View Full Version : Wallace spitting the dummy
Tis-smeee
14/03/2009, 2:44 AM
At the match tonight Wallace tried the old chestnut of wanting the Waterford United team to train on the back pitch . Now on any other night I would have no problem with the Idea but tonight visiblity was a disgrace and it couldnt be done ( I dunno if that had any part in it ). Henderson informed Mr Wallace that it would not be acceptable he started ranting and raving until Hendo pulled out the Fifa reg stating that we were entitled to 15 minutes on the match pitch , to which Wallace replies "fine , if you wanna train on it , your not getting any food after the game " . Couldnt make it up if you tried , btw they ordered pizza instead :D:D:D
oldyouth
14/03/2009, 7:40 AM
At the match tonight Wallace tried the old chestnut of wanting the Waterford United team to train on the back pitch . Now on any other night I would have no problem with the Idea but tonight visiblity was a disgrace and it couldnt be done
I agree with that part of your post. Weather conditions were exceptionally bad.
pixiehead
14/03/2009, 8:38 AM
At the match tonight Wallace tried the old chestnut of wanting the Waterford United team to train on the back pitch . Now on any other night I would have no problem with the Idea but tonight visiblity was a disgrace and it couldnt be done ( I dunno if that had any part in it ). Henderson informed Mr Wallace that it would not be acceptable he started ranting and raving until Hendo pulled out the Fifa reg stating that we were entitled to 15 minutes on the match pitch , to which Wallace replies "fine , if you wanna train on it , your not getting any food after the game " . Couldnt make it up if you tried , btw they ordered pizza instead :D:D:D
Thats Insane!!! Whats his problem with them training on the pitch anyhow?
GuisaSaigon
14/03/2009, 9:13 AM
Thats Insane!!! Whats his problem with them training on the pitch anyhow?
It's a wexford thing! Wallace doesn't allow any team warm up on the playing pitch in case they damage the grass!
madblaa
14/03/2009, 10:26 AM
I agree with that part of your post. Weather conditions were exceptionally bad.Several people were witness to this and I have it on good authority it happened, prey tell, were you involved in some way that you can deny it happened?
Youths4Ever
14/03/2009, 10:37 AM
I agree the visibility on the training pitch was poor last night and no team should have been forced to warm up on it.
A bit childish of Wallace to not give the Waterford team food after the game but also some very childish behavior from one Waterford player (don't know who) and official upstairs after the game.
madblaa
14/03/2009, 10:39 AM
What happened there?
corkboy360
14/03/2009, 10:42 AM
I suppose he expects to train on every match pitch in the division before and after the game then ?H must be some sort of lunatic.
Duffman
14/03/2009, 10:45 AM
No Limerick fans in yet? Its a wonder :p
You would have thought that Wallace would have learned from last season, every team going there this year will be prepared for it now a la Henderson, fifa guidelines a go go.
madblaa
14/03/2009, 10:49 AM
You would have thought that Wallace would have learned from last season, every team going there this year will be prepared for it now a la Henderson, fifa guidelines a go go.It'll save him a fortune on after match grub!
Youths4Ever
14/03/2009, 10:51 AM
What happened there?
some name calling
I suppose he expects to train on every match pitch in the division before and after the game then ?H must be some sort of lunatic.
when Wexford have been asked to warm up on a different pitch it has happened. not 100% sure but think only time asked to was against FC Carlow in an under 20 game.
Lunatic is such a strong word but eccentric maybe a bit closer :D
Youths4Ever
14/03/2009, 10:52 AM
You would have thought that Wallace would have learned from last season, every team going there this year will be prepared for it now a la Henderson, fifa guidelines a go go.
we will have to wait and see what happens against Longford
madblaa
14/03/2009, 10:55 AM
we will have to wait and see what happens against LongfordSo what happened with the Blues player?
Youths4Ever
14/03/2009, 11:06 AM
So what happened with the Blues player?
as i already said some name calling
madblaa
14/03/2009, 11:09 AM
Oh, that's all, thought it might have been more serious.
oldyouth
14/03/2009, 11:19 AM
Several people were witness to this and I have it on good authority it happened, prey tell, were you involved in some way that you can deny it happened?
Read the post gobdaw. I agreed with Tis-smee. Neither team should have warmed up ther last night
madblaa
14/03/2009, 11:20 AM
Read the post gobdaw. I agreed with Tis-smee.Sorry, looked as if the only part you agreed with was the weather conditions!
oldyouth
14/03/2009, 11:21 AM
Sorry, looked as if the only part you agreed with was the weather conditions!
Accepted
14/03/2009, 11:32 AM
Clubs need to complain to the FAI in an official capacity to get Wallace to cop on. I can see and kind of admire the pride he has in the pitch but its OTT. Its amateur and he needs to get a grip. FFS how often are we going to hear about this kind of crap.
14/03/2009, 11:39 AM
Wallace is an idiot. End of story.
Glad to see other clubs experiencing his nonsense first hand and showing that we were in the right to say that we wouldn't train in his car park when we were entitled to warm up on the main pitch (still wrong to walk away from the game mind)
Wallace's ego gets the best of him I think, complete moron of an individual
LK37oldskool
14/03/2009, 2:22 PM
Here we go again and its only the 2nd match of the season! lucky for Waterford Kerly's not in charge of ye or it would have cost them 3 pts.
Wallace thinks he's Irelands answer to Morinho.
Tir Oilean
14/03/2009, 2:31 PM
Mervue should make Wallace and his pink team warm up down the Plots when they come to Galway. ****in muppet
Tis-smeee
14/03/2009, 2:49 PM
some name calling
In fairness Mick set the precedent for acting like a baby , from what I hear he practically kicked the Waterford United team and staff out of the clubhouse after the game . Is that how they do it in Italy mick?
Youths4Ever
14/03/2009, 3:08 PM
In fairness Mick set the precedent for acting like a baby , from what I hear he practically kicked the Waterford United team and staff out of the clubhouse after the game . Is that how they do it in Italy mick?
he did set the precedent in am not disagreeing with that but what I heard said was unwarranted as for kicked out that is a bit OTT.
Some of the Waterford players came up to get food and where told then where not getting any made some comments some of which where made to staff who where doing as then where told and left the building then a Waterford official came up. He and Wallace had heated words and then Waterford official left.
14/03/2009, 4:08 PM
If ye won't train on the back pitch ye are not getting food after the game. What a childish thing to say and do. He's a big baby.
Iorfa2MaccaJim
14/03/2009, 4:38 PM
I am a Blues fan.
And in my opinion, this is not the first time I've heard this problem. Obviously if there is poor visabilaty at the training ground Wallace will have to install better flood lights. And as regards his attitude with teams training on the main pitch, if the training pitch is unplayable, obviously the opposition would have to train on the main pitch.
he did set the precedent in am not disagreeing with that but what I heard said was unwarranted as for kicked out that is a bit OTT.
Some of the Waterford players came up to get food and where told then where not getting any made some comments some of which where made to staff who where doing as then where told and left the building then a Waterford official came up. He and Wallace had heated words and then Waterford official left.
Christ this gets worse.
Still, has to make a name for himself somehow I guess, where's all the people who called him a decent and honourable man when he did this to Limerick last season :rolleyes:
14/03/2009, 6:52 PM
In fairness Jebus I think most of us accepted Wallace was making a show of himself the last time and now he's just become a complete laughing stock. There are plenty of admirable qualities about the man but there are some fairly obvious flaws to his character too, he keeps too many personal vedettas and refuses to compromise if he thinks he's right, even when he's blatantly wrong, often at a personal cost, there's plenty of examples of him losing business over his views.
oldyouth
14/03/2009, 9:04 PM
In fairness Jebus I think most of us accepted Wallace was making a show of himself the last time and now he's just become a complete laughing stock. There are plenty of admirable qualities about the man but there are some fairly obvious flaws to his character too, he keeps too many personal vedettas and refuses to compromise if he thinks he's right, even when he's blatantly wrong, often at a personal cost, there's plenty of examples of him losing business over his views.
As always Mr. Passing, I leave it to you to explain what I think without getting too bogged down in the getting personal aspect.
I have an awful lot of time for any man who sees football as his life's passion, puts his money where his mouth is, when there is NEVER a chance of return, yet has flaws like the rest of us.
Not perfect, but then again, who is
mediahack
14/03/2009, 9:45 PM
Interestingly the FAI changed their rules this year because of what happened with Limerick last season......
Warm-up/Warm-down
18.19 Each team in a fixture is entitled to the use of the match pitch for warm-up and warm-down purposes, unless otherwise agreed between both Clubs.
18.20 In order to protect the surface of the match pitch players shall not warm up on the match pitch until 60 minutes before the time of kick – off. Managers and Coaches should endeavour to minimise damage to the playing surface during the warm up.
18.21 In order to protect the surface of the match pitch the warm down period must not exceed 15 minutes
Henderson was perfectly right in asking to warm up on the pitch. I was in Wexford last night and there was no visiblity on the back pitch so they could only warm up on the main pitch.
What happened after the match was childish at best!!!!
I understand Wallace told Beat102 that Waterford were disrespectful but rules are rules and he is wrong!
15/03/2009, 9:18 AM
What happened to the super doober billion watt floodlights he installed?
he ran out of 50cent coins for the meter !
Mr_Parker
15/03/2009, 10:53 AM
Interestingly the FAI changed their rules this year because of what happened with Limerick last season......
Warm-up/Warm-down
18.19 Each team in a fixture is entitled to the use of the match pitch for warm-up and warm-down purposes, unless otherwise agreed between both Clubs.
18.20 In order to protect the surface of the match pitch players shall not warm up on the match pitch until 60 minutes before the time of kick – off. Managers and Coaches should endeavour to minimise damage to the playing surface during the warm up.
18.21 In order to protect the surface of the match pitch the warm down period must not exceed 15 minutes
Often an issue at Irish League grounds. Interesting to see it has been covered by your rules though the last bit of 18.20 is a bit ambiguous.
15/03/2009, 2:04 PM
Warm-up/Warm-down
yep it is very interesting. after going against limerick last year and awarding the points to Wexford and a fine, they (fai) then changed the rules so to agree with limerick. tail wags dog etc
oldyouth
15/03/2009, 3:26 PM
yep it is very interesting. after going against limerick last year and awarding the points to Wexford and a fine, they (fai) then changed the rules so to agree with limerick. tail wags dog etc
They didn't change the rule to agree with Limerick, they introduced a rule to solve a problem that had never arisen before.
I'm told that this rule was never brought to the attention of our stewards until presented with it on Friday night. That's very poor on our part and a bit of communication could have prevented it.
Anyway, I think it is sorted now and I believe the 15 warm up on the main pitch is to be scheduled for all visiting teams. I don't expect our players to be warming up on it though, which is a shame
15/03/2009, 4:18 PM
he ran out of 50cent coins for the meter !
This recession is clearly causing problems for us all Terry...
Mr_Parker
15/03/2009, 5:08 PM
They didn't change the rule to agree with Limerick, they introduced a rule to solve a problem that had never arisen before.
I'm told that this rule was never brought to the attention of our stewards until presented with it on Friday night. That's very poor on our part and a bit of communication could have prevented it.
Anyway, I think it is sorted now and I believe the 15 warm up on the main pitch is to be scheduled for all visiting teams. I don't expect our players to be warming up on it though, which is a shame
Can you limit it to a 15 minute warm up? The rule seems to indicate that they can warm up for nearly 1 hour before the game if they wish.
da bishop
15/03/2009, 5:34 PM
if it is now in the rules that teams are entitled to warm up on the match pitch then hendo was spot on and wallace is out of order but where in the rules does it say he has to feed teams...do all the clubs feed away teams after games...dont think so.
15/03/2009, 8:56 PM
my point being by changing the rule, they have now vindicated all that limerick did (apart from not playing) in the game last season. yes it was poor communication on your clubs part not to inform your stewards but why has this not happened in most other clubs? because this prob has never existed in most other clubs perhalps? For the record, the rule states that clubs can warm up on the main ptch for upto an hour before the game and warm down for 15 mins after. Most club secs are on good communication terms with each other id imagine, and if any new rule or change to rules have been introduced then maybe a more experianced club sec would be consulted by some newer club sec in relation to this. is wallace the club sec of wexford youths as well? im sure he could have consulted with another clubs more experianced club sec on these issues.
oldyouth
15/03/2009, 9:10 PM
Right, this my last comment on the issue.
I was quoting the original post when I stated that 15 mins is to be allowed for warm up. I just know that the new procedure will be adopted. Yes, poor communication led to Friday's incident causing upset. What more needs to be discussed?
As for ....all that limerick did (apart from not playing) in the game, do you not see how silly that looks?
By the way how's the progress coming along in getting Limerick's facilities to comply with the rules?
15/03/2009, 11:33 PM
By the way how's the progress coming along in getting Limerick's facilities to comply with the rules?
Well given that we got a license first time around we must be meeting some kind of required standard. Having your final word on Wexfordgate is kinda like a last cigarette for the average smoker isn't it?
madblaa
16/03/2009, 12:07 PM
if it is now in the rules that teams are entitled to warm up on the match pitch then hendo was spot on and wallace is out of order but where in the rules does it say he has to feed teams...do all the clubs feed away teams after games...dont think so.Nothing to do with rules, it's just common courtesy. I can't say for certain if ALL teams feed the opposition after but I'd be pretty confident to day they do.
It's more to do with Wallace's childish behaviour than anything.
passerrby
16/03/2009, 12:36 PM
ive no idea what the training pitch is like if it needs better lights then it should have them but am i the only one who feels mick is only trying to protect the playing surface, and where possible clubs should support this at all grounds.
managers on the other hand could not give a flying fcuk about ruining a pitch but are the first to moan about it when they get beaten.
so maybe clubs should tell there managers that if possible do not warm up on the main pitch. teams will have to work together long after the manager has moved on.
Kildareman
16/03/2009, 2:56 PM
So does that mean that players going out the back to warmup on the training pitch are handed a meal voucher for after the game.:)
passerrby
16/03/2009, 3:06 PM
i would think that your landlords would be happier if the pitch was protected as much as possible. maybe if your only tenents you dont give a fig
16/03/2009, 9:27 PM
quite well in fact and thank you for asking. a new six and a half thousand seater in the offing :cool:
16/03/2009, 11:39 PM
ive no idea what the training pitch is like if it needs better lights then it should have them but am i the only one who feels mick is only trying to protect the playing surface, and where possible clubs should support this at all grounds.
managers on the other hand could not give a flying fcuk about ruining a pitch but are the first to moan about it when they get beaten.
so maybe clubs should tell there managers that if possible do not warm up on the main pitch. teams will have to work together long after the manager has moved on.
Yes, and it's a bit foolish to say so given Wallace's past attention seeking form
passerrby
17/03/2009, 11:40 AM
Yes, and it's a bit foolish to say so given Wallace's past attention seeking form
while i will not disagree with your opinion of mickI would suspect that your lack of respect for other teams property that has your club in the plush surroundings of jackman park.i was going to say when you get your own pitch you may feel differently but thats not going to happen now is it.
also where is the manager who started this argument with wallace gone leaving limerick to try and reastablish good relations with a fellow league team ,because you can bet some day limerick will require a favour from lwexford and because of a manager who wanted to play oneupmanship you now have no hope of getting any cooperation. but it appears that is the way you prefer it. sad really
gotaroundbetter
17/03/2009, 12:20 PM
while i will not disagree with your opinion of mickI would suspect that your lack of respect for other teams property that has your club in the plush surroundings of jackman park.i was going to say when you get your own pitch you may feel differently but thats not going to happen now is it.
also where is the manager who started this argument with wallace gone leaving limerick to try and reastablish good relations with a fellow league team ,because you can bet some day limerick will require a favour from lwexford and because of a manager who wanted to play oneupmanship you now have no hope of getting any cooperation. but it appears that is the way you prefer it. sad really
Your points are all well and good but taking things back to the original post, the back pitch lighting last Friday was shockingly bad, the light from the parking stewards torches was brighter.
Therefore if Mick wants to protect the main pitch,something needs to be done to improve safety on the back pitch.
Hold on new flood lights installed this week at the rsc,I'll see if the old ones are still hanging around;)
passerrby
17/03/2009, 1:08 PM
your right if the lighting is not good enough then that it a valid point i just feel clubs should where possible work together and should not expect managers to think of the long term future of a club.. also good pitches should mean better football