View Full Version : Cheltenham 2009

09/03/2009, 10:42 AM
Any predictions for the races ahead? Im looking forward to the Gold cup, the races between Kauto Star and Denman should be good, I think Denman will win that one at at 6/1 now the odds are hard to turn down.

Tomorrow see the start of it, alot of big favourites in Cousin Vinny in the supreme Novices, and Binocular in the feature race at half 3.

Here's where my money will be wasted tomorrow:

13.30 - Go Native - e/w
14.05 - Forpaddydeplasterer - e/w
14.40 - Millenium Royal - to win
15.20 - Sublimity - e/w
16.00 - L'Ami - to win (He's the gaffer gets my long shot e/w punt for the day)
16.40 - Chomba womba - e/w

So thats the horses to avoid as, going to form, I think some of my bets in last years festival are still running.

09/03/2009, 11:21 AM
Hi, over to the betting forum????:)

09/03/2009, 11:25 AM
Starts tomorrow, and im bloody working the whole day for it - damn it

Here are my "Tips"!!!!!!!!!

1.30 Go Native 10/1

2.02 Made a Taipen 25/1

2.40 Wichita Lineman 5/1

3.20 Binocular 13/8

4.00 Garde Champetre 7/2

4.40 Chomba Womba 13/2

with the bad weather, and lack of form for many - i think Cheltenham could be up in the air for everyone
Anyway hopefully it wont be as bad as last year:)

09/03/2009, 7:06 PM
I'm going for

Cousin Vinny in 1.30

Imsingintheblues in the 2.05

Not sure about the rest yet.

old git
09/03/2009, 10:22 PM
I'm going for

Cousin Vinny in 1.30

Imsingintheblues in the 2.05

Not sure about the rest yet.

cousin vinny not looking to good trainer willie mullins on tv tonight saying horse has not travelled well and not eating up he did not seem to hopefull on horse running to full potential tomorrow.. bookies have reacted ( paddy power saying he may drift out in betting big time tomorrow :confused: probally horse will romp home tomorrow now :D:D

10/03/2009, 8:48 AM
Cousi Vinny back to 3/1 but keep an eye on Kangaroo Court just got a tip on him there.

10/03/2009, 12:12 PM
cousin vinny not looking to good trainer willie mullins on tv tonight saying horse has not travelled well and not eating up he did not seem to hopefull on horse running to full potential tomorrow..

His price indicates he's ok,probably trainer making excuses in case his nipper messes up :).

Mad Moose
10/03/2009, 12:42 PM
Odds on Denman for the Gold Cup are well out and were 5/1 a few weeks ago and now at 6/1 which is pretty impressive if he is the horse they are all talking about for a long time now to take the Gold Cup.

10/03/2009, 12:55 PM
Good start lads for the Irish. Fair play on Go Native call

IsMiseSean
10/03/2009, 1:03 PM
I was told Go Native but didnt back him... Went with Red Moloney :(

10/03/2009, 1:20 PM
I went for a €2 accy so you could prob guarantee my first 6 will come in e/w then the last is going to fall coming out of the traps :D

10/03/2009, 1:30 PM
Thats Forpaddydeplasterer through also in first, should I be getting excited? Nope.
Now Millenium Royal.................

10/03/2009, 2:01 PM
2.02 Made a Taipen 25/1I backed him too, hate when they lead for most of the race and then drop back towards the end:(

10/03/2009, 2:01 PM
2 out of 3 for both the two main tipsters.

Rovers fan
10/03/2009, 2:06 PM
Not going bad so far, 2 each ways. Will go for osana in the next and one of brave inca/hardy eustace/katchit.

IsMiseSean
10/03/2009, 2:10 PM
Im goin with brave inca ew

swinfordfc
10/03/2009, 2:15 PM
is that 3 wins for the irish so far?

10/03/2009, 2:44 PM
is that 3 wins for the irish so far?

First 2 Irish ,second 2 English.

swinfordfc
10/03/2009, 2:48 PM
First 2 Irish ,second 2 English.

Cheers

10/03/2009, 3:06 PM
Feck i Millenium Royal bucked it up for me, then Sublimity finishing just outside the placings :mad: Thats me down €4 anyways, should have just went with Go Native to win.
How am I gonna tell the missus I blew a whole €4 today? :eek: :p

10/03/2009, 3:37 PM
How am I gonna tell the missus I blew a whole €4 today? :eek: :p

Flowers. Nothing says "I'm a degenerate gambler" than coming home from the bookies with flowers

Except giving the gift of small pens...

10/03/2009, 4:02 PM
Don't really know how accumlators work so a bit of help needed. I had one one today

Wichita Lineman @ 11 - 2 (GP) - Win
Celestial Halo @ 9 - 1 (GP) - 2nd place
Garde Champetre @ 7 - 2 (GP) - Win
Quevega @ 9 - 4 (GP) - Win

I threw €2.00 on it each way, What returns should there be on it ?

Trainee
10/03/2009, 4:31 PM
Don't really know how accumlators work so a bit of help needed. I had one one today

Wichita Lineman @ 11 - 2 (GP) - Win
Celestial Halo @ 9 - 1 (GP) - 2nd place
Garde Champetre @ 7 - 2 (GP) - Win
Quevega @ 9 - 4 (GP) - Win

I threw €2.00 on it each way, What returns should there be on it ?

I worked it out on paddypower as €45.23
http://betcalculator.paddypower.com/index.php

10/03/2009, 6:11 PM
Wow oh 3 winners on the first day - good man Barry Geraghty:)

up 57 squid (from a 30 quid start):)

this is what im doing tomorrow

1.30 cant buy time 9/2

2.05 mikael dhaguenet 3/1

2.40 bally fitz 18/1

3.20 masterminded 1/3

4.00 perrot lunaire 20/1

4.40 ronaldo des moittes 14/1

5.15 cadspeed 15/1

10/03/2009, 6:11 PM
Flowers. Nothing says "I'm a degenerate gambler" than coming home from the bookies with flowers

Ah jeez, if I came home with flowers to the missus there would be trouble.

Nothing says "Im guilty" like a bunch of flowers. :p

10/03/2009, 6:49 PM

I read that completely differently the first time.

10/03/2009, 7:55 PM
Wow oh 3 winners on the first day - good man Barry Geraghty:)

up 57 squid (from a 30 quid start):)

this is what im doing tomorrow

1.30 cant buy time 9/2

2.05 mikael dhaguenet 3/1

2.40 bally fitz 18/1

3.20 masterminded 1/3

4.00 perrot lunaire 20/1

4.40 ronaldo des moittes 14/1

5.15 cadspeed 15/1

Just an aside but you'll get much better prices that the above on betfair bennocelt,Ballyfitz is about 24/1 and Cadspeed is 27/1 for example.Mikael D'Haguenet my nap for Tuesday.

10/03/2009, 9:37 PM
Just an aside but you'll get much better prices that the above on betfair bennocelt,Ballyfitz is about 24/1 and Cadspeed is 27/1 for example.Mikael D'Haguenet my nap for Tuesday.

yeah thats for sure i know that:)
have a betfair account but when im on that site my gambling tends to increase, and to be honest im not doing too much gambling at the moment - im taking a break - a small one - hence me gambling on the gee gees with 30!!!! last year it was 50 squid per race!!!!:)

also i find the betfair account is not user friendly, but then that could be just me too!

old git
10/03/2009, 9:49 PM
Starts tomorrow, and im bloody working the whole day for it - damn it

Here are my "Tips"!!!!!!!!!

1.30 Go Native 10/1

2.02 Made a Taipen 25/1

2.40 Wichita Lineman 5/1

3.20 Binocular 13/8

4.00 Garde Champetre 7/2

4.40 Chomba Womba 13/2

with the bad weather, and lack of form for many - i think Cheltenham could be up in the air for everyone
Anyway hopefully it wont be as bad as last year:)

bennocelt 3 nice winners today... any more tips for 2morrow :D

Torn-Ado
11/03/2009, 10:04 AM
Had four winners yesterday. Go native, Forpaddydaplasterer, Garde Champetre and Quevega. Didn't bet much. 100sek was the most I put on unfortunately.

Not sure who to go for today but got the urge to go heavy on Masterminded.

11/03/2009, 6:45 PM
two winners today - fingers crossed i can beat my record of 7 cheltenham winners:)
just broke even today though, so up 60 quid (won 3 euros - yippee!)

tomorrow will be a tough one me thinks

1.30 Northern Alliance 7/1, come on Ruby - hope he didnt tire himself out today

2.05 Synchronised 10/1

2.40 Tidal Bay 8/1 but this race sure will be quality - should be a good race

3.20 Shakervilz 50/1 - has form, is a Mullins horse, and has Townend on it - im wondering is there something i dont know about this horse?

4.00 Finger on the Pulse 10/1

4.40 Le Duc 25/1 - one last win maybe?

12/03/2009, 8:21 PM
bad day today - damn
still upabout 42 euros

tomorrow im doing...........
Lethal Weapon
Sunny Hill Boy
Alpha Ridge
kauto Star
Baby Run
Little Shilling
Pierce Rock

12/03/2009, 8:56 PM
My bets tomorrow are on:

1.30 - Mourad - ew - 16/1

2.05 - Sunnyhillboy - to win - 7/1

2.40 - Cape Tribulation - to win - 7/2

3.20 - Denman - to win - 6/1 - he has to beat Kauto Star sometime in the big one so I reckon this will be it.

4.00 - Royal Auclair - ew - 10/1

4.40 - Buena Vista - ew - 12/1

5.15 - Tiger cry - ew - 10/1

The Gold cup should be a cracker anyone of 4 can win it, I wouldn't bet against Exotic Dancer coming in the placings either at a good price.

I have a tenner on Sunnyhillboy in the second race, 7/1 are great odds imo.

Rovers fan
12/03/2009, 9:15 PM
About even up to now, maybe a wee bit up.

1.30 - Ebadiyan ew
2.05 - sesenta ew, sunnyhillboy win
2.40 - On raglan road ew
3.20 - Denman, albertas run ew
4.00 - Juveigneur
5.15 - clew bay cove ew

12/03/2009, 9:23 PM
Raise Your Heart in the 2.05 tomorrow. Got this as a tip, apparently they've been 'holding him back for Cheltenham'. Gonna do it e/w...guaranteed it'll be last :D.

12/03/2009, 9:36 PM
3.20 - Denman - to win - 6/1 - he has to beat Kauto Star sometime in the big one so I reckon this will be it.

He beat Kauto Star last year in the Gold Cup.

13/03/2009, 7:06 AM

I have a tenner on Sunnyhillboy in the second race, 7/1 are great odds imo.

As Osar said - last year he won, and won it relatively easy
The only thing abut Denman is Sam Thomas is on him, and he is useless (imagine if a good irish jockey like Geraghty was on him?)

Heres hoping for Sunnyhillboy anyway:)

jinxy lilywhite
13/03/2009, 10:41 AM
I am going all out on Ruby today

Lucky 15
Mourad 1:30
Pride of Dulcote 2:40
Kauto Star 3:20
Poquelin 5:15

I know nothing about horses but are these horses any good?

First
13/03/2009, 12:49 PM
Raise Your Heart in the 2.05 tomorrow. Got this as a tip, apparently they've been 'holding him back for Cheltenham'. Gonna do it e/w...guaranteed it'll be last :D.

Also just received this as a tip.

First
13/03/2009, 12:53 PM
I am going all out on Ruby today

Lucky 15
Mourad 1:30 You know by now
Pride of Dulcote 2:40 More the jockey than the horse
Kauto Star 3:20 Should win but history says different
Poquelin 5:15 A chance , gone the Clew Bay Cove myself
I know nothing about horses but are these horses any good?

I also know nothing about horses only 2 wins so far this week

jinxy lilywhite
13/03/2009, 2:55 PM
Kauto Star up so far. I did the lucky 15 all each way so I may get my money back.
I was told that american trilogy was the weakest of rubys horses so I didn't put it in, but it romped at 20/1.

14/03/2009, 6:14 AM
anyway got 6 winners - damn was really hoping to beat my record
up about 35 - better than losin and fun: