View Full Version : Pick your player to leave the squad

05/12/2003, 1:54 PM
Seeing as we got close to 30 first team squad members this season & need to have smaller better quality squad with new players coming in that should mean a good few players need to be released.

Pick 10 players from current squad you would release if were Dolinio now.

Deccie,
O'Grady
Warren,
Andrews,
etc...

05/12/2003, 2:14 PM
Michael DEVINE (Goalkeeper)
Noel MOONEY (Goalkeeper)
Mark MCNULTY (Goalkeeper)
Stephen NAPIER (Defender)
Alan CAREY (Defender)
Declan DALY (Defender)
Neal HORGAN (Defender)
Kevin MURRAY (Defender)
Daniel MURRAY (Defender)
Derek COUGHLAN (Defender)
Killian LORDAN (Defender / Midfielder)
Greg O'HALLORAN (Defender / Midfielder)
Alan BENNETT (Midfielder)
Conor O'GRADY (Midfielder)
Colin T O'BRIEN (Midfielder)
Billy WOODS (Midfielder)
Dave WARREN (Midfielder)
Michael BUCKLEY (Midfielder)
Ryan CASEY (Midfielder)
Gavin MELAUGH (Midfielder)
George O'CALLAGHAN (Midfield / Forward)
John O'FLYNN (Forward)
Colin P O'BRIEN (Forward)
Jamie NOLAN (Forward)
Michael NWáNKo(Forward)
Denis BEHAN (Forward)
Kevin DOYLE (Forward)

Who is missing ??

05/12/2003, 2:17 PM
greg
greg
greg
greg
greg

behan
behan
behan
behan
behan

theres my 10

Seanie
05/12/2003, 2:39 PM
Originally posted by A face
Noel MOONEY (Goalkeeper)
Alan CAREY (Defender)
Declan DALY (Defender)
Neal HORGAN (Defender)
Kevin MURRAY (Defender)
Daniel MURRAY (Defender)
Killian LORDAN (Defender / Midfielder)
Greg O'HALLORAN (Defender / Midfielder)
Alan BENNETT (Midfielder)
Billy WOODS (Midfielder)
Dave WARREN (Midfielder)
Michael BUCKLEY (Midfielder)
Ryan CASEY (Midfielder)
Gavin MELAUGH (Midfielder)
George O'CALLAGHAN (Midfield / Forward)
John O'FLYNN (Forward)
Jamie NOLAN (Forward)
Michael NWáNKo(Forward)
Denis BEHAN (Forward)
Kevin DOYLE (Forward)

Who is missing ??

Liam KEARNEY (Midfielder)

Seanie
05/12/2003, 2:43 PM
It's difficult to name ten - I don't think it will be that much of an axe-wielding policy. For me it will be:

Noel MOONEY (Goalkeeper) - is not likely to get in before Devine and I believe we have adequate cover in McNulty. Deserves a first-team opportunity elsewhere.
Declan DALY (Defender)
Conor O'GRADY (Midfielder) - has just detoriated as a player over the last two seasons
Dave WARREN (Midfielder) - had made no progress after two years. Will probably want away

05/12/2003, 3:08 PM
Current Squad

Noel MOONEY (Goalkeeper)

Alan CAREY (Defender)
Declan DALY (Defender)
Neal HORGAN (Defender)
Daniel MURRAY (Defender)
Kevin MURRAY (Defender/Midfielder)
Killian LORDAN (Defender/Midfielder)
Greg O'HALLORAN (Defender/Midfielder)
Alan BENNETT (Defender/Midfielder)
Billy WOODS (Defender/Midfielder)
Michael BUCKLEY (Defender/Midfielder)

Dave WARREN (Midfielder)
Ryan CASEY (Midfielder)
Michael Mulconroy (Midfielder)
Michael NWáNKo (Midfielder)
Liam Kearney (Midfielder)

Kevin DOYLE (Midfielder/Forward)
George O'CALLAGHAN (Forward)
John O'FLYNN (Forward)
Jamie NOLAN (Forward)
Denis BEHAN (Forward)
Ian FRAHER (Forward)
Chowoki (Forward)

liamon
05/12/2003, 3:10 PM
I'd agree with Seanie's evaluation, but I'd add CP to the list.

He's fallen down the pecking order behind GOC, JOF, Behan and probably our new striker. Doyle is used as a winger, but can also play up front. That leaves CP fighting with Nolan to be sixth choice. Can't see him accepting that.

I'm not sure Carey has much of a future either, especially if we bring in another defender.

05/12/2003, 3:23 PM
Lot may depend on how much Dolan tries to move to fulltime squad & how many of the u-21 squad can continue in that competition next year.

jofyisgod
05/12/2003, 5:25 PM
Warren-deserves his chance somewhere else
Deccie- retired, so that counts
Naps-left anyway
Colin P-Never gonna get in the team

Keep the rest

05/12/2003, 6:48 PM
Andrews
Warren
Daly
Naps are gone.
Maybe Casey would be better off moving on I think.

If we do sign Frost, Fenn,
the 1st eleven

Mickey,
Hoggie, Dan, Derek, (I'd prefer Benno) Frost

Doyle, Colin T, George, Kearney

Flynnie, Fenn

2nd eleven
(Mooney)
Carey, Kevin Murray, Benno, Billy
Mucka, Greg, Conor, Nwanko,
CP, Behan

Thats 22 players + a good few u-21s.
We hardly need anymore than that but, can we keep a squad as expensive as this?

05/12/2003, 7:09 PM
I'd chose:
Mooney
Andrews
Deccie
Carey
Mulconroy
Chidozie
CPoB
Lordan (i know he is young, but what ive seen, he aint up to eL seniors. long way off in fact)
Behan
O Grady (decent player, but doesnt deserve a full time contract)
Ditto Ryan Casey

In fact the above are all decent players, but imo, none of the above should be even in contention for a place in the starting11 of a team with aspirations of winning the league.

just noticed, that could actually be someones starting 11.

05/12/2003, 9:24 PM
I think that if we are going to make the move to full time the club will have about 20 full timers and the squad will be fleshed out with the U21's.

McNulty is probably good enough cover for Devine so Mooney wouldn't be a huge loss.
Deccie already gone, Carey isn't getting a look in, I'd lose Coughlan as we have Bennett and K Murray for cover, but it won't happen.
O'Grady to Derry, Casey and Mucka are surplus to requirement.
CP to Waterford is rumoured, Warren and Chodize haven't impressed.

That's my ten. Don't see the point in losing any of the younger lads who qualify for the U21's next season.

05/12/2003, 11:05 PM
On behalf of Cobh Ramblers I would like to welcome Dave Warren and John Andrews on a permanent basis to the club. Also Colin P O'Brian, Noel Mooney and Conor O'Grady.:ball:

05/12/2003, 11:16 PM
Originally posted by rambler14
On behalf of Cobh Ramblers I would like to welcome Dave Warren and John Andrews on a permanent basis to the club. Also Colin P O'Brian, Noel Mooney and Conor O'Grady.:ball:

You would be doing very well getting a line up like that ........ You'd want to make sure that the contracts involve a bit of PR work aswell, to sore out the crowds. How many schools down there. the team should be going around giving out free tickets. Even if the club just made money on the shop and bar.

DolansWaistcoat
07/12/2003, 12:42 PM
I'D get rid of..........hmmm let me think.

Flynny,George,Hoggy,Colin T,D.Murray,DOYLER,Billy,Fenn,Greg,Devine.

Thats my ten in that order.

Before anyone has a fart attack,thats my ten best city players,in that order.
Anyone agree with it?

07/12/2003, 12:59 PM
Originally posted by DolansWaistcoat
Fenn

I wont rate him until i see him come up with the goods.

Anyway ... it aint in the bag yet with him and i hope not with the kinda money being mentioned. There is no way he is worth that money at all not matter what way you say it.

DolansWaistcoat
07/12/2003, 1:04 PM
Have we signed Fenn yet or not,whats the story like?
Just say he does sign he would have to be in City's top ten players surely.I don't know about the wages,it could be Horse sh!t.

09/12/2003, 1:02 PM
Declan DALY (Defender) he's retired anyways, hasn't he?
Derek COUGHLAN (Defender) why we ever signed him I dunno :rolleyes:
Billy WOODS (Defender/Midfielder) just not good wnough
Dave WARREN (Midfielder) never gonna make an impact
Ryan CASEY (Midfielder) might be handy as cover, but I'd hope we could do better.

I suppose one or two of the strikers will have to go now that we've signed Fenn. Behan and Nolan are the obvious candidates but I think they both have potnetial. Maybe loan them out and see what happens

09/12/2003, 1:53 PM
Originally posted by Éanna
Declan DALY (Defender) he's retired anyways, hasn't he?
Derek COUGHLAN (Defender) why we ever signed him I dunno :rolleyes:
Billy WOODS (Defender/Midfielder) just not good wnough
Dave WARREN (Midfielder) never gonna make an impact
Ryan CASEY (Midfielder) might be handy as cover, but I'd hope we could do better.

I suppose one or two of the strikers will have to go now that we've signed Fenn. Behan and Nolan are the obvious candidates but I think they both have potnetial. Maybe loan them out and see what happens

I really dont think Derek is as bad as people are saying. We let in less, AFAIK, when he was in the team than when Benno was. Derek was part of the very good passing Bohs side that won the league last year, he can do it's just up to us to get it out of him.

I'd say CP will go.
Dont think Woods is up to much, like to see Casey tried at left back.
I'd say Warren will go
Andrews will be gone
O'Grady, not the player he once was
Carey might be gone, the only thing is that Hoggie could well be gone himself after a while, he'll be doing his Blackhall Place exams to become a Solicitor and then have to do a course and then work placement. That'll take up a fair bit of Hoggies time, he mightnt be able to play ever match.
I'd wonder about Mooney staying on

Snatch
09/12/2003, 5:25 PM
A team with O' Grady in it would never win a league. He surely won't make the cut.

DolansWaistcoat
10/12/2003, 7:14 AM
Have to agree.
Colin t,Greg and Nwankwo.Take 2 out of those 3 and thats our centre midfield.
At the moment anyway.

10/12/2003, 2:38 PM
Originally posted by DolansWaistcoat
Have to agree.
Colin t,Greg and Nwankwo.Take 2 out of those 3 and thats our centre midfield.
At the moment anyway.

georgie will be in midfield also next season me reckons

10/12/2003, 5:44 PM
Originally posted by Snatch
A team with O' Grady in it would never win a league. He surely won't make the cut.
but sure he's too good for milan ;)
Nah, I reckon grady is exactly the kind of player you need on the bench. He wouldn't be a starter IMO, but a very useful squad player.

10/12/2003, 6:33 PM
I do think the club has too many players for the first team and I think some of the fringe players need to go. The club cannot sustain a huge squad, so why squander money on players that won't play?

11/12/2003, 10:50 AM
Originally posted by niamh
I do think the club has too many players for the first team and I think some of the fringe players need to go. The club cannot sustain a huge squad, so why squander money on players that won't play?
Yeah, I think spending a fortune on squd players is the kind of thing that has got the Dublin clubs in trouble. The only thing is that many of our squad players are fairly young, so might not command big wages?

11/12/2003, 11:08 AM
I'm not thinking necessarily young players. There's still an U-21s set-up so why skim that - I'm think of the like of Casey and Carey who haven't impressed/featured much this season.