View Full Version : Bernard Dunne WBA Super Bantamweight Champion of the World
highlight100
21/03/2009, 1:05 AM
Anyone heading to the fight on Saturday and what's your feeling on this one?
padjoe
21/03/2009, 2:13 AM
Anyone heading to the fight on Saturday and what's your feeling on this one?
i think he'll be beaten soundly. his opponent is vastly superior and another level above martinez. i think dunne has shown his heart isn't there since he applied for the fire brigade. i'd go for a fifth round knock out in this fight. i used to have good time for dunne but he just lacks power and has a weak chin. he boxes like a fighter at the olympics.
21/03/2009, 9:46 PM
Dunne will go down in the 2nd and the fight will be stopped in the third!
aidz1
21/03/2009, 10:49 PM
F4cj the negativity in here,,, go the the irish man,,.,,
21/03/2009, 10:52 PM
He seems well in control but that clash of heads opened him up and could cause him trouble.
Edit: A hell of a lot can change in three minutes, great round for Cordoba
21/03/2009, 10:54 PM
He nearly walloped the ref there:D
21/03/2009, 11:07 PM
seriously entertaining fight. Dunne just ahead on points?
21/03/2009, 11:10 PM
I'd imagine Dunne is ahead alright, could be tight enough though.
oscar
21/03/2009, 11:18 PM
that should do it
21/03/2009, 11:18 PM
Looks like Dunne has it.
He wins it.
21/03/2009, 11:19 PM
Great day for the Irish!
Cordoba looks to be in a very bad way. Hope he's OK.
21/03/2009, 11:21 PM
Whooohooooo!!! What a fight. The best way to win a world title is a real battle. Oh my god. What a great night. Hope Cordoba is ok.
Brilliant!
Hope Cordoba's alright. He's still out :eek:.
oscar
21/03/2009, 11:23 PM
he took a bit of a pounding there but he seems to be moving
21/03/2009, 11:23 PM
Cordoba still on the floor getting attention, looks in a very bad way, he is moving though.
He was out on his feet after the second count, should have been stopped.
Fair play to Dunne, I honestly didn't think he had a performance like that in him.
21/03/2009, 11:24 PM
Luckily, it seems he's going to be alright. Moving again.
Super fight, real slugfest. Dunne looked out of it when he took two counts in the 5th but showed a lot of guts to fight back. He also took a lot of hits from Cordoba which will surely enhance his reputation alongside the KO.
I liked the way Dunne checked on Cordoba before he started to celebrate.
adamcarr
21/03/2009, 11:46 PM
Fair play to Dunne! He deserved it, a brilliant fight to end a brilliant day.
22/03/2009, 12:52 AM
Dunne's win by knockout over Cordoba was impressive, probably the best I've ever seen him fight, far more intelligent than I've seen him box in the past. I'm delighted to see him join the list of Irish World Champion boxers.
Great day, great day.
Congratulations also to Andy Lee and Katie Taylor on their victories.
Rovers fan
22/03/2009, 1:25 AM
Cordoba still on the floor getting attention, looks in a very bad way, he is moving though.
He was out on his feet after the second count, should have been stopped.
Fair play to Dunne, I honestly didn't think he had a performance like that in him.
Agreed.
Well done to dunne. I don't really like him but he is Irish! Very entertaining fight, an all out battle. I really didn't think it would last that long. Both looked fecked at certain stages. I never expected dunne to do much after his defeat to kiko but fair play to him from proving me wrong. Hope cordoba is ok, I'd say he will be. A good day for irish sport, pity rovers lost:(
Torn-Ado
22/03/2009, 10:05 AM
Any footage of this fight?
I would expect you should be able to find on RTE.ie but it does not seem to be there yet.
22/03/2009, 1:06 PM
Great fight and Dunne really comes accross as nice guy and delighted for him. Very down to earth sort of lad.
All here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c9fNUtWX1fs&feature=channel
22/03/2009, 4:47 PM
anyone got a video to his post match speech and stuff?!
how do you check your thanks?!
Fight
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s1G2vE7Ppqw Part 1
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xb6d5cHHq6U Part 2
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JyK8tJnpyQk Part 3
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LMVVlrahOm4 Part 4
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c9fNUtWX1fs Part 5
Post fight interview
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VBPZh8mqGIM part one
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ikgZ6HdpnNY part two
22/03/2009, 4:59 PM
Any links for Andy Lee's fight, not on the rte site or youtube that I can find. I only caught the last round of it.
Big Ears
22/03/2009, 10:19 PM
Any links for Andy Lee's fight, not on the rte site or youtube that I can find. I only caught the last round of it.
http://www.rte.ie/sport/other/audiovideo_index.html
You're not checking hard enough :D, it's listed there.
Lee wasn't very impressive.
padjoe
23/03/2009, 12:17 AM
i'm delighted to admit i was wrong. an excellent win by dunne!!!
eamo1
23/03/2009, 12:28 AM
Did i hear correctly that Dunne stayed at the hospital till 5am last night till he knew for sure that Cordoba was going to be ok.If so then then what a sound guy he is indeed.
I was watching it in Supermacs as would have missed half it if had we gone home to watch so watched it there.The place was going mad with around 30 ppl watching on this small tv in the corner:).Best fight ive ever seen!!!
Aberdonian Stu
23/03/2009, 7:58 AM
God that interview has some priceless moments, as does any Bernard Dunne interview. From "I'm bringing my daughter to Lazytown tomorrow" to "I looked over a couple of times and she [his Ma] had her head in my Da's lap, and it wasn't anything sexual."
Youths4Ever
23/03/2009, 1:51 PM
God that interview has some priceless moments, as does any Bernard Dunne interview. From "I'm bringing my daughter to Lazytown tomorrow" to "I looked over a couple of times and she [his Ma] had her head in my Da's lap, and it wasn't anything sexual."
totally agree it was priceless tv.
Not a big fan of Dunne but he fought well and fair play to him for winning
25/03/2009, 11:42 AM
pocket rocket has challenged him now for a crack at the title....!!!!
25/03/2009, 12:46 PM
Great fight, great result.
To disagree with some others, I thought the referee stopped it at just the right time.
There's no way the ref should've been in earlier. The champ always has to be given a chance IMO. Dunne wasn't in much worse state in the 5th and came back.
Hope he doesn't fight McCullough. As much as I love Wayne, and I do love Wayne, its time to let it go.
Torn-Ado
27/03/2009, 11:45 AM
Seen the fight. A cracker by all accounts. Fair play to Dunne. He showed great character since his fight against Martinez and his head seemed to be in a far better place.
27/03/2009, 11:49 AM
I was surprised that he was so far behind on the judges score cards. Makes the win all the sweeter in a way. Shows how little I know about boxing, thinking he was probably just ahead.
Pike B
27/03/2009, 12:34 PM
Frank Maloney saying on Steve Bunce's Boxing Hour that his man(forget the name) was ringside for Dunne's fight and told Maloney 'I could have beaten them both in there tonight Frank'.
What a cokky little git!!
It's on the cards for this Brit to fight Dunne next, with Maloney offering 150,000 for him to have it in Britain.
Big Ears
28/03/2009, 1:11 AM
Frank Maloney saying on Steve Bunce's Boxing Hour that his man(forget the name) was ringside for Dunne's fight and told Maloney 'I could have beaten them both in there tonight Frank'.
What a cokky little git!!
It's on the cards for this Brit to fight Dunne next, with Maloney offering 150,000 for him to have it in Britain.
Rendall Munroe is the name of Maloney's charge, he's the current European champion and has two wins over Kiko Martinez. Although I would fancy Dunne to beat him(and that was before Saturday), you would expect a fighter who is only a little bit behind Dunne to fancy himself in beating both Dunne and the man he conquered.
It'd be a bit like Sligo Rovers players watching Bohs v Derry and thinking we could beat either of them.
But Sligo couldn't beat either of them ;)
I'd imagine he'd need more than 150,000 to get the fight done in the UK too