View Full Version : Big Mick Wolves team - Irish players

Pages : 1 [2]

19/04/2009, 6:48 PM
Not a blemish free season - there was a colossal wobble that they survived only because everyone else had a colossal wobble too!
I'd say Mick had the hardest wobble to handle and the bigger task to keep Wolves on track.

Despite the wobble, Wolves's overall points gained already would have won the championship in previous years in a canter.

Razors left peg
19/04/2009, 7:08 PM
happy for the Irish lads at Wolves but I still cant manage to wish McCarthy well. Didnt like him before Saipan and cant stand him since

Manc Irish Wolf
20/04/2009, 1:10 AM
Absolutely buzzing after the win yesterday and can't wait for a chance to see us battling against the great and the good of the Premier League.

Fair play to Mick, he's remained calm all the way through and has created a great platform for future development. Appreciate that he's not every man's cup of tea - but credit where it's due.

Quality performance yesterday with exceptional performances from Foley, Ward & Keogh, the latter effectively winning us the game with his determined running and selfless assist.

As mentioned previously definitely think that Foley will handle the step up comfortably and providing Keogh can maintain his confidence and bulks up a bit am hopeful that he can make a positive contribution and continue his development into a useful asset for Ireland. Similarly Wardy has potential - as a recent convert to left back he has a bit to learn - however he has all the right attributes and as an attacking left back is well suited in the modern game (Patrick Evra showed the transition from striker to full back is not impossible and McCarthy has likened Ward to Kilbane in his adabtability and ability to learn, who ultimately defied the odds) - if the jump up comes to soon for him, I'd be happy to see him loaned out for a year to hone his skills and considering that his development this year has been nothing short of amazing would not put it past him to keep on improving.

Obviously need to buy big in the summer, but the difference being this time that Mick has Steve Morgan's reported £500 million wealth to call upon, rather than the £6 million he had at Sunderland. Expect us to have a few experienced heads on board come August.

Appreciate that these are opinions of a mere mortal formed from watching them week in, week out, rather than someone with the omniscient insight of YoungIrish (Re-read your last post and ask yourself 2 questions: a) Do I sound arrogant? and b) Do I sound foolish? - both of which on reflection will probably be concluded with a Yes). Possibly rose-tinted but hopeful all the same.

Up the Wolves.

20/04/2009, 8:21 AM
Delighted for Big Mick. Hopefully he gets the financial backing he needs to strengthen the team. Hope the Irish lads are not discarded. I really hope Keogh makes in. I think he is a player who deserves success by his sheer determination and effort. Foley will not doubt make it, not sure about Ward though. Reckon Gleeson will be moved on for his own good.

I don't envy Mick his task. The Wolves crowd can be a very impatient lot.

Dr. Ogba
20/04/2009, 10:20 AM
happy for the Irish lads at Wolves but I still cant manage to wish McCarthy well. Didnt like him before Saipan and cant stand him since

harsh, i was never a fan of him when he was in charge (mostly due to some bizarre selections pre-Saipan) but have to say I'm delighted for him and the Irish lads at Wolves

He seems like a decent chap and a very good manager at championship level (yet to prove himself in the prem) and I hope they manage to consolidate their position in the prem next year...

20/04/2009, 10:46 AM
I'd say Mick had the hardest wobble If it's hard surely it's not wobbly?

20/04/2009, 12:03 PM
I suppose it's way too late for me to do an edit.
I walked into that one.

SunderlandBohs
21/04/2009, 12:43 PM
Well done Mick Mac!! Hopefully you can show all the doubters that you're a top draw manager. If you had the backing that Keane had we'd be looking at a European spot rather that a relagation fight. Well done to Wardy. Some badly need money for the coffers at Dalymount. I'm glad Wolves are back not just because of all the current Irish players and ex-Sunderland and Bohs players. Wolves are a big club and big clubs deserve to be in the Premier League.

21/04/2009, 12:55 PM
Well done Mick Mac!! Hopefully you can show all the doubters that you're a top draw manager. If you had the backing that Keane had we'd be looking at a European spot rather that a relagation fight. Well done to Wardy. Some badly need money for the coffers at Dalymount. I'm glad Wolves are back not just because of all the current Irish players and ex-Sunderland and Bohs players. Wolves are a big club and big clubs deserve to be in the Premier League.

I know Scunthrope received £150,000 bonus when Keogh and Wolves got promoted. How much do Bohs stand to make out of it (Ward)?

SunderlandBohs
21/04/2009, 1:02 PM
I know Scunthrope received £150,000 bonus when Keogh and Wolves got promoted. How much do Bohs stand to make out of it (Ward)?
Not 100% sure. I know the fee had a few add on fees. I think promotion was one of them. Can't imagine it to be a massive fee. It's something I'll have to looking to.

SunderlandBohs
21/04/2009, 1:10 PM
e100,000. Hows that for a quick detective work. Would have take Columbo hour to solve that one:D

back of the net
21/04/2009, 1:19 PM
Delighted for Mick. Given the limited finances available at Wolves this is a tremendous achievment.

It is depressing that the promotion merits only a very cursory mention in the Irish media compared with Sunderland's promotion two years ago.

Whatever the rights and wrongs of the Saipan issue it is a shame that people seem to regard McCarthy as a "second class" Irishman of some kind. To me, he was one of the most passionate players and managers we have ever had (although he'd admit himself he was never the most skillful player in the world).

I still have the video of the interview he gave after the defeat to Italy in 1990 (still sweating in his kit). He was raging and continued to repeat that "we should have won this whole bloody tournament". No one Irish player has a monopoly on having that "winning mentality".

Hope Wolves stay up next season and that Mick gets the credit he's due.

excellent post EastTerracer

Yard of Pace
21/04/2009, 2:22 PM
Delighted for Mick.

When I was a kid he came down to our prize-giving ceremony one year. The oul fella says he was an absolute gentleman, posed for as many photos as was needed all night in good humour. I was always appalled later at the vitriol he'd go on to receive over various things.

Kudos to Manc Irish Wolf for the great posts all season too. Great to have that kind of insight on here.

dr_peepee
21/04/2009, 5:03 PM
Kudos to Manc Irish Wolf for the great posts all season too. Great to have that kind of insight on here.

Defo.. Maybe we'll get Crafty Toe Poke back when Leicester go back up... That and maybe sign some Paddies!!!

Great to have Wolves up for obvious reasons...

Hibernian
21/04/2009, 9:33 PM
Well done Mick fair play.

Delighted for him (and this is from me who has not always agreed with everything in the past he done)

Hopefully they do well next season that would mean staying in top flight in England. its going be dogfight for them but i think they can stay up..

i hear there getting 28 million which is not too bad

also backed them at start year so i suppose my thanks are just much from my pocket then heart :) but all same

lionelhutz
22/04/2009, 9:23 AM
Well done to McCarthy and Wolves.

Hopefully they can provide the same kind of shock results they did the last time they were in the top flight, ie beating Man United 1-0

22/04/2009, 9:56 AM
The Wolves board are queueing up to take some credit for being smart enough to recognise Mick's managerial qualities.
Why we picked a Mick (http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2009/0421/1224245070859.html)

'The (thick) fans wanted Ince but fortunately we the board were smarter'.

I won't mention the unmentionable S factor but that appeared to rate high.

Still, they pay high praise indeed to Mick.
“It was an illustration of a guy with charisma, character and determination. If a man can deal with that pressure with that sort of dignity then we knew he would be able to deal with the problems that would face him as manager of Wolverhampton Wanderers"

“Yet his integrity and humility struck a chord and I’m pleased that those are permanent characteristics.”

Drumcondra 69er
22/04/2009, 2:43 PM
The Wolves board are queueing up to take some credit for being smart enough to recognise Mick's managerial qualities.
Why we picked a Mick (http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2009/0421/1224245070859.html)

'The (thick) fans wanted Ince but fortunately we the board were smarter'.

I won't mention the unmentionable S factor but that appeared to rate high.

Still, they pay high praise indeed to Mick.
“It was an illustration of a guy with charisma, character and determination. If a man can deal with that pressure with that sort of dignity then we knew he would be able to deal with the problems that would face him as manager of Wolverhampton Wanderers"

“Yet his integrity and humility struck a chord and I’m pleased that those are permanent characteristics.”

The headline is a fukkin joke on that article mind you.....

smasher
22/04/2009, 2:53 PM
Really over the moon for Mick. A genuine guy who always stuck by his own principles. Pity we dont have more like him.

22/04/2009, 4:00 PM
The headline is a fukkin joke on that article mind you.....
the last part of the headline was edited out

'like a hole in the head'

Manc Irish Wolf
23/04/2009, 9:38 PM
Delighted for Mick.

When I was a kid he came down to our prize-giving ceremony one year. The oul fella says he was an absolute gentleman, posed for as many photos as was needed all night in good humour. I was always appalled later at the vitriol he'd go on to receive over various things.

Thanks YOP & Dr P. Know what you mean about Crafty Toe Poke - was planning to congratulate him last week, however forgot his pseudonym he'd been away so long. Pity, as I used to enjoy reading his Leicester updates. Hopefully he'll be back to give us more detailed insight next year in the Irish footballing hotbed that is the Championship.

23/04/2009, 10:42 PM
Congrats Wolves. I always had a soft spot for them first cause of the colour of their jersey when I was younger, then because of Robert Plant and then after that due to Mick Mc Carthy and the amount of Irish guys at the club.

25/04/2009, 12:19 PM
Very good long article on Mick by Vincent Hogan in the Indo today.

McCarthy happy to roll with the punches (http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/mccarthy-happy-to-roll-with-the-punches-1719856.html)

On Trap
"What I see under him is a team that's going somewhere, that could qualify," he says.

"He (Trapattoni) has made us solid. Does he have the calibre of player available to him that Jack had? No. That I had? No. Yet, they're doing well and the players seem to like him. Listen, there's no rhyme or reason to some of the commentary in Ireland. There's such hoo-ha generated by one poor result. It's just barmy, crazy."

On Andy Keogh
Andy Keogh has been a revelation in recent games despite long being a target of fans' scorn. How did McCarthy shield him, as he always does?

"I make him feel important to me and the team," he says. "What anybody else thinks outside the group doesn't matter."

Hunty's Flatcap
26/06/2009, 12:53 PM
Gleeson off to MK Dons permanently. http://www.expressandstar.com/2009/06/26/sold-gleeson-headed-to-mk-dons/

Probably a decent move for him, to a passing team who should be vying for promotion to the Champtionship. He was never going to get in to the first team at Molineux in the Premier League and there's only so long you can send someone out on loan.

Manc Irish Wolf
29/06/2009, 10:39 PM
Looks like we have added another one to the ranks. Sky Sports have announced that we have a press conference arranged at 9.30 tomorrow morning to unveil Doyler as our new signing. Absolutely made up if it's true. Him and Blake could be a quality partnership - 10 goals a piece and we'll have a good chance of survival. Mick is definitely assembling a team for the future - state of the art set up down there now and Morgan wanted to buy Liverpool so looks like he means business. Doyler's only really had 3 or 4 full seasons as a pro and is getting stronger every game - can't wait to see him develop further down the Mol (Please God).

Hope Mick uses his Irish connections to the full and adds Duffer, Dunne and St Ledger to the ranks - nothing better than the thought of an Irish dream team down the Wolves.

youngirish
29/06/2009, 11:10 PM
Looks like we have added another one to the ranks. Sky Sports have announced that we have a press conference arranged at 9.30 tomorrow morning to unveil Doyler as our new signing. Absolutely made up if it's true. Him and Blake could be a quality partnership - 10 goals a piece and we'll have a good chance of survival. Mick is definitely assembling a team for the future - state of the art set up down there now and Morgan wanted to buy Liverpool so looks like he means business. Doyler's only really had 3 or 4 full seasons as a pro and is getting stronger every game - can't wait to see him develop further down the Mol (Please God).

Hope Mick uses his Irish connections to the full and adds Duffer, Dunne and St Ledger to the ranks - nothing better than the thought of an Irish dream team down the Wolves.

Hope it goes well there for him there and Wolves do well next year and get a few new faces in before the start of the season. Wolves will be the team I'll now be most watching next season in the Premierhip.

Good luck for next season Manc Irish Wolf.

07/07/2009, 9:57 AM

Do Wolves have the money for such signings? Certainly would be three great captures.

co. down green
07/07/2009, 10:30 AM
u16 international from Limerick now at Wolves

http://www.limerickleader.ie/sport/Ballingarry-star-joins-pack-of.5418813.jp

bohsRap
07/07/2009, 11:22 AM
u16 international from Limerick now at Wolves

Just reading through that link there and it mentions a player from Montserrat, playing for Udinese who may be eligible for Ireland due to a Grandmother:

It also appears that Ballingarry could be about to offer Irish soccer another new international - 18-year-old Finntonio Yogue is a native of the world's worst international side Montserrat, but is eligible for Ireland due to his grandmother Catherine Shanley from Ballingarry. The west Limerick woman moved to Montserrat to work as a nurse in 1940.
Now it appears her grandson is attracting the attention of Irish soccer bosses.
Finntonio Yogue plays with Italian side Udinese, but has been linked to a number of top clubs including Chelsea and Arsenal in recent weeks.
In Udinese the teenager is coached by Gianluca Torrotti who is an acquaintance of Irish boss Giovanni Trappatoni and assistant Marco Tardelli.
It is understood that Torotti has made the Irish management aware that a change of a FIFA ruling may allow Finntonio Yogue to line out for the Republic of Ireland.
A motion from the Algerian Football Association, removing the reference to the age limit, was passed by 58 per cent at the FIFA Congress, opening the way for many players to get a second chance in international football.
The rule change does not affect any player who has played for the full national team as they are barred from switching nations.
Yogue has already played twice for Montserrat, but both games were international friendlies.
"Finn has the ability to play soccer at the highest level and this has been proven by the many clubs that have been enquiring after him," said Bradan Lifford, the coach who discovered Yogue.
"He's had a good month, scoring in the Udinese run in to the Italian youth competitions, getting the international news and now the invite to Chelsea," said Lifford.
It is believed that South Korea, Japan and Croatia have already been in touch with Yogue's representatives to offer him a trial, but his Irish family background has the FAI monitoring the situation.

Can't be true can it? Seems like another "Masal Bugduv" (google it).

07/07/2009, 12:17 PM
Finntonio sounds like a made up version of Fintan to me.

republicofwhite
07/07/2009, 12:21 PM
Fintan Og or something to that effect. What a terrible attempt at reproducing the same prank. Pretty Lowbrow

07/07/2009, 12:28 PM
Bit more about the lad here: http://www.bbc.co.uk/dna/606/A53498424
can't find anything about him on the Udinese site, so take it all with a pinch of salt

republicofwhite
07/07/2009, 12:58 PM
"Finn Yogue". Jaysus...

07/07/2009, 1:07 PM
Anyway,Mick has been busy on the transfer front. are his signings of sufficient quality? I know nothing about the CM and the CB he has bought.

Greg Halford is a strange one. Is he a threat to Foley at RB, or is he being bought as RM?

07/07/2009, 1:12 PM
McCarthy played Foley in midfield on a number of occasions last season. Reckon he is a better full back than Halford.

dr_peepee
07/07/2009, 3:40 PM
Greg Halford is a strange one. Is he a threat to Foley at RB, or is he being bought as RM?

He's not an imediate threat to him at fullback anyway. Seen him a few times for Sunderland. Apparently showed his versatility in his loan moves back to the Championship though.. Think he suffers with Nerves though and needs time and patience. No better man the Mick in that regard but I'd say Foley will start the season as No. 1 right back.

07/07/2009, 5:06 PM
Doyler's debut coming up against Perth Glory :confused:

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/0707/doylek.html

Scram
08/07/2009, 3:48 PM
Fintan Og or something to that effect. What a terrible attempt at reproducing the same prank. Pretty Lowbrow

eh! Finn Yogue as in Transfer Finn Yogue - Fuinneog.

Wexford Delboy
08/07/2009, 6:35 PM

Thommo
08/07/2009, 7:19 PM
Apparently McCarthy is honing in on Hamilton's James McCarthy.Hope that Finn Yogue lad declares for Ireland sounds like a player.

dr_peepee
09/07/2009, 11:16 AM
Smashing Player...

stiffler
12/07/2009, 2:04 PM
What is Wolves likely first 11 for next season then?

13/07/2009, 9:13 AM
What is Wolves likely first 11 for next season then?
They've played their first pre season game in Australia, a 1-0 win over Perth Glory
lineups from http://www.wolves.co.uk/page/News/0,,10307~1718947,00.html

FIRST HALF: Hennessey, Foley, Craddock, Berra, Elokobi, Jarvis, Henry, Surman, Ward, Ebanks-Blake, Iwelumo.

SECOND HALF: Hahnemann, Stearman, Craddock, Berra, Hill, Halford, Edwards, Surman, Friend, Doyle, Keogh.

robroy
13/07/2009, 9:22 AM
Hennessey--what nationality is he?

13/07/2009, 9:31 AM
Hennessey--what nationality is he?
He's Welsh, has 19 caps for the senior team according to wikipedia - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wayne_Hennessey

Manc Irish Wolf
13/07/2009, 12:47 PM
Certainly seems that Big Mick is looking at assembling a sizeable squad for next season. Will be overjoyed if we add James McCarthy to the list and gives an indication that we will be playing 5 in midfield, certainly in away games, having added 5 players who can play in midfield to the ranks (Milijas, Surman, Halford, Doyle and McCarthy?) - Personally think that he will play Doyle on the left hand side away from home and alongside Ebanks Blake at Home (although performances will obviously dictate with Keogh having an increased chance as a likely sub with Iwulemo out for 3 months and his flexibility in positions).

Of the new signings Milijas sounds class - Serbian captain after 10 games (with 2 goals) and a tough tackling playmaker and set kick specialist - also signed a Marseille centre-half (Zubar) who Mick first spotted playing for France U21's and have been linked heavily with Mancianne (loan deal almost agreed) and possible moves for Zat Knight and even possibly Dunne.

Personally, think the Irish players channces of playing as follows:

Foley - Definite starter at right back (his overlapping with Kightly is a big part of our game) - although he may be tested with the physicallity of the top flight. Possibilty to move into midfield as one of three where he was used last year occasionally (he runs with the ball well). Think Halford has been bought in for his adaptability as he can play CH, RB & RM, however does have useful assets with his height (6ft 4) and his long throws, which will make us more competitive in the land of the giants that is the top flight.

Ward - likely to be second place to Elekobi - however he is not experienced at this level, so Wardy should have opportunities. Think his adaptability is another asset for his chances as he will be handy as a big physical player who could beef up our midfield. Could go one of two ways - however has improved year on year, so can't write off his chances. If not first team, could always benefot from another season as a first team left back in the championship to learn his trade.

Keogh - A lot of people think his game is more suited to the prem as a proper footballer. His verstaility will help also. but doesn't score enough and is likely to be brought on a midfielder as a sub - possibly on the right with Kightly coming inside. Interesting to see him partnered with Doyle in the first friendly though - could be a good partnership.

Doyle - Definite starter although up front or on the left of a 5 man midfield remains to be seen. Think his and SEB will be a quality partnership.

McCarthy? - Overjoyed if he comes - could well go straight into the first team alongseide Milijas and Henry in the middle three. Definitely a better move coming to us than a Liverpool or Chelsea as previously mentioned (If true - his agent Willie McKay is a proper blagger). Will have an opportunity to learn his trade in the top flight if he comes.