View Full Version : FC Carlow

Topman
09/03/2009, 12:52 PM
Hi All,

How do I get FC Carlow onto the Club Section of the "A" Championship?

09/03/2009, 12:54 PM
Post in Support would be your best bet.

Are there any other Carlow-ites on the board?

Topman
09/03/2009, 1:08 PM
Dont know of any other "Carlow-ites" on the Board,
a few post on http://carlowsoccer.forummotion.com/

gufc2000
09/03/2009, 3:49 PM
Where do FC Carlow play, whats the name of their ground?

Topman
10/03/2009, 8:43 AM
Where do FC Carlow play, whats the name of their ground?

Last Season FC Carlow played in Tullow, Co. Carlow (Hawkins Lane, the Home of Parkville United FC)

http://www.parkvilleunited.com/index.php?option=com_joomleague&func=showPlayground&p=2&pgid=1&Itemid=125

This season as far as I know they will be playing out of Burrin Celtic FC, Ballon. The Village of Ballon is on the Wexford Road when heading out from Carlow Town before Bunclody

carloz
19/03/2009, 8:47 PM
Post in Support would be your best bet.

Are there any other Carlow-ites on the board?

I am, hence the name:)

gufc2000
19/03/2009, 9:06 PM
Last Season FC Carlow played in Tullow, Co. Carlow (Hawkins Lane, the Home of Parkville United FC)

http://www.parkvilleunited.com/index.php?option=com_joomleague&func=showPlayground&p=2&pgid=1&Itemid=125

This season as far as I know they will be playing out of Burrin Celtic FC, Ballon. The Village of Ballon is on the Wexford Road when heading out from Carlow Town before Bunclody

Sound. Have they any plans to develop their own facilities?

Iorfa2MaccaJim
22/03/2009, 12:23 PM
Could someone post a link to ye're squad please.

Umberside
14/04/2009, 12:57 PM
Pretty good club by the sounds of things.

Topman
17/04/2009, 6:57 PM
http://i88.servimg.com/u/f88/13/48/50/32/rovers10.jpg

gufc2000
17/04/2009, 10:30 PM
Pretty impressive poster above, looks like a big effort is put in to improve soccer in Carlow, and ultimately in the long term a place in the LoI. What have the crowds been like down there so far at the games?

fcc2008
18/04/2009, 7:30 AM
the crowds havnt been great so far, but then again, neither has the weather ... just under 200 at first game, around 100 at second game ... the local media hasnt helped, in particular the main weekly newspaper has not given us much support ... getting the crowds is going to be a slow process, we knew this before the season started, we need success on the pitch to attract the crowds ... but we have some big games coming up and we are making a big effort to promote the club ... so hopefully we will get some good results, which in turn will attract more support

GreenStar
18/04/2009, 4:32 PM
Any photos of the ground? What are the facilities like?

WexCar
18/04/2009, 9:10 PM
the crowds havnt been great so far, but then again, neither has the weather ... just under 200 at first game, around 100 at second game ... the local media hasnt helped, in particular the main weekly newspaper has not given us much support ... getting the crowds is going to be a slow process, we knew this before the season started, we need success on the pitch to attract the crowds ... but we have some big games coming up and we are making a big effort to promote the club ... so hopefully we will get some good results, which in turn will attract more support

Would the location yez are playin also be a factor?
Ballon doesnt strike me as being a great location ( admittedly I dont know the football 'strongholds' in Carlow, so it may be a good location :) )

18/04/2009, 11:33 PM
Fair play to FC Carlow.

What does the 'SE' in the middle of your badge stand for btw ?

TheBoss
18/04/2009, 11:57 PM
I think it means South East.

19/04/2009, 7:27 PM
is there any players with eircom league experience playin for fc carlow at the moment lads??

GreenStar
23/04/2009, 7:33 AM
Thread bump because still no answers??? Any Carlow lads able to help??

JC_GUFC
23/04/2009, 10:44 AM
Not a latin buff but what does Victoria per Scientia mean?!

Is it Victory for Science - as in they disproved the existence of God or something?!? :)

EAFC_rdfl
23/04/2009, 11:29 AM
Not a latin buff but what does Victoria per Scientia mean?!

Is it Victory for Science - as in they disproved the existence of God or something?!? :)
when i saw it first I thought it was victory by science, but its a bit of a guess :p

23/04/2009, 11:36 AM
It means 'Victory through Knowledge'.

Umberside
23/04/2009, 3:06 PM
Victory through Superiority

WexCar
23/04/2009, 3:20 PM
Any photos of the ground? What are the facilities like?

Thread bump because still no answers??? Any Carlow lads able to help??

might have some luck enquiring here http://carlowsoccer.forummotion.com/fc-carlow-message-board-f22/new-stadium-t159.htm

fcc2008
23/04/2009, 6:22 PM
it means 'victory through knowledge' ... fair play holidaysong ... :D ... the 'se' stands for 'south east' ... the club evolved from the south east academy and south east fc ... the idea was (and still is) to keep players in the education system while continuing to play in the south east, but at a higher level ... we entered various tournaments and travelled to the UK on a number of occasions to play professional academy teams ... a little bit of history for ye ... ;)

carloz
23/04/2009, 6:47 PM
Gonna head to my first game probably on the 3rd May against Shamrock Rovers. Have to have a bit of pride in my local team. Pity they play in Ballon, most awkward place in Carlow to get for me

Topman
23/04/2009, 9:19 PM
Gonna head to my first game probably on the 3rd May against Shamrock Rovers. Have to have a bit of pride in my local team. Pity they play in Ballon, most awkward place in Carlow to get for me

Why where are you coming from? :confused:

GreenStar
23/04/2009, 10:42 PM

I wouldn't go there on May 3rd if I was you. The Rovers game is on this Sunday at 3.00 in Ballon, wherever that is (hinting for directions!)

GreenStar
23/04/2009, 10:43 PM
might have some luck enquiring here http://carlowsoccer.forummotion.com/fc-carlow-message-board-f22/new-stadium-t159.htm

Thanks for that.

JC_GUFC
24/04/2009, 12:31 PM
I wouldn't go there on May 3rd if I was you. The Rovers game is on this Sunday at 3.00 in Ballon, wherever that is (hinting for directions!)

Travel (Km)

and then
to take total (Km)
0.0 Start out at Tallaght,Dublin Uncl. 0.0

0.0 At roundabout take the 3rd exit onto Belgard Square South Uncl. 0.0

0.2 Turn left onto Tallaght Pass - N81 N81 0.2

0.1 At traffic signals turn right onto Belgard Road - R113 R113 0.4

0.0 At traffic signals turn right onto Tallaght Pass - N81 N81 0.4

0.7 At traffic signals continue forward onto Tallaght Pass - N81 N81 1.0

3.2 At traffic signals continue forward onto Blessington Road - N81 (signposted Blessington, Saggart) N81 4.2

0.3 Continue forward onto the N81 (signposted Blessington) N81 4.5

4.9 Continue forward onto Blessington Road - N81 Entering Brittas N81 9.4

8.9 Continue forward onto Dublin Road - N81 Entering Blessington N81 18.3

1.6 At roundabout take the 2nd exit onto The Close - N81 N81 19.9

29.5 Bear right onto Mill Street - N81 Entering Baltinglass N81 49.4

6.7 Bear left on the N81 N81 56.2

0.8 Continue forward onto the N81 Entering Rathvilly N81 56.9

9.4 Continue forward onto Dublin Road - N81 Entering Tullow N81 66.3

0.7 Cross River Slaney N81 67.0

0.1 Bear left onto Abbey Street - N81 (signposted Enniscorthy) N81 67.1

8.0 At T-junction turn right onto the N80 (signposted Carlow) N80 75.1

1.5 Continue forward onto Main Street - N80 Entering Ballon N80 76.6

0.3 Turn left onto Main Street Uncl. 76.9

0.1 Bear left onto Ballon Hill Uncl. 77.0

0.0 Finish at Ballon,Carlow Uncl. 77.1

stann
27/04/2009, 2:40 PM

Thanks Topman, was just about to come on and post a question on this.
So 'The Valley' is Burrin Celtic's ground then? On the Carlow league site they have it down just as Fenagh Road, so I wasn't sure.
I see there's a direction to 'turn right at the primary school in Ballon'. Is that as you come from the Carlow side or the Tullow side? :D

Topman
27/04/2009, 3:08 PM
If your travelling into Ballon from Carlow Town you will take a right opposite the Primary School in the Village.

"The Valley" is indeed on the Fenagh Road out of the Village

stann
28/04/2009, 8:23 AM
Good stuff, ta very much!
The least I can do is add another post to your 'traffic for the carlow forum' campaign. :D

stann
04/05/2009, 10:18 PM
Feck we made hard work of that!
Your lads put it right up to us though Topman.

Were you at it? Need to know who your number 12 was (and when he came on for that matter!) if you could tell me, he came on to the left wing.

fcc2008
05/05/2009, 11:04 AM
Shane Clarke ... 80mins

stann
06/05/2009, 2:53 PM
Thanks FCC!

27/07/2010, 9:35 AM
Travel (Km)

and then
to take total (Km)
0.0 Start out at Tallaght,Dublin Uncl. 0.0

0.0 At roundabout take the 3rd exit onto Belgard Square South Uncl. 0.0

0.2 Turn left onto Tallaght Pass - N81 N81 0.2

0.1 At traffic signals turn right onto Belgard Road - R113 R113 0.4

0.0 At traffic signals turn right onto Tallaght Pass - N81 N81 0.4

0.7 At traffic signals continue forward onto Tallaght Pass - N81 N81 1.0

3.2 At traffic signals continue forward onto Blessington Road - N81 (signposted Blessington, Saggart) N81 4.2

0.3 Continue forward onto the N81 (signposted Blessington) N81 4.5

4.9 Continue forward onto Blessington Road - N81 Entering Brittas N81 9.4

8.9 Continue forward onto Dublin Road - N81 Entering Blessington N81 18.3

1.6 At roundabout take the 2nd exit onto The Close - N81 N81 19.9

29.5 Bear right onto Mill Street - N81 Entering Baltinglass N81 49.4

6.7 Bear left on the N81 N81 56.2

0.8 Continue forward onto the N81 Entering Rathvilly N81 56.9

9.4 Continue forward onto Dublin Road - N81 Entering Tullow N81 66.3

0.7 Cross River Slaney N81 67.0

0.1 Bear left onto Abbey Street - N81 (signposted Enniscorthy) N81 67.1

8.0 At T-junction turn right onto the N80 (signposted Carlow) N80 75.1

1.5 Continue forward onto Main Street - N80 Entering Ballon N80 76.6

0.3 Turn left onto Main Street Uncl. 76.9

0.1 Bear left onto Ballon Hill Uncl. 77.0

0.0 Finish at Ballon,Carlow Uncl. 77.1

Coming from Dublin on Sunday.

Bearing in mind the new motorways is this still the best way to go? The N81 is an awful road. Thinking of taking the motorway to Carlow and then go to Ballon from there.

Any advice?

HarpoJoyce
27/07/2010, 9:42 PM
Yes that's a possible route. Naas Road, M7 then Kilcullen exit for M9 to Carlow town. Take N80 direction Bunclody/ Enniscorthy.
It's a free country ('cept to the Toll Routes).

As someone who grew up near the Blessington Road, I will say that you're missing out.

I have a groundhopper question?
The trend in England is to make a separate visit to a shared stadium for each of the home teams of that Stadium.
So if a club uses two venues regularly, is it only proper for a groundhopper to have to visit both venues before that club can be marked off the list?
FC Carlow and maybe Mervue Utd. fall into this category.

28/07/2010, 3:52 PM
Yes that's a possible route. Naas Road, M7 then Kilcullen exit for M9 to Carlow town. Take N80 direction Bunclody/ Enniscorthy.
It's a free country ('cept to the Toll Routes).

As someone who grew up near the Blessington Road, I will say that you're missing out.

I have a groundhopper question?
The trend in England is to make a separate visit to a shared stadium for each of the home teams of that Stadium.
So if a club uses two venues regularly, is it only proper for a groundhopper to have to visit both venues before that club can be marked off the list?
FC Carlow and maybe Mervue Utd. fall into this category.

Did the Blessington route to Tullow for our u20s a couple of years back. Think I will take the main road to Carlow this time.

Not sure re the groundhopper thing, I suppose it is up to the individual. While I
like seeing new grounds I don't go into the whole thing of photos etc to prove I was there.

mickos
31/07/2010, 1:32 PM
Hi Guys,
I'm new to the site.
Best way to Ballon from Dublin is the new motorway. M7, M9, take the turn off for Carlow south and Wexford. Head for Wexford and turn right at the school in Ballon. Less than an hour from Dublin now:)
Who's the opposition tomorrow? I haven't seen the fixtures.

01/08/2010, 10:33 AM
Hi Guys,
I'm new to the site.
Best way to Ballon from Dublin is the new motorway. M7, M9, take the turn off for Carlow south and Wexford. Head for Wexford and turn right at the school in Ballon. Less than an hour from Dublin now:)
Who's the opposition tomorrow? I haven't seen the fixtures.

You are playing Limerick. will be leaving shortly via the new motorway. Thanks for the directions.

GreenStar
06/08/2010, 12:15 PM
Is there an official FC Carlow website?

Rasherboy
16/08/2010, 12:06 PM
Watched Carlow on Sat,tried to play football at all times,not a bad side

Rasherboy
17/08/2010, 10:29 AM
By the way,anyone from Carlow know who the young fella that came on with about 10 mins to go is,he looked about 17,good passer

mickos
19/08/2010, 9:28 AM
By the way,anyone from Carlow know who the young fella that came on with about 10 mins to go is,he looked about 17,good passer

I wasn't at the game. What position did he play?

Rasherboy
21/08/2010, 10:06 PM
Middle of the park,shortish black hair

fcc2008
23/08/2010, 8:03 AM
I wasnt at the game myself, but from the discription, I think you are talking about Caolan O'Gorman (17)

realcelt
23/08/2010, 11:40 AM
Does anyone know the result of Carlows game this weekend by any chance?

fcc2008
23/08/2010, 1:08 PM
FC Carlow 1-2 Galway Utd

realcelt
23/08/2010, 2:30 PM
FC Carlow 1-2 Galway Utd
Bit of a shock result there considering Galway were beaten by 8 goals last week!!

legendz
25/08/2010, 10:04 AM
It's good to see new clubs joining the A Championship. From Kerry myself so I won't wish ye too well but be good to see ye grow as a club. I think the club are smart to be a club for the region. For Tralee Dynamos to make it to the LoI and gain support the might have to rename Kerry Dynamos. When they merged with the youth set-up of Kingdom Boys, they should have renamed even Kingdom Dymnamos for national level.