View Full Version : What team should I follow?

Pages : 1 [2]

sheao
03/03/2009, 7:42 PM
I'd reckon go for Galway! If you are mainly based in Dublin they will be playing most of their away games there anyway when they play the likes of Bohs,St Pats and Shamrock Rovers.

03/03/2009, 7:45 PM
I'd reckon go for Galway! If you are mainly based in Dublin they will be playing most of their away games there anyway when they play the likes of Bohs,St Pats and Shamrock Rovers.

obviously Im going to agree here, but you could also add in drogs, dundalk and bray there as they are vitrually just down the road !

Candystripe
03/03/2009, 7:51 PM
I would recomend going to a different club in the Dublin area for 6 weeks and stand in the singing section of each of the 10 premier clubs and maybe Shels and Fingal in the 1st division.

By then you will already know which club you feel that you can support in the long term.

With 4 clubs (Bray included) in Dublin then that would mean even if you decide to follow a "country" club you will get to see them on your doorstep 8 times in the league plus cups games.

I think most "country" clubs also have supporters clubs based in Dublin as well.

You decide!

GlasnevinRed
03/03/2009, 8:01 PM
I would recomend going to a different club in the Dublin area for 6 weeks and stand in the singing section of each of the 10 premier clubs and maybe Shels and Fingal in the 1st division.

Spot on.

Hairy Bowsie
03/03/2009, 9:31 PM
As a Shels fan i'll recommend Fingal. You're a new fan so go to a new club, basically go anywhere but Shels

03/03/2009, 9:36 PM
Support your local team! If you aint from London/Manchester/Liverpool why would anyone support a team from these cities.

Simple answer. Glory hunting barstool supporters!
I think you'll find that people start supporting clubs long before they're old enough to start drinking in pubs. :)

dublin_owl
03/03/2009, 9:54 PM
As a Shels fan i'll recommend Fingal. You're a new fan so go to a new club, basically go anywhere but Shels

Are you saying you wouldn't welcome new fans to Shelbourne? :confused:

If everyone at Shels had that attitude the club would be dead in a few decades. :rolleyes:

03/03/2009, 10:00 PM

If everyone at Shels had that attitude the club would be dead in a few decades. :rolleyes:
No, it makes sense. If you're right, driving away new fans will buy them a lot of time.

crc
03/03/2009, 10:04 PM
Clearly Derry is the best club to support no matter where you live in the country :)

But if it must be a Dublin team my personal view is that I wouldn't touch Fingal with a Barge-pole, and I really don't like Shels. Bohs would be handy, but I have to say I enjoyed the neutral Pats games I went to when I lived in Dublin. On the other hand Rovers could be very enjoyable to watch in their new ground this season, but its a bit far from Coolock.

Don't even think about Bray - its the coldest place on earth.

03/03/2009, 10:37 PM
There was a time when where you were from was the only thing that determined what club you support.

Well then I'm screwed... Grew up in Ballyfermot now living in Drumcondra via Harold's Cross and Lucan...

I used to go to Pat's games when I was younger but never really got into em never felt an attraction. On my first night in Tolka I was set and a Shels man. No feeling like it. The pain you go through when you love a club is something and supporting an English club never comes close. The last minute of last season when Limerick scored that equaliser had me in tears. I was never in tears watching MUFC.

Ticktock, I reckon that you should go to a game in Dalymount or Tolka to sample the atmosphere of a club with history I don't think going to see Franchise Fingal will be of any use to you if you are trying to get some joy out of the LOI.

Hairy Bowsie
03/03/2009, 10:49 PM

Not at all. I, just would rather this one didn't come to Shels games. I said earlier in the thread but it was removed, that i think he's method of choosing a club is ridiculous (actually the word i used was stronger but if i use it again, i'll get a slap on the wrist)

pixiehead
03/03/2009, 11:08 PM
A stampead for 1 supporter by the Dub clubs... Must be stuck :D

ticktock
04/03/2009, 3:25 AM
Jesus... I have to say, the passion you lads have is inspiring, in comparison to the comfort and complacency I usually see in football supporters :(

I will definitely be heading to a few game over the next season, I have decided that I won't be "picking" a team anytime soon, I am just going to experience the league until I can't stay indifferent to a team anymore!

Seriously guys, thanks a million for the replies. To be honest, I half expected to be berated for my opening post, I didn't think it'd be possible to outright ask passionate football fans their opinion on such a matter, but the encouragement and lively rivalry you guys share really is refreshing :) I honestly cannot wait for this weekend! :D

GlasnevinRed
04/03/2009, 8:37 AM
Ticktock, most of us are just glad you've decided to come over from the dark side. :D I'm sure no matter where you go you'll be made welcome.

04/03/2009, 8:47 AM
TickTock you're far from unique on here. Plenty of us have only taken an interest in the league in recent years, or have fallen into following a particular team after visiting others. I saw a few games in Bray years ago when I lived there during college than had a big gap of never going to games. Started taking in a few Bohs games about 3 seasons ago and started to get the bug, then Wexford Youths were formed and my interest was really piqued, due to living in Dublin I only really get to Youths game up here or in Newbridge, but last season I started going to Rovers and Pat's games on a regular basis, now that I live in Tallagh, I've got a Rovers season ticket and I'll be taking in as many Youths games as I can make, happily none of the Youths fixtures in Dublin clash with Rovers home games. It's an addictive league, the football is good, and the passion of the hard core supporters is always inspiring. AS many others have advised, take a trip to all of the grounds within commuting distance and see if any one club or set of fans really drags you in.

EalingGreen
04/03/2009, 10:44 AM
Jesus... I have to say, the passion you lads have is inspiring, in comparison to the comfort and complacency I usually see in football supporters :(

What do the rest of you think, lads, is it time to let ticktock in on the secret? Sure what the hell, he's clearly passed the point of no return...

You see, supporting a football club is like marriage, only without the possibility of divorce. You fall in love and can't wait to get hitched. Admittedly, you're a little unusual in that you're not yet sure which club is "the one", but you know you want to do it, so that's that.

Sadly, however, once the honeymoon glow wears off, humdrum reality (or worse) sets in. This accounts for the "comfort and complacency" (and corresponding lack of passion) you've observed in other fans.

As for the "passion" you've experienced on this board, do not be deceived - we just want to inveigle another inmate to the ranks, to add some passing interest to our own existence as "lifers", without hope of remission, release or pardon.

One further point. I mentioned that Divorce is not an option for genuine fans. Unfortunately, neither is having an "affair" with some other floozie which "eyes you up" from the back of the home terraces the next time you're "playing away".

For when you're stuck in a real marriage and own up to your mates that you've been enjoying a bit on the side, as often as not they'll dig you in the ribs, slap you on the back and say "Fair play to ye", before drinking your health and enquiring whether she has a sister. (It's the only known occasion in life when jealousy inspires good wishes, btw)

Whereas a football fan who confesses to taking an interest in some other club which is currently on a bit of a run, whilst his own is on a losing streak, will only attract scorn, derision and contempt.

So there you have it and good luck with your choice when you finally do get to stroll down the aisle. As someone who's saddled with a Premier League club of my own (Spurs), I've no doubt you had a lucky escape from your flirtation with Man Utd, for stripped of make-up, jewellery and designer clothes (which you paid for, btw), you'll realise that these "supermodels" are all the same - only out for what they can get.

Far better to stick to some homely LOI lassie; she might be plain, but there's a good chance she'll at least be able to cook! ;)

(With due apologies to any female readers, for the appalling misogyny contained in this post)

04/03/2009, 3:37 PM
Get the map out, put pins where all the teams are (Premier & 1st Division) within an hour's commute from where you live. Give them all a go, starting with the nearest. Judge them by their ethos, style of play, ambition, facilities and craic with the fans. You don't have to select one club straight away or even this season at all. Before you know it, you'll start gravitating to one over the others
Best of luck and welcome

Never mind facilities. :o As long as it's well lit everything else is just excess.

At the moment I'm so disillusioned with this jokeshop of a league and feeling so betrayed by those in charge that I'd be seriously tempted to say just stay completely clear of it.

While I empathise greatly with the above sentiment I've fond myself getting progressively more excited about the new season again in the last couple of weeks despite our shambolic pre-season... There is no escape... :(

A stampead for 1 supporter by the Dub clubs... Must be stuck

Sure there's enough of you trying to drag him back across the country to the fatherland too. :)

Saint_Charlie
04/03/2009, 4:06 PM
Not at all. I, just would rather this one didn't come to Shels games. I said earlier in the thread but it was removed, that i think he's method of choosing a club is ridiculous (actually the word i used was stronger but if i use it again, i'll get a slap on the wrist)

Having read all three of your comments, I have to say it's people like you who will forever hold the league back. If a chap has no connection to any club how else would you expect them to pick a club? We need people like Ticktock for the league to ever have any hope.

GlasnevinRed
04/03/2009, 5:31 PM
What do the rest of you think, lads, is it time to let ticktock in on the secret? Sure what the hell, he's clearly passed the point of no return...

You see, supporting a football club is like marriage, only without the possibility of divorce. You fall in love and can't wait to get hitched. Admittedly, you're a little unusual in that you're not yet sure which club is "the one", but you know you want to do it, so that's that.

Sadly, however, once the honeymoon glow wears off, humdrum reality (or worse) sets in. This accounts for the "comfort and complacency" (and corresponding lack of passion) you've observed in other fans.

As for the "passion" you've experienced on this board, do not be deceived - we just want to inveigle another inmate to the ranks, to add some passing interest to our own existence as "lifers", without hope of remission, release or pardon.

One further point. I mentioned that Divorce is not an option for genuine fans. Unfortunately, neither is having an "affair" with some other floozie which "eyes you up" from the back of the home terraces the next time you're "playing away".

For when you're stuck in a real marriage and own up to your mates that you've been enjoying a bit on the side, as often as not they'll dig you in the ribs, slap you on the back and say "Fair play to ye", before drinking your health and enquiring whether she has a sister. (It's the only known occasion in life when jealousy inspires good wishes, btw)

Whereas a football fan who confesses to taking an interest in some other club which is currently on a bit of a run, whilst his own is on a losing streak, will only attract scorn, derision and contempt.

So there you have it and good luck with your choice when you finally do get to stroll down the aisle. As someone who's saddled with a Premier League club of my own (Spurs), I've no doubt you had a lucky escape from your flirtation with Man Utd, for stripped of make-up, jewellery and designer clothes (which you paid for, btw), you'll realise that these "supermodels" are all the same - only out for what they can get.

Far better to stick to some homely LOI lassie; she might be plain, but there's a good chance she'll at least be able to cook! ;)

(With due apologies to any female readers, for the appalling misogyny contained in this post)

Best post ever!!!! :D

04/03/2009, 6:03 PM
You should support UCD; our penises are this long.

(Well, not literally as long as "this", but I just wanted to sum up the thread to date)

04/03/2009, 8:19 PM

You see, supporting a football club is like marriage, only without the possibility of divorce.
Yes, till death do you part, as all ten Dublin City fans found out.

You should support UCD; our penises are this long.

(Well, not literally as long as "this", but I just wanted to sum up the thread to date)
We're different: UCD, the middle class football club.

Hairy Bowsie
04/03/2009, 9:56 PM
Having read all three of your comments, I have to say it's people like you who will forever hold the league back. If a chap has no connection to any club how else would you expect them to pick a club? We need people like Ticktock for the league to ever have any hope.

This league is way beyond redemption, it's own governing body is running it into the ground.

The FAI gave 2 clubs who went into examinership last season PD licences, financially helping one in order to meet the criteria, and giving the other a PD licence saying they'd met the criteria when less than 2 weeks later it has become apparent through the none payment of players that it was impossible for that club to have met the criteria but yeah you're right, i'm holding the league back :rolleyes:

I hope the chap finds a club he loves and sticks with them through thick and thin, i just wish he didn't have to do it in such an "eeny meeny miny mo" fashion through this bleedin' website

Hairy Bowsie
04/03/2009, 9:59 PM
If i may continue on with the analogy

True but her father is a **** and loves her brother a lot more.

Saint_Charlie
04/03/2009, 11:46 PM
So your beef is with the FAI then?

That's fair enough. If their incompetence stopped anyone from going to games, none of us would be going. :ball:

ShnaeGuevara715
04/03/2009, 11:46 PM
EalingGreen you fupping genius lol

Maybe the criteria should be based on who'll still be around in a few years?

Its one thing saddling up with the dirt bird.

Its quite another for it to be taken away from you before you've trained her to cook your roast the way you like it!

Lamper.sffc
05/03/2009, 12:45 PM

I will definitely be heading to a few game over the next season, I have decided that I won't be "picking" a team anytime soon, I am just going to experience the league until I can't stay indifferent to a team anymore!

Seriously guys, thanks a million for the replies. To be honest, I half expected to be berated for my opening post, I didn't think it'd be possible to outright ask passionate football fans their opinion on such a matter, but the encouragement and lively rivalry you guys share really is refreshing :) I honestly cannot wait for this weekend! :D

Keep us posted on how you are getting on over the coming weeks. It would be interesting to see what you think of each club(pros and cons), also interesting to see what club you eventually pick and why you picked it.

GlasnevinRed
05/03/2009, 5:33 PM
Will you be coming along tomorrow night then? :D

06/03/2009, 5:34 PM
Of course he will... Wear a red hat so we can spot you!

Mad Moose
06/03/2009, 7:09 PM
Well Tiktok. I'll throw in my tuppence worth but it'll be more an echo of whats said above. Don't try and create something. Get around the grounds, see the clubs come to town and don't expect or try to convince yourself your loving it. You might end up going to see Shels v Sporting Fingal and see something that sticks with you.It might be the lone Fingal supporter or it might be the quality of football (concentrate on the lone supporter :D ). And you'll want to go back.

I don't come from a part of the country where LoI football became part of my growing up.It was many years later on moving to Dublin that I might have found myself at Tolka Park or Dalymount. I felt nothing whatsoever but enjoyed the live football and wanted more of it. It was the FAI Cup Final of 1999 that saw me following Finn Harps there on in and though there have been many downs in those years and having since moved away from Donegal I still follow them and keep in touch albeit see them a hell of a lot less.

Let us know what you discover.

the-blue-harp
08/03/2009, 1:19 PM

thats the best post iv ever read on an internet forum. masterpiece!

KevBGUFC
09/03/2009, 1:05 AM

obviously Im going to agree here, but you could also add in drogs, dundalk and bray there as they are vitrually just down the road !

That gives you 12 league games in (relatively) easy reach if you did choose Galway, plus there's bound to be a few cup games up there as we make our way to the two finals this year ;)

My Dad was an avid Athlone Town fan and still obviously follows them, yet as we live in Galway he has a season ticket for Terryland. I was brought along in the 80's as a schoolboy and despite living around the country for best part of a decade I find myself back in Galway and a season-ticketer again. I admit though, I found time for a wry smile on Friday as I saw the Athlone result come in. I think you need to find your own club to follow using much of the advice on here to help you along. You'll still watch the Galway results and smile as we surprise all you Dubs this year :p

ticktock
04/07/2009, 2:19 AM
Just thought I'd pop back in to let you all know how I got on.

Went to a game of each of my most local teams, out of the three I saw Fingal lose, then Bohemians lose, then Shelbourne draw :p
After that, I ended up with Fingal; they're my most local, and they're as new to the league as I am pretty much, Bohs and Shels have so much history that I'm just not a part of. Fingal's fledgeling nature just sits with me better, and my Dad seems to feel more comfortable with coming with me to their games seeing as they're not in direct competition with his own team, but we'll see how that pans out next season! :p

Thanks for all your help guys :)

Keen2win
04/07/2009, 5:28 AM
Did you listen to anything we just said?? :p

CuanaD
04/07/2009, 7:35 AM
Well done ticktock - good to see you got to make your decision prety quickly - hope Fingal give you plenty of years of (mainly) highs & (few) lows to keep the blood boiling :ball:

marinobohs
06/07/2009, 1:36 PM

Went to a game of each of my most local teams, out of the three I saw Fingal lose, then Bohemians lose, then Shelbourne draw :p
After that, I ended up with Fingal; they're my most local, and they're as new to the league as I am pretty much, Bohs and Shels have so much history that I'm just not a part of. Fingal's fledgeling nature just sits with me better, and my Dad seems to feel more comfortable with coming with me to their games seeing as they're not in direct competition with his own team, but we'll see how that pans out next season! :p

Man ure and Fingal franchise ! is this guy beyond all help ?

06/07/2009, 3:13 PM
ah fair play to him. Would be much easier for a newcomer to just pick a big club like Bohs.

This man has dedicated himself to life in the First Division for a while yet and will probably get to see plenty of the Big Club there next season.

TickTock, just out of interest, which Bohs game did you go to and where did you watch the game from?

Ezeikial
06/07/2009, 5:15 PM
ah fair play to him. Would be much easier for a newcomer to just pick a big club like Bohs.

This man has dedicated himself to life in the First Division for a while yet and will probably get to see plenty of the Big Club there next season.

It appears at least one "Big Club" fan can see the possibilty of Bohs in the First Division next season!

06/07/2009, 5:16 PM
i knew somebody would feel the need to comment on that. lol. Well done.

Lamper.sffc
06/07/2009, 9:27 PM
Ahaaa. We win, all you other clubs pale in significance before the might that is SPORTING FINGAL. We have gained a new member to the fingal cause. We have battled hard and long but now it is the rest of the LOI who will worry. While fingal march on, you will all wither and die. We have the support of ticktock (and his da) and yous failed. From this one seed a mighty oak will grow and that oak will cover you all in eh Leaves:confused: Yes leaves, under these leaves you will all wither and die because these are the leaves of change my friends. Mark my words of wisdom:confused: Beware the fingal, beware

We win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win

Welcome Ticktock:o

Keen2win
06/07/2009, 9:31 PM
Ahaaa. We win, all you other clubs pale in significance before the might that is SPORTING FINGAL. We have gained a new member to the fingal cause. We have battled hard and long but now it is the rest of the LOI who will worry. While fingal march on, you will all wither and die. We have the support of ticktock (and his da) and yous failed. From this one seed a mighty oak will grow and that oak will cover you all in eh Leaves:confused: Yes leaves, under these leaves you will all wither and die because these are the leaves of change my friends. Mark my words of wisdom:confused: Beware the fingal, beware

We win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win we win

Shut up!

Lamper.sffc
06/07/2009, 9:33 PM
Shut up!

well said

06/07/2009, 9:57 PM
Ahaaa. We win, all you other clubs pale in significance before the might that is SPORTING FINGAL. We have gained a new member to the fingal cause. We have battled hard and long but now it is the rest of the LOI who will worry. While fingal march on, you will all wither and die. We have the support of ticktock (and his da) and yous failed. From this one seed a mighty oak will grow and that oak will cover you all in eh Leaves:confused: Yes leaves, under these leaves you will all wither and die because these are the leaves of change my friends. Mark my words of wisdomBeware the fingal, beware

Welcome Ticktock

Pfft.....he's not even the real Tiktok.

A makey up, wanna-be tiktok to go wit a makey up, wanna be club......

:D:p

Lamper.sffc
06/07/2009, 10:01 PM
Pfft.....he's not even the real Tiktok.

A makey up, wanna-be tiktok to go wit a makey up, wanna be club......

:D:p

Noooooooooooo

but i had the oak metaphor thingy:(

07/07/2009, 9:31 AM

Does anyone remember the "Ronan Seery gets p!ssed" posting on the Dublin City website?

07/07/2009, 9:55 AM

Welcome Ticktock

Actually I've just checked the latest results and I think you'll find that Harps win, not Fingal :)

07/07/2009, 10:07 AM
Actually I've just checked the latest results and I think you'll find that Harps win, not Fingal :)

Woo-hoo, finally after 55 years of trying we finally beat the mighty Fingal. It's been a long battle but yes we can now finally add Fingal to the list.

Lamper.sffc
07/07/2009, 12:20 PM
Woo-hoo, finally after 55 years of trying we finally beat the mighty Fingal. It's been a long battle but yes we can now finally add Fingal to the list.

Your welcome.

Dalymountrower
07/07/2009, 2:13 PM

Thank you Fingal County Council PR Department, can you now go back to earning your salary paid by the taxpayer by...say... issuing another press puff piece about one of your Developer buddies.?

Lamper.sffc
07/07/2009, 7:38 PM
Thank you Fingal County Council PR Department, can you now go back to earning your salary paid by the taxpayer by...say... issuing another press puff piece about one of your Developer buddies.?

Saucer of milk

Dalymountrower
08/07/2009, 1:21 PM
Saucer of milk

Brown paper bag.