View Full Version : Rovers vs Dundalk
sligofan4ever
21/02/2009, 6:45 PM
Would be a great to get an early win over Dundalk, anyone got any team news ?
Will there be regular updates on the Rovers site again ?
eamoss
21/02/2009, 7:21 PM
One of my friends text me saying
1 - Nil to Dundalk - Daly
EDIT: Dundalk Line-up
Bennion,
Kelly, Burns, Heary, Rodgers,
Daly, Turner, Collins, Singh,
Mansaram, Barnett.
Rovers Maniac
21/02/2009, 7:24 PM
Gota text about 5 minutes ago to say Connor has been told to take Mickey Collins off :D
This guy must be a complete head the ball.
sligofan4ever
21/02/2009, 7:38 PM
One of my friends text me saying
1 - Nil to Dundalk - Daly
EDIT: Dundalk Line-up
Bennion,
Kelly, Burns, Heary, Rodgers,
Daly, Turner, Collins, Singh,
Mansaram, Barnett.
Do you know who our starting 11 is ?
eamoss
21/02/2009, 7:42 PM
Do you know who our starting 11 is ?
Afraid not, my info is 3rd hand.
Boo_Boy
21/02/2009, 7:54 PM
rIt's probably similar to the Longford line-up. This could end up 3-0 or 4-0 if it is considering Dundalk have most of the 1st team out(Mansaram, Singh, Turner, Heary etc.)
sligofan4ever
21/02/2009, 7:58 PM
rIt's probably similar to the Longford line-up. This could end up 3-0 or 4-0 if it is considering Dundalk have most of the 1st team out(Mansaram, Singh, Turner, Heary etc.)
Might see a goal or 2 for us if players like Morrison and Parkhouse come on (Thats if there not already on) wonder if Xano is in the team tonight :).
Rovers Maniac
21/02/2009, 8:07 PM
Might see a goal or 2 for us if players like Morrison and Parkhouse come on (Thats if there not already on) wonder if Xano is in the team tonight :).
Yes Sligofan4ever
Rovers Maniac
21/02/2009, 8:10 PM
Cash off injured lets hope its not serious, jeez they could be asking people to bring their boots for the Harps game if our injuries keep continuing at this rate. :)
Sligofan4ever what position do you play?
sligofan4ever
21/02/2009, 8:44 PM
The match must be nearly over, any update on how its going ?
sligored
21/02/2009, 9:07 PM
lost 1 0 . poor performance overall. not one shot on target
21/02/2009, 9:09 PM
This guy must be a complete head the ball.He is, cannot wait to see him in action this season, if he stays on the pitch long enough:D.
Boo_Boy
21/02/2009, 9:22 PM
Collins is the guy who played for Newry in NI?
Connor signed him?:eek:
sligored
21/02/2009, 9:27 PM
after 10 minutes collins tackled doherty very late. he then tried to pull doherty up of the ground. ref went over to connor and told him to take collins off or he would have to send him off.
five minutes later when the game was starting to get out of hand he booked morrison for what i saw as a fifty fifty challenge.
Dundalk were the better team overall and deserved their win. they got a few injuries and the two strikers went off injured.
great finish by daly after about 5 mins.
sligofan4ever
21/02/2009, 9:30 PM
Did we have our strongest team out or was it mainly the players who started against Longford ? Did Keane,Morrison,Parkhouse,Holmes,Kelly and Xano all play at some point ?
sligored
21/02/2009, 9:31 PM
except almeida i would say it would be rovers start 11 against cork
brush
keane peers ventre holmes
cash doherty ogrady morrison boco
parkhouse
9 subs mainly young lads with the exception of raf feeney and mct
srfc1928
21/02/2009, 9:39 PM
That collins guy is nuts.
All the dundalk players were psyched up from the start,
even at the end their no.8 punched the air when deering blew up(the whistle that is, not himself)
Some very heavy challanges.
Thought Turner scored the goal
not a great performance from us, but its early days.
Small crowd, but nobody knew kick off time,poorly advertised we'd seriously need to up the marketing of games.
God I hate pre season 'friendlies'
sligo23
21/02/2009, 9:41 PM
am I losing my mind or was it not Chris Turner who scored??? lovely goal tho.
21/02/2009, 9:42 PM
great finish by daly after about 5 mins.Chris Turner scored the goal. Great finish indeed
Did we have our strongest team out or was it mainly the players who started against Longford ? Did Keane,Morrison,Parkhouse,Holmes,Kelly and Xano all play at some point ?Yeah, Xano was class.
Boo_Boy
21/02/2009, 10:12 PM
Even that name confuses me. Is it pronounced Zano or ex-ano?
I hate this guy now.
21/02/2009, 10:25 PM
I can't wait to get Xano on my new shirt with a lovely new crest.:)
He played unbelievable tonight.
21/02/2009, 10:35 PM
Oh btw. Daly scored the goal, not Turner.
21/02/2009, 10:39 PM
Oh btw. Daly scored the goal, not Turner.Oh btw, Turner scored the goal, not Daly.
21/02/2009, 10:42 PM
Oh btw, Turner scored the goal, not Daly.
Fo shizzle? Cause it was number 7, Mr Daly who took the shot. Unless it took some sort of magic ricochet traveling through the space time continuim.;) :p
Inside Man
21/02/2009, 10:45 PM
Did we have our strongest team out or was it mainly the players who started against Longford ? Did Keane,Morrison,Parkhouse,Holmes,Kelly and Xano all play at some point ?
Oh god son. There never was any Xano. It was all a wind up. Some people get very attatached don't they?
Anyway I'm glad i didn't travel up for the game. Pity about the poor crowd could have done with a bit of dosh. After such a poor turnout i'd say some of the people in the club are a tad bit worried with it, considering we will need big attendances to match our budget.
Boo_Boy
21/02/2009, 10:57 PM
Oh god son. There never was any Xano. It was all a wind up. Some people get very attatached don't they?
Well i'd like to thank the Eastbourne daily rag for getting me a terrific Attacking Mid for my Football Manager side.
Thank you very much!
21/02/2009, 11:01 PM
Fo shizzle? Cause it was number 7, Mr Daly who took the shot. Unless it took some sort of magic ricochet traveling through the space time continuim.;) :pDon't wink at me. It was the number seven who scored, his name is Chris Turner.
gufc2000
21/02/2009, 11:09 PM
Well how did Alan Keane do lads?
prodsc
21/02/2009, 11:19 PM
Gota text about 5 minutes ago to say Connor has been told to take Mickey Collins off :D
This guy must be a complete head the ball.
Who told him, the ref?
srfc1928
21/02/2009, 11:21 PM
It was the number seven who scored, his name is Chris Turner.
No. 7 scored - Turner
Toolan announced over the PA it was Daly.
This maybe confused some people.
21/02/2009, 11:22 PM
Who told him, the ref?Well officially he's a ref but yeah Paul Deering.
21/02/2009, 11:24 PM
Turner scored the goal, definetely...
prodsc
21/02/2009, 11:47 PM
Well officially he's a ref but yeah Paul Deering.
So the ref had to tell the manager to take someone off!! did he forget his cards???
Was there anyone else carded/taken off for fouling in this game? or was it the ref playing Manager?
srfc1928
21/02/2009, 11:58 PM
So the ref had to tell the manager to take someone off!! did he forget his cards???
Was there anyone else carded/taken off for fouling in this game? or was it the ref playing Manager?
This is a common enough occurence, where the ref tells a manager to take someone off, as cards in friendlies carry over to the league. The ref in this case done dundalk a favour of sorts. A Rovers player was shown a yellow card, but i would presume that this will not be in the referees report, whereas a red would have to be reported.
forza rovers
22/02/2009, 7:29 AM
Fo shizzle? Cause it was number 7, Mr Daly who took the shot. Unless it took some sort of magic ricochet travelling through the space time continuum.;) :punless your blind turner was wearing no.7
Black and White
22/02/2009, 9:03 AM
Lads how did we play tonight?overall performance, did our team look as though they knew each other in terms of linking up well etc?
red bellied
22/02/2009, 9:16 AM
Lads how did we play tonight?overall performance, did our team look as though they knew each other in terms of linking up well etc?
Ye were steady at the back and held a good line. Your inter linking play was mainly 60 yard punts by your centre halves or full backs.
Black and White
22/02/2009, 9:21 AM
Ye were steady at the back and held a good line. Your inter linking play was mainly 60 yard punts by your centre halves or full backs.
Aye thought that with Heary and Burns in central defense, they have no pace, and Rogers doesnt seem to be able to bomb down the wing too much. How did Sean Kelly paly, the right back, and what kind of reception did all the ex Sligo contingent get? Anyone egg Sean Connor?:p
red bellied
22/02/2009, 9:29 AM
Fairly low key friendly, around 400 at the most. Turner did well anytime he got to run with the ball which wasnt often because of the long ball game.
Black and White
22/02/2009, 9:42 AM
Cheers, any sign of George O'Callaghan?!
red bellied
22/02/2009, 9:52 AM
No and I forgot about Rodgers. He spent most of the match mouthing off. Walks around the pitch like he is working a pub door. Didnt know Dundalk had signed him!
Black and White
22/02/2009, 9:56 AM
No and I forgot about Rodgers. He spent most of the match mouthing off. Walks around the pitch like he is working a pub door. Didnt know Dundalk had signed him!
Yeah unfortunatly, but he has expereicne which can only be good to the younger lads!
22/02/2009, 11:17 AM
what kind of reception did all the ex Sligo contingent get?Singh got greeted with 'Singh and he's crippled' just before kick off. He and Brian Cash laughed at it. That was it really, twas only a friendly, I'm sure they'll get more abuse in the league game.
22/02/2009, 11:34 AM
It was a Saturday night, that man was in the pub!:D
Well Red
22/02/2009, 12:29 PM
Would love to read a report on the match as up to now we just got a mixture of snippets and discussion on who scored the goal. Again the Sligo Rovers Official Website are reporting on the Longford Town match, would expect them to be more up to date, it does not take long to sit down and type in a report on the game. Supporters have been great over the last several months supporting the club and surely the least the club could do is keep us in the picture on upcoming matches and reports on matches played. This forum is trying to keep people up to date with info but a lot of it is guess work without solid info from the club.:(
Black and White
22/02/2009, 12:45 PM
Would love to read a report on the match as up to now we just got a mixture of snippets and discussion on who scored the goal. Again the Sligo Rovers Official Website are reporting on the Longford Town match, would expect them to be more up to date, it does not take long to sit down and type in a report on the game. Supporters have been great over the last several months supporting the club and surely the least the club could do is keep us in the picture on upcoming matches and reports on matches played. This forum is trying to keep people up to date with info but a lot of it is guess work without solid info from the club.:(
Dundalkfc.com has a mini report and our team last night, says Chris Turner scored the cracker!
www.dundalkfc.com (http://www.dundalkfc.com)
22/02/2009, 2:43 PM
SF4E, would it not have been so much easier to just go to the game than ask everyone here??
22/02/2009, 3:40 PM
Would love to read a report on the match as up to now we just got a mixture of snippets and discussion on who scored the goal. Again the Sligo Rovers Official Website are reporting on the Longford Town match, would expect them to be more up to date, it does not take long to sit down and type in a report on the game. Supporters have been great over the last several months supporting the club and surely the least the club could do is keep us in the picture on upcoming matches and reports on matches played. This forum is trying to keep people up to date with info but a lot of it is guess work without solid info from the club.:(It's not as if someone works full time on the website, it's all voluntary. You didn't give a lot of time for a report to be done in fairness.
There's one up now. Says Daly scored, which is incorrect.
22/02/2009, 7:27 PM
Singh got greeted with 'Singh and he's crippled' just before kick off. He and Brian Cash laughed at it. That was it really, twas only a friendly, I'm sure they'll get more abuse in the league game.
called into this game on the way home from the brandywell.. it was a much better game to watch than our game..had to laugh at the singh chant and the mickey collins incident..
that mickey collins looks like butter wouldnt melt in his mouth!!