View Full Version : MNS 9th March
Before the league cup final. Players where given a letter only to opened when alone in their room. Players opened the letter to find a good luck message from Steve Bruce. Alas this did not inspire victory. After picking a team with 6 defenders & Kevin Hunt left sitting on the bench Bohs lost 1-0 in a game after extra time.
Nothing about that story gets any easier with time... :(
what a tosser.
Dalymountrower
10/03/2009, 4:26 PM
I thought Connor came across as funny TBH...Fenlon is a bitter man , maybe its because he knows he is managing another club that are about to go bust...any chance of Johnny Mac getting his missus to dress him as that lilac jumper was awful,:o maybe after he gets his tongue removed surgically from licking Fenlon's arse!!:D
Ithought it had been established sometime ago that...
(a) You are Connor or his surrogate
and........ (it follows)
(b) That your previous posts were forensically examined sometime ago and you were found to be a spoofer
SMorgan
10/03/2009, 4:32 PM
As any Bohs and/or Sligo fan who posted on previous topics about Connor. They will tell you that Connor is the biggest spoofer currently managing in the league. Have you even met the guy. Did the Dundalk players have a good luck card from Steve Bruce waiting for them in the dressing room before the game on Friday to inspire them?
I'd say your players will enjoy playing for him though. At Bohs they got so much time off because of a lack of training so why wouldn't they.
Finally Bohs beat dundalk 1-0 on a carpet. Why should Fenlon give a s**t what Connor thinks about the game. Connor shows a total lack of professionalism by stupidly getting sent to the stands when calmness needed. If you want that in a manager then I suppose you have the right man for the job. All waffle no substance
People can slobber on all they want about Connor, but his record is there to be seen. He's left the two clubs he's managed in far better positions when he left them than when he joined them, . OK, maybe not Bohs afterall he left them with a €350,000 bill (€200,000 for him and a legal bill of €150,000). We're expected to believe he got Bohs to 3rd with unfit players!!
If there was anything to this fitness crap, and I very much doubt there is, then Dundalk fans will take reassurance from the fact that Joe Miller trains the team and looks after fitness.
Any reasoinable Bohs fans will acknowledge that Connor deserves alot of credit for Bohs double winning team. How the hell could he not, given the players he signed that played a key role in last years double.
I for one am absolutely delighted to have him at Oriel Park.
it will certainly be interesting to see how Connor at Dundalk pans out. He seems to be the same self-proclaimed big-swinging-mickey he was at Dalymount.
Enjoy your time together.
wexfordned
10/03/2009, 4:44 PM
People can slobber on all they want about Connor, but his record is there to be seen. He's left the two clubs he's managed in far better positions when he left them than when he joined them, . OK, maybe not Bohs afterall he left them with a 350,000 bill (200,000 for him and a legal bill of 150,000). We're expected to believe he got Bohs to 3rd with unfit players!!
If there was anything to this fitness crap, which I very much doubt there is, then Dundalk fans will take reassurance from the fact that Joe Miller trains the team and looks after fitness.
Any reasoinable Bohs fans will acknowledge that Connor deserves alot of credit for Bohs double winning team.
There are none so blind as those who will not see.
Connor has a great eye for talent no question. However his man-management & tactics are highly questionable
1) Liam burns & Neale Fenn where AT LEAST a couple of stone overweight under Connor.
2) Connor got bohs to 3rd place by playing some of some of the most boring football ever seen. His strategy is to set a team up not to lose rather then to win. Expect lots of goalless games
The "analysis" of the Galway Pats game was poor.Yes Pats had a few signings and a new manager but SO did we.We had 4 and a new manager too.The only one who seemed to give Utd credit was Tony MC.D who said he was at the game and Utd deserved to win played very well etc,the other 2 used the lazy option of using the "Pats need time to gel" excuse.So do Utd!!
The english accent introducing the panel was annoying and not needed.
Con Murphy is a very presenter though,better then Bill or that guy who does the Rugby Tom.....(forget his surname).
Why didnt they do the cross bar challenge instead of that hardest shot thing??I know the crossbar one had been done alot by Soccer AM but its good to see but MNS probably wanted to try something different.
Im glad 60 is gone too.
Overall a good show.
SMorgan
10/03/2009, 4:50 PM
There are none so blind as those who will not see.
I couldn't agree more.
The man's record speaks for itself. Unfortunately, there are people around here that are both blind and deaf.
As for boring football. Did you see Bohs play last season?
it will certainly be interesting to see how Connor at Dundalk pans out. He seems to be the same self-proclaimed big-swinging-mickey he was at Dalymount.
Enjoy your time together.
Naa, that's just his persona. I believe he's come into a bit of money, recently.
Next time Bohs want to set somebody up they should try to make sure there is a victim. You think the Bruce thing was funny?? What Bohs tried to do to Connor; now that's what I call funny:p
Dalymountrower
10/03/2009, 5:00 PM
People can slobber on all they want about Connor, but his record is there to be seen. He's left the two clubs he's managed in far better positions when he left them than when he joined them, . OK, maybe not Bohs afterall he left them with a 350,000 bill (200,000 for him and a legal bill of 150,000). We're expected to believe he got Bohs to 3rd with unfit players!!
If there was anything to this fitness crap, and I very much doubt there is, then Dundalk fans will take reassurance from the fact that Joe Miller trains the team and looks after fitness.
Any reasoinable Bohs fans will acknowledge that Connor deserves alot of credit for Bohs double winning team. How the hell could he not, given the players he signed that played a key role in last years double.
Well I would like to think that I am pretty "reasonoible", and would acknowledge that he deserves credit for spotting decent players 50% of the time , but he is not a manager (his elaborate scheming against players like Owen Heary, Hunt and Rice was disgraceful . You`ll soon discover what a poisonous individual Connor is when its too late. 350 K ? Is that what he is spinning up there now, he wouldn`t get in the door in Oriel if Enda Mc Guill was still around.
10/03/2009, 5:23 PM
I can't wait to see the Dundalk fans reaction when it all goes tits up with Connor at the helm.
10/03/2009, 5:26 PM
He seems to be the same self-proclaimed big-swinging-mickey
:D Buy that man a pint!
10/03/2009, 5:36 PM
Connor has a great eye for talent no question.
Isn't that what got him the sack? :confused:
SMorgan
10/03/2009, 7:06 PM
Isn't that what got him the sack? :confused:
No. That's what they tried to use.
Fortunately, it rebounded, spectacularly.
But if Bohs find it difficult to pay SC and the High Court bill, they can always sell Dalymount Park for a third time.:cool:
Black and White
10/03/2009, 7:14 PM
I can't wait to see the Dundalk fans reaction when it all goes tits up with Connor at the helm.
I cant wait to see your reaction when Cook walks out in the summer cause your budget goes up in arms AGAIN!:D
:D Buy that man a pint!
The self proclaimed big swinging mickey?
sullanefc
10/03/2009, 7:41 PM
Sean Connor came across as a fool, but pat fenlon came across as an arrogant, bitter pr!ck.
While I would not have either of them at my club, I would go for a pint with SC before that a-hole fenlon.
10/03/2009, 8:02 PM
The self proclaimed big swinging mickey?
no, his coach Gareth Gorman, God in disguise
Westernblue
10/03/2009, 8:16 PM
Lets be fair neither Sean Conner nor Pat Fenlon did themselves proud. Connor grigging Bohs fans that he took huge money off their club and Fenlon came accross as a a..hole with his snide remark about Connor.
I would rather talk about the skill shown on the football pitch like Ollie Cahills super strike and a brilliant save by the Bray keeper Chris O'Connor.
And how about Galways Jay O'Shea, magic against Pat's. Will be in Galway working next Friday and plan to see him in action for Galway against Dundalk.
galwayhoop
10/03/2009, 9:31 PM
Good to see the lads have bucked the economic trend and invested in a new sofa and some new threads.......
Highlights for me
- Connor's reaction
- Fenlon "I don't care what Sean Connor thinks....."
Rico "We aren't talking about an ordinary club, we're talking about Shamrock Rovers
Owen Morrison becoming Owen Morrissey.
highlight for me..
Derek O'Brien in his interview, seems the Kerryman has reverted to his old farmyard hobby of eating the ground...
"We had the grit between our teeth..." classic
El-Pietro
11/03/2009, 12:39 AM
Sean Connor came across as a fool, but pat fenlon came across as an arrogant, bitter pr!ck.
While I would not have either of them at my club, I would go for a pint with SC before that a-hole fenlon.
agreed
SC seems like a nice enough guy from my very very very limited dealings with him
nutsy is an odious *****!
jinxy lilywhite
11/03/2009, 8:19 AM
As any Bohs and/or Sligo fan who posted on previous topics about Connor. They will tell you that Connor is the biggest spoofer currently managing in the league. Have you even met the guy. Did the Dundalk players have a good luck card from Steve Bruce waiting for them in the dressing room before the game on Friday to inspire them?
I'd say your players will enjoy playing for him though. At Bohs they got so much time off because of a lack of training so why wouldn't they.
Finally Bohs beat dundalk 1-0 on a carpet. Why should Fenlon give a s**t what Connor thinks about the game. Connor shows a total lack of professionalism by stupidly getting sent to the stands when calmness needed. If you want that in a manager then I suppose you have the right man for the job. All waffle no substance
Have you even met the guy?- I did actually at a supporters meeting last month and I found the man quite interesting. I actually shook his hand and wish him and all the best and his reply was that he wouldn't let Dundalk Fc down over the season.
I don't think Connor showed a lack of respect and professionalism by being sent to stand. we are all only human, Mulvenna was taking down by your player and the ref turned the other way. Since bohs scored every 50-50 ball seemed to of gone bohs way. I would of rather seen an animated Connor on the touchline telling the 4th official that it was a disgrace than a clueless manager who doesn't know what to do. Maybe Mr Connor should take a leaf out of fenlon book in talking to the 4th official
Anyway Mr Connor's time at bohs or sligo doesn't interest me. That is past, he is manager of dundalk fc and I will judge him only on those games.
WoodquayBoy
11/03/2009, 8:31 AM
Connor comes across as a bit of a clown but you can't deny he left both Bohs and Sligo in far better poisitions than they were when he joined thye clubs. He brought a hell of a lot of talent to Bohs so deserves some of the credit for building last year's awesome team.
Also agree that Fenlon comes acorss well-balanced - he has a chip on both shoulders. He just seems to be a nasty little man with a major attitude problem, maybe it was just his dislike for Connor or whatever, but while people criticise Connor for his reaction to the penalty that was not give, Fernlon deserves some stick for his display of 'small man syndrome'
CuanaD
11/03/2009, 8:52 AM
What did Fenlon say?
All I heard was him saying that he didn't care what SC thinks - which to me is just cutting through the bull & trying to get on with the interview about the match - respect for that IMO
Did I miss some thing else?
brianw82
11/03/2009, 2:48 PM
I thought the show was good, tbh. Having one less match makes things easier, more time for dissection of the games. I do have to agree that Galway weren't given the credit they seemed to deserve for their victory from Rico or Johnny. Jay O'Shea, though - what a player this kid is!
Also a bit disappointed to see that they're continuing with their tradition from last season, the tradition of always putting the Sligo Rovers game last.
Of course Brian you mean when Rovers are playing at home. Don't worry whenever we play up in Dublin we'll probably be higher up on the undercard.
corkboy360
11/03/2009, 3:22 PM
agreed
nutsy is an odious *****!
Is this fact or are you just giving an opinion from an interview.Have you ever met Pat ? Had a conversation with him?
Or is it just a matter of oh look he said something on the telly he's an odious *****!.....either way he's a top manager.(Don't reply about his sting with Derry because that was different circumstances)
roversforever
11/03/2009, 7:45 PM
Have you even met the guy?- I did actually at a supporters meeting last month and I found the man quite interesting. I actually shook his hand and wish him and all the best and his reply was that he wouldn't let Dundalk Fc down over the season.
I don't think Connor showed a lack of respect and professionalism by being sent to stand. we are all only human, Mulvenna was taking down by your player and the ref turned the other way. Since bohs scored every 50-50 ball seemed to of gone bohs way. I would of rather seen an animated Connor on the touchline telling the 4th official that it was a disgrace than a clueless manager who doesn't know what to do. Maybe Mr Connor should take a leaf out of fenlon book in talking to the 4th official
Anyway Mr Connor's time at bohs or sligo doesn't interest me. That is past, he is manager of dundalk fc and I will judge him only on those games.
Of course he was nice to you,you're a dundalk fan...you pay his wages. I knew the man personally and i can tell you he is everything the rovers and bohs fans say about him and worse. The man is only in it for himself and he'll leave ye at teh drop of a hat if it suits him. And i don't agree with anybody who tries to say he's a good manager. The best players he signed for us were sourced by our scout gerry cassidy. Seanie was given a big budget and had some cracking players to get us out of the 1st division. That team had players such as faz,conor o' grady and john o' hara and to be honest he never got the best out of some of the players we had. Faz didn't look a good player under him because he played him out of position...he was constantly on the left wing where he was wasted. Chrissy turner was another that didn't shine until he left because seanie liked to bypass the midfield,long ball up to daz mansaram and no plan B. And this is all before we get into his man management skills,he drove raf cretaro and gerry carr out of the club,two rovers legends who are now both back at the club and doing great jobs for us. And i don't agree that he left us in a better position than when he started.Ok our league position was better but he demolished our youth structure and spent a lot of money on these players that gerry cassidy sourced and then when he was leaving he ripped the heart out of our team by offering our best players double their money to sign for bohs. There's plenty more stories i could go into to some up the personality of the man but they're not football related so i won't talk about them. All i say is dundalk fans.listen to what people are saying...anybody who has ever had any dealings with him has nothing good to say about him...do ye really think we're all wrong???
11/03/2009, 7:51 PM
Of course he was nice to you,you're a dundalk fan...you pay his wages. I knew the man personally and i can tell you he is everything the rovers and bohs fans say about him and worse. The man is only in it for himself and he'll leave ye at teh drop of a hat if it suits him. And i don't agree with anybody who tries to say he's a good manager. The best players he signed for us were sourced by our scout gerry cassidy. Seanie was given a big budget and had some cracking players to get us out of the 1st division. That team had players such as faz,conor o' grady and john o' hara and to be honest he never got the best out of some of the players we had. Faz didn't look a good player under him because he played him out of position...he was constantly on the left wing where he was wasted. Chrissy turner was another that didn't shine until he left because seanie liked to bypass the midfield,long ball up to daz mansaram and no plan B. And this is all before we get into his man management skills,he drove raf cretaro and gerry carr out of the club,two rovers legends who are now both back at the club and doing great jobs for us. And i don't agree that he left us in a better position than when he started.Ok our league position was better but he demolished our youth structure and spent a lot of money on these players that gerry cassidy sourced and then when he was leaving he ripped the heart out of our team by offering our best players double their money to sign for bohs. There's plenty more stories i could go into to some up the personality of the man but they're not football related so i won't talk about them. All i say is dundalk fans.listen to what people are saying...anybody who has ever had any dealings with him has nothing good to say about him...do ye really think we're all wrong???
...and breathe...
sullanefc
11/03/2009, 8:15 PM
Is this fact or are you just giving an opinion from an interview.Have you ever met Pat ? Had a conversation with him?
Or is it just a matter of oh look he said something on the telly he's an odious *****!...
Maybe its based on countless interviews he has given, and watching him concuct himself on the sideline at countless games? How do you know how the previous poster formed his opinion? :rolleyes:
..either way he's a top manager.(Don't reply about his sting with Derry because that was different circumstances)
The different circumstances being that he didn't have as much to spend maybe?
corkboy360
11/03/2009, 8:28 PM
Maybe its based on countless interviews he has given, and watching him concuct himself on the sideline at countless games? How do you know how the previous poster formed his opinion? :rolleyes:
Away from the game he might be a complete gentleman you dont know he's a right ***** just because of soccer based interviews or how he "concuts"(whatever that is) himself on the sideline.
The different circumstances being that he didn't have as much to spend maybe?
He traveled there every day;) Not the same thing if i was a chairman of a club the manager of my team would have to live in the city.
jinxy lilywhite
12/03/2009, 7:46 AM
Your saying he left Sligo Rovers in a worse state than he found them?
where did you finish that season, 5th in the Premier League and before he found you, Sligo where makeweights in the first. Get over yourself.
And no I don't think Sligo & Bohs fans are wrong I just think you are very selctive in your past memories
Jersey Cow
12/03/2009, 8:58 AM
He traveled there every day;) ...CORKBOY360.....
Oh no he didn't!!!....he is a spoofer who could only sign Kyle Moran and Karl Bermingham not to mention Peter Hynes as his strikeforce cos he couldn't attract any players as he didnt have the funds available to him at Derry.....cue Owen Heary who paved his passage into Dalymount by sticking the knife in Connors back......... Nutsy went back to Dublin to his huge budget and in turn couldn't but win the League!! (reports that Jason Byrne came back from Cardiff on similar wages to what he had at Ninian Park!!!)..........THE BIG CLUB eh??:rolleyes:
12/03/2009, 10:44 AM
Connor came across as a complete c*nt.I enjoyed Connors bit of "banter" with the bohs fans, he's obviously as mad as a hatter but it gave me a good chuckle none the less. :D
brianw82
12/03/2009, 11:24 AM
How did this thread end up about only Sean Connor?
12/03/2009, 11:41 AM
Or is it just a matter of oh look he said something on the telly he's an odious *****!.....either way he's a top manager.(Don't reply about his sting with Derry because that was different circumstances)
The only season Nutsy didn't have the biggest budget in the league was when he was at Derry, its no surprise to see how well he done there. A typical chqu book manager, Kenny, Rico, Dolan and Cook much better managers.
12/03/2009, 11:42 AM
How did this thread end up about only Sean Connor?
Thats harsh, its about Nutsy the arrogant too :p
12/03/2009, 12:44 PM
The only season Nutsy didn't have the biggest budget in the league was when he was at Derry.
Rubbish, in fact last year he only had the 4th biggest budget...
12/03/2009, 12:49 PM
Your saying he left Sligo Rovers in a worse state than he found them?
where did you finish that season, 5th in the Premier League and before he found you, Sligo where makeweights in the first. Get over yourself.
And no I don't think Sligo & Bohs fans are wrong I just think you are very selctive in your past memories
What he's trying to say is the state of the club he left it in, which I can understand.
Differentiate between first team and club. The first team was in a good position immediately(5th in the league, good cup run) after he left, however as was said the youth structure was destroyed and still hasn't been recovered to this day and he then proceeded to sign the heart of our team during the close season. Not to mention the amount of players that he fell out with and people involved with the club too.
What's all this about Fenlon not doing well at Derry?
I thought he did a superb job there.
What he's trying to say is the state of the club he left it in, which I can understand.
Differentiate between first team and club. The first team was in a good position immediately(5th in the league, good cup run) after he left, however as was said the youth structure was destroyed and still hasn't been recovered to this day and he then proceeded to sign the heart of our team during the close season. Not to mention the amount of players that he fell out with and people involved with the club too.
Sorry guys but I just cannot agree with this train of thought. Sligo Rovers, both team and club were unquestionably in a better state when Sean Connor left us than they were when he came to the club.
I need to be convinced that he and he alone was responsible for destroying whatever youth structure existed at the club when he arrived - and I do not recall any fantastic youth structure at the Showgrounds in recent times - and I also need to be convinced that it is in the job description of the first team manager to have any input into the club's youth structure, be it positive or negative.
I am glad that he left the club when he did and that not only have we fully recovered from his abrupt and ill-mannered departure but we have progressed even further and for me Sean Connor is now history and totally irrelevant to our club. MOVE ON LADS!
pσl-dcfc
12/03/2009, 3:30 PM
What's all this about Fenlon not doing well at Derry?
I thought he did a superb job there.
Wahey!
It took that to get me to delurk after a year long absence from foot!
If Fenlon had've been given more time I think he could have turned it round at Derry. There's no way he was ever going to match up to Stephen though. One of my worst memories of DCFC and our fans is when Cork gave us a drubbing at the Brandywell. The amount of abuse Fenlon was getting was a disgrace, including stuff about him being a 'wee orange *******'. Mind you, since he's went to Bohs I hate the wee fecker. But that's to be expected. I can't bloody stand most of the managers in this league, bar the likes of Paul Cook and Pete Mahon.
corkboy360
12/03/2009, 4:11 PM
He traveled there every day;) ...CORKBOY360.....
Oh no he didn't!!!....he is a spoofer who could only sign Kyle Moran and Karl Bermingham not to mention Peter Hynes as his strikeforce cos he couldn't attract any players as he didnt have the funds available to him at Derry.....cue Owen Heary who paved his passage into Dalymount by sticking the knife in Connors back......... Nutsy went back to Dublin to his huge budget and in turn couldn't but win the League!! (reports that Jason Byrne came back from Cardiff on similar wages to what he had at Ninian Park!!!)..........THE BIG CLUB eh??:rolleyes:
The only season Nutsy didn't have the biggest budget in the league was when he was at Derry, its no surprise to see how well he done there. A typical chqu book manager, Kenny, Rico, Dolan and Cook much better managers.
Well obviously if another club have a bigger budget to attract bigger players they will be more successful