Bigone57
21/03/2009, 8:55 PM
Rovers go down by 1 goal Rovers 0 Pats 1 :(
Moran 31
red bellied
21/03/2009, 9:15 PM
Rovers go down by 1 goal Rovers 0 Pats 1 :(
Moran 31
Look on the bright side, you werent at it. Its probably time to re-evaluate, not good enough for full time.
Inside Man
21/03/2009, 9:27 PM
Disgusted with that preformance. They look like a team that will be fighting relegation this year. The whole attitude was wrong. I said Pats were a brilliant bet tonight before hand. Now I'll give you another wee tip: Rovers to go down. Every other club has added to their squad but looking at ours, we are the only ones who have taken a step backwards. Name one player that is of good quality that Cook has brought in... there is none. Morrison some people will say but the lad is a one man team, he doesn't pass and alot of good opportunities are passed up when he doesn't pass, I now see why he never made it really.
As for everthing, there really seems to be something missing this year, and im finding it hard to get to grips with, Im not sure what it is really but it does look like the committment is not there. The fitness of some of the players again is brutal.
They were booed off at full time and rightfully too. A loss against Galway and there will be heads rolling.
21/03/2009, 9:33 PM
Inside Man, please p*ss off. You are nothing but a WUM.
The players were not booed off at full time. At least anyone that did boo them off needs their head examined. We're 3 games in. I've never seen such fickleness in my life.
We were bad but relegation fodder? You'd love that wouldn't you. Then you could have another moan.
But to re-iterate my point, you're a bit of a tool, don't bother posting cause no-one values your opinion.
21/03/2009, 9:35 PM
The players were not booed off at full time. At least anyone that did boo them off needs their head examined. We're 3 games in. I've never seen such fickleness in my life.
There was a small bit of booing in the main stand towards full time.
21/03/2009, 9:37 PM
There was a small bit of booing in the main stand towards full time.
Wow. I'm shocked.
If that's our attitude We don't deserve a decent football team. FFS.
Inside Man
21/03/2009, 9:40 PM
You obviously need your ears waxed because from were i was sitting they were clearly booed off. Of course I would only love to prove myself wrong. But Im just warning you for whats ahead, I've been following Rovers for over 40 years now and i know when there is trouble ahead, I've seen it all too often. But you my son do seem to be one of these young fella's with their heads in the clouds, never mind me getting mine examined.
21/03/2009, 9:41 PM
We don't deserve a decent football team.Do we have one?;)
Absolutely terrible performance. Pat's look like nothing special and yet we were never gonna score. I can't see us get anything in Galway without Raf and Boco. Still too early to judge but if we're like this for the rest of the season then we're in for a long one.
sligofan4ever
21/03/2009, 9:42 PM
Not a great performance but atleast it was better than against Shams, Holmes really made an improvement from that game aswell (in the first half anyways), I don't know why people are questioning the team after just 3 games because i'm sure everyones blue in the face saying the team needs time to gel together and we should judge after 9 games which is very true. In regards to boing at full time, I didnt here any, near the end there was a wee bit when they kept giving away the ball. I think the one thing Cook needs to sort out is free kicks, wasted far too many from good positions by just blasting them over. Lads lets not forget, it took us 5 games to win last season and look where we ended up.
21/03/2009, 9:43 PM
You obviously need your ears waxed because from were i was sitting they were clearly booed off.
RW would have been in the blue stand
and the amount of booing was so small i barely heard it from the press box.
21/03/2009, 9:46 PM
You obviously need your ears waxed because from were i was sitting they were clearly booed off. Of course I would only love to prove myself wrong. But Im just warning you for whats ahead, I've been following Rovers for over 40 years now and i know when there is trouble ahead, I've seen it all too often. But you my son do seem to be one of these young fella's with their heads in the clouds, never mind me getting mine examined.
Well as I said I did not hear and tbh I'm embarassed by the fact some people chose to boo them off. Absolutely ridiculous.
Don't lie, you'd love to be proven right, to be able to come onto a ****ty little internet forum and spout your rubbish from behind the safety of username.
As for head in the clouds? That would be expecting us to win the league or challenge for a title. Simple fact is that we're not good enough. But Perhaps you should get your head out of your arse and start being real. How does almost the exact same team go from European Place to relegation fodder in just 4 months? The players were all on drugs or something last year? Get real.
Olander
21/03/2009, 9:49 PM
Do we have one?;)
Absolutely terrible performance. Pat's look like nothing special and yet we were never gonna score. I can't see us get anything in Galway without Raf and Boco. Still too early to judge but if we're like this for the rest of the season then we're in for a long one.
sligoman are cretaro and boco not available for our match on friday?
oshea will be missing for us. sorry for goin off topic.
21/03/2009, 9:50 PM
sligoman are cretaro and boco not available for our match on friday?
oshea will be missing for usCretaro's suspended and Benin are playing so I'm assuming Boco will be called up.
prodsc
22/03/2009, 12:42 AM
Very poor TEAM PERFORMANCE tonight....
Does Cook care anymore.. arguing back to a Old time Heckler instead of watching the game.. Cook still had his voice..very unusual ..............
Pats were CRAP also
only difference was a GOAL that they scored due to BRUTAL defensive play
Rovers fan
22/03/2009, 1:18 AM
Very poor tbf, maybe even worse than shams? Very little urgency, which is dissapointing imo.
Personally I'm going to give them time.While I know it was frustrating, anybody who would boo the team off, 3 games into the season, on the back of last seasons performances, well they are just plain stupid.
Thought peers and keane did well, pats got very little change of them. Holmes also was improved but made a couple of errors. He's a good crosser of the ball. The free kicks in general were bad. For the goal cawley was let through to easily and they had two free men. Maybe it was just me but i thought parky did ok. Made a nuisance of himself and won quite a few headers. The thing is there wasn't anybody picking uo the loose ball that resulted. Cretaro and boco should have anticipated it better imo. Tbf pats were no better than us.
Before the goal we were passing it well and should without doubt have scored from cash's chance. It will be good to have doc back next week.
The crowd was poor,the rugby may have slightly affected it. We'll need a big crowd next week for what is a hugely important match.
O ya and well done for peers for at least acknowleding the fans in the jinks, the only bloody one.......
Thought we were comfortable winners. More composure in front of goal and we couldve had an easy night. Thought your back 4 were all over the place and never felt under threat
Rovers fan
22/03/2009, 1:34 AM
Thought we were comfortable winners. More composure in front of goal and we couldve had an easy night. Thought your back 4 were all over the place and never felt under threat
Maybe I'm being blinkered but I didn't think there was much between the 2 sides. Yes ye were ahead, but before and after the goal ye didn't do much imo(and I know we didn't either). V.good crowd down from ye though, fair play.
Claret Murph
22/03/2009, 11:01 AM
I hate it when fans boo their team it has always upset me and no matter what I would never do it .
I do think it will be a close game next week as the form book go's out the window when it's a Derby so I will call it a 1-1 draw . :ball:
22/03/2009, 11:49 AM
Maybe I'm being blinkered but I didn't think there was much between the 2 sides. Yes ye were ahead, but before and after the goal ye didn't do much imo(and I know we didn't either). V.good crowd down from ye though, fair play.
Of course you're blinkered and so am I. The truth is probably in the middle of us. We definitely had chances in the first half. Can only think of one for your self
Rovers Maniac
22/03/2009, 12:00 PM
Poor stuff and deserved nothing from the game in my view. Not sure if we had any players that even played ok out there, we seem to have a few half chances and that was it, nothing of real note in the second half ar Keane's header. Pats looked so comfortable through out the second half, if there had been a second goal i think it woul have been a second Pats goal.
We need Almeida back soon and that will help the defence. The midfield is a joke an absolute disgrace, with O'Grady unable to pass water. I would have serious issues with Cook and what he done with his limited funds in the pre-season. We allowed Gary Curran to leave, who we could have done with last night as we had only one central midfielder fit to start. With so many players out of contract last season we should have been able to wheel and deal a bit better than we did in the transfer market even working within a tight budget.
We have no shape or balance to the team at the moment which is so badly needed.
celticV3
22/03/2009, 12:45 PM
Was a poo performance but the better team won. We created f**k all but the team needs time to gel a bit more. Hopefully a better performance against Galway.
Those who boo'd need their heads examined. 3 games in with a relatively new team and injuries.
showgies
22/03/2009, 2:46 PM
I have to question the decision to have Ryan on the bench. For me he is a probaly our best ball player and the most comfortable on the ball. I don't think Boco knew where he was playing. He seemed to float between midfield and forward.
22/03/2009, 2:57 PM
I have to question the decision to have Ryan on the bench.
He sustained a rib injury during the week, which i guess is why he was left on the bench.
Poor again last night. Morrison did well when he had the ball at his feet. Galway will be interesting. Not worrying just yet, but Galway and Dundalk are big games for us now.
McT MUST start against Galway, but TBH i think Cook will more than likely start with Parkhouse and maybe Cash/Morrison playing off him.
22/03/2009, 7:23 PM
[QUOTE=Rovers Maniac;1127271] We allowed Gary Curran to leave, who we could have done with last night as we had only one central midfielder fit to start.
agree with you on gary curran. gary scored a good goal for us last night. I still cant believe we got him along with Derek Glynn.
hoop4life
22/03/2009, 8:34 PM
what was yer team and who came on???
from what i saw against shams, its yer defence that needs sorting
akearins
23/03/2009, 8:21 AM
Bit of a mixed bag of opinions.Seems like inside man will not be happy until Cook is gone and we are relegated so he can give himself a big pat on the back and say "I told you so" to himself as he hides behind an alias and no one know who he is. I have serious issues with aliases on this forum, the simple reason they are used if because certain fans do not have the balls to give their real identity and stand by what they say ,as they would be ridiculed for the ****e they write on the forum in person.
Cooke has spent on positions he needed with the limited funds he has available.The quality reflects the finances we have to spend and Coke himself has state we will struggle this season.AS for keeping Curran it wasn't a case that he was ran out the door ,Cooke could not guarantee first team football nd he spent the majority of last season on the bench so simple fact is he took the opportunity for regular first team football with Longford.
The league will be a hell of a lot tougher this season with a 10 team division and without Harps, Cobh and UCD we will lose almost 25 points we gained from them last season.
If fans believe we are not strong enough then its time to **** or get off the pot with the July transfer window coming up.Gets yer heads together and start thinking of ways you along with others can assist Cooke and the club and yourselves to improving the squad through raising funds to strengthen the squad.
Talk is cheap, we all know the problems but try and provide a solution......
Shedend83
23/03/2009, 12:23 PM
Ryan is a good player but doesn't really influence a game. He tends to play the comfortable pass out to the wing rather than trying to play a killer pass to open up a defence. Doesn't take on or beat players either.
rob mcdonald
23/03/2009, 3:42 PM
I think we're all beginning to get ahead of ourselves here. Mauro is a huge loss at the back but when you look at who we have played thus far and the quality of the teams,are we that far off the pace?? With guys playing out of position, missing players to come back and the likes of O'Grady and Cash to find form yet im sure things will click. Too much negative talk
red_away
24/03/2009, 11:48 AM
I think we're all beginning to get ahead of ourselves here. Mauro is a huge loss at the back but when you look at who we have played thus far and the quality of the teams,are we that far off the pace?? With guys playing out of position, missing players to come back and the likes of O'Grady and Cash to find form yet im sure things will click. Too much negative talk
i would agree with most of what you have said although we have been saying that cash is due a purple patch for quite a while???
Time to deliver!!!!
Also the pre season debacle cant have helped in the slightest!!!