :rolleyes:
I imagine it comes under trespass or something. I really doubt it's entirely above board to just walk into a gallery and stick up something.

25/03/2009, 8:50 PM
I imagine it comes under trespass or something. I really doubt it's entirely above board to just walk into a gallery and stick up something.

...can't be trespass as it's a public building. Seems to me it's a matter for no one but the curator. The curator would have the right to remove it and ask the person who placed it there to leave if he formed the opinion they were or were likely to continue creating a nuisance.

So in effect, it's up there with going into a cafe and unpacking your own homemade sandwiches or taking a table in a pub and popping open your tinny from the offie.

Nothing to see here....

...no -wait there is.

anto1208
25/03/2009, 8:56 PM
There was mention of a nail that got hammered into the gallery wall so maybe get them to pay for that but i reckon the publicity the galleries got out of the story would cancel that out.

25/03/2009, 10:06 PM
Even for this government hard to know why they would get involved in this & create more publicity.

Who contacted the Gardai?
Who asked for an apology?

26/03/2009, 7:15 AM
It was the Government Press Secretary that asked for an apology from RTE. I don't think it's out who contacted the keystone cops - if not the same person then no doubt their stooge.

He didn't even nail in a picture hook - he was questioned for criminal damage for putting glue on a wall. He was also forced to handover other paintings he'd done. ZanuFF looking less and less like a slag, and more like a fair enough comparison.

26/03/2009, 9:43 AM
It was the Government Press Secretary that asked for an apology from RTE. I don't think it's out who contacted the keystone cops - if not the same person then no doubt their stooge..

Yes. He Press Secretary did it without instruction. RTE also say they decided to apologise before they received that complaint.

26/03/2009, 9:45 AM
Yes. He Press Secretary did it without instruction. RTE also say they decided to apologise before they received that complaint.
And RTE didn't cover the story of the questioning and confiscations at all from what I saw on the news. Censorship alive and well - take the licence fee totally out of the hands of Government asap.

26/03/2009, 10:34 AM
What were RTE apologising for? Covering the story or showing the painting? Pretty ridiculous if that's all they did, or was there something else?

26/03/2009, 10:55 AM
"Disrespecting the office of the Taoiseach." Yes, really.

I was outraged by this I came over all Joe Duffy and sent the following complaint to RTÉ:

I'm just writing to register my dismay and disgust at the obsequious apology issued online and on TV regarding the Cowen paintings. The images were an integral part of the story and should not have been withdrawn, nor should any apology have been furnished. As Taoiseach, Brian Cowen is a legitimate and obvious target for satire of all varieties. Since when has "respect for the office of Taoiseach" (which has been definitively forfeited by the endless procession of crooks and incompetents in the post over the past number of decades) overriden the much-vaunted freedom of the press? It's hardly a coincidence that RTÉ chose to grovel to the government at a time when swingeing cuts in the public sector are under discussion (heartily cheered on by RTÉ as part of a broad offensive against unions and everyone else in the public sector, lest attention should turn to Montrose itself.)

Whatever respect I may ever have had for the office of Taoiseach, I have absolutely none for RTÉ after this craven epsiode. Shame on you.Got this response:

Thank you for your e-mail in regard to our story about the hoax paintings of the Taoiseach which was broadcast on Monday’s 9.00pm News and our subsequent apology yesterday evening.

RTÉ News made the decision independently that the item as transmitted was both in bad taste and inappropriate, and made our own decision that we would not broadcast it on the News on Two later than night and that it would be taken down from the RTÉ website.

We also received complaints following the item from various sources, including one from the Government Press Secretary and RTÉ News informed him that we had already made the decision that the item was inappropriate. We also decided ourselves that the broadcast of the item deserved an apology.

I hope this helps to clarify the matter.Like **** it does. Even if you believe the bull**** claim that RTÉ censored itself of its own volition, in what way is reporting on an actual event inappropriate or in bad taste?

26/03/2009, 11:16 AM
Todays Times said it was the Office of the Taoiseach that contacted the Gardai and asked them to investigate.

What a good use of scarce investigatiive resourced. Its not like we have a lot of gangland murderers running around untouchable....

26/03/2009, 11:24 AM
It's hardly a coincidence that RTÉ chose to grovel to the government at a time when swingeing cuts in the public sector are under discussion (heartily cheered on by RTÉ as part of a broad offensive against unions and everyone else in the public sector, lest attention should turn to Montrose itself.)
No pension levy for the public servants in Montrose either...

26/03/2009, 12:24 PM
Todays Times said it was the Office of the Taoiseach that contacted the Gardai and asked them to investigate.

What a good use of scarce investigatiive resourced. Its not like we have a lot of gangland murderers running around untouchable....

The Press Officer again? Surely set to the sacraficial lamb?

26/03/2009, 1:13 PM
The Press Officer again? Surely set to the sacraficial lamb?

My thoughts on it exactly

As soon as there was a backlash against RTE Fianna Fail announced that the PO had acted as some sort of renegade in the group and that Cowen or his flunkies didn't have a clue what was going on :rolleyes:

It really is like Fianna Fail are testing to see how far they can push the Irish morons that constantly vote for them lately. If the same morons return them to power then I think they'll go the whole hog and just declare a dictatorship

RTE of course are a national disgrace. You'd forgive the BBC for a bit of cowardice given some of the quality programming the British licence pays for (David Attenborough alone is worth it) but when you couple nonsense like this, with RTE running adverts as a main source of revenue, with the tipe they have put out since the stations inception then it really is time to ditch the Irish licence.

Thankfully I don't pay mine http://www.theninjaforum.com/forum/images/smiley_icons/5pjzo9.gif

Wangball
26/03/2009, 2:03 PM
My thoughts on it exactly

As soon as there was a backlash against RTE Fianna Fail announced that the PO had acted as some sort of renegade in the group and that Cowen or his flunkies didn't have a clue what was going on :rolleyes:

It really is like Fianna Fail are testing to see how far they can push the Irish morons that constantly vote for them lately. If the same morons return them to power then I think they'll go the whole hog and just declare a dictatorship

RTE of course are a national disgrace. You'd forgive the BBC for a bit of cowardice given some of the quality programming the British licence pays for (David Attenborough alone is worth it) but when you couple nonsense like this, with RTE running adverts as a main source of revenue, with the tipe they have put out since the stations inception then it really is time to ditch the Irish licence.

Thankfully I don't pay mine http://www.theninjaforum.com/forum/images/smiley_icons/5pjzo9.gif

Why don't you just move to Britain?

noby
26/03/2009, 2:09 PM
http://img301.imageshack.us/img301/7259/brian2.jpg

Shilts
26/03/2009, 2:40 PM
I don't think that this is an item worth putting on the news. Fine if I saw it on Podge and Rodge - great laugh. But for me it is not newsworthy. RTE would want to have a look at what their putting in as news items. I recently say a piece about a GAA team in Galway that were losing players due to emigration. If it was the county side that were suffering ... maybe at a stretch include it, but a parish outfit... c'mon. Rubbish! And we used to give out about Sky news! ;)

Slightly off topic... someone pointed out to me that if the Gallery's security didnt spot the painting going in and being put up... then how many paintings have they not noticed going in the other direction. :confused:

noby
26/03/2009, 3:04 PM
Slightly off topic... someone pointed out to me that if the Gallery's security didnt spot the painting going in and being put up... then how many paintings have they not noticed going in the other direction. :confused:

Not sure it's as simple as that. I could walk into the bank, slip a few tenners onto the counter, and slink away again before anyone notices. Doesn't mean it'll work the other way round.

Oh and I do think it's worth putting on the news, maybe not headline material, but worthwhile all the same. Interestingly, it would probably have been forgotten about at this stage if no-one made a fuss over it.

26/03/2009, 4:00 PM
Why don't you just move to Britain?Without wanting to speak for Jebus, criticising corrupt, self-precious and narrow sighted Government doesn't make you any more or less Irish.

26/03/2009, 5:20 PM
Why don't you just move to Britain?

I will if the Tories get back in

I'm basically the Phil Collins of Ireland

26/03/2009, 5:42 PM
FF Ceann Comhairle John O'Donoghue prevented the opposition from raising the matter in the Dáil today. http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/eyaueykfgbcw

These ****ers would be swinging from trees if the people of this country had an ounce of spunk.

27/03/2009, 9:26 AM
I don't think that this is an item worth putting on the news. Fine if I saw it on Podge and Rodge - great laugh. But for me it is not newsworthy. RTE would want to have a look at what their putting in as news items. I recently say a piece about a GAA team in Galway that were losing players due to emigration. If it was the county side that were suffering ... maybe at a stretch include it, but a parish outfit... c'mon. Rubbish! And we used to give out about Sky news! ;)

:

thats rubbish - of course its newsworthy - and its bloody hilarious

Weatherman
27/03/2009, 10:45 AM
Dont see what the problem is. the shading in the painting is very well done and the blue and green in mr cowan's y fronts really brings out the colour in his eyes. :D

27/03/2009, 4:55 PM
http://img301.imageshack.us/img301/7259/brian2.jpg

Brilliant :D:D Will Foot.ie now have to issue a craven apology to BC and RTE before someone calls the cops ?

27/03/2009, 8:30 PM
I'd imagine it'd make Dahamsta's day to get a call over it.

28/03/2009, 12:42 PM
It'd be great, I could have ye all standing outside the courts with "Down With This Sort Of Thing" placards!

29/03/2009, 5:32 PM
Careful Now.